Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Peavey 6505 Plus Mini Guitar Amplifier Head (20 Watts)

Peavey 6505 Plus Mini Guitar Amplifier Head (20 Watts)

Reproduce the tones of the beastly 6505 in a smaller, low-wattage package. At 20 watts, this mini head can be pushed to the limit for extreme studio gain.

Overall User Ratings (based on 9 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(9)
Submitted December 6, 2017 by Julio H in El Centro , CA
"My little big guy! "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I’ve had this amp since April 2017, I’m not a touring guitarist but I play live between 20-30 times a year and I practice with my band every week....this little amp has kicked some ass! I walk into gigs and most other guitar players look at it like what is that gonna do, but when I crank it up, it sounds as good as the bigger models! I’m very happy with this buy. I now use a Marshall 2x12 cabinet so no more carrying heavy equipment for me. Also this is considered more of a metal amp, but I play punk and ska! I love it because I get a dirty ska, I don’t like too much clean on my ska riffs, so it totally works out for me! It does get some crazy tones, I used an epiphone explorer with emg pick ups and that little guy made it sound close to a metallica sound. I thank zZounds for the Pay as you play feature and peavey for making this little big guy!
Musical Background:
Been playing for 20 plus years and I could be considered semi pro.
Musical Style:
Punk, ska, hard rock, alternative and some metal riffs here and there!
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 11, 2018 by Dean H in Pontotoc , MS
"Angry little thing with big teeth"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ok, so I’ve had this little amp for almost a year now. I used to have the big 6505 but was just way too loud for my jam room. I’ve always played it at pretty low volumes. Honestly one watt isn’t enough for my cab ( Marshall 1960 AV 412 ) but 5 Watts does the trick normally. I can get good sounds even a usable clean at lower volumes. I finally got a day home alone and set it to 20w and let it loose and thing little thing gets real, REAL loud! Enough to jam with a drummer easily and that was in 6. Sounds great too. Nothing like that 5150 gain and it pours out of this amp: If you like metal and the bigger amps but don’t need 120 Watts the 6505MH is nothing short of a monster, sounds killer with all my guitars.
Musical Background:
Been at it for 26 years and I play at home and am occasional gig.
Musical Style:
Metal
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 2, 2016 by Jacob Nates in Clear Brook, VA
"Very happy with this little guy. "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
For what I do (bedroom practice, band rehearsals, mic'd gigs), it couldn't be better. Even though it's twenty watts, I've never had to turn the volume past twelve o clock. Can get a classic Metal tone with no problems. Throw in an od/boost and you've got all the modern Metal gain you'll ever need.
Sound
This is the 6505 sound that has been the standard for Metal tones for the past decade, but just in a smaller package. It sounds great on the 1 watt mode in my room, and sounds even better when cranked up on the 20 watt mode at band practice. My live sound has considerably improved since upgrading from a Spider head as well. It is a little loose sounding without an od, but if you're playing doom/black/grind, you probably won't need a boost. Definitely recommend it for modern death metal, djent, and anything that requires a tighter sound. Clean channel and crunch are usable, and sound good enough with the built in reverb. Check out the classic 20 or the valve king if you don't play metal or hard rock, though.
Features
XLR out, USB out, cab dummy load, variable wattage, headphone jack, built in reverb... Basically, if you have power and a guitar, you'll find a way to play this amp. I've used this amp with and without a cab when playing live going direct out, and it sounded fine. I however, don't recommend recording direct out unless absolutely necessary.
Ease of Use
Everything is straightforward and simple. EQ controls work well and respond fantastically.
Quality
Pretty darn tough, but I wouldn't abuse it. Definitely not as tough as its older brother, though. Only concern is when playing in a room with unstable power, its power tube status lights would flicker on me and the sound would cut out . A power conditioner fixed this problem and I haven't had any issues since.
Value
This amp could sell for $600 and would still be a good price.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to deal with Peavey, but if the amp holds up, I shouldn't have to!
The Wow Factor
It's hard to believe such a small amp can sound so good and be so loud.
Musical Background:
Playing for nine years, occassional gigging
Musical Style:
Metal
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 23, 2018 by Rusty Shackleford in Carbondale , IL
"Perfect metal amp for small gigs"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I’ve played through 5150s and 6505+ amps and this mh sounds just as good and has a ton of cool features that a lot of other amps don’t have, even big ones. It handles all my pedals very well and this amp is loud! I only play it through a 1x12 and I’m loud enough to keep up with a full band with a 2nd guitarist. When I’m at home it stays on the 1 watt mode because it’s just that loud. It’s perfect a bedroom amp, studio amp or small gigs. However for anything larger, I’d recommend the 120w big brother amps.
Musical Background:
6 years, amateur.
Musical Style:
Metal and rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 13, 2017 by Erik S
"Somewhat disappointed"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This Head has an AMAZING sound there was a technical issue with it which apparently isnt uncommon with the peavy 6505 minihead. I'm disappointed to have had to return this product because i love it very much but i could not play on it for even 2 hours before it would overheat and shut down. There are supposedly ways to rig this so it doesn't happen. If you don't play for long periods of time and want an amazing hard rock/metal sound this is a great head at a good price, with a great company backing the product. Thank you zZounds & Peavy
Musical Background:
Guitar 4 years Jam at home or with friends
Musical Style:
Rock/Metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2016 by Patrick Hall in Milton, FL
"Do it now!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So I used to have the 120W version of this amp... Hated it cause I couldn't even turn it up past 1 without killing my ears. So when a guy came along on craigslist and wanted to trade, I was all about it. I took this thing out of the box and plugged it in and let me tell you.. This thing is freaking sweet. You can attenuate it with the switch but I usually keep it on the 20 watt setting because the 1 and 5 watt setting color the tone too much in my opinion. This amp also has the reverb built into it which is super cool in my opinion. I play a lot of metal but I also like a lot of older music.. This thing covers all the spectrums for me. Get it now. You wont regret it.
Musical Background:
Guitar player for 11 years
Musical Style:
Metal with heavy blues influence, Rock, Shedding.
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2016 by Karyn M in Hudson, NH
"Monster in a small package. "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This little head has great tone, plenty of gain and lots og options. Cannot beat the value
Musical Style:
Rock/Metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 18, 2018 by nikolas l in janesville, WI
"Sounds great, although received a faulty unit."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have reviewed this amp for months before making the jump. I was very excited, and upon turning it on it screams at you. It's heavy, it's metal, it's brutal. The clean tones are muddy though. But, I'm also playing with emgs so that could be it. Although, my head, when I switching channels, held a boosted sound for a couple seconds then went back to presets. That made recording and playing songs very difficult that went from clean to gain, and vise versa. My head has been under warranty for over a month now, so maybe it's just my unit but I would definitely look towards a Marshal for the price because ultimately we're all buying something that works right away.
Musical Background:
Guitar player, rhythm
Musical Style:
Metal, hard rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 14, 2016 by Bob B in Phoenix, AZ
"Great tones-----but not through the phones"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Tons of tone, and tons of features, but I purchased with plans of using headphones quite a bit, and never could get them to sound anything like what comes out of the amp. Great value, and sounds great through cabinet, just not suited for me.
Musical Background:
hobbyist, at home noodler
Musical Style:
rock; prog rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to