Orange MT20 Micro Terror Guitar Amplifier Head (20 Watts)

Orange MT20 Micro Terror Guitar Amplifier Head (20 Watts)

Experience the legendary sound of the Orange Terror series! The Micro Terror brings the iconic Tiny Terror's tasty tones to an even smaller 20-watt amp head.

Overall User Ratings (based on 16 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(16)
Submitted September 6, 2013 by Aaron Thompson in Hermosa Beach, CA
"Amazing!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just got this head today with the accompanied 8" cabinet and all I have to say is "Wow!". This is NOT a toy. With only three knobs, Gain (tube preamp), Tone (Orange tone) and Volume (Steady-State power amp) this little amp is 100% balls without the BS effects like 3band-EQ, Reverb, EFX loop, etc. I bought this head for recording sessions and I'm overwhelmed by the pure tonal characteristics. Orange hit a homerun in my opinion. The steady-state power amp is extremely clean and the AX7 tube preamp offers biting crunch and tube character. I love the simplicity of the tone control which offers an array of classic Orange sounds. For those players looking for more affected sounds for live performances, this amp MAY fall short (despite having plenty of power to drive a much larger 4x12 cabinet quite easily), however it provides a perfect platform for whatever stomp effects you have in your arsenal. . . . at this price point, you can't go wrong. . . .
Musical Background:
Guitar, bass and drums. . .
Musical Style:
Rock, Classic Rock, Hard Rock, Blues, Pop, Reggae
35 of 35 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 15, 2014 by joe tbone in ada, OK
"The real deal"
Yeah I got this mainly for home practice and ability to plug in my computer audio at the same time. Now i use it at regular jam sessions with drummer , bass etc. I've never turned it up max and it holds its own with nice tone, volume and ease of lugging around. I show up at jam session with this tucked away in my guitar case. haha thats the novelty part of it. the guys think i'm kidding until i plug in. I have a marshall amp and a blues junior that i mod'ded myself. but I'm in no rush to lug those around when this will do the job.
Musical Background:
45 years on guitar a few years on the sax.
Musical Style:
blues and rock. some country depending the band im playing in at the time
18 of 18 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 15, 2021 by T.J. M in Prescott, WI
"A little Orange Beast!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This thing is awesome! Great overdriven tube sound that will clean up nicely or give you as much crunch as you want. The clean sound is actually really nice- clear and sparkly. The drive side is flat out great, has a very vintage voice when set to 3/4 or hard crunch when turned all the way up. Turn it down to 2/3 and it has a nice "rock" tone and put a dumble style pedal juiced up for when you need a boost- awesome combination. Super portable and built rock solid. I know it will always get looked down on because of size and price, but this thing is just flat fantastic.
Musical Background:
10 + years
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 5, 2014 by John Jenkins in Jasper, AL
"Dynamite comes in Orange Packages"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After reading hundreds of amplifier reviews,My curiosity with Orange Amplification got the best of me.I have owned a Few Fender Tube amps that were very good and a few years back bought an old Ampeg. Nowadays I have a tendency to buy British amps,my last was a Vox AC4C1.I purchased this little amp for playing at home for myself and my grandson.I was surprised by it's size or the lack of it.We paired the amp with the Orange PPC108 .To be truthful,I am very happy with the package.Nice and clean with the Volume low,Tone,mid range,Gain,at 30%.There a lot of tonal possibilities with volume and gain adjustments.With the volume turned up and the gain up also,all the distortion we could stand.To me,It's a very nice amp for the money.It beats a lot of solid state amps,hands down.It could use a larger Cabinet,possibly a 1X12 and can handle it easily
Musical Background:
I've been playing electric guitar off and on for 44 years
Musical Style:
I enjoy Classic Rock and roll,country,blues
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 24, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"I heard that"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Well built. Sounds like wind chimes in tone and can dig out a power chord from the gates of hell. I have already recommended for my nephew, and I look forward to seeing what his ear will find in this three dial setup. i did a lot of research and the VOX 4 watt tube was the other amp I feel in love with. I had a three factors as the reason to go with this 1 because the price point and the fact its a head that makes for more uses. 2 Orange has a sound that is as unique as VOX but "grimy and nasty" is what they should put instead of dirty, it gets down. 3 Orange is as cool as the other side of the pillow (Miss you Mr. Stuart Scott).
Sound
its raw and honest so you better tighten up.
Features
knobs you have to play with them and once you find your sound, take note of the position of all three knobs
Ease of Use
really easy
Quality
its made in China and the most important thing about items made in China is quality controls importance , I've seen the factory tour and they do a good job at making this product
Value
yes
The Wow Factor
Yes! Orange has been to the same concerts I got to go see, so they have to be cool.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 23, 2019 by Jon Banta in Joplin, MO
"Surprising and amazing"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got the head with the cabinet and was blown away by how light and loud this amp is. It is incredibly loud for its size and sounds great too! I haven’t tried it with a 4x12 yet but believe it will work great. As a Mesa user for years, I was skeptical but am now very impressed. I don’t see how you could improve on this, especially for the price. There is nothing I could ask for that this amp does not have. It is a hybrid amp but the tube front end is great. I will probably play out with this amp for the look and sound!
Musical Background:
All styles
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 17, 2014 by Joshua L in York, SC
"Orange Amps Micro Terror "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very surprised at the value this amp is for the money spent. This is not the amp to end all amps, but for $150, you really can't complain. It is very much so gig-worthy. If you're worried about volume, don't be...I can get up to about ~1.5/10 before my neighbor can hear me in the next apartment.
Musical Background:
Professional Award Winning Musician, Multi-instrumentalist for 13 years
Musical Style:
Rock, Hip Hop, Country, Blues, Jazz, Flamenco, Ascoustic
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 7, 2013 by Dean Bothwell in Glendale, AZ
"Orange Quality"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Does everything a great tube amp should, highly controllable with the guitar, harmonics, clean to high gain it all sounds...Orange. Don't need lots of volume but it's there, tone control has a narrow sweet spot. About one o'clock. Gain is plentiful but backing it off to 3/4 sounds best. I own a tiny terror combo and it's the same thing, to much gain gets to be...to much, it's about the tone and the ears right? That's what you get with this and all Orange products, quality tone. It's also solid state but I can't hear or feel it, that tube in there does its job, the more you warm it up the better it sounds, addicting right away. O yeah, one more thing, my wife said its cute...cute is it? Well lets hook it up to a 2 by 12, how you like me now? Crazy good for 150$.
Musical Background:
Playing 6 years at home
Musical Style:
Blues & Rock
12 of 13 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 9, 2015 by Jacob Rock in Lafayette, IN
"Kickass little head"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love this head, gets pretty good gain tones and clean tones from it. I use it for more gainy stuff just because thats my style. the headphone output is extremely useful for me since the family doesn't like me rocking the whole house. but with a cab attached you can get plenty of power to rock out a good sized venue
Musical Background:
intermediate guitar and drummer
Musical Style:
Rock, Alt/pop-punk, and metal
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 9, 2013 by Filipe R in Toronto, ON
"Micro "HUGESOUNDS" Terror"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just got mine yesterday and im still speechless. The sounds that come out of this little box are bigger than the CN Tower itself . It completely knocked out my Marshall MG15. I love the fact of just one knock for tone because to me it is just simpler to use than 10 different knobs of EQ. but that's me ! Im still getting used to less knobs and how to get the sound . Talking about sound the sound of this thing is great , very clear on clean tones , only problem is when you drive the gain knonb past 3 o'clock it gets too fuzzy . Having good cables will help a lot in terms of hums and hisses problems. Overall great amp for the money and certainly much more that i could ever expect from something thats smaller than my shoe
Musical Background:
I play guitar for a couple years ( home training)
Musical Style:
Metal and its sub genres , Rock , Punk and its sub genres , Reggae , Techno , Rap
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 26, 2012 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Hard to go wrong with this amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Excellent amp for this price point. It may be psychological, but I love that it has a tube in the preamp and a powerful (I assume digital class D) 20 watt power section. Very responsive with "tubelike" break up and very solidly built. My only complaint would be the tone knob. It seems to be a Muff style circuit where rolling it down increases the bass and rolling it up cuts the bass in addition to effecting the highs. The amps still manages to sound mid-rangy like you would expect, but it would be better served by a treble and bass knob as with some speakers the distortion can get a bit raspy as you crank it. But over all you can still dial it in well and take pedals great!
12 of 15 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 8, 2017 by Chris W in Lakemont, NY
"Nice Compact Amp. BIG sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp is super portable, even with the compact cab. It's so loud you cant play it over 12 o clock in doors. Plenty of power to keep up with drums. You can get chimey vox like highs, and plenty of fat dark tones as well. Works great with pedals. I run various distortions, reverb, compressor and tremolo. All sound great. Many pickups sound great, seymour duncan jb, gibson 57 classics, emg's etc. Plug it into a 12 inch speaker cab and WOW! Built like a tank. Worth every penny!
Musical Background:
27 years
Musical Style:
rock, heavy rock, classical
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 9, 2020 by Shauna H in Tacoma, WA
"Not bad"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Not bad for tube preamp hybrid. Would not buy again. Very small, I mean very. 3 knobs, input Jack, headphones Jack and external speaker Jack.
Musical Background:
Few years
Musical Style:
Rock and metal
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 6, 2020 by a customer from comcast.net
"Tone plus+++"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I always liked punchy, responsive class A amps. I took a chance with this little hybrid, and I am glad I did. It is now my favorite having good head room and the responsive articulation is awesome. The shimmering tone with gain at 12 o'clock through hot humbuckers gives the tone I have been searching for. Highly recommended!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 28, 2013 by Walt Young in California, CA
"NOVELTY AMP"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I would consider it a novelty amp. There are countless reviews on this little amp saying how loud it is. It is somewhat loud. If you notice all the Tube reviews are metal players. But for anything else forget it. It is an expensive package for what you can do with it. And what you need to add to it to use it. Like a speaker cabinet. Buy any Roland Cube and you are up and running with a wide range of tones and sounds for less money. Having said that there must be something its good for other than a distortion box. I put a Sovtek 12 AX7 5751 tube in it. To me it makes it a useable amp for some other situations. Blues, Rock. The volume increased greatly. The tone knob has better tones, not just treble to mud. The gain is tamer and better sounding. But the main thing is the volume has more control and lots more of it. It has a little more noise when the volume or gain is cranked but it goes away when you play. I use it with a Weber 10", 15 watt, 8 ohm speaker as that's what I had to work with. It needs a speaker with more wattage. I tried it with a medium loud band and it barley hangs in there. But for low to medium level practice, jams and parties it will work. You just need to bring a light weight speaker cabinet and the little amp in your gig bag with a cable. A reverb pedal is nice with it. You want more tone and volume add an EQ pedal. It is too powerful I think for an 8 inch speaker. I use to have a Ragin Cajun 10", 50 watt speaker that I would love to use with this thing. It will not replace my gig rig but it will work for casual jams or home playing now. My ratings are with the stock tube.
Musical Background:
Play professionally
Musical Style:
Country, blues, classic rock.
15 of 35 people (43%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 2, 2020 by a customer from comcast.net
"My new favorite."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This little dude provides shimmering tube responsiveness and full bodied tone out of the box. I play it through a Harley Benton 12" Celestion Vintage V30. I do not miss the "reverb" of my Bugera V5 nor the T5. Highly recommended!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.