Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Zoom R8 Multitrack SD Recorder Interface and Controller

Zoom R8 Multitrack SD Recorder Interface and Controller

Record 2 simultaneous tracks and play back 8 on the Zoom R8. Plug it into your computer, and you've got a 2x2 USB audio interface and DAW control surface.

Overall User Ratings (based on 20 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(20)
Submitted January 13, 2016 by Kali K in Prince George, VA
"Zoom R8 Recorder"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Zoom 8 Recorder is quite a tool for creating music. Although I haven't explored all the features, I know it will be a real boost to my recording projects. The sound quality is excellent and for my humble projects, at the moment is more than enough for recording several tracks, including midi effects, percussion and vocals. It comes with a trial or light version of Cubase, which is also a plus for creating material with computer. Excellent little machine! I hope I don't ever need manufacturer support although I may call for tips if available by phone.
Musical Background:
I play some guitar, keyboard and, yes, accordeon.
Musical Style:
Whatever I'm inspired with! From simple rock, Christian, whatever!
25 of 25 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 26, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Everything you need in a portable digital recorder - the Zoom R8"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
The Zoom R8 Digital Recorder is great for recording directly into the unit. Its modeled amps are excellent sounding for guitar rhythms and bass parts. The R8 allows you to choose your frequencies for all channels, so you can really push some low-end frequencies on bass guitar if you want. You can also pan your instruments at any degree right or left. The drum loops are very good, too. The loops allow you to change your beats per minute without effecting the drum set's pitch. For guitar solos, however, I mic my guitar amp, which sounds much less compressed than the R8's modeled amps. Once you get your ideas down, you can either master your tunes in the R8, or you can download into a computer program via USB for final mixing. For playback, I am using 25-watt Tascam reference speakers. You might need to purchase an 1/8" to 1/4" jack to attach to your speakers (Radio Shack has them). Once you get the hang of the R8 (you will need to read the manual), it is fast and easy to get your songs recorded. I got my money's worth! Very happy with this recording tool.
Ease of Use
It is very easy to get a great sounding product from R8, assuming you have good reference speakers for playback. I am using 25-watt Tascam stereo speakers. The R8 offers great sounding modeled amps for guitar and bass. The drum loops in it sound very good for the money. And, the R8 offers a very wide range of great sounding reverbs, digital delays, etc. for the modeled amps and vocals.
Quality
I have only had this product for a month, so I cannot tell you how durable it is at this point. I would replace it in a heart beat if it broke @ only $300. Great value for the money.
Value
You get everything you need to make great recordings for your $300. All you will need in addition to the Zoom R8 are powered reference speakers, an 1/8" to 1/4", and a low-impedence XLR mic cable.
Manufacturer Support
I sent an email to Zoom's tech support asking them a question about the drum loops. I still have not heard back from them, but I was able to figure out what I needed. This is my only concern at this point.
Musical Background:
Musician
Musical Style:
Blues Rock
119 of 123 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 8, 2011 by a customer from sbcglobal.net
"The Zoom R8 is a good unit to consider if you want to do some "On-The-Spot" recording or song creation. The R8 packs plenty of"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I think this unit will continue to get use in the upcoming days & month's, although as a musician who loves "Stuff", this unit will share room with many other gadgets & toys.
Sound
The Zoom R8 has very good sound quality when it comes to recording and playing the on-board drums. I haven't spent a lot of time with the R8 since I just got it a few weeks ago so I'm being conservative with the rating.
Features
The features in the R8 seem to be very useful. The on-board reverb, EQ and other effects seem to work with my music flow. The multi-input jacks for XLR and 1/4 inch connections (along with Phantom Power) prove very useful as well.
Ease of Use
It was very easy to get up & going with the R8. I was able to create a project & lay down a few tracks without reading the owners manual. If you're use to traditional analog recorders like Tascam and others, getting around on the R8 should be a breeze. Now when you get into the sequencer and other functions, you will have to consult the owners manual (at least I did).
Quality
The R8 seems to be pretty reliable in its hardware. The unit feels pretty solid although don't expect the faders to feel like anything that's on a studio console.
Value
I was pretty close to purchasing the Tascam DP-008 but I came across the R8 at the last moment. When I started to compare the features & functionality between the Tascam DP-008 & the Zoom R8, The Zoom R8 won hands down. The R8 seems to give you more features in the unit and the price was pretty close to the other Tascam unit I was considering.
Manufacturer Support
I'm not rating the company yet because I have not had any reason to contact them.
The Wow Factor
Well I own the unit already. The Zoom R8 fits my needs that I have for it. I could continue to make decent quality music without this unit, but the R8 gives me the ability to take advantage of it's abilities
Musical Background:
32yrs. I play Guitar & Keyboards for my church & personal pleasures
Musical Style:
Christian, blues, R&B
39 of 41 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 9, 2012 by Bryan J in San Francisco , CA
"Great choice for my needs"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This unit really gives great bang for the buck. I particularly need it as a computer interface and DAW controller, and it works well with Studio One.
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 11, 2011 by a customer from aol.com
"Great for beginer or pro!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
The sound quality of the Zoom R8 is quite good. The guitar and mic effects could be a little better, but if you are using the R8 as an interface you won't need the internal effects. The build in factory effects are far but they are editable. And you can instal your own. There is little EQ on the unit, so be sure to EQ your sound before recording.
Features
From the built in effects to the writable drum loops this tool has everything you need for recording great sounding song. Programing loops, bouncing tracks, multi-layering voices. On board tuner and metronome make this a huge time saver in the home studio.
Ease of Use
Very straight forward design. Quick and easy for the experienced, and fun to learn for the beginner. Direct recording is a snap. Using the interface with the included cubase may take a little time for a first timer.
Quality
The light weight of the R8 and it's small size make it extremly portable. Fits well in a gig bag. But the lightweight also gives is a cheap feel too, like its fairly easy to break. Will more than likely stand up to a few drops, but I havn't had it long enough to know if it can stand up to regular gig use. The size makes this a very valuable product for the price, and it's built well for its purpose.
Value
More than worth the price. This is a must have for any musician if you like to make things easier. You'll get 5 times the value.
Manufacturer Support
I have had no issues with the Zoom R8, but I have dealt with zoom customer support before. Hard to get ahold of, but very helpful when you do.
The Wow Factor
Great looking, easy to use, extremly mobile, and loaded with features. Just a great addition to the studio
Musical Background:
active musician. recording artis, band director
Musical Style:
jazz,rock, classical
12 of 13 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 12, 2016 by John McCracken in North Fort Myers, FL
"Zoom R8-Ready, set, go!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have owned this little gem for about 6 months now. It is a "musician's inspirational tool." If you want to record on the fly...it is as portable as portable can be. My medium sized hands span the entire width, and outstretch the vertical dimensions of this fine instrument. It is so easy to use, that the temptation is just to "drag race outta there" without fully realizing all of the different features available.The "pay n' play plan" is truly harmonious with tight budgets. With 24 bit definition and up to 92 khz depth, it will be everything that you need. I prefer to sing with an MXL V63 microphone which in itself is a budget item. "It's all in the musician, not the equipment" at this level, because I can record a dense, well produced "album" on this machine without ever leaving the bedroom. great job Zoom....highly recommended.
Musical Background:
I play 8 different instruments, including all of the "pop basics". I sing, arrange, and generally have a great experience.
Musical Style:
Blues, pop rock, folk-rock, country, Christian messaged originals....you name it...I like it.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 24, 2012 by a customer from gmail.com
"Dont get for programing drums"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was happy with the ease of just recording straight into the inputs but the drum programing was not explained well in the manual and had a hard time programing for an entire song, I didnt like having to make loops then record them when you should just be able to insert a loop or drum roll like the ZOOM MRS_802 which was so ez to program and you didnt have to fill up tracks with different drum loops because it had a dedicated stereo drum track . For some reason I would record my loops into the sequencer and when I would try and record a guitar part I couldn't get the sequencer to not play every part and drum rolls at once. Maybe its me cause Im kinda dumb. But like I said I had no prob with the older MRS_802 by zoom. So Ive ordered a external drum machine and Im happy with the recording quality on inputs and the effects are killer if you just spend a few minutes to tweak. So i took 1 star away because the manual was really not much help at all and had to learn by just playin with it or watching vids on you tube. Even if u could program these drums they sound really cheap and are obviously elctronic and will be noticed. Drums sounded way better on the older zoom MRS-802 I wish they could have just followed the mrs series. Any ways its a great buy for what u get and if you are savy with recording already you may like a lil better as far as loops and pasteing and trimming go.
Musical Background:
playing 35 years
Musical Style:
rock
15 of 17 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 10, 2012 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Zoom R8 recorder/interface...quite possibly the best for the home studio musician."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Indefinitely
Sound
Listen to my podcast and decide for yourself https://rokspodcast.podbean.com
Features
The audio interface is exceptional!
Ease of Use
So easy to use and the sound quality is great. I use it to produce my weekly podcast " Rockin Out with Kleetus and Sparky. No problems at all and it's totally noiseless.
Quality
So far so good. Build is sturdy, I would travel with this unit.
Value
It's so good they should charge more but don't tell Zoom!
Manufacturer Support
No support used yet. Don't need it. The product is very intuitive.
The Wow Factor
Cool looks, great sound, perfect size.
Musical Background:
Musician producer 30 years
Musical Style:
Rock, blues
17 of 20 people (85%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 1, 2018 by Roscoe Peterson in Okeechobee, FL
"Awesome!!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This thing is great. It has all the features of the Boss Br800 at half the price. If you edit the guitar patches...they are spectacular. The drums are ok, but not great. I just use a program for that. All in all, a great recording unit!
Musical Background:
Pro
Musical Style:
All
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 24, 2015 by tuna colada in FtMcCoy, FL
"best bang for the buck"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After owning the R8 only a short time,I found it to be as easy and very similar in operation to my Tascam analog 4 track cassette recorder,but good blank tape is hard to find now and the drive belts always wear out so your tapes drag It was time to full digital.The other weak points with my older units were the power input plug and the headphone jacks,I can see that might be an issue down the road with this unit but all products seemingly use these weaker inputs.I have recorded on two or three analog multitracks and a true 4 track reel to reel.This is the most user friendly unit I have used.It cut me loose from my computer interface and all that hardware.I mix it from the unit and transfer it my computer and its ready to reproduce or upload.I dont miss the tape hiss or overall background noise of my old units at all.With the amp models and the effects package you can be crystal clear or maxed out Marshall big hall wall of noise.Slight learning curve,read the book while operating,but if youve used multitracks before you'll be fine.I would buy another one or move up to a 16 track Zoom unit.Till then I am very satisfied...and busy using it.Get ya one and get to work....tuna out
Musical Background:
home recording since 1980
Musical Style:
psychobilly/folked music
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 25, 2011 by a customer from partridgevideo.com
"8 Track for the 2000's"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
At my age (60) the Zoom R8 could last my lifetime.
Sound
Sounds Great. Easy to record a couple of tracks and play them back.
Features
I needed a small multi track to record backup tracks for my Ukulele. The rhythm track has me a little confused, but I'll figure it out.
Ease of Use
Right out of the box I had it up and recording in minutes. The computer interface needs some tweaking.
Quality
This is for home use, it's not what I would use at a gig.
Value
Well made and it works!
Manufacturer Support
Have not needed any support.
The Wow Factor
It is kinda cute.
Musical Background:
Retired Musician
9 of 11 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 30, 2017 by Matthew Bryson in Candler, NC
"2nd time around... great unit!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the 2nd R8 I have owned - terrific songwriter tool. Easy & intuitive. Everything you need for a real solid is inside - mics, sounds, drummer-in-a-box. Very happy. Thanks, zZounds!
Musical Background:
Lifer in music
Musical Style:
The good kind. ;)
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 3, 2017 by Roscoe P in Okeechobee, FL
"Outstanding"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This multitrack recorder offers an outstanding set of features for a very reasonable price. It is almost everything the boss BR 800 is for half the price. Mine came without a manual, but I guess that is what YouTube is for. The sound is incredible, and it is very easy to use.
Musical Background:
Pro
Musical Style:
All
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 19, 2012 by walt young in Southern California, CA
"EASY TO USE, AMAZING"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I started with a cassette tape recorder years ago. Then a couple digital recorders after that. I have a Zoom H2 also. This small unit is amazing. I won't ditto everything everyone else has said here. It has tons of effects, drum loops, drum kits, and on and on. It is powered by AA batterys, plug in, or off an USB port on a computer. You could take it tent camping with your guitar and record away on the built in mics. It is lightweight and small. Some say a bit too light on the plastic but do we abuse recorders? . A small laptop bag fits it nicely for storing. Zoom engineers do their homework. This is an amazing recorder with endless features.
Musical Background:
Active musician.
Musical Style:
Country, blues, pop, acoustic and electric.
7 of 10 people (70%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 14, 2014 by Robert M in Raeford, NC
"Good recorder"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The R8 records very well. The onboard mics are good. Things start to go downhill when you start to use it as an audio interface. The usb interface is noisy to me. I am very sound sensitive, must be this digital age or something. I was excited about the sampler only to find the ability to edit is limited. My badd!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 1, 2014 by Wayne K in Stockbridge, MI
"Zoom R8 Recorder"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This unit has many functions I did not expect. Like punch in and out capabilities, stereo/mono switching, overdub, metronome. The built in mikes sound great, better than I expected. The only draw back is that now I have to read the manual to be able to take advantage of all of the features.
Musical Background:
I have been playing for 40+ years. Guitar, Bass guitar, banjo.
Musical Style:
Blues rock.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 6, 2014 by stephen arnold in Harrod's Creek, KY
"Zoom R8"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The system works. Considerable work is required to obtain information to supplement and clarify the points in the documentation.
Musical Background:
None. We use this for voice recordings.
Musical Style:
No music! We use this exclusively for voice recordings.
3 of 6 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 10, 2019 by ALan W R
"Life before Zoom & life WITH Zoom"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First let me say that I'm that guy that never reads the instructions. I'm that dude that plows head first into projects and then gets frustrated because everything didn't go smooth. So with this in mind, I was a TAD apprehensive about buying something that I perceived as needing time to LEARN to use. I can't tell you how many times Ive added it to the cart only to delete it later. We all do that, right? lolAnyway, I couldn't have been more surprised. Don't get me wrong, you'll need to use the instruction manual but Zoom actually includes a hard copy with the unit! And, it's full of those pictures that simplify everything. You know the ones, right? They show a picture of the button and say "press this". lol. Overall, I was amazed at how simple it was to use and how intuitive it was when it came to learning more complicated tasks. The recording is amazing. Well, I really don't have anything to compare it to but that's a great thing right? I don't need anything else.It comes with tons of effects too. My pedal is currently down, uuugggg, and it has a NICE EVH distortion sound that I found. Plus, I have used the onboard Mic's to record acoustic guitar and they sound great too. I love mine. absolutely LOVE it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 10, 2019 by Alan W R in Florence, SC
"Love "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I absolutely LOVE my Zoom R8! I was truly worried that it would overwhelm me and I wouldn't be able to figure it out but it was super easy to learn! And, it comes with a manual that is SUPER easy to follow.
Musical Background:
Guitar and various other
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, Classical
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us