Fender Super Champ X2 Guitar Amplifier Head, 15 Watts

Fender Super Champ X2 Guitar Amplifier Head, 15 Watts

Sixteen different amp models, two channels, 15 adjustable effects, and FUSE software compatibility make this amp a "champ" of tonal versatility.

Overall User Ratings (based on 11 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(11)
Submitted March 27, 2015 by Joe W in Sterlington, LA
"Money well spent!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I read lots of reviews prior to purchasing. There were numerous good reviews and a few not so good. The not so good folks seem to be expecting a $1000 amp for $299. Bang for the buck on this amp is outstanding. VERY CLEAN TONES. Nice effects also. Even at 15 watts it will rattle the windows at home. Will it do everything you want? No. Am I happy with purchase? ABSOLUTELY. This is a keeper. Tone is in the ear of the listener. The quality of your equipment will influence the amp tone as much as the amp itself. I bought the amp head only and plugged it into a 15" Evans steel guitar cabinet. I acutally play a 1969 Fender Thinline and a 2005 American Deluxe Strat. I also play a Zeta electric fiddle. I get great tone all over the spectrum with this rig....even on the Zeta I get full rich lows and clear highs. FENDER has a winner here that's affordable to anyone. This was my first purchase from zZounds. Good product and delivery. Will buy again.
Musical Background:
Been playing 37 years. Play guitar, fiddle, bass, played sax in college.
Musical Style:
Country
25 of 26 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 25, 2019 by Johnny Keller in Kennewick, WA
"Awsome amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the second one i have owned. This amp is awsome. I would compare it to a cyber deluxe i had. Worth every penny. The speaker does need to be broke in and this amp will have more bottom end with time. The modeling amps are cool but i just use the straight tube sound with reverb effect. Works great with pedals you don't loose any sound. I would def refer this to anybody. Also had it set up in about 10 min to the sound i love. It is def a fender amp with big fender sound.
Musical Background:
Guitar, drums
Musical Style:
All music
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 24, 2013 by Dare McAdams in Wilmington, DE
"zzsounds review request"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
ambitious amp , perfect pure tube goodness, 15 watts is plenty for shop ,residence, bar ect. hooked into pa it does fine. fender put 16 preset tones into this amps computer and a usb to download others, or bypass all of that and ride it as is or add any pedals ect. the amp sounds great it is only 300 dollars, i got the cabinet also only 200 dollars, charming little rig!!! do your homework, its a keeper!!
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 20, 2014 by Harold (Hal) R in Jemison, AL
"Champ X2 Amp and Fender Cab with 10""
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Has a wonderful sound and can get gnarly when needed. Fender has a winner here. I also own the small Egnater and the Fender is the clear winner.
Musical Background:
46 years, Earned my first $15 at Teen Night at our local swimming club in 1969
Musical Style:
All types of music. Rock and country/bluegrass made the money.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 9, 2015 by dominic ruiz in new lenox , IL
"fender champion head"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This little 15 watt tube head is perfect . The sound that comes out of it is just amazing
Musical Background:
11 yrs
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, alternative
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 1, 2012 by Robert E
"Hard not to like"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
All the virtues of tube, lots of interesting pre-modelled profiles, a truly clean clean channel, programmable, well made, quality tubes, good softs but will crank. Only minor complaint is lack of headphone jack. Love this amp. Bought after trying small Vox and Marshall.
Musical Style:
Classic rock
22 of 25 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 19, 2015 by Christopher Vasquez in Saint Paul, MN
"small amp, great price, big sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I didn't expect much from a Tube/Solid state hybrid amp. This thing rocks and all the different voicings on Ch. 2 are amazing and highly customizable via the treb and bass eq knobs so you can really dial in your sweet spots. I play blues funk rock soul and they all sound great. Cannot wait to hook it up to my computer via USB which was my main reason in buying.
Musical Background:
Guitarist since 2005
Musical Style:
Rock, psychedelic, funk, blues, soul, R&B,
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 10, 2015 by Wendell T in Philadelphia, PA
"Fender Super Champ X2 Guitar Amp Head - - 15 watts"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The amp we easy to set up and play through. The speaker connector cable left a lot to be desired as I expected something heavier/sturdier than "lamp cord weight" with plugs on it.... I play a Gibson LesPaul Studio and, I got pretty good tonality with this amp head..... The built-in effects were decent and easy to use, however, I wish the footswitch had been included (I would have gladly paid the extra money).... I cranked it all the way up and got a smooth overdrive/distortion tone with it ...... I tried to get distortion at levels less than wide open, the channel wouldn't distort/clip.... controls are very straightforward and easy to figure out.... for the money I feel that the amp provides good value.... it's ok for practising and, if "that tone" is desired "live" putting a good mike in front of the speaker and running through a PA system works fine..... I have not, as of yet, tried the USB port and laptop connection via Fender's website to see how the expanded capabilities of the effects work out.... I am satisfied with my purchase...Zzounds will definitely get my business in the future.....
Musical Background:
27 years
Musical Style:
Smooth jazz, R & B, some rock, some blues
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 30, 2013 by rd free in southgate, MI
"well expect no less..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
fastest delivery like 1and half days almost... all packed well no issues , alls well thank u ZZ. Its ALIVE!
Musical Background:
since 1963...guitar, bass , messin with the drums,
Musical Style:
blues , classic rock some others
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 15, 2017 by Jason D
"Excellent Tube Amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First tube amp for me. Love it! IMPORTANT FOR FIRST TIME TUBE AMP BUYERS!!!! - Thankfully I read some online reviews and found out you MUST have your tube amp connected to a speaker at all times or it can burn the tubes out. Which makes it strange for recording using the USB cable - you still must have your speaker attached and can't mute the sound while recording direct. So if you're in an apartment and think you can silently record via USB (which is a really nice feature along with the Fender Fusion software) you will have problems. This is where a solid state would serve you better cause they don't need to carry a speaker load. I didn't know this until AFTER i ordered, but still love the amp and plan to keep it. In regards to the purchase and amp - GREAT! Both great service (love the payment plan with zzounds) and of course great Fender amp. I play out a few times a year, but want to play more, and can't justify $1200 or more on a tube amp, so this was in my opinion a great deal as an intro-level tube amp. I never noticed the 'touch' play issue with a tube (playing lightly vs hard on the strings makes a big difference between a tube amp and solid state), so again it's been a good introduction to tube. The clean channel is solid and strong and gives you a perfect platform to add distortion pedals, etc. There is no LOOP for delay or other pedals, and only one speaker output instead of L-R. The second channel has all the amp models and distortion options. Depends on your the sound you're looking for, but you don't get the 'touch' factor you get with the Tube-driven channel 1 - the second channel acts more like a solid state amp. The effects are REALLY nice if you're looking for just a touch and don't need exact tone, etc from pedals. With the foot pedal, this amp gives you all you need for live performance without pedals, but as I said above, takes pedals very nicely. I also purchased the 12" speaker cab made for it - making it a nice 12" amp, but not as heavy as most 12" cause it's two pieces - easier on a bad back. I like it and it'll do until I 'need' to drop a couple grand - if ever!
Musical Background:
30 year guitar player. Jam a lot, play couple gigs a year.
Musical Style:
Mostly Classic rock
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 4, 2019 by Devin M in Knoxville, TN
"Fenders best kept secret"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp..... holy cow this amp. I bought this just wanting something to mess around on a clean channel, but it has worked it’s way into my rig. There is nothing this amp can’t do. I put a ts-9 in front of it and it screams. The built in effects are great. I really can’t find one critical thing to say about this amp. Phenomenal clean channel. And. Bunch of different voiced dirt channels. This definitely isn’t a high gain amp naturally, but with a little pedal help, it cranks out a very solid tone. Once again, can’t say anything bad about this amp. Especially at this price point. Everyone should own one.
Musical Background:
Playing just for fun for a little over 10 years
Musical Style:
Rock/ metal
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.