Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Peavey 6505 Plus Guitar Amplifier Head (120 Watts)

Peavey 6505 Plus Guitar Amplifier Head (120 Watts)

At 120 all-tube watts, Peavey's 6505+ is a beast of an amp head. Grab the knobs to craft earth-shaking tones all your own, from classic rock to modern metal.

Overall User Ratings (based on 39 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(39)
Submitted April 4, 2012 by Joe Visman in Wellsboro, PA
"Wow"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp is amazing. The sounds you can get are just mind blowing. No more distortion pedals are needed and the clean channel has such a great tone. I have always bought Peavey products before but this tops them all. People who say this amp is just for metal have apparently never played with it. I bought this amp with a payment plan and was shocked when I found a better price and Zzounds still beat the price for after the purchase. I was skeptical until they gave me a credit on my payment plan. Couldn't ask for a better site than this one.
Musical Background:
10 years. Guitar, Bass, Piano, Drums, and Mandolin
Musical Style:
Anything but country and hip hop.
15 of 15 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 21, 2012 by Corwin Deckard in Bloomington, IN
"Peavey 6505+"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The best amplifier I have ever owned, without a doubt. Don't buy into the misconceptions regarding this being an amp that is strictly for metal--it really can do it all. I have been playing through a Fender DeVille 2x12 for several years and the Peavey outshines it in every way, with the exception of not having the tasty built-in Fender Reverb.
Sound
As mentioned above, this amp can do anything. While I primarily play Melodic Metal with my band Thanasphere (yeah, I'm plugging a bit), I also play quite a lot of blues, classic rock and classical. This amp serves all purposes. Clean Channel: Ranging from perfect clarity to a light grit, you can get just about any tone you want from it. I generally engage the coil tap on my EMGs and use the middle selector position on my Schecter when playing cleans to really serve the clarity that you can get from the clean channel. It will allow subtlety within chords (adds, etc...--think Kickapoo if you're unfamiliar), but will also respond well to a boomier low end if that's what you're looking for. All in all I'm very confident that this will achieve any clean to you want--it's certainly better than my Fender DeVille. Crunch: Ranging from a light fuzz to doom quality, you can essentially reach aspects of a clean channel and almost render the full overdrive channel useless by simply adjusting your level of gain. I've been able to get some bitchin' Van Halen tones, some subtle blues fizz, and even low boomy Doom metal from this channel. Overdrive: The high gain channel will fulfill your gainy needs, of this I am certain. With bursting amounts of gain, even with the Pre-gain knob at 7/8 nothing is too fizzy and muddy. I've been able to achieve perfect amounts of clarity even by maxing out the Pre-gain and vice versa, I've been able to get nice, gritty, muddy blunder that will attain the "ugly range" if that's what you're into. My only complaint is that I was spoiled with my built-in spring reverb in my old DeVille, and now I mus live without it. Currently I'm being a purist and running my guitar straight into the amp, but I've experimented with my Zoom G9.2tt and they work quite well together for effects (chorus, reverb, and the luxury of a volume pedal primarily).
Features
If you're deciding between the plus and the regular, spring for the plus; it has a separate EQ for the Clean/Crunch and Gain channels that I wouldn't be able to live without. While it's pretty bare as far as flash goes, it's better for it. It comes across very minimal and pure and leaves you open to far more pre-amp effects and tone customization.
Ease of Use
I've never felt like I was trying particularly hard to make it sound good. While I've spent the weeks since I got it turning knobs constantly to find my sweet spot, it has sounded phenomenal throughout. I would also mention that this amp being so minimal in the features dept. lends itself very well to it's ease of use.
Quality
I feel confident that when the world inevitably burns, only this amp and my Peavey 412MS will be the headstones marking where Earth once existed, living on into the darkness of time.
Value
Given that any other amp I've tried to approached with level of versatility and has surpassed expectations has been in the $2000-$3000 range (with the exception of some tasty vintage amps that you can find used), this really can't be beat. That taken into consideration with the fantastic Play as you Pay plan available through zZounds, I can't think of any reason to complain. If you are a musician--invest in your craft and find the tools to do yourself justice.
Manufacturer Support
N/A
The Wow Factor
I played my first concert with this amp recently and thought to myself on several occasions "wow I love my tone." I have never had the luxury of thinking that during a show and it makes it worth any price.
Musical Background:
I have eight years guitar playing experience and primarily play professionally with my band, Thanasphere.
Musical Style:
My band, Thanasphere, is Melodic Metal (think Dethklok lovechild with Lamb of God and Children of Bodom with melodies passed dow
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 11, 2020 by Larry Williams in HAPPY VALLEY, OR
"Simply the BEST METAL AMP ever."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I don't know what to say. Been playing guitar for over 20 years, and picked one of these up for the first time about 2 months ago. I am changed forever. You hear all of the cliché things people say about this amp, and they're all true. I play a Kiesel Vader 7 string with a single Seymour Duncan Invader in the bridge position. Overdrive pedal (not that it needs it, but I like that extra little push), a Decimator noise gate, and that's it. It's GOD TIER tone. I can't get it past 1. It's like a raging beast, you not only hear this amp, but you FEEL it. It feels like a thousand hell hounds live inside this thing, and it's just on the edge at all times of completely breaking loose. The harder you push it, the better it gets. Super saturated, deep; clear tones. I'm a distortion freak, and I cannot stand a dry tone. This is the only amp I've ever owned that legitimately has *more* gain available than I can reasonably use. I think you would have to really try to get a bad metal tone out of this, and even then you'd have to be pretty determined. The only downside I can possibly think of, is that it's just too powerful for most practical home uses, but buy yourself a 45 dollar JHS (or similar) attenuator to push the preamp, and send less signal to the power amp- which is what I did. And you can have that saturated driven tube tone at *somewhat* lower levels. Other than it's sheer overwhelming power, it's the QUALITY of the tone that surprised me. Once you hear it, you can't go back. Buy it and piss off you neighbors. ZZOUNDS is awesome btw. Phenomenal customer service, as always. My main is a Kiesel 7 Vader, with a Seymour Duncan Invader in the bridge position.
Musical Background:
20+ years. Metal, extreme metal. Recording musician.
Musical Style:
METAL.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 14, 2012 by Joshua Ladlee in New London, OH
"Extremely Powerful"
I seen a few people saying the cleans are no good. If you have ears you can get any sound you want out of this beast, I would recommend the Peavey 6505+ to anyone who is serious about making some noise!If you are stuck between this head or another, Trust my word. You won't regret it. Right out of the box, it's ready to deliver, if you know what I mean.
Musical Background:
USA Fender Stratocaster Standard/Epi Les Paul/Explorer/Wildkat | Biyang Tri-Reverb | Crybaby Wahwah
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, 80's Hair.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 22, 2012 by Mouth Full in rochester, NY
"Peavey 6505 Plus"
I had my heart set on a mesa triple head because I am in a pop punk band Called "Mouth Full" out of Rochester New York and when you hear pop punk a mesa triple rec is usally the go to amp. My friend sold this amp to me for 600 bucks. I played all my bands stuff on the lead channel on my marshal so I figured I would test out the lead channel on the 6505+. It was way to heavy and I thought I made a mistake buying this amp every one said dont buy it if your not a full out metal band.I played around with it a bit and found out the crunch channel was what im looking for.The crunch channel sounds just about as heavy as my marshals lead channel haha. Usually when you think crunch channel you don't think it would sound like this peavey does.It has alot of gain but its brite and crip distortion which is what I was looking for and more it has an amazing tone and the tubes are old so it should be even better when I re tube it.I was really upset that I bought it for a few days until I used the crunch channel.The lead channel is awesome don't get me wrong but its to heavy for my sound that I want.But like I said the crunch channel will make any pop punk guy think twice about buying a mesa triple.The best part I would say is if you need a ton of gain you have it,theirs a song or 2 that we play that will totally benefit for the lead channel. I mean you can be playing blink 182 in the crunch channel and kick on the lead channel and play the heaviest of the heavy.I have never liked the idea of needing a $50 distortion pedal for an amp that you pay alot of money for and this is an amp you really don't need one.I really like the cleans on this amp some people dont but for my style is awesome.I dont think Im going to get another amp for a long time.
Musical Background:
4 years guitar.Other insterments alot longer.
Musical Style:
Pop punk,alternative,pop rock.post hardcore
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 10, 2016 by Jay L in East Bridgewater, MA
"Great amp for the money!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If you're looking for a tube amp head that won't break the bank but will break your expectations, I'd pick yourself up one of these! For rock or metal, you can't go wrong with the amp's tone and sheer volume. The EQ/Pre/Post layout is very straightforward and you should only expect to have to play around with it for a little while before finding your tone. With my BBE Sonic Stomp and the MXR 10 Band EQ in the FX loop, the sound is killer!
Musical Background:
Amateur, gigging guitarist, 12 years
Musical Style:
Beat for Rock, Metal, or even Blues.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 12, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
"THE Titan of high gain amps,NONE better."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i love other amps by different manufacturers but, this is,was and always will be my main/go to amp for all but, the jangliest of cleans, when it comes to anything where gain with clarity and articulation is concerned this amp destroys ALL others.
Sound
The gain is the best imo. Cleans are decent. Picking dynamics are second to none where a high gain amp is concerned and this amps gain is much more useable than about any other i have used. For the price it can't be touched and even for a grand more it would still be untouched. The only issue i have is the amp cannot be switched to half power but, not a big deal at all for the tone.
Features
I wish it had a half power switch and lazer beams to shoot out at the crowd when a pinch harmonic is hit....
Ease of Use
EFFORTLESS.....
Quality
Tank,Tank,TANK! This amp is the only other i have used that may as well be bulletproof...
Value
For the price it can't be beat. For twice the price it is still untouched.
Manufacturer Support
The customer service is great, i own one of their no longer manufatured guitars and asked them for the specs and i got them within minutes with a polite message.
The Wow Factor
I reocrded in a pro studio and used the originaly titled version of this amp and have lusted after it ever since,now i have one and i own the combo, sonicaly other amps can eat Peavey's dust as far as this amps concerned.
Musical Background:
Semi-Pro
Musical Style:
all types when hired, metal in my own bands
22 of 25 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 25, 2010 by a customer from cfl.rr.com
"Assimilate or Die, This AMP is FOR METAL!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I will have this till the world ends. If someone were to steal this thing, Id probably murder them, actually I would tie them to the amp and put it on 10 and blow there ear drums out, then drop it on them because its a tank. Plus I can test out the durability at the same time. AWESOME AMP!
Sound
The is the king of Metal Amps. The sound is phenomenal. The cleans channels are really good and it has a crunch channel that you can click on the footswitch. I really enjoy using this thing, especially the lead channel. If you want a real metal amp with soaring leads, get this!
Features
The amp comes with a good footswitch unlike the regular 6505. Its actually durable and has 3 buttons, 1 for clean and lead, 1 for crunch, 1 for effects. The tubes in it are great, I believe there 6L6's. The amp is all round awesome.
Ease of Use
Piece of cake getting any tone from this. I can adjust my settings to get a ZZ top sound all the way down to an As I lay Dying tone. The amp is very adjustable and has no horizons and limits.
Quality
This thing is built like a frickin tank. I purchased this one Blemished and there wasnt any scratches, or dings, or anything wrong with it. I was beyond impressed with how built this thing was.I think ill have it till I die.
Value
This amp is pricey but worth it. You get what you pay for, if you buy a 400 Bugera head, Its gonna break, if you buy a Peavey that been around forever, its going to last and give you some signature tones.
Manufacturer Support
Havent talked to peavey but I give them a 10 for building an awesome amp that it wont break so I dont need to call the.
The Wow Factor
Its one sexy amp. It screams "SHRED ME"
Musical Background:
Active musician
Musical Style:
Metal, NeoClassical, Blues, Hard Rock, Jazz, Fusion
12 of 14 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 27, 2014 by Doug S in Newhall, CA
"Peavey 6505 Plus Guitar Amplifier Head"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp seems to be very well built for the price...I'm very pleased here. The stock tone is pretty good but a bit fizzy at lower volumes and still kinda fizzy turned up. But the character is really good. I added a Mercury OT and choke, did the bias mod so it's in a better range (38ma) and put a TS pedal in front. Relatively inexpensive mods overall I think. Now this this thing kicks ass!!! It sounds very "expensive". It reminds me of a Fryette Pitbull. Obviously different character but very tight, punchy, aggressive with tons of harmonic content. I love this amp now. I put it a notch down for features. I'd like to have fully separate vol and gain on clean/crunch channel (though this can be modded in with dual concentric pots), midi channel control and a master vol.
Musical Background:
Solo artist
Musical Style:
Metal, hard rock, blues
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 10, 2016 by Scott Curry in Bargersville, IN
"The Best Head for the Money. Period."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp is the best one that I have played for the price point that it is at. It has plenty of power and an excellent tone and is built like a truck. Would make the perfect head for trying out tubes for the first time or even the perfect backup for the working musician. My only complaint is a very slight one. The clean sound is a little grainy and it's hard to dial in a pure tone out of the clean channel. That being said, I play metal more often than any other style, so when I do switch to clean for one of my songs the sound fits perfect. It all depends on what style you are looking for. This amp is perfect for many different styles with the distorted channel, but the clean is a little grainy so know that when you buy and you will have a great experience. Never used Peavey customer support so I can't comment on the service. I will say that zZounds shipped it super quickly and their customer service is excellent though. zZounds is my new first call when I need some new gear!
Musical Background:
Guitarist
Musical Style:
Progressive Metal, Djent, Metalcore, Hardcore, Hard Rock, Post Hardcore
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 9, 2014 by josh dunlap in clarion, PA
"brown sound!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The 6505+ is a fantastic amp. I play in a punk band and I assure you it's for more than metal. Whatever you want to play, this rig will suffice. Certainly, the reverb could be better but I won't complain. Even better than the product itself is zZounds. Fast shipping and great customer service. I found the amp on sale somewhere else. I emailed the great people at zZounds about it. I woke up the next day with a $400 refund to match the on sale price. Couldn't be more pleased.
Musical Background:
playing for 8 years. in a band, but i still jam at home and with friends
Musical Style:
Punk rock, classic rock(Elo, top petty, bad company), thrash metal.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 26, 2020 by Samuel Alvey in Hanover, IN
"Peavey 6505+"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Been playing since 1990 and the only amps I'd say are more brutal are Mesa Mark V or Dual Rec (with added OD pedal) or a Dar FBM100. These range from 2k to 10k so you won't find a better bang for the buck. I found both Mesas and the Peavey. Can't find Dar yet. Clean channel requires a LOT of tweaking and processing unless you add pedals. Pretty much useless, but let's be real... who's using the clean channel on this thing? SUPER easy to dial in a brutal tone. Very simple and straight forward. You'll never have to use max gain or ANY max setting. You'd have to HIRE someone to f*** up your sound. You're gonna love this amp. Especially at this price. I got mine used and it's like an armored vehicle, but zZounds has sold me quite a few items and these guys are awesome.
Musical Background:
Guitar bass and drums since 1990. Farenheit451, Caged, charisma society, Stallpoint, solo projects
Musical Style:
jazz, metal, blues, bluegrass, progressive
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 24, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Awesome high gain tube amp!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
This amp is awesome. If you play metal or rock you should definately check out this amp. It has way more gain and volume than anyone should ever need. You CAN get clean sounds out of this amp. Very versatile amp.
Features
This thing is packed with feature to sculpt the sound you want. It also has a ground lift, which is a big plus when gigging. The only thing missing is a headphone jack.
Ease of Use
Very easy to use and dial in the sound your looking for.
Quality
This thing is built like a tank. I would trust it without a backup any day.
Value
Definately worth the price compared to other high gain tube amps.
Musical Background:
Gigging Musician
Musical Style:
Metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 3, 2018 by Chris L in Vernon, TX
"Screams Metal"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was always a huge fan of the 5150 model. I was skeptical at first in buying this head. Fast forward a few days after thinking about it. I ordered it. Let me tell you, the 6505 is where it's at. The tones from this head are brutal.
Musical Background:
I have been playing music for 20 years. I am in a metal band and am the rhythm guitarist.
Musical Style:
Metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 15, 2013 by Sean A in Morgan Hill, CA
"This monster tone scares me"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wow... Once it was delivered, I immediately plugged it in to my Mesa 4x12 cabinet. No effect pedals.... just the guitar. What an INSANE tone. This is what I was trying to get out of my other amps but having to use OD pedals to get. The clean tone is not as impressive as the crunch but its still a nice sound and can be cleaned up with some chorus and reverb. This is by far my favorite amp now. I was never a Peavey fan until now.
Musical Background:
Playing for 30 years now. Played in clubs for years but now just home recordings and teaching
Musical Style:
From Megadeath to Mozart
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 26, 2012 by Jacob N in Denver, CO
"This head is amazing!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Amazing amp with the ability to get any sound I need, from super high gain to light blues distortion, and everything between. Controls are straightforward, and the footswitch just makes the ease of use all the more easier.
Musical Background:
Active musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 28, 2014 by KICH K in DFW, TX
"The Learning Curve"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
There is a whole lot of negativity floating around about this amp. It seems to me that if you're expecting it to be another amp, you're destined to be disappointed. It definitely got its own personality. It does heavy in spades, which is what i bought it for. I don't much understand buying it for anything else. The clean channel takes some patience to dial in, but it's possible to get a very useable tone out of it. Paired with an MXR six band EQ, this thing is a MONSTER. I wouldn't hate if it had built in reverb. Made in USA, rock hard construction.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 6, 2015 by paul g in Los Anglels, CA
"Nice amp"
Surprising how versatile the amp is. I used a lower gain pre-amp tube than stock and run straight pre-amp in the front and get very good cleans on the green channel with nice breakup when pre-amp is on. Great for country, rock or metal. Distortion channel is very good, no need to use full gain. Also use a second slave amp but tone comes from the peavey. I bought two heads used for about the price of a new one about 3 years ago, have not yet had to use the backup head.
Musical Background:
Guitar, 30 plus years, play public events on weekends.
Musical Style:
country, rock, blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 11, 2013 by Carlos M in Cromwell, CT
"Peavey 6505 Plus...Tone like no other...Kudos to Zzounds!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First of all Zzounds does it again. Ordered on Sunday and delivered on Tuesday morning along with the 6505 angle cab!!! Incredible experience anytime I purchase anything from them. As far as the 6505 plus head and 6505 cab...nothing short of incredible! If you want a clean, tight, punchy distortion sound this is it. Every review says it and I'll say it again...you CANNOT beat this OD sound for modern gain period!!! No need for a compression box with this head..the sound is so tight. Add a little reverb and chorus and you are done!!! Thank you Peavey and thank you again Zzounds for amazing customer service and unbeatable pricing.
Musical Background:
18 years of gigging and recording
Musical Style:
Modern rock, metal
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 19, 2017 by Vernon W in hatfield, AR
"Peavy 6505+"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Order one right now!! As soon as it arrives, throw all the Line 6 B.S., every other solid state amp, and all the crappy distortion pedals in the dumpster because now you have a real metal amp!! This amp ran into my 2 G12T-75 celestion speakers is one bad mother!! Words can not describe how great this amp sounds. It has insane amounts of gain while remaining clear and crisp with every note. The louder you turn it up, (and it gets permanent hearing damage loud) the better it sounds. You will never achieve a metal tone this brutal with a solid state amp. I just wish I would have gotten one years ago.
Sound
Sound is amazing! Just remember that speaker selection plays a huge part in this. I can get every thing from AC/DC sounding overdrive to blues from the crunch channel. The lead channel is where I stay most of the time because of the high gain metal tone I love. I can get the high gain without going past about 51/2 to 6 on the gain, so there is plenty more gain than you will ever need. I use the Ibanez tube screamer when I go into a solo just to tighten up the sound and make the pinch harmonics scream. This amps clean and crunch channel are tied in together which is the only thing i dont like. But a really good clean sound can be achieved by lowering the pre gain down to about 2 or 3 and dialing up the post gain a little higher to get the volume up where you need it.
Features
The best feature on this amp is the resonance control. Some people refer to this as the "add balls knob" because that is what it does!!
Ease of Use
easy to use. plug it up and play with the controls for a few mins. You can find the tone you want very quickly and easily.
Quality
Built like a tank! Very sturdy and well made.
Value
There are cheaper amps out there, but this thing is great and made in the USA. Thats worth the extra money to me!
Manufacturer Support
I don't think I will ever need to call them.
The Wow Factor
The sound is the WOW factor! If It got stolen today, I would order another today!
Musical Background:
home recording
Musical Style:
Metal
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 21, 2009 by a customer from hotmail.com
"ONE WORD! BRUTALITY!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
You forgot to mention the most awesome band in the world uses these! THE BLACK DAHLIA MURDER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Simply amazing!
Features
Brutality at its finest!
Ease of Use
What else can i say? The best for the price!
Quality
I have a peavey head from the early 80s and it still sounds as good as new!
Value
Excellent price!
Manufacturer Support
Excellent customer service!
The Wow Factor
Sexy
Musical Background:
Active musician
Musical Style:
Melodic death metal
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 13, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"WE LOVE THAT!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
get yours today!
Sound
HEAVY AS F***!! Cleans could be better, but lets face it, if you are looking at this amp, cleans are the last thing on your mind. The gain on this is incredible. Tone is amazing.
Quality
Peavey has always made quality products. Why do you think so many artists use their product?
Value
Try to find this kind of tone for under 1000 dollars... Peavey is the only one.
Manufacturer Support
havent dealt with them, but im sure they are great.
The Wow Factor
Looks and sounds like money
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
rock, hardcore, metal
4 of 8 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 18, 2011
Peavey 6505 Plus Customer Review
Sound
This head Rocks!! The tone is extremely versatile and plenty loud. I currently use it for an Iron Maiden tribute band, but can also get a 70's thru 90's rock tone.
Features
Came with a pedal to switch from clean to crunch to sreaming lead tone. Also has an effects on/off. I like the that this head has seperate EQ for the two channels. I do wish the resonance and reverb were a little better, but they still sound sweet.
Ease of Use
Totally basic to use.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to contact support.
Musical Background:
active musician and recording engineer
Musical Style:
Rock, Hard Rock, Metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 21, 2008
"Greatest high gain amp ever. The beastly amp."
I don't think I'm ever gonna get sick of this amp. Maybe I would get a Marshall JVM or some other head, just for diversity in my heads. But seriously, I think I've found my tone.
Sound
This thing is a monster. It has the best distortion I've ever played in my life. The only thing I don't like is that you can't get it to be completely clean.
Features
Comes with cab cables, and a footswitch. Awesome. The only thing that I don't like is the fact that the clean and crunch are on the same channel. It would have been better if they had two separate set of knobs for that.
Ease of Use
Extremely easy.
Quality
Its beautiful, the most beautiful I've ever seen.
Value
You've got Marshall's that have worse sound than this and that are like 2000 dollars. Best value ever for this amp right here.
Manufacturer Support
Never used it.
The Wow Factor
It look great.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
All kinds of metal, some rock, mostly metal.
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to