Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Overall User Ratings (based on 13 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(13)
Submitted October 23, 2015 by Jeremy H in Pocatello, ID
"Metal Monster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Purchased this amp from zZounds and have owned it for about a month now. Initially I was looking at 3 amp heads, the EVH 5150 III 50 watt head, the Peavey 6505, and the Laney IRT60H. I went with the Laney head after reading and watching many reviews and came to this decision as the Laney is a 3 channel amp that has two separate eq sections and seemed to offer more tonal diversity than the other two amps. I am very satisfied with this decision. The amp has plenty of gain, though you need to turn the gain up a bit more on this amp to achieve the same amount of overdrive as the other two amps. I have my Gain set at 6 for my rhythm and 7 1/2 for my lead channel and I usually run them with the optional gain boost set to "ON". Each of the individual EQ knobs also have a pull push boost to put a some bump in either your lows, mids, or highs. With the addition of a overdrive pedal and noise gate in front of the amp I have achieved an amazing sounding metal tone and it was very easy to obtain. This amp screams metal. It comes with the variable wattage control knob, Which means you can play this at bedroom levels at 1 watt or turn it up to 60 watts all without losing any tonal qualities. I have mine set around the 15 watt level and play through a EVH 2x12 cab and I get amazing tone, I can jam in my living room and not wake up my neighbors. The clean tones are better than other amps dedicated to the metal sound, but still mediocre at best, same with the included digital reverb. The clean channel and the rhythm channel share the same eq section so you have to decide which channel gets the better tone or try and find some sort of middle ground, You get the 3rd Lead . For my purposes though, which is playing between crunchy blues and face melting metal, my needs are satisfied. I can get anything from Black Sabbaths old school Iron Man tone to Slayers thrash tone to modern day Djenty down tuned death metal of doom tone. The quality of the build is excellent, this is a heavy and very sturdy amp head, looks amazing when you first plug it in and the red light bathes you in all it's hellish glory. Just to be clear I have played many metal monster amps before, I have owned a Marshall Plexi and a I have played Mesa's and the 6505 line as well. I currently own the 100 watt Peavey Valveking mk II head and matching 4x12 cab. I could have easily sprung a couple of grand for a Orange or Dual Rec. But sometimes it's fun to break the mold and try something a bit different. They make a 120 watt version as well but there is no situation where I would ever need to be that loud where a PA system couldn't compensate. If you are looking for a high gain metal monster with amazing build quality and tone then I highly recommend this amp.
Musical Background:
8 years, guitar, hobbyist, gigging musician.
Musical Style:
Blues, metal.
16 of 16 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 18, 2014 by roman ferrer in delray beach, FL
"Good head"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I researched a ton before buying this amp. I found it to be the best value for the components. I'm not a gear head or a tone snob, but after many many years of just settling for the cheapest thing or just buying without researching, I made sure to buy only what I wanted. I sold my Fender Twin and had a set budget to work with. I learned all about tubes, channels, FX loops, etc, read many publications and reviews, played a few heads at a rehearsal studio with my band, and eventually landed on this head. I ranked it high in terms of quality for the money, number of channels, tone shaping control, and overall coolness factor. At this price, it was competing with the HK Tubemeister 18 head, the DSL 40 combo, and the Diamond Assassin. I also bought the Jet City USA cab with Vintage 30s in it for a great price. Those speakers seemed to sound the best to my ears after many reviews, and I couldn't touch any new 2X12 with V30s for less than 400. Both components were a steal.So I got my stuff 3 days after I ordered (TY ZZounds), and I have been playing the rig mostly without effects for about 2 weeks. Holy crap, the clean channel on this amp rivals my fender twin. The rhythm and lead channels are exactly what I wanted and the boost gives me 3 variations for each channel. It's got tons of versatility. I took it to my band rehearsal and plugged into a 1960 cab and it was epic, and so easy to use. Laney provides some sample settings in the manual for different types of sounds and those seem to be right on the money for me. Not sure about quality since I only have it a few weeks, but it's built solid. Extremely happy with my IRT60.
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 10, 2013 by Ken Wheeler in Clarkston, MI
"One of the best Metal and Rock amp heads you can buy!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
See detailed sections below.
Sound
The sounds you can get from this amp are great. I believe the amp could cover any style of music you want to play but it excels when playing Metal or Rock music. It sounds like a cross between a Mesa Boogie Dual Rectifier or Mark V and a Marshall JVM head. It's a darker sounding amp for sure when I compared it to an Engl Screamer 50 head. As far as tips to make it sound better you have to tweak it to suit the gear you're using with it. It sounds good at all gain stages but personally I would'nt use the gain maxed out on the rhythm or lead channel. This amp does sound the best when you have the watts control knob set at noon or higher and the channel volume for the rhythm or lead set at 5-6. The clean channel volume should'nt be set any higher than 5 or it will start to break up a little. You don't need a tube screamer with this amp to get a good lead tone just adjust the eq on the lead channel and you're good to go(bump the mids,treble,and gain little more than your settings on the rhythm channel). Use a good noise gate/suppressor with this amp for sure.
Features
This amp is chocked full of good features. Having three channels is the best feature of this amp I think. There are only two faults with the features on this amp. The clean and rhythm channels share an eq section which really does'nt bother me but could maybe be a problem for some people. The Pre-Boost seems to add a lot of noise to the amp and is only useable on the clean channel in my opinion. The Pre-Boost used on the rhythm or lead channel sounds like crap. Laney should redesign this Pre-Boost somehow. The pull pots on the eq are useful but I only use the mids pull pot on the clean/rhythm and lead channel. I would definately use an additional eq pedal or rack eq to enhance the sound of this amp or any amp for that matter. Red leds inside the head are the icing on the cake!
Ease of Use
You will have to spend some time to get this amp to sound good with your gear just as you would with any other amp. I only scoop the mids a little for Metal music on the rhythm channel. If you're playing anything else keep the mids at noon on the rhythm channel.
Quality
This amp seems to be well constructed for being made in China. I had a guitar/amp tech check this amp out and he said it was a well made beast!
Value
I bought my Laney IRT-60 Ironheart head for $630 blemished here on Zzounds. I would have bought a new one too for $850 if I had to. An incredible value to buy this amp with so many great features for under $1,000. I compared this amp to some other ones that were $850-$1,400 and this one had the best bang for the buck period!
Manufacturer Support
I have'nt had to contact the manufacturer for anything yet.
The Wow Factor
Red led's look very cool on this amp head. That's what caught my attention to this amp. Then I found out how good it really does sound.
Musical Background:
Been playing electric and acoustic guitar for about 10 years at home non-professionally.
Musical Style:
Metal,Rock,Hard Rock,Classic Rock,Alternative,and Punk.
17 of 18 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 3, 2020 by Paul S in Weirton, WV
"Thunderous Laney Tone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had this amp for nearly two years. In that time I've experimented with different pre-amp tubes, pedals, and cabinets. This is hands down one of the most versatile amps I've ever played. Though the Ironheart line is clearly geared towards the hard-rock/metal crowd (of which I am a long standing member) I am constantly impressed at the tweakability and variety of tones you can get from this. Sure it has loads of gain if you want, or you can do blues, warm jazz, or really anything else you can imagine. Now, from a metalhead perspective, this amp is thumping and powerful, but not without it's own character. I've managed to get buzzsaw industrial metal tones to thick doom-laden sounds and everything inbetween. My only advice is that you will likely want to nab your own boost or overdrive pedal if you want to get a super-saturated tone. The built in boost is great, but if you max it out single note picks start to sound a bit truncated in a sort of brief and sudden way. Whereas, if you throw a tubescreamer, klone, or ep booster in front, you will get a serious metal tone from the lead and rhythm channels. On a totally personal note, I love the gritty tones you can wrangle from this amp, the power and sustain you can get even at lower gain settings can be as cold, harsh, warm, dark as you want. Just a nudge of the tone and dynamics knob can change the whole sound of the amp, not to the mention the awesome push/pull eq knobs feature.The last tidbits are the Reverb and DI functions. The reverb is sort of a digital plate-like reverb and it's not half-bad. Though admittedly, I leave the reverb off in favor of more advanced pedal effects. The FX loop is clean and allows for a decible drop if your pedals run a tad too loud. I run a reverb, delay and noise gate in the loop and everything sounds crisp and beautiful. The DI is good, but doesn't actually allow for Silent recording, some people may be turned off by that. Regardless, you do get a respectable 412 cab emulation that sounds good and rounds out the amp nicely.All in all, I love this amplifier and it can do a lot more than it's marketed for.If I had any gripe at all, it would be that the LED above the Power Switch is a bit dim compared to any of the other lights, not a major flaw and probably a simple fix.
Musical Background:
15 Years of jamming/recording at home, playing with a couple small bands, and irritating my neighbors.
Musical Style:
Metal ( Industrial, Black, Doom) and a smattering of other styles.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 6, 2018 by Hoss S in Small town, KY
"Outstanding!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Like many of you out there,your looking at this because you like metal.Look no further,you,ll get your metal.surprising to me is all the othe tones you can get with this thing.i,ve only had mine for a couple of weeks and i,m still dialing in different tones.It has a clean channel that rivals any fender amp i,ve ever played and i,ve played a bunch of em.i plugged in my martin pa4 the other day and was blown away.unlike other so called metal amps,this is not a one trick pony,this is a do all,play all styles of music and it does all of them well.The pre boost knob is a bit annoying,the amp gets muddy if you overdo the pre boost.I am surprised to find how it responds to different guitars and pickup combinations.Overall i like all types of music and i play everything from blues to bluegrass but i AM a hardcore sabbath fan and those tones are all there in this amp.I was wondering if the 60watter was enough for me as i,ve always played at least 100 watts or more and i,ve always been a fan of solid state vs.tubes.This thing has changed my way of looking at amps now.Btw 60watts will make your ears bleed and cuts through in the clubs and garage band situations with no problem.This thing is a monster.
Sound
Amazing sound quality.Simply amazing i cant say enough.
Features
Features,well it has some very good ones,the overall tone control is very cool as well as the dynamics( thats my favorite feature) along with the push/ pull options on both eq channels.Oh and the watts control,thats cool.
Ease of Use
It,s a learning curve for me to dial in the tone i,m looking for.Theres a delicate balance between the pre boost and the dynamics control.
Quality
Overall quality seems to be very good.Well built.We,ll see how long it lasts.
Value
I guess it,s just my personal taste but i,ve compared it to a mesa dual rectifier and an older model 5150 that a friend of mine brought over.This is way more versitile and sounds as good if not better than either of those much more expensive amps.
Manufacturer Support
Havent needed them.
The Wow Factor
Tony iommi uses laney! That was my first reason for looking at this amp.
Musical Background:
Played off and on for 20 plus yrs. I,ve been in bands but mostly play at home now.
Musical Style:
I love all styles of music.I play mostly sabbath type stuff but also play blues and alot of acoustic stuff as well
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 23, 2020 by Keola Hutchinson in Hutchinson, KS
"Honest Review"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I wanted to give this amp some quality time to really understand it before I wrote this review. First off let me say this amp can do anything and do it gloriously with the right outboard gear. Here's my journey. Straight into this amp all the channels have a more classic voicing than I was expecting. Which at first was a downfall. I expected crushing tones??They are there in spades...you gotta work with this baby. She will give up the goods. Here's how!! Add an eq in the loop, as V scooped as you can.(something about doing it in the loop still cuts through a mix great both recorded and live). People have been doing it with the mesa mark series graphic eq for a long time. It works That gives you a modern voicing. Add a mid boosted od like a ts or sd1 to tighten an already tighter than tight Ironheart...And hold on for dear life. This amp will get modern and mean as they come. Maybe even meaner. No joke!!
Musical Background:
20 + years of playing guitar
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 14, 2018 by Levi D in Wheatland, WY
"Decent amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The amp sounds good enough for what I got it for.Pros: nice crisp crunch to the sounds with my SD EMTY pickup set and it reacts nicely with the SD Black Winter bridge pick up in my other guitar. The cleans are very nice with this amp which is what made me choose it over the 6505+ head. The watt adjustment nob is nice although it does lose some of the tone although it still sounds good at the lower volumes you can hear the difference when you do crank it up.(not bad enough to be a con) Cons: When you have the bass up for some chugging and hit the boost(5) it seems to be hitting a dead spot with the speakers from the Laney 212 cab I purchased with the head unit ( I don't have anything else to plug it in to to compare) I'm not sure what the standard is for companies when selling a cab and head unit but there was no speaker cable with them when they arrived which was frustrating. To summarize how i feel about my purchase I would say it was a good purchase and I don't regret it but I probably wouldn't buy it again and would go with a 6505+. If you want some good cleans out of the amp as well this is a better choice but you will be buying an overdrive pedal for sure if you're looking for an aggressive high gain crunch.
Musical Background:
Guitar (20yrs), b.c. rich warlock MT sig with SD EMTY blackouts, Ibanez RGD320 with SD Black Winter(B) and Sentient(N).
Musical Style:
metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 16, 2012 by Jim Nichols in Newport Beach, CA
"Laney IRT60H Ironheart Guitar Amp Head is a fabulous amp head!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this amp based on the features, my previous experience with Laney, and also the need for a nice amp rig. Since I already had various speaker cabinets and was selling another amp head, I went for the Laney IRT60H. This thing is AMAZING. i never write reviews for products online, but I had to write one for this amp! I highly recommend that you consider Laney Ironheart amps as they are very cool and sound great. Very good sounding amp!
Sound
At first test of the amp, I was going to be super critical and not let the amp just blow me away. So, I played for a long time doing slight tweaks and enjoying the various sounds. After a while this amp really just takes over. There is a lot of sound in this amp, and it's amazing how well it sounds at all volume levels. The tone is there, and the notes cut through. It actually has a lot of tone and gain, but could probably stand a bit more high gain saturation for the hardcore metal folks!
Features
Having a Boost is a valuable feature as it makes each channel usable for Lead and Rhythm. The Clean channel has some interesting sounds if you work it. The Wattage control can really dial in your tone at all volume levels. This amp could work in a coffee shop. Maybe the 120 Watt version is an option for LOUD folks!
Ease of Use
Very easy to get nice tones from the start. I'm sure it depends on your guitars and speaker cabinets, and style, but all sounds are very nice from this amp. I haven't even explored all the tonal possibilities yet with the Push/Pull Pots.
Quality
This seems like a tank, and hopefully will stay solid. I've used it at a gig, and a church gig, and a rehearsal and it seemed to get a little blip of noise from the church gig, but it might have been some interference. I will watch this amp like a hawk and I only use it for half my gigs, so I expect it will last a very long time!
Value
Yes, this product offers three channels of great boutique-y tube tone and compares with other similar amps in price.
Manufacturer Support
Don't know about Laney, but I will establish a relationship. I like their stuff and am very proud to own this new model, as long as it takes care of me!
The Wow Factor
Very appealing, and totally an eye catcher at gigs. It will be a hit everywhere you go!
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar for almost 40 years.
Musical Style:
All musical styles that pay and I can pull off!
11 of 13 people (85%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 30, 2019 by Keola H in Hutchinson, KS
"Fire breather"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had the Irt60h for 2 months now. I've had time to use it at shows and rehearsals. I use it through a cab loaded with Swamp Thangs and Texas Heats in an X pattern. I absolutely love the voicings of all three channels. It can get by without a tube screamer variant for metal, but not optimal. Easy to dial in. The Dynamics control and wattage control work as advertised. The is great in my opinion. Works well for metal application. The boost is a linear boost. As long as you know that you wont be disappointed. And a liile goes a long way with it. I keep it at 2.5. And rarely need to use it. I use a tube screamer and put a Shuguang Silver Dragon tube in V1 and it lit this amp up. For the price point it is difficult to find a better amp for metal in my opinion.
Musical Background:
20 years of playing guitar
Musical Style:
Rock/Metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 9, 2016 by Damon B in Greenville, IN
"Huge Metal Sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my first tube amp in about 10 years and all I can say is WOW! Huge sound, able to eq for everything from classic rock to full on metal. Love it and can't hear the price. Full tube for under a grand
Musical Background:
20 year guitar player. 26 year musician
Musical Style:
Everything from country to metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 24, 2014 by Adam B in Bay Area, CA
"Great features, great value...and looks great. It's great!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I don't know where to begin...the honeymoon period has begun with my first ever tube amp! I'm sure anything would sound good after playing through a solid-state Crate for years, but this Laney is sick! The fit and finish is tight and the amp seems sturdy and strong. I like the dual handles. The red LED's hidden along the top edge give it an eery red glow. The pre-boost and watts adjustments are great for a metal player, reverb and dynamics sound nice and add a lot of character. The clean channel is crystal clear and the push/pull knobs give tons of adjustability. Highly recommended. The only negative was a broken preamp tube out of the box...that gave me very low to no volume. Finding and fixing the problem was easy(the only tube with a white top and a crack!), and I couldn't find anyone else that had this as an issue. I don't think I'll ever play solid-state again.
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar for 4 years, drums for 25 years...used to tour, now a home-body.
Musical Style:
Black metal, old hardcore, atmospheric and spacey stuff.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 14, 2016 by Jerry U in Batavia, OH
"Found my metal tone!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
You're not looking at this amp expecting to read a review on it's amazing clean tone, or gritty blues distortion. You're here for one thing. If that thing is metal, then buy this head. Jaw dropping. The guys in my group are in love with this thing. Pair it with a good overdrive on the front end (the built in one is not to my taste) and this amp screams. If your reading this, buy it.
Musical Background:
Total noob.
Musical Style:
Hard rock, progressive metal, metal core.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 30, 2013 by william goodlett in middletown, OH
"not what i expected!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i bought this head and was not what i expected.. with the boost on it would get very muddy and kinda fade in and out so i had to run it with boost off..and i added a boss eq and noise gate in the fx loop ..also a tube screamer in front was able to get the sound i wanted but turned up it would still fade in and out slightly...tried diff guitar,chords,new tubes..so called laney which in fact they send you to the musical group in new jersey ..told me to package up and send to them which i had to pay shipping 47.00 had my head for 2 weeks i got an email not a call saying nothing wrong so was taking it apart and going over it..customer service sucked they never would call me back was not interested in me explaining my problem..head showed up on door step with out even a work order saying what was done,nothing at all...i did get a free small laney t shirt..ya small!! head still sounds the same so i sold it will be the last laney product i buy...
Musical Background:
playing for 16yrs guitar,bass,drums few bands,at home
Musical Style:
rock,metal
3 of 12 people (25%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us