Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Orange Crush Pro 120 Guitar Amplifier Head
BACK IN STOCK

Orange Crush Pro 120 Guitar Amplifier Head

Plug into 120 watts of Orange tone! This Orange solid-state amp head with all the warmth and grit of an Orange tube amp, thanks to its four gain stages.

Overall User Ratings (based on 19 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(19)
Submitted July 6, 2014 by Robert E in Dingmans Ferry , PA
"Truly a monster of an amp!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp has completely and utterly blown me away. I play mostly heavy metal and this amp just rips. The dirty channel has tons of gain, and it's nice, thick, and chunky. But it's a sound all it's own. Playing leads on this amp is just awe inspiring. The note separation is so perfect, great control of all my notes, even when I'm playing super fast speed runs, and sweep arpeggios. The sound never gets muddy. It's stays crisp, and every note is clear. The clean channel is just beautiful. The level of warmth you get out of the clean channel is just perfect. It actually gave me goose bumps. This amp just sings in every way. I've owned a lot of amps, from a dual rectifier, to a mid 90's peavy 5150. And this amp is truly right there with those amps. And the part I like most is while it's super heavy, it's still will make your sound unique, which I personally think is awesome.
Musical Background:
I've been playing guitar for 25 years. I've been a professional for the past 14 years. Mainly session work.
Musical Style:
I play anything from country to hip hop. But my love has always been heavy metal. It's what inspires me. It gets me groovin.
36 of 36 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 2, 2014 by Chris R in Pompano Beach, FL
"Best solid state amp I've used!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was looking for an amp for live performances and I came across this amp. It has a very nice warm tone that you don't typically hear with solid state heads. Doesn't break up at high volumes and just pumping the volume halfway this thing is window shattering loud. Great amp for the money if you don't have it to invest in a good tube amp. This thing is a killer and worth every penny!
Musical Background:
Bass Player/Guitarist for 12 years
Musical Style:
Ambient - Post Rock
28 of 28 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 22, 2018 by Alex D in Santa Fe, NM
"So damn happy."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was a Marshall guy forever, but hard times forced me to go without gear for a time, until now. Playing punk rock a la nofx, dk, smoking popes and can’t stress enough how perfect this sounds for that. I get that there are tube purists, and lord knows I won’t say no if a jcm800 comes my way, but as far as solid state (and soooooooo affordable) goes, you Probly won’t beat this head. The thing wails in the highs, drives in the mids and chug-a-chug-juds so perfectly in the lows. Clean is warm as hell, though I mostly dabble in the dirty channel....don’t even need my pedals anymore. Is solid, too....and gorgeous. Pair with the cr4x12 and be like “this was affordable and wise.” Praise zZounds as well for making it easy for those of us rocking on a budget; cannot wait to start playing shows and smoking fools who tube snob. Note, rated manufacturer support at 5 though I havent Needed it—just I hear they’re wonderful at Orange.
Musical Background:
Guitarist for 25 years, multiple bands, recordings.
Musical Style:
Punk rock.
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 1, 2014 by Jesse H in Scott City, KS
"Solid State Awesomeness"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So i bought the Orange CR120H about two months ago, at first i was skeptical, BUT i have always wanted an Orange, at a lower price; this beats that in spades, hands down. Two months several rehearsals & 3 gigs later the skepticism flew out the window. Solid State has never sounded so good, EVER. It has it's own unique sound and does not try to emulate Tube reaction, so that's what i appreciated from it personally. I have wowed friends and bandmates that are tube purists. And i have recieved compliments at shows. Get this head, you wont regret it, usefull as a practice amp for your band, if you don't want to wear your tubes, but still want to sound great at rehearsals. Or play it live for small to medium sized gigs. If the gigs are larger, and you need a louder head, simply mic it. Overall great amp, it's my main workhorse at the moment.
Musical Background:
Pub/Club Musician, 11 Years. Fender American Standard, several pedals Martin Acoustic.
Musical Style:
Rock/Blues/Experimental
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 3, 2015 by James D in COLCORD, OK
"Sounds like a tube amp even though it's not...."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I wanted a solid state amp that sounded like a tube amp and was less fragile and needed less maintenance. This amp fit the bill. My guitarist friends were blown away by the tone I'm getting. I play live a lot and this unit has no problem cutting through the mix. First show I used it, I received many comments from fans of the band: "Your guitar sounds great tonight!" It's built like a tank. The controls are easy to use and understand. No brainer for anyone to check this unit out.
Musical Background:
Guitar for 40 years, play about 50 shows a year.
Musical Style:
Hard Rock/Classic Rock
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 6, 2016 by Gilbert R in Richmond, TX
"Great sounding, well made, and beautiful"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
4 stages of gain that is comparable to a tube amp. The cr120 rendered all my overdrive and distortion pedals useless! You can get some great tones out of this amp. Clean channel is nice and warm. zZounds' Play As You Pay is just a genius option for working musicians. Love this amp.
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 17, 2015 by Christian V in Phoenix, AZ
"Orange tone minus the tubes and Maintenance!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the closest that a solid state amp can get to a tube amp, let's not forget that this amp is actually an analog one, I got this as a backup, I originally own the Rockerverb MKll but after using this cr120 I consider both of them as my main ones.
Musical Background:
Touring, Recording Professional musician
Musical Style:
Hard rock, Metal, progressive and blues
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 22, 2018 by a customer from gmail.com
"Thick and musical!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
What an awesome amp. I am getting some of the best clean and lead tones ever out of this. It's a very simple amp, no bells and whistles, but that is exactly what I was looking for. The reverb is good enough not to need a pedal, but I do add a little delay. The high gain stuff is fuzzy, but very musical and thick. A very unique sound I am glad to have in the arsenal. Be aware, this head is big and heavy, but looks awesome with any decor! 5 stars.
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 26, 2020 by Chris Lee in Orofino, ID
"Orange Crush Pro 120: Way better for you than soda!"
I've given it a couple weeks after getting this amp so that I don't write a mushy, "honeymoon stage" review...however, I only love this amp more and more with each day, so here is one anyways. I bought this amp sight-unseen, and while I was a bit apprehensive about doing it that way, luck was on my side and this turned out to truly be the best amp of its price range. Being a guitarist of the drop-A persuasion, I was wondering how well this amp could handle that tuning with a lot of distortion on it. A quick adjusting to a ballpark of my usual settings, a trip to the dirty channel on the footswitch (not included with this amp, I had to buy mine seperately), and I was presented with some of the warmest, biggest, air-moving distortion sound I have ever heard, and I am glad to say that as far as note clarity goes in A with this amp, it is, at least in my experience so far, one of the clearest sounding amps I have ever played through, sending even the nastiest of dissonant chug chords ringing out to the sky with ease.After getting a taste of the distorted side of things, I decided to try out the clean channel, and was likewise blown away by the warm, full sound of the tone there, like the sound was an old friend to the ears that seemed familiar, and yet new all the same. Which brings me to one area that I was incredibly impressed with--the reverb. All 3 types of reverb add a nice sheen to the tone, my personal favorite being the "Hall" reverb. I use a lot of it on my cleans now, and even a touch of it on the distortion channel to make my tone a little bigger. All in all, this amp can do just about anything you want it to...you are only getting a small piece of the true story from me, the rest is waiting to come home to you from zZounds!!
Musical Background:
Live musician.
Musical Style:
Nu-metal, metalcore, anything heavy!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 23, 2014 by Robert U in brooklyn, NY
" Orange Analog CR120H really close ot the Rockverb "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Orange Amp, CR 120H. I received my Orange 120H, next day from Zzounds, very reliable, and great prices! As for the 120H ,well after purchasing the CR 60C in November I was hooked and had to try their version of a 120 watt solid state head ,I wasn't disappointed once again . After many years of tube heads, Marshall, VOX, Fender, ect, ect I finally found a solid state amp that I would consider to be up there with BBs L5 SS ,yes! This amp head ,as do there other CR pro series has great character ,from blues tones ,cleans that sparkle and crunch from the 60s ,I'm not joking ,I was very surprised ,and very satisfied . This head is really the closest to any tube head I've ever played ,really creamy ,warm and soulful ,also built like a tank , I do suggest you give this a try . It will surprise you to say the least!!
Musical Background:
40+years
Musical Style:
60's Rock ,and Blues
16 of 17 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 15, 2018 by Josh Teague in Corbin, KY
"Hell of an amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was a little sceptical after really only seeing Orange amps used in heavier rock that the kind of classic borderline Americana stuff that I play, but the second I plugged in all my apprehension was gone. The amp sounds beautiful as clean or as dirty as I want it to sound. Even the reverb is nice, and I was used to playing a tube ‘72 Fender Pro Reverb. This head is a great size and sounds just phenomenal coming through an Orange 412. Can’t praise it enough.
Musical Background:
Semi-Professional multi-instrumentalist, been playing for over 17 years
Musical Style:
Alt-Country, Classic Rock, Americana, Honky-Tonk, Blues, Jazz
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 27, 2020 by Geron R in San angelo, TX
"Quality for an affordable price!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp is a steal at its price!! When i first tried one these in my local music shop i had to compare it to the Rockerverb 50 MKIII. The gain stages were spot on with each other in my opinion. I got this solid state amp as a back up for my tube amp. Also i could not afford a Rockerverb so this amp was perfect for the price.
Sound
4 stages of the Orange signature gain on the dirty channel. Clean channel is good starts to break up slightly when cranked.
Features
Has an effects loop and options to use a orange foot switch (not included)
Ease of Use
Easy to use plug and play, once you plug in your speaker cab.
Quality
Orange amps are always high quality. Extremely durable. These amps are built to tour/gig!
Value
Buy one NOW!! This amp is crazy cheap for what it can do! Looks like a tube amp head, and performs like its one! It truly is a performer!
Manufacturer Support
Orange is hit or miss with customer support.
The Wow Factor
I cant say enough about it, if you need a back up amp get it....just buy it now!!
Musical Background:
Home recording
Musical Style:
Rock, punk, alternative, metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 13, 2015 by Edward K in Shelter Island, NY
"excellent orange sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It's truly as advertised. It isnt the tube 120 rockerverb, but it certainly is close. Really awesome sound for a solid state head
Musical Background:
Play in bands/at home/records
Musical Style:
metal
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 31, 2014 by BJA Anderson
"On another level"
To say this amp is good for a solid state would do it no justice at all. Calling it just "good" does it no justice. I had a performance the same day I recieved the amp, so there was no chance to rehearse with it or even tweak the settings much. Luckily, this thing is a beast out of the box. The cleans have a different kind of clarity. The gain knob on the Dirty Channel covers everything from bluesy breakup to a creamy high gain that really punches through the mix. After messing with it a bit, I couldn't find a bad sound. I fear if I open the amp to see what kind of sorcery is in this thing, I may never be the same again.
Musical Background:
Guitarist of about 10 years.
Musical Style:
Soul, Gospel, most recently Death Metal
13 of 14 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 12, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"There’s nothing else like it"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I’m a huge fan of the Crush series. All analog, solid state, the right amount of features, and affordable. I don’t know why more amp makers catch on. I’ve tried various digital amps, but they feel more like computers. This feels like a guitar amp, but it doesn’t use tubes so it’s nice and reliable. The clean channel gets criticized, but it’s very clean. There’s no added shimmer that you might expect. It has grown on me. The gain channel is awesome. Great range of dirt. The reverb sounds good as well. Nice to have the plate verb on there for the higher gain stuff. Build quality feels high. There’s a heft to it. Doesn’t feel cheap.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 1, 2018 by Christian Elmore in Bend, OR
"Great Rockin' Head"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This thing is straight up awesome! For only being a solid state, I was pretty skeptical about it. Even after watching reviews and demos I was still wondering if it was in par with the Tiny Terror I used to own. While it is a solid state, this thing kicks ass! The tone is as close to a Orange tube as you can get from a solid state. And for the price, is perfect for people who want an Orange on a budget.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 28, 2016 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Broke on me in a few months"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought it brand new at guitar center. Straight out of the box, it made a weird low pitched clipping sound the first time I ever turned it on. Thought it was the speakers at first. Never happened again. 4 months later it started doing it again. It got worst and worst every time I played from then on. It sounded like the speakers crapping out but soon realized it was the amp. Only had it for 4 months :( Other than that, I was very very pleased with it. Tone is amazing and clear. I would buy it again but am a little apprehensive after what happened.
4 of 10 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 21, 2014 by Robert U in Brooklyn, NY
"Best Solid State Amo since the L5"
Orange Amp, CR 120H. I received my Orange 120H, next day from Zzounds, very reliable, and great prices!As for the 120H ,well after purchasing the CR 60C in NovemberI was hooked and had to try their version of a 120 watt solid state head ,I wasn't disappointed once again . After many years of tube heads, Marshall, VOX, Fender, ect, ect I finally found a solid state amp that I would consider to be up there with BBs L5 SS ,yes! This amp head ,as do there other CR pro series has great character ,from blues tones ,cleans that sparkle and crunch from the 60s ,I'm not joking ,I was very surprised ,and very satisfied . This head is really the closest to any tube head I've ever played ,really creamy ,warm and soulful ,also built like a tank .So if you get 450.00 Dollars, I do suggest you give this a try . It will surprise you to say the least!!
Musical Background:
Over 40Years
Musical Style:
Blues , 60s Rock !!
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 24, 2016 by Brian Criswell in Seminole, FL
"Insanely Great Experience buying Orange CR120"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have to give it up to zZounds, the payment program is amazing and super helpful. Musicians everywhere who struggle to buy gear this is a godsend! The staff are super easy going and helpful and I would recommend them to Anyone! zZounds has earned my, respect and business. Thank you so much for helping my dreams come true one payment at a time! The Orange Cr120 is an amazing product!
Musical Background:
Guitarist for many years and toured as a tech with national acts.
Musical Style:
Rock, metal, sludge, stoner, doom, grind.
7 of 9 people (78%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to