Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
EVH Eddie Van Halen 5150III LBX Lunchbox Guitar Amplifier Head

EVH Eddie Van Halen 5150III LBX Lunchbox Guitar Amplifier Head

The EVH 5150III LBX packs two channels of searing EVH tone into a portable 15-watt lunchbox amp that's perfect for bedroom practice or studio work.

Overall User Ratings (based on 12 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(12)
Submitted March 13, 2016 by Alan L
"Best small amp out there"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp is basically the same amp as a 5150 III 50 watt, but without the clean channel and circuit design from the 5150 IIIS. (which I hope evh will make small version of that head soon!) Only 15 watts (and switchable to half power) and it's a very loud 15 watts! You could play it with a band without any volume issues. I use a custom made 2x12 cab with eminence speakers wizard and man-o-war, it powers that without any problems! Also used it with the Ibanez thermion 4x12 stack, no problem, very loud like it would with a 100 watt head. Amp has all the ohms settings, 4,8, and 16, all the power, standby and half power switches are on the back to save space This little amp sound amazing! both channels are great. the blue channel still has plenty of gain and of course the red can go from ac/dc to slayer gain! Also dose have light dirty/clean sound if you turn the gain down. had a bugera t-50, blackstar ht5, blackstar ht20,(owned larger heads, peavey xxx, Randall rh100, 200, bugera 6262, Randall lynchbox LB103, Randall rm100,) trust me this amp blows the smaller amps and some of the larger amps listed away, volume and tonally! I've been playing guitar for about 25 years owned tons of gear, bought and sold over the years. It doesn't full short like most small amps do gain wise, theres plenty of gain on tap and it's very structure (the eq dose work well) 5 pre-amp tubes, not 2 or 3 like most small amps have! Highly recommend guitar amp! It's the best small amp I have ever played! I did the 8 payments here on zzsounds just to make it easier so I could "play and pay" and I could own a top shelf amp
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar for over 25 year, owned alot of gear. bought and sold over the years
Musical Style:
Hard Rock/ Metal/ Instrumental
34 of 34 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 5, 2016 by Ross K in Linden, TX
"Happy new EVH LBX 15 WATT HEAD OWNER! !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I received my new EVH LBX 15 6 days ago. .I have been playing and messing around with amps/guitars for 30+years now.I got the pay as you play plan..I hooked my new head to my 1×12" cabinet, after making sure all hooked up correctly I turned the power on, warmed tubes up for 2 minutes, turned standby to on, I started with the blue channel, from a great crunch sound to a maximum high gain sound easily, and usable gain, not muddy etc, notes in chords are very articulate, and just awesome tone! Switched to the red hot channel and changed the settings around and I achieved tonal heaven, searing legato runs, maximum grind and sustain even on the lowest volume setting, this amp head may be small and only 15 watts, but I believe it could push a nice 4×12"cab easily, the setting knobs are very sensitive to even the smallest turn, I have finally found my favorite sound after all these years! This baby rocks!! Thanks to Zzounds and their pay as you play and their excellent customer service! Absolutely top notch and my favorite music retail company! Thank you Zzounds Music !!
Musical Background:
30+ years, jam at home mainly now, but searching for musicians where I just moved to.
Musical Style:
Hard Rock, Metal, blues and blues rock
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 8, 2017 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Stop debating and get EVH lbx"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the 1st review i have ever done. I am sole writing this to hopefully get u to pull the trigger on this. You will be glad you did. If you put an EQ pedal in the loop you can get any sound u want. My tone search is over. The head is unbelievable on its own however once you put an EQ in the loop every Amp u ever wanted to hear u can dial it in . For ultimate modern metal sound just make differ smiley face shapes out of the EQ switches and I promise it is the best organic sonic emotional sound you can ever get. Modelers cannot compare. Dont even need a overdrive infront of it. I run to e 4 by 12 randall cuz I like a ported box and it's a 3rd the price lol however I wud put this combination against ant out there and confidently take my winnings to the bank. In a nut she'll if your on the fence as I was with so much to choose from don't be anymore. It is hands down the most professional feel and sound I have ever had the pleasure to connect my soul to. I want other to feel the joy I have and can start focusing on playing instead of tinkering tone searching. Once I put a delay pedal I will be finito. But even w/o it it's pure nirvana tone. It really motivates u to play even better for it is an unbelievable interface to connect your emotions to. It is magic as well as medicinal. Buy it.
Musical Background:
I've giggled when I was younger with my bad SAINT JANE. Now I'm retired at 40 and have a baby but still need the best tone.
Musical Style:
I love and respect all styles. I lean towads music that makes me feel good. Mostly chugga chugga row row squeal pinch. Playing m
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 24, 2015 by Doug T in Jacksonville, FL
"EVH LBX 5150 III 15 watt mini head"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I own the limited addition 100 watt " Stealth " head and matching 412 cab and the 212 50 watt combo. The gain structure on the combo's blue channel is a lot hotter than the original 100 watt head. It feels to me that Eddie may have based the blue channel on the Stealth head after the 212 combo. They sound identical. Now enter the EVH 5150 III 15 watt mini head I received yesterday. Sitting it on top of my EVH 212 cabinet and adjusting the controls the same as I do on my stealth and combo, when I flipped on the stand by switch on the LBX and set volume to 9:00 I could not believe what I was hearing. This new " mini " head sounds EXACTLY like the blue channel on both the stealth and combo. Engaging the one button switch from blue to red is seamless and rolling down your volume on your guitar on the blue channel produces a very usable " semi " clean tone. I am simply blown away by this newest addition to the EVH family. As with all EVH amps, this little beast is a pure 7 tube tone machine. This amp is a must have!!
Musical Background:
I am a pro hard rock / metal lead guitarist who has been performing, touring and recording for many years.
Musical Style:
Hard rock / metal lead guitarist
25 of 26 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 15, 2020 by Colby S in Milton, PA
"Absolutely amazing!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just got it today and I’ve been playing for hours. I paired it with the evh mx 1x12 cabinet. Love the high gain. Amp is a very loud 15 watts and it’s still loud on 1/4 power. Sounds absolutely fantastic. I wish I bought this amp sooner. People say it doesn’t do clean sounds very well but it does if you turn the gain way down and back the volume on your guitar off. I even got twangy telecaster sounds out of my Les Paul without coil tapping my humbuckers!! And it’s simple. Much better than a modeling amp and I don’t think you’ll need an overdrive pedal or distortion pedal. Maybe a reverb pedal
Musical Style:
Rock, country, blues
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 26, 2016 by Roman F in Delray Beach, FL
"Wow"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just unboxed and pugged into my new 5150 LBX, and I was blown away by the sound. I was quickly able to get the sound I was after. I was mostly blown away by the clarity and harmonics of the blue channel when chugging chords. I plugged into my 2x12 closed-back cab (v30s) and PRS 22. I wasn't hoping for a clean sound, so no issues there. I do need to spend more time with it in the studio to dial in the true lead sound of the amp. Leads sound a bit thin to me at bedroom volume. Looking forward to searing my bandmates faces at rehearsal.
Musical Background:
Non-professional. Mostly practice at home and jam with friends at rehearsal studio for fun.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 21, 2019 by James Knapp in Tucson, AZ
"Amazing tone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First off, YES you can play this amp at BEDROOM LEVELS. It sounds awesome and is completely controllable. YES you can get a CLEAN tone from the blue channel. Turn the gain all the way down and turn the volume up. The quality is awesome and sounds huge and tight even without an Overdrive to tighten things up. Plenty of gain on tap and is very articulate. You can hear every note and there is great string separation. I love it.
Musical Background:
30yrs or more
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Country
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 24, 2016 by Bradley L in Oakland, CA
"YES it sounds amazing just like you heard it does."
Great tone machine with more gain than anyone needs. I use the crunch channel with gain set really low. (like on 2-3) and turn it up. Running it through a EVH 1x12 and I have yet to really open it up on full wattage since its really loud even on 1/4 wattage. seems to take pedals pretty well. presence and resonance knobs take a little tweaking to get the sweet spot. It is similar to my Framus Ruby Riot, but bit more squish and is more forgiving. I have not heard the 50 watt head or the 100, but this guy is sick.
Musical Background:
classic rocker
Musical Style:
Rock classic Rock Modern Rock
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 25, 2018 by James M in Reidsville, NC
"Only stopped playing to sleep and eat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I got this for my Birthday/Christmas present yesterday and have spent hours playing it. It sounds Soo good compared to the old solid state amp I had gotten from pawn shop when I first started playing a few months ago. I had read about how people praised tube amps and now I'm a definite fan.If you want to play anything from Blues to Metal this amp will do it. No need for a distortion pedal its face melting right out of the box and a LOUD for 15 watts.
Musical Background:
Giitar, play at home so far, 8 months
Musical Style:
Blues and rock
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 31, 2019 by Paul D in Oakland, CA
"Lunch box with all the goodies!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp head is a total beast but can be sweet and gentle as well. I can play all genres of music with this high-gain amp head. It pairs well with my evh 2x 12 cabinet. A perfect match! If you are at home or in the studio even small gigs, this amp is more than enough.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 13, 2018 by Dan Logan in Eatontown, NJ
"Eddie Loves Us"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Whoa, what a tone junky-dream. It really is and until you own one you don't understand. EVH has given us an amp we can afford and now its up to you to come up with a riff or new lead style to inspire the next generation because now YOU HAVE THE TONE!!!!
Musical Background:
Former touring musician
Musical Style:
Ska, metal, classic rock, reggae
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 2, 2017 by Scott H in Wilmington, NC
"EVH 5150 III LBX"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Excellent quality. Loud amp for 15 watts, can keep up with a drummer , no problem. Both channels are very good, but I mainly use the red. the tones are pro quality. I would buy again anytime, and am very glad I bought this amp!!
Musical Background:
have played for over 30 years
Musical Style:
rock, prog, metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to