Egnater Tweaker Guitar Amplifier Head (15 Watts)
BACK IN STOCK

Egnater Tweaker Guitar Amplifier Head (15 Watts)

The Egnater Tweaker offers unbelievable tonal control. With 15 watts of power, the Egnater Tweaker is a great sounding, powerful, and compact head.

Overall User Ratings (based on 16 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(16)
Submitted May 2, 2012 by a customer from gmail.com in Missoula, MT
"Watch out Fender!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had a Fender Blues Junior for about two years. Swapped the speaker out for a Eminence Cannabis Rex and was getting good tones out of it, but it did not have an effects loop. I like having my modulation effects in the loop and my drive pedals straight into the input.So I started my search for an amp that would fit the bill and the Egnater Tweaker 15 Head was the perfect solution. I already had a 1 x12 extension with a C-Rex and a 2 x 12 extension with two 16ohm Eminence Texas Heats, so I had the cab part solved. After much tooth gnashing and review reading, watching and listening, I decided to get the Egnater Tweaker 15.Handles all of my mod effects in the loop great. I have an EH Small Clone, EH Deluxe Electric Mistress, EH Deluxe Memory Man with Hazaria, EH Cathedral, MXR 10 Band EQ and a Boss RC3 Loop pedal. No hiss or hums in the chain, just pure modulated tones.I am over driving it with an EH Soul Preacher, Hardwire CM2 and a Fulltone Fulldrive 2 MOSFET and the tones I am getting with it and the 2 x12 with the Texas Heats is phenomenal. I even did a double take one day I was doing a jam with some friends in the garage. It was like holy crap is all that good sound coming out of that rig!I have since traded the Blues Jr. for a 1993 Blues Deville, but I don't think I am going to get tired of the Egnater any time soon. In fact I am using the the Blues Deville as a 4 x 10 speaker cab for the Egnater most of the time.
Sound
The dynamics of this amp are great, very touch sensitive, but you have to get the tubes a little hot to let the tiger out. I am using a Weber Mini Mass Attenuator to do this and it really beefs up the tone when you can't really crank it up. This amp makes my 1 x12 cab sound great as well as the 2 x12 and the 4 tens in the Blues Deville.The amp is not noisy at all and works well in my small studio, where you can hear a pin drop.I play a Fender Players Deluxe Strat with 12's tuned down a half step, Fender Blacktop Strat with EMG David Gilmour pickup set with 10's, Standard Strat with Dimarzio Area 58,61 and 67 pickups with 11's and a Standard Telecaster with a Fender Vintage Hot Alinco in the neck and a standard tele in the bridge with 10's. All of these guitars sound really good through this amp and work with it really well.
Features
Being able to swap out with different types of tubes is a cool feature. Also the effects loop on a 15 watt amp is a big plus for me. Switchable speaker outs is good as well. I wish it had a nice headphone out with speaker simulation.
Ease of Use
Pretty straight forward in this department and tones of tweakability to get the tone you want.
Quality
Well made and heavier than I expected. I have not looked inside yet, but I have seen some pic's on the net. Seems pretty well designed.
Value
Well worth the money I spent, and I would probably pay a little more for it, but I will take it at the going price now.
Manufacturer Support
I ain't had to do this yet...
The Wow Factor
I have been playing for over thirty years and I am a tone freak. If it does not sound good I do not keep it around very long. This amp is getting the blues and Gilmour sound I want coming out of speakers and into my headphones when I am recording.
Musical Background:
Songwriter and composer.
Musical Style:
Al over the place except for rap. Mostly blues rock and jazz.
22 of 22 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 3, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"What I hoped for."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am very glad to be a Tweaker!
Sound
My set-up: Tele w/Seymour Duncan's (APTR-1/lil '59), Tweaker, 535Q Wah, Nova Repeater, custom cab Weber 10F150 @16 Ohms. Overall good sound. (I end up with a fairly comprable sound to what I found with the Tweaker Cab.) I was very impressed that it is really as versatile as it claims. In the future might replace the 6L6GC's with 6V6's. It is not quite as aggressive as I'd like & has a little more bass response than I tend to need. (Nothing a little "tweaking" doesn't fix.)
Features
The fact that every switch noticeably did what it said it would won kudos from me. The only I thought might be nice would be a foot-switch for the clean/hot, but in the end, I am almost glad it doesn't--I've been on a gear purge as of late. I love that an amp this small has an FX loop.
Ease of Use
Every feature makes sense & I have been able to dial in most any sound I can hope for. On the flip side, I am waiting for when the tweaking becomes second nature. My tweaks in changing my tones are becoming more efficient, but I need to spend more time practicing my amp.
Quality
Seems well-built. I bought a blemished model am not to nervous about construction.
Manufacturer Support
N/A
The Wow Factor
I am a practical kind of guy & not too concerned with looks. Seems to be Egnater's perspective as well.
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
mainly alternative rock
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 27, 2013 by Tom D in melrose, MA
"Fantastic!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
As a disclaimer - I'm a hobbyist and don't perform with a band. For my purposes, this is the amp I've been waiting for. It does everything I want it to do: clean blues, dirty blues, classic rock and the Beatles. I love it, and I haven't even started messing with the tubes yet. Further, it's a very, very versatile 15w. When cranked, it's loud! at around 2-3 o'clock on the master is where (for me anyway) it shines with fantastic breakup. If I want to jam late at night and not anger the neighbors, it does remarkably well at low levels as well. Not as good as when it's opened up some, but you can get some great sounds at a loud TV level. Having previously owned a modelling amp, I'm also pleasantly surprised at how easy it is to find the tones I want (the modeling amp would take for ever for me to dial it). All it, it's a great buy, highly recommended.
Musical Background:
Playing for a few years. PRS SE Custom, Egnater Tweaker, home made 1x10 cab with Celestion G10-40
Musical Style:
Blues, classic rock
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 18, 2010 by a customer from rocketmail.com
"A Big surprise in a small Package !!!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I also looking at egnater renagade . I also own his 212 cab with the Celeston 80s its great
Sound
This little amp packs alot of weight . It's completly versitile in many ways . You can go from fender sweet to vox chime into Marshall crunch and anywhere in between .
Features
Here you have switches that will help you to evolve , thats right evolve into any combinsation of sound your looking for at volumes that are aceptable in apartment life and still achieve that sound your looking for
Ease of Use
Very easy to set it up just play find your own way its all there !!!!!
Quality
Product exceeds all that is written about it , you can even run a 412 cab and still com out sounding great
Value
Without a doubt the most versitile amp for the money and Studio friendly !!!!!
Manufacturer Support
Just call , or write to Egnater they will answer all and help you anyway they can !!!
The Wow Factor
Just looks like it is simple and smooth with a bite to it !!!!
Musical Background:
45 years, Blues, Rock and so!!!!
Musical Style:
As I said Blues And Rock !!!!
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 4, 2020 by Eric Fisher in Elk Grove Village, IL
"MY GOD"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This thing is the best tube amp value around and I have searched everywhere from the monoprice highly rated cheap amps to the bugera affordable range and up to Mesa, Vox, and Orange. I will buy another one for my son if he sticks to playing. Incredible.
Musical Background:
25 years, guitar, retired from playing shows lol
Musical Style:
I mostly played acoustic music for decades. I was in punk rock bands if I played electric and I went through the classic rock ob
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 24, 2014 by Casey B in Omaha, NE
"I'm a Tweaker"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Fantastic amp, really for any price. Don't let the 15 watt rating fool you, this is a LOUD amp! I'm running mine through a 1x12 loaded with an Eminence Texas Heat, which is a very efficient speaker, and this thing rattles my windows if I crank the master past noon. The good news is that it sounds really good with the gain pushing the pre-amp tubes and the master turned down to bedroom/practice levels. Does it sound better with the master volume up so you're pushing the power tubes into distortion? Yes but that's pretty much true of any amp.For high gain metal type tones, I use the AC setting, modern, normal, tight, gain maxed, treble 2:00, mid 8:00, bass 12:00. Push the amp with a boost or OD pedal.Flip to Brit setting and crank the mids to 3:00 or so and you've got a great rock crunch.My favorite clean is the AC channel, deep.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 28, 2014 by Chris Larson in POCATELLO, ID
"Best amp in its class for everything except metal..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this amp from Zzounds blemished and it arrived in perfect condition other than the packaging. I couldn't even tell it was blemished. I play jazz fusion, rock, funk, and blues styles. I decided to pair this amp with a 16ohm Eminence Cannabis Rex speaker that I dropped into a prefabricated cab from Seismic Audio. Everybody and there momma is playing through a celestion g 12 v30 these days so I went with the c-rex and no regrets. This was also $50 cheaper than buying the matching cab. I mostly play an American strat and a Suhr Pro series and my tone is fat, warm, smooth articulate highs, and overall a little dark when playing through this amp. The tweaker is known to be a little on the dark side, but that can be altered with a tube swap. Don't get me wrong, I am still able to dial in some very bright chime like tones with a little tweaking. This is a very versatile little amp and can be customized very easily. It is cathode based and therefore does not need to be rebiased when doing a tube swap. This amp is compatible with many power tubes and preamp tubes. Just to name a few: EL84, EL34, 6v6, and 6L6 power tubes all work and 12ax7, 12au7, 12at7, and 5751 preamp tubes all work with the tweaker.THE GOOD - This amp can use almost any tube, has an fx loop, can handle 4, 8, and 16ohm cabs, and has a highly tweakable eq. For a fraction of the cost this amp can be made to sound like an expensive boutique amplifier after a tube swap.THE BAD - This amp has only one channel which maybe a problem for those who like to use the amp's natural drive and switch to clean during a performance. Not really a problem if you don't mind using a drive pedal. The tweaker has no reverb which also kind of sucks. Oh well, many reverb pedals sound incredible these days....At the end of the day this is a very suitable amplifier for many aspiring musicians. This is a working man's amp that can achieve professional tone. I would go so far as to say that if you can't dial in a good sound on the Tweaker it's not the amp's fault.
Musical Background:
16 years guitar, hobby and professional
Musical Style:
Jazz, rock, blues, and funk
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 15, 2011 by a customer from comcast.net
"Egnater Tweaker, awesome boutique amp tone with extreme tonal versatility at a great price."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
THis amp is going to be my main home and home recording amp for a LONG time.
Sound
I have yet to produce a bad sound or tone with this amp. If it's super heavy metal your looking for, then this is not your amp without help. But, for everything else, it is just great. THis applies whether your playing at 'bedroom' volumes or you crank it to it's full 15 watt glory. I've heard it sounds even better with a Tun Sol 12AX7 in preamp V1. If thats the case, then woah nellie. It already sounds awesome.
Features
Only reason it doesn't get a 10, is there is no headphone out. But, it truly is the Tweaker. You can get a plethora of different tone and nuances from all the various tweak switches.
Ease of Use
Extremely easy to dial in a tone.
Quality
Built rock solid, no flaws or issues. Top quality.
Value
At it's price point, the Tweaker is a steal. Easily worth much more. Boutique amp tone at this price is awesome.
Manufacturer Support
Only a 9 because I haven't had to deal with them. No problems.
The Wow Factor
Just love everything about it.
Musical Background:
Most of my life off and on, 1 year with guitar
Musical Style:
Blues, classic and alternative rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 1, 2012 by Adam C in Raleigh, NC
"Great little head"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I recently purchased this head and I love it! There are so many different tone variations with this little guy and those 15 watt tubes can scream when they're warm! I would highly reccomend this head for any player looking for that warm tube sound without breaking the bank. Get this amp!
Musical Background:
6 years, jamming and gigging
Musical Style:
rock, pop punk, metal, worship
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 12, 2012 by Louie B in New Orleans, LA
"Egnater Tweaker 15W Head"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My first review of anything. If you're an experienced professional you can make this amp do anything you need it to do. I always use a small amount" of compression, chrous and delay for flavoring. I have two and A/B them with various cabinets. I can cover everything. Outstadning Mr. Egnater. Best buy I've made in recent memory due to ZZounds pricing and cooperation.
Musical Background:
Pro
Musical Style:
Everything
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 9, 2014 by Elias P in Corpus Christi, TX
" Egnater Tweaker 15 Watt Guitar Amp Head "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Had to wait like 4 days after I received the amp,but oh yea!!! It was all the other reviews had said. I put it thru a 2/12 cabinet,and it sound great. Endless tone configurations too............
Musical Background:
been playing on n off 25 yrs. gigs at home drums,guitar,keyboards
Musical Style:
blues,rock,classic rock
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 28, 2013 by a customer from davidgerald.com in Westland, MI
"Great in the Studio"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm using the to Tweaker to record direct using a direct box. Sounds wonderful. Better sound than I would ever get micing a speaker cab. will be updating the trannies when have the money to improve the sound even more. sounds even smoother with JJ 803S tubes.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 29, 2019 by VITO P in SIOUX FALLS, SD
"SNAP CRACKLE AND POP"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Recieved this amp on saturday. Took it out of the box, looked great. plug in to 4*12 marshall cabinet and turned on to standby. Plugged in my Westbury custom to test. From the very beginning to was cracking, snapping then full blown static. I played all of two minutes before it started picking up radio signals and static was loud. No guitar signal was heard. Im not sure if its inherent in these amps but I am returning and not wanting another egnater products
Musical Background:
Playing for nearly 42 years. Guitar and bass. not professionally for home and garage band.
Musical Style:
classic rock, christian rock and new metal.
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 31, 2011
"Old players will love the Egnater Tweaker !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
I have been playing professionally for 40+ years and as we all know, the quest for THE tone never ends .. So, after researching the Egnater Tweaker, especially the fact that you can change the tubes from the 6v6 to EL34's, etc .. And considering that zZounds has their amazing Pay As You Play plan, it was way too good to pass up.. !! The Tweaker is a perfect addition to my amp collection and it sounds amazing ..
Manufacturer Support
N/A
Musical Background:
40 year pro
Musical Style:
Rock
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.