Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Orange Micro Dark Terror Mini Guitar Amplifier Head (20 Watts)
BACK IN STOCK

Orange Micro Dark Terror Mini Guitar Amplifier Head (20 Watts)

This 20-watt Orange tube/solid-state hybrid amplifier is perfect for the bedroom shredder. Plug it into a big cab for a sound that's anything but "micro."

Overall User Ratings (based on 15 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(15)
Submitted March 19, 2016 by Kenny R in Miami, FL
"Monster tone, questionable size... Wizardry! "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
For my first Orange Amp, I purchased the 'regular' Micro Terror, the white one. It treated me well and I had fantastic tone and options, the only thing it seemed to lack was just a tad bottom end. Although I mostly used it for effects like delays and reverbs and clean tones similar to Angels and Airwaves and punk overdrives like Sum 41. the Micro DARK, however... is a different beast. The shape feature on this amp is tremendous. I worked at a music store when we just got them in stock, and I just kind of blew them off thinking it was just a black Micro Terror... until I plugged it in. There is near infinite amounts of tonal options you get from this amp. Turn down the gain and raise the volume, I hit the full potential of what the Micro Terror gave me. Crank up the gain and I get all the distortion and punch I want. Love using it with my TS9 overdrive. This amp is well worth the money. Its lightweight, inexpensive and reliable as an amp can be. Starting to think hybrids are the future...
Sound
Monster distortion when you need it, sparkly cleans when you want. The shape feature lets you dial in your perfect sound.
Features
Lightweight and portable, obviously! The shape feature is a huge selling point. CabSim on headphone out makes it an even cooler amp for recording and playing quietly. EFFECTS LOOP! 'nuff said.
Ease of Use
Volume, Shape, Gain. Dassit. Doesn't get much simpler than that. Oh, and EFFECTS LOOP!
Quality
Hard metal casing, hard to dent. All the pots are smooth and don't crack up and the imputs/output jacks are firm and sturdy.
Value
Selling point of 189 is beyond worth it for the amount of sound you get out of this thing and the versatility it provides.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to deal with support
The Wow Factor
Again, that Shape feature is just.. wow. Also the fact that its so tiny, smaller than a lunchbox, and it blows many things out of the water...
Musical Background:
guitar, bass, drums. producer. record and jam at home studio.
Musical Style:
U2, Angels and Airwaves style delays and effects, Sum 41/Blink 182 punk sounds, A Day to Remember, The Devil Wears Prada and Kil
28 of 28 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 28, 2016 by KC Woodall in Forney, TX
"Big Tone Tiny Package!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I do a lot of research before making any kind of purchase. So I knew what this little thing was capable of upon purchasing. I was genuinely impressed by the tone quality and overall loudness of this amp. One thing that caught me by surprise was how great the clean tones were! Most choose the Dark Terror for Hard Rock/Metal tones but this thing really does it all! I highly recommend for pedal users (it has a built in effects loop.) As well as anyone who needs a variety of tonality in a small compact package. This thing powers a 4x12 no problem and the sound is truly something you need to plug in and here for yourself. PS: I bought the tiny PPC108 Cabinet to go with it and it cranks out some incredible volume and sounds like a big cabinet! Tons of low end, snappy mids, and bell-like highs. Great package.
Musical Background:
Playing guitar for 8 years. Played professionally, bedroom rocker as well.
Musical Style:
Rock/Hiphop/Metal/Country
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 19, 2016 by Kenny H in Browning, IL
"May Look LIke A Toy But Watch Out!"
Have had this little beast for maybe a week now and it just keeps on impressing me. I was able to compare this little guy with the Micro Terror and the Ibanez TSA15. played the TSA15 the longest but after plugging into the Micro Dark at 1/3 of the price, I walked out with the Micro Dark. I was looking for more gain than the Micro Terror had plus an effects loop in which the Micro Dark fit the bill perfectly. I think that the Micro Dark may have even had more gain than the TSA15 come to think of it. It seems to take regular pedals as well as multi-effect pedals well. For those of you who have had noise problems with this amp, there is a chance that the preamp tube could have went bad during shipping so before you give up on it, take it to an amp repair shop or call Orange and see if they will send you another preamp tube. Also keep in mind that reverb, delay and chorus pedals can be ran through effects loop but that distortion, wah, boost, etc. should be ran through the front input jack. Hope this review helps others. Check out Orange Amp web for owners manual. I love this thing. ROCK ON ORANGE!!!
Musical Background:
Semi-pro and recording hobbiest
Musical Style:
rock, country, blues
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 28, 2017 by An drew V
"Wow!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been on the fence for some time on whether or not to buy this amp. I'm glad I did. The tone's that I'm able to get are incredible. Don't be fooled by 3 knobs. This amp is very versatile. Between the amps tone and gain knobs and the volume on my guitar I'm able to get most any sound. I tend to favor classic rock to some modern metal, and this sucker handles them well. My previous amp was a marshall DSL5c, and In my opinion the Orange sounds better and has more useful tones. I also purchased the Orange cab that goes with the Micro Terror series, and again was very surprised at the sound. I'm not knocking the Marshall, it sounded good, but to my ears this sounds better. Not to mention the Orange head and cab are a little more than $200 less than the Marshall. One other thing to consider, tubes aren't cheap and the Orange only has one (though you would never know from the sound). Oh yeah, they even have a speaker cable included, so order the head and cab and you are good to go. No tax ordering with zZounds and free 2 day shipping. They gained another customer.
Musical Background:
Home player
Musical Style:
Rock and Metal
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2017 by Scott Hughes in Oceanside, CA
"Tiny amp, monster sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I went and visited my buddy in Massachusetts, and he had just purchased this from zZounds. I couldn't believe how loud this was with just a 1x8 cab. He knew i loved it, and last week a box came from zZounds. Yeah, he sent me one. I don't need my peavey 6505 plus anymore. The only thing i did was install a tungsol 12ax7. Higher gain tube than the stock jj tube. Mad it even more of a beast!!
Musical Background:
I've been playing for over 40 years. I play gibsons, mostly les pauls.
Musical Style:
70's 80's hard rock. Zep, sabbath, thin lizzy, etc.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 5, 2016 by Pete R
"Unbelievable Value!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First off, many thanks to zZounds for their payment plans. My order went smoothly and shipping was very quick. I can honestly say that I am an Orange guy now. The first week I had this thing I would come home from work, plug in, lay on my bed, and just play power cords though my Kramer 84 Bullseye with a Seymour Duncan Custom Custom.
Sound
This is my second Orange product. The first was it's brother, the Micro Terror. That one needed a tube change (Ruby) to make it sound good to my ears. No issue with the tube in this baby. Perfectly voiced. Look, I know tone is subjective, but to my ears this sounds perfect. I run my eq between 11 and 12 o'clock, that does it for me
Features
Not a lot of buttons makes it quick to dial in your tone. Effects loop works great for your modulation pedals.
Ease of Use
Again, not a lot of buttons. If you want to change tubes, it's 12 screws. Easy, but necessary IMO.
Quality
Small metal casing. Looks bullet proof.
Value
EASILY THE BEST VALUE OF ANY LOW WATTAGE HEAD!!!
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed any.
The Wow Factor
My friend looked at it and said "Wow, this thing is small." Then I fired it up and his eyes opened wide. This is a common reaction from what I have seen.
Musical Background:
25 year hobbyist
Musical Style:
Blues, Metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 1, 2016 by Ross K in Linden, TX
"Plenty of amp for the size and price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I received my Micro Dark Terror yesterday,it was packaged very nicely,so I took it out of the packaging,it feels solid,great construction,I plugged it up into my 4-12"-300 watt speaker cabinet and I was and still amazed how awesome it sounds! even at a very low volume it sounds great,the shape knob is the heart of this amp,it creates any sound I need from fairly clean to major distortion,which is primarily what I use it for. as I started turning the volume up it really came to life,the highest gain settings have a round thick sound,not overly saturated but plenty of usable gain,then turning the shape knob counter clockwise it starts getting cleaner,and more of a treble response,I am running my reverb pedal through the effects loop,really expanded the sound,really spacious quality sounds..for me this amp is a great deal and delivers what I was hoping for,I even have the amps gain up all the way,and roll the volume off and it cleans up nicely or with some great crunch,its a keeper for me,i am glad that I made this purchase..for me Zzounds customer service is second to none,all you have to do is call them up or shop online,they deliver every time,their employees are knowledgable and friendly and get the job done,,I ordered this Micro Dark Terror online on a Tuesday evening,got the shipping notice emails on Wednesday late afternoon,and the package arrived at my front door on Thursday by 1030 am!! so fast !! also Zzounds pay as you play is awesome,I have purchased 3 items on the pay as you play plan,and you always get the best service!! Thank you Zzounds!! I have never had to use Oranges customer service on any of their products,but they still get 5 stars from me.
Musical Background:
Off and on for 30+ years
Musical Style:
rock,blues,hard rock and metal
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 7, 2019 by Waylon W
"Awesome"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great amp, perfect in a lot of ways. The shape knob actually does change the sound and far more than a dark to light sound. There’s gain for days and can do a decent clean or just on the verge of break up clean. The headphone out sounds good, does have a little noise to it but not horrible. Slap a reverb on it in the loop and that’s about all you need.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 23, 2017 by Kasey F in Killeen, TX
"Great little amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great little amp. It's very simple, so if you need tons of controls, it's not for you. But what it does have is great. I'll be using it for many years to come.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 2, 2017 by John C
"Killer Amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've heard the online demos and they all sounded great. Different cabs, speakers, clean to fully distorted and at this price point what have I got to lose. This amp is killer. I think it's a game changer in a lot of ways. It's incredibly light and small that puts out this huge sound. Why lug around a heavy head when you can use this? Got all the tones I need and an fx loop. This amp does it all.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 22, 2017 by Alexander H in Kent, WA
"Killer Little Thing"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was honestly a bit surprised with this little guy. After some unfortunate financial circumstances that lasted quite a few years, I finally got on my feet enough to start purchasing all the musical equipment I had been wanting for a home studio setup. I didn't want to spend too much at once, and I didn't want a large installment plan possibly getting in the way later. After months of researching what I wanted, I decided to start with this amp as my first foray into the tube amp experience. Quite impressed with what it could do, and even more so as I upgraded my old guitar to actually perform well itself. Pair this little thing with a Tubescreamer pedal, and you've got a really good sound for not a whole lot of cash. I'm upgrading to a bigger box, but I discovered I loved the Orange tone from this little guy so much, my next amp is another Orange.
Musical Background:
Producer, multi-instrumentalist
Musical Style:
Metal, hard rock, alternative metal, electronic
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 25, 2017 by Cesar T in Houston, TX
"It is what it is..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
...and it is great. infinitely better than any micro amp you could buy and well worth the price. You'll get the tone you want and it is loud as f*#@. Can't go wrong. ONLY downside is the lack of 2 channels but that's not a big deal. really.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 21, 2017 by Brian B in Presidential Lakes, NJ
"Micro Amp = Mega Tone!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp is extremely versatile! Main change I did was swap the tube out for an RCA 12au7. The volume went up a bit but the tube swap took the gain down, but you can still get a great sound out of it. The headphones sound great, I don't care what everyone else says. I watched a few videos on youtube and stole their knob o'clocks to try this thing out. Got this on the cheap and it has more than surpassed my expectations for the price
Sound
The tone knob in the middle is fun to play with.
Features
Pre-amp tube swapping is fun and you can actually notice the difference
Ease of Use
Easy to get tones out of it by using the volume, tone and gain knobs. Search for Laura Cox on youtube, as she has a great video of the different tones you can play with this thing. I stole her knob settings to get the same tones. This amp is ultra light!
Quality
The only bad thing is the switch, it feels like it might break. Everything else seems pretty solid.
Value
Worth far beyond the price.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to contact them.
The Wow Factor
This thing can CRANK for the small size of it.
Musical Background:
Been gigging out, playing guitar for 6 tears
Musical Style:
I'm big into classic rock and alternative, but I'm starting to get into blues and other genres.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 8, 2020 by Jacob W in Redding, CA
"A true gem"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
This amp is amazing. If you are looking for something compact, offers an amazing preamp that responds well to pedals, and a direct out (with cab sim) that sounds great with an impulse response added right to the audio track this is your amp.
Sound
The sound on this is amazing. It has a very classic overdrive and hardrock sound that is great for lighter forms of metal. The cab sim is honestly terrible going straight into an interface, but that is easily fixed by loading an impulse response onto the audio track it is routed too. Overall if you are looking to play extreme metal you may want a rev or a peavy even a joyo. You can get extreme metal sounds, but you will probably need a distortion pedal or a boost in the pre amp.
Features
The most useful feature is the fx loop. Paired with your favorite reverbs, eq's, as well as boost chorus and delay this thing really really shines. The preamp really compliments my memory toy by ehx allowing it to be heard clear when engaged next to my Triangle muff also an ehx pedal.
Ease of Use
It is very easy to get good sounds out of this. When going direct out the cab sim is pretty dirt so if someone has not used impulse responses that may be a huge learning curve. Also using the fx loop may be difficult for those that dont know what they do or have never seen one and just starting out. It only has three knobs volume, gain, and shape. The shape knob may also confuse newer players and the gain is very responsive to where the volume can be almost down and the amp is still audible. Other then that i would say this amp is super easy to use.
Quality
It is made pretty well. Feels a little fragile when connecting into the inputs and such, but it is made of metal so that is a plus. I did drop it on accident from about 4 feet and it managed to survive so no problems there. No loose connections knobs or switches. If anything the jacks are a bit resistant and have a solid sound when connected in. It gives off that connecting to analog feel.
Value
This is a great deal. If you want something for extreme metal there's better brands like peavy or joyo. This thing can get a great metal ton however you will have to dedicate time to find the right pedals and equing to do so. Overall great value and price I am very happy.
Manufacturer Support
Never need em' there gear has never failed me once.
The Wow Factor
This amp is my dedicated d.i signal fits right on top of my 2i4 by focusrite. Did you finished reading? What are you waiting for? add it to your cart!
Musical Background:
Guitarist,Percussionist,Amateur production.
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Shoegaze, Alternative, Jazz
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 20, 2016 by Brent W in Warwick, RI
"Orange dark micro"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Well I have to start with the amp. It is underwelming. worth its weight in gold however I have a peavey 20w valve King and it blows this amp out of the water for 100 dollars more. That being said this thing is great with headphones and has great gain sound but if you want an amp that does both this is not for you. It's clean tones are weak to say the list. zZounds on the other hand gets 5 stars. Best customer service ever!. The amp didn't come with a power cable so I emailed sounds and working 12 hours they responded. Witching 18 hours of the first email they rush shipped me the part I needed for free. Doesn't get better then that!In short.. Orange micro dark is alright for the price but zZounds customer service is the best.
Musical Background:
Playing 10 year
Musical Style:
Punk metal surf
1 of 5 people (20%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us