Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Randall RG1003H Guitar Amplifier Head (100 Watts)

Randall RG1003H Guitar Amplifier Head (100 Watts)

The RG1003H amp head's high-performance FET circuits provide the classic crunch and highly focused low end that has become the signature Randall sound.

Overall User Ratings (based on 13 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(13)
Submitted June 12, 2016 by Joshua Enos in Doniphan, MO
"BLOODY HELL!!!!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Man I have to admit I was skeptical. Bought this amp and 200 watt Randall 4x12 cab and can this thing sing. Very well built, not tolex but attractive leather look to cab and amp. Got it dialed in and boom! Very cool and dirty amp. Would recommend an ISP Deciminator pedal. Helps keep the noise down big time when you got the amp cranked. Bandmates love it. Gives a great sound.
Musical Background:
Been in bands, record at home.
Musical Style:
METAL
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 1, 2015 by Sergio V in Los Angeles, CA
"Great amp, great sound, great prize"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Not much else can be said about this amp other than, it is a perfect solid state amplifier that sounds better than you'd expect. And for its prize.. Almost a dream come true for anyone on a budget. The other guitar player in my band fell in love with this amp so much that he got rid of his old one and bought this one as well. If you play metal and are tone conscious, this amp has plenty of tonal options through not only the type of gain but also the eq is very well built.
Musical Background:
Been playing music 20 years. Lead guitar. Professionally
Musical Style:
Melodic blackened thrash metal
30 of 31 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 24, 2015 by chris h
"Quality tone for the money."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First off, I use this paired with the matching rg412 cab. Played with sct-607b. Cleans are fantastic. Channel 2 is good with standard rock and metal tones. Channel 3 has more grit and body. Slightly warmer tone with the ability to create as much gain as your heart desires. This is the main channel I use. If you are looking for tightness low end and soaring 5150\6505'ish modern metal tones, be sure to grab a boost pedal. On its own, I couldn't dig the tone. Loose, and sounded like I paid $300 for this! But I threw in the maxon 808 and a rocktron hush in the mix and it completely turned the solid state sound into a defined and tight playing tone. For the price I paid (head, cab, boost and gate), I still managed to come under the common going rate of the 6505/mesa family on used tube heads, and at the end of the day, I have a 412 that sounds amazing, cuts through heavy, delivers bone crushing tone, than also sounds great at low volumes. I've owned 5150 rigs paired with 2 Vader 412 over sized cabs. Does it stack up to those? It comes pretty damn close. Randall did a great job.
Musical Background:
overall 21 years. extensive live sessions, shows.
Musical Style:
Modern metal, old school thrash, doom/sludge
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 10, 2017 by sam b in Phoenix, AZ
"A real bargain... Buy this amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
this has to be one of the best solid state amps I have ever played but it really depends on what cabinet you are using. I am not kidding this amp could cover any style or genere you want but it would depend on the cabinet and the guitar you are using. I am using a vintage Carvin 4x12 with a Les Paul copy and it is smoking hot. the reverb is just so and so but that is a minor point when you consider it has a excellent effects loop.
Musical Background:
30 years. guitar or anything with strings. will play for free and or alcohol
Musical Style:
what ever.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 23, 2015 by Michael H in Cupertino, CA
"Definite Bang for your Buck. Probably the best pure Solid State Amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Dimebag played Randall RG heads for a good chunk of his career and I consider his tone one of the definitive Modern Metal tones. I have an Egnater Tweaker 88 which is an awesome amp in its own right, but isn't really made for modern metal a la Pantera, Fear Factory, Meshuggah, Etc. and this amp does all that and more. The Clean channel is Crystal Clear but the gain can be cranked for some moderate crunch. Gain 1 has lots of Gain on tap and is capable of pretty much everything from Classic Rock and Blues to Death or Thrash. Gain 2 has even more gain on tap and is likely best for Leads or Solos but can be used for more extreme metal sounds as well, though I'd say Gain 1 has plenty enough for that.. The EQ knobs habe quite a bit of range plus a Bass Boost and a Mid Scoop allowing you to shape just about any tone you'd want. The only gripe is that the EQ is shared across all three channels instead of individual EQ for each channel, but I'm usually able to set it up so it sounds good across all three channels. Also the built in reverb is a little weak even when turned all the way up. Not bad sounding mind you, just not very powerful.
Musical Background:
Moderate Skill, 10+ years playing guitar.
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Blues, Country.
14 of 15 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 4, 2016 by Juan B in Aurora, CO
"Great amp for metal"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got this in a pinch to go with an old orange cab for my band. Probably the best quick decision I've made in a while.
Sound
The clean channel is basically a low overdrive channel. Which is fine by me since I never use this amp for clean tones. The number 2 "classic" overdrive is really the best gain you can get for the price. I'm a firm believer in amp over pedals when it comes to distortion and this amp definitely delivers some serious distortion. Very good tribute to the old dime amps. Channel 3 is more suited to the newer "core" sound. It's my low channel for when I want to practice and not blow the windows off but if I turned it up it would rip paint off with the amount of gain. It's not a bad lead channel but the tone will take some time to match up if you tend to switch a lot. All in all, it's not an RH100 but it's not at all a bad amp. Especially for the price.
Features
The built in noise gate is crap but it does help. The reverb has a tendency to over saturate and leave this annoying hum if you have it too high. The eq isn't over responsive but it's not dead so you can shape your tone fairly easily. I got around all of these problems by adding an eq turning down the reverb and getting a cheap noise gate and now it's near perfect.
Ease of Use
It's a solid state amp so it's literally plug in and play. Finding a tone is fairly easy if you don't mind taking a minute and dialing it in. Footswitches make the world go round... Nuff said...
Quality
It seems well made and I take pretty good care of my stuff so it should last a while.
Value
This is pretty self explanatory...
Manufacturer Support
Never needed it.
The Wow Factor
For the price... WOW
Musical Background:
14 years guitar bass
Musical Style:
Black metal death metal thrash metal METAL metal
13 of 14 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 25, 2015 by Joe R in Volcano, HI
"Randall RG1003H"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I did have to send the first one back, faulty knob but was still impressed with the head. zZounds quickly got me a new one and this one is perfect. This is a great amp, especially for the price. I got the RG412 cab with it and it is wicked sounding. The 2 distortion channels are wicked sounding. I like heavy distortion and no longer need any pedals for distortion. It is clear and punchy sounding. The reverb on the head is decent. Overall I love the Head and Cab. If you play heavy music this is the best system for the price out there. Thanks again zZounds for all your help and support.
Musical Background:
20 years playing guitar, bass, drums and vocals. I am the guitarist for ElipTic
Musical Style:
Heavy Rock, Thrash, Metal, Rock, Acoustic
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 5, 2017 by Zachary H in Johnson City , TN
"Excellent Value"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I took a chance getting this head, I've been a fan of Randall solid states for some time and this is definitely my favorite of the bunch. All channels on this head are very usable to me,and take boosts very well! Can get very loud and keep up with band levels, or play in your bedroom with no problems. Sometimes I head a strange phasing issue on the 3rd channel, not quite sure how to describe it, and it kind of happens randomly? I'll get it looked at eventually probably, but for the price of the amp, not much of a problem. Reverb on the amp is decent, but you only really notice it on the clean channel.
Musical Background:
Guitarist in many rock and metal bands, studio session musician.
Musical Style:
Rock, metal
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 27, 2014 by don n in holstein, IA
"Best sounding solid state amp yet."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'll start out by saying this thing is a beast. It's solid state but it is very responsive much like a tube amp. I won't lie and say it's just like a tube amp because it's not. But it's closer than any other solid state amps I've tried. It is also very loud. Very metallica sounding on the clean and dirty channels. But it can also very easily do modern scooped tones. I play mine through a line6 spider cab and it sounds killer. I owned a all tube randall rt100h prior to owning the rg1003h. And it was the best sounding amp I've ever owned. This amp is a close second. Randall is all about metal music. And if you play metal it only makes sense to go with a company that focuses on metal amps. If your a metal player and haven't found your tone or voice yet I recommend the rg1003h to help you get started on the road to tonal bliss you won't be disappointed.
Musical Background:
been teaching and playing for 25 years
Musical Style:
Metal through and through.
27 of 30 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 14, 2019 by Mark Garner in Metairie, LA
"Lots Here To Love"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After buying a Marshall MG100HCFX and two matching 4×12 cabs, I was horribly disappointed. Great clean sound but totally lame in any of the OD/Crunch channels. Even with a distortion pedal it didn't kick any harder than hundred year old mule with arthritis. Marshall should be ashamed!Long story short, I sold that head and bought this Randall and I am knocked out.Channel 1 is capable of an awesome variety of clean tones. Randall is known as a "metal amp" company but to pigeonhole this as just a metal amp is really selling it short.The many tone shaping options; 3 band EQ, bass boost, mid scoop, presence, & bright (Ch.1 only) offer an infinite variety of sounds.In addition to the master volume, each channel has individual volume and gain controls - a veritable tone tweakers wonderland. (This head is a guitarist's version of Augustus Gloop at Willy Wonka's chocolate factory. So many delicious goodies, where do I start?!) The included footswitch makes it easy to go from a nice clean sound on Ch. 1 to a monstrous roar on channels 2 & 3.And thanks to the independent gain and volume controls, you can set channels 2 & 3 to 'shred' & 'obliterate' while keeping channel 1 nice and clean.The Marshall head had a "damping" switch that supposedly made it respond more like a tube amp than a solid stater in terms of tone and punchiness. This head has a similar quality to its' sound.I really can't find anything bad about this head, or anything I would change.The on-board reverb isn't great but is more than adequate.I've had this head for a few months now - I wanted to wait before writing a review until I'd had ample time to really play with it.With my single coil Teles and Strats it can be sparkly or downright mean. With humbuckers, well, you know, if you want "heavy", you've got it.I did notice that the highest gain settings when using humbuckers can produce a thick sludge-like sound which can be remedied by backing off some of the bass and midrange that make single coil guitars oh so dynamic. (If you actually want sludge, this head can rival the La Brea tar pits.)I have been so delighted with this amp that I sold my Vox AC15C1.With the Vox you really had to crank it to make it sing. With this Randall you can play at lower volumes and still get a full and dynamic sound.(Just because it's rated at 100 watts doesn't mean you have to use all 100 of them.)For a cab I am using a single Marshall MG412. The head has two 8 ohm outputs so it can drive a stack if desired. (I've read that this particular cab was designed for use with a solid state head. Some people knock the MG412 but it sounds quite nice paired with this head.)The bottom line is this amp isn't just for metal. And I would buy it again. I categorize this amp as a 'solid state' model and my five star rating isn't meant to mean it compares to the overly venerated tube amps out there. (I've had no problems with it and I've not needed manufacturer's support so I reward Randall with five stars there.)
Musical Background:
Former semi-pro now a stay-at-home jammer.
Musical Style:
Rock, rock and rock.
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 1, 2021 by scott forman in soap lake, WA
"not imprerssed"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
cheap amp head only channel that sounds good with pedals is the clean channel has no sustain or bottom end presence is awful as is channels two and three sounds like a box of bees doing metal it is ok for clean stuff has some electrical issues as well power supply goes out much better amps than this out there reverb is a joke
Musical Background:
Ihave been playing guitsar 30 plus years have owned any different amps
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 9, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com in Bloomington, IN
"Randall"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was wanting the combo but they are back ordered so I got to get this for now I will let you know my honest opinion I have been playing guitar since 24 years now metal thrash metal melodic metal so I will tell you my honest opinion of this amp I am hoping for that metal tone we will see in a few days last randall I ordered was defective so I didnt get to try it so I tried to order it again and it's back ordered again so I am getting this the youtube guy said its great we shall see
Musical Background:
Been playing for almost 25 years melodic thrash death metal
Musical Style:
Metal death melodic thrash doom heavy
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 21, 2020 by DAN Bolton in Bloomington, IN
"Do not buy not metal worthy"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp does not have a good metal tone what so ever I got it and started doing a lot of popping and it just is not a metal amp unless you plug a metal petal in I should not have to do that I should do that to make even better but you would think that this randall amp had good tone heck I have even tried the randall thrasher and its tone was trash I have played line 6 amos that have way better metal tone then these amps do I will try one more randal combo out and let you know my honest opinion been playing guitar 24 almost 25 years now so I know what I am talking about but I the guys at zZounds are definitely keeping it cool with me
Musical Background:
24 years almost 25
Musical Style:
Metal death thrash doom melodic
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us