Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Zoom R24 Multi-Track Recorder Controller

Zoom R24 Multi-Track Recorder Controller

Get a 24-track recorder, 8-in/2-out audio interface, DAW controller, and sampler/sequencer/drum machine in one portable 3-pound package with the Zoom R24.

Overall User Ratings (based on 39 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(39)
Submitted December 11, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"The WOW factor!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had the Zoom R24 for 6 months and it's gotten frequent use. Recording rehersals and tracking my band 2 or more times a month and tied to my desk serving as an interface/control surface/sketchpad the rest of the time. That said, I expect to be exteremely satisfied with this unit for years to come. I only plan on upgrading when the need arises, that is, I need more inputs! If I want better mic pres, I'll just get a standalone unit to use in conjuction with the R24. For the money, there is no better unit to affordably get into home recording. If you're unsure, or don't have the need for 8 simultaneous inputs or 24 simultaneous tracks, go with the R16 or R8. Zoom has made a follower out of me!
Sound
Your "sounds" are easy to capture and manipulate! :) Seriously, this is a great and affordable piece of gear! The pre-amps probably arn't the best, (I don't have any other experience) but so far, my recordings have come out clean and they don't seem to produce any noise.
Features
The R24 is packed with features! Some you might not need, (the sequencer and drum machine in my case) others are amazing for the price! As a standalone recorder it excels and is exteremly portable. Even the built-in mics are suprisingly good and are more than sufficient for recording rehearsals, field recording or use as a song writing scratch pad. As an audio interface, (which is what I primarily use it for) it's AWESOME! 8 simultaneous inputs to record anything from an acoustic singer/guitar player to tracking a full drum kit into your DAW of choice. (I use Reaper and it works flawlessly) It's got two outputs, plus a headphone output with individual level adjustment for basic monitoring and mixing. I also use the control surface function for basic transport and level control while mixing. (STOP, PLAY, FORWARD, REWIND plus transport between markers if you use them.) The solo and mute buttons work well, although you need to choose which function is active with the softkeys under the screen. The faders also adjust your tracks in your DAW as well. Note that you can only use banks 1-8 and 9-16 in conjuction with your DAW tracks. Banks 17-24 don't work for some reason. So, if you have more than 16 tracks in your project, you'll need to click on that track in your DAW and control it's level with the corresponding fader. i.e. track 17 in your project would be fader 1 on the zoom; track 18 would be fader 2 , so on and so fourth. As a control surface, the zoom also works while tracking as well. (REC. ARM, STOP, REC. PLAY, etc.) The R24 also comes with a 1GB SD Card and a 1GB flashdrive filled with pre-recorded drum loops. I've listened to them and they sound good, although I haven't used them, they could be useful.
Ease of Use
I give this an 8 because you really do need to read the manual to learn to use the zoom to its full potential. Especially regarding file import/export, etc. Additionally, you'll need to read it to fully comprehend how to navigate and use all of the insert effects the zoom has to offer. Plug and Play is possible, but to achieve the most this unit has to offer, READ THE MANUAL.
Quality
Yes, this product is plastic. How else do you think they can pack so many features into such an affordable product? So, if you're looking for a tank-like road-worthy piece of equipment, don't get this. Also, if you don't take care of your gear, DON'T GET THIS. That said, if you do take care of your gear, by all means, there will be no concerns with quality. The pots and faders ok and work like they should, but they will not hold up to negligent care or use. Honestly, if you're spending $500 on something, why wouldn't you take care of it?
Value
As stated before, the bang for the buck is definately here. It has too many great features and is incredibly useful for the price.
Manufacturer Support
10- Haven't needed it! :)
The Wow Factor
Those who seek, will find. This was exactly what I was looking for, and I knew it when I saw it.
Musical Background:
10 years playing music; drums, guitar, vocals. 1 year recording/engineering/producing
Musical Style:
Rock
86 of 88 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 20, 2011 by a customer from live.com
"Great device for the on-the-go music producer !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I bought this to record my vocals anywhere (other than my apartment), to record all may gear at once, and to transfer the files to anything easily. It does all these things extremely well and more. Pros: Light, portable,easy to use, perfect for my every need, Saves everything automatically Cons: Software is pretty slow, sequencer can get overloaded when using effects and go off time (weird bug), not as many undo functions
Sound
The sound quality is excellent. No fans or other sounds for the recording to pick up like on older hard disc recorders. Good clean sound IF you don't use the gain knobs. The mic pre-amps get a little noisy at high volumes (not unexpected but much worse in comparison to Roland or Korg models).
Features
ZOOM has included all kinds of features on this one, many of which are more fun than useful. Let's start with what I actually bought it for - file transfer to my PC. The SD cards are a great way to go (I bought a 16GB one), they are a much better option than a hard disc recorder because they keep getting bigger, cheaper and there isn't any annoying file formats to get around. Just pop it out of the Zoom and into my PC (running win 7) and there are my wav files, waiting to be tossed into any of my multi-track editors. Also you can import files directly from USB flash drives with ease. I do really like the sample sequencer on this, I didn't think I'd even use it but it is really convenient and useful for arranging. You can treat every track in you song like a long sample loop and with the quantization it makes it easy to write or re-mix songs all by it self. The effects are functional, but not very useful. If you want great effects on a device like this buy a Roland...but you won't be able to transfer your files back and for as effortlessly (if at all). The drum machine is laughable but also remarkably easy to program.
Ease of Use
I have owned many devices like this and have several workstation keyboards, drum machines, and samplers, I can tell you that you will not find a portable multi-track recorder that is easier to use. The manual is simple and barely needs glancing at. I am particularly impressed with the pattern sequencer. If you are familiar with pattern/grid style sequencers you will find a slightly easier and more fluid editing than Yamaha or Korg, and far easier than Roland ridiculously awkward systems. Note: I have not owned a Fostex Wave editing is also super simple, you can see the wav forms and zoom in with ease and even cut them into even bars.
Quality
It's plastic and it's light as a feather...think cheap laptop or netbook. I carry it in a computer bag and it does fine, but if I dropped it, it would probably be done for. that is totally expected for the price range if you want light and portable for under 2 grand. I will say for those that are curious that knobs all seems pretty solid. Devices like this often have wobbly or flimsy knobs that get shorts in them over time through moving them around or packing and unpacking. The design of this does much to prevent this by having guard-rail style mics on the sides.
Value
Totally worth the price. No doubt.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed it.
Musical Background:
Producer/ recording engineer
Musical Style:
Industrial/electronic/darkwave/EBM
38 of 39 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 10, 2016 by Jeffrey Doan in San Jose, CA
"Easy to use. Works great. Wish it could do 92KHz, though"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I don't really use this for its Audio Interface but as a Recorder. It turns on in 8 seconds whenever I need to use it, and readily have the last project loaded and ready to go. I do all my recording on it, then take the SD card over to my laptop to copy all the tracks into a Cubase project. I ended up upgrading the Cubase LE to AI Elements as it only costs 50 bucks to upgrade (I was a Cubase user some 6 years ago, but lost my USB dongle during a move). I like this product a lot, as it makes arranging music much faster. I have my Left and Right output from my keyboard split to 12 pairs of input (24 mono inputs) to the Zoom, and just have to pick which track I want to record from keyboard (no messing around with plugging/unplugging cables). All my arranging is done via the keyboard (selecting different instrument, then record it on separate tracks). My typical project setting is for 48KHz/24bit, while the finished arrangement is exported to 44KHz/16bit via Cubase. At first I thought 24 tracks were more than I ever need. But it turns out that I would occasionally use up all 24 tracks as I would want to insert instrument track here and there and not mess with another track (I can mute the tracks later on if I don't want them - either via the unit or via Cubase). The R24 has been working wonder as it cut the time on arranging a new song down in half. No problem so far.
Musical Background:
Have been home-recording since 2005. Mainly use keyboard. I also do live-sound re-inforcement for event with 500 people or less.
Musical Style:
I'm a singer songwriter myself. I write pop music.
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 30, 2017 by Keith Boyce in Chambersburg, PA
"Best $$$ spent on recording equipment...EVER!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If you want to record your band live, a studio quality album or whatever...this is the only piece you will ever need. I purchased this with the expectation to record our next cd in my home studio. When I got it, I was surprised by the absolute ease it was to start the recording process. I had used a mbox in the past coupled with protools and though it would be hard to make the change, couldn't have been farther from the reality! I was able to use it right away without much of a learning curve at all! Because of its compact size, it was easy to take to gigs and record the shows. We ended up with such awesome quality, we released a live album from the recordings! The only thing I felt was needed to change, was replacing the included lite version of the DAW included with the full version (I highly suggest it). I would highly suggest it to anyone looking for something affordable to make high quality recordings with. Money well spent!
Musical Background:
Working Musician for 30+ years
Musical Style:
Blues, blues-rock
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 21, 2010 by a customer from gmail.com
"R24 great for the working small combo or single performer"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
From the day I received the R24, I've been using it nonstop. I use it to record our rehearsals, to record shows, for song writing (as a DAW controller/interface for Reaper) The unit is intuitive: I have only had to check the manual once. Individual tracks are saved in .wav format and easy to upload or import. The unit is very light, easy to carry. I recommend the padded case highly, because the very thing which makes the R24 light means it's not built for rough handling. Not an issue for me, as I don't expect to be tossing it around. I recommend this unit highly.
Features
I bough this unit because it had the extra inputs and the drum machine (which I haven't had a chance to work with yet)
Ease of Use
I've only had to check the manual once so far. The rest is intuitive
Quality
The unit is well designed, but lightweight and some may prefer the feel of an older Yamaha unit.
Value
I have had portable recording units since the mid 1980s when I bought my first Tascam PortaStudio which recorded 4 tracks onto a cassette tape. Since then I have owned Korgs, Aiwas and Yamaha units. In 2005 I paid over $900 for a portable Yamaha unit with a CD player. While this doesn't have the internal CD player, this unit has more inputs, and I love the USB connectivity as well as the fact it records onto SD chips. I have several 8gb chips, and the transfer to my laptop recording system is the easiest thing. If I need to print a CD, I'll do it off my laptop
Manufacturer Support
I haven't had to contact the company for support...hope I don't need to.
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
jazz, blues, light rock
45 of 47 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 22, 2017 by Stephen Moore in vale, NC
"Hard to use but worth the money"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have recorded for years and this device is not as easy to use as the Boss BR1600 CD. However that device costs much more and cannot record to thumbdrives or sd cards. The Zoom recorder is very light and the onboard mics work great. Mixdowns become a problem because I like my finished products to have a much bigger db level. I have used this for more than a year and overall its a GREAT DEVICE FOR THE MONEY!!!!
Musical Background:
Play guitar. Bass. Harmonica. Drums. Record. Run live sound more than 20 years. I am more than amateur and less than pro.
Musical Style:
Rock. Gospel. Sacred. Pop. Instrumental
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 6, 2014 by Joe Martin in Woodway, TX
"Zoom R24"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am a long time Zoom user...I have a H4n and a H6...and the Zoom R24 is my home studio go to device...love it.....mostly voice...but some small band mixing. The unit works great and gives me lots of flexibility.
Musical Background:
I am the tech...I do the backside music work...I pay keyboard...badly!!!
Musical Style:
Country, Rock, a few others.
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 8, 2016 by Bob G in Dardenne Prairie, MO
"UnBelievable BANG for the buck. DO IT!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been writing and recording with a older digital 8 track for some time. I have been needing a up grade for awhile but which way to go? The Zoom R24 has been on the market for years as has the Teac. Most people I know have PC based recorders but which is the right choice for ME? Let me help.After seeing zZounds having a blemished special on a Z24 and reading the reviews on them for years I decided to grab one. It came without factory packaging and no user manual which I must tell you worried me cause I am a manual freak. As advanced as these devices are I really thought it would take me forever to get it up and running but this was NOT the case at all. There are TONS ZOOM user videos that really do a good job of explaining the operation of this recorder. I recorded a great little tune within a few hours after I pulled it out of the box. It is so simply laid out you think you're going to miss all the knobs and faders you've used in the past but you don't. One of the COOLEST features that I think is really over looked on this unit is its size and portability. I have a small studio but I,m not confined to it with the R24. I pull this baby out and take it other places to listen and record Ideas when they hit. A feature lost on just about every other 24 track recorder I can think of.Don't let the size or price fool you. It also comes with a copy of Cubase which when I loaded they immediately upgraded me to the next edition. I'm sure I will eventually be using the Cubase software to do the bulk of my recording on but the R24 fits the bill for me at the moment.Are they built like a tank? No. I take good care of all my equipment but only time will tell how long this unit will hold up. No Midi, no individual channel outs, line outs & the AC adapter seems really brittle and cheap but thats the only negatives I can say about this recorder for the month I have owned it. I could go into great detail about its features like other have done but Do I need to? Digital interface, onboard drum machine, metronome, tuner, modeled amps, effects, two mics ( that sound pretty darned good) battery powered if needed.Do yourself a favor and snag one of these jewels and start creating! Enjoy!
Musical Background:
Been playing and performing for over 40 years.
Musical Style:
Rock,country,alternative.blues, pop
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 16, 2012 by Tommy T in Stillwater, OK
"I like it!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My previous digital recording experience was on various Korg stand alone units. I liked Korg because they put descriptions in layman's terms (I definitely am not a computer guy) and they were easy to use. I never really maxed out on the Korg but I could see where the limitations were If I wanted to do any serious recording and be able to easily transfer my work to an actual studio. This being said I spent about a year wondering how exactly to jump in to actual computer recording and still have the hands on feeling. I saw the Zoom R24, read about it and thought "hey, I'll give it a shot". Well long story short I love it. I am slowly learning and keeping my user manual close at hand. The more I learn the more I envision what I can do with this machine. I am saving to get a good computer to load the included Cubase on. Without going into details I can say I am very happy with my purchase. I haven't had it long enough to give much of an opinion on features I haven't explored yet but from what I can see it will be lots of fun (I love the work) and already I am already doing some cool recording. I can't rate manufacturer support but from what I see on other reviews, I'm not concerned. Plus I know ZZounds has always treated me well.
Musical Background:
drums 40 years, play church now, home studio. Roland TD10 drums.
Musical Style:
Christian pop originals
13 of 14 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 3, 2015 by Gary Kotil in Dawsonville, GA
"Zoom R24 recorder is awsome!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had it for only a month and It does so much for the money It's incredible. I've recorded a half dozen songs, and have nothing to say bad about this recorder. Almost went with the tascam 32 track, but I'm glade I went with the zoom.
Musical Background:
Been playing over 40 years in bands, and home recording for the past 10 years.
Musical Style:
I like easy listening music, rock, jazz, blues. But what I write and record is strictly commercial music. I learned from recordi
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 29, 2015 by jennifer j in shelton, WA
"zoom r24"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
new unit all i expected and more! i love that it is a stand alone and a daw in the same unit i used a korg d1200 for years and wanted more tracks and better sound and got both! and while it doesn't have some of the same effects on board it still have greatr processing power and ease of use... i got it out of the package and was up and running in record time... downfalls; tiny screen and lack of great on board effects and could be a bit bigger and heavier please! but its a 9 outta 10 for me...
Musical Background:
20 _ years reconding, teachimg playing music...
Musical Style:
rock , blues, metal
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 6, 2013 by David S in Austin, TX
"Good Bang for the Buck"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Review of Zoom R24 I actually reviewed the Zoom R24 before, and my comments were not so nice. However, I have had some more time to play and experiment with the device, so I'm adding this review so as to add/update/change a few things from last time. First of all, I now have 2 of these units. I bought a 2nd one so that I can gang them together to get 16 channels. I'll say that I did test out how well the 2 units would sync-up. Note that the documentation says that due to limitations on USB, they units could be out of sync by as much as 2 milliseconds. My own testing showed that they could be out of sync by 16 milliseconds, if I recall correctly. This was most-noticeable if I took a microphone, split its output and sent a signal to each unit. Then, if I played a real percussive sound, like a drum hit, I could really notice the difference. However, I found that when I switched the units - I made the other unit the Master - the sync was better. I don't have the numbers, but it is better. Also, I found that I can organize which instruments I put on which unit. So if there were an instrument with multiple outputs (like a keyboard or drum), I just make sure to put all of those outputs on 1 unit. By doing this, I cannot discern any latency problem in the final mix. In my last review I complained that the inputs to the units do not have enough of a "pad" so as to handle the "insert" jack |"ends" of my Mackie board. This is still the case; the Mackie will overload the inputs, even with the trim control of the R24 on minimum position. I reasoned that I'd have to buy passive "pad" devices for each channel, and that the lowest possible price I could find anywhere was $40 each. Now multiply that by 16, and see why I was complaining. The solution I came up with is this: I bought two Behringer 8-channel active direct box units. I plug my Mackie's insert-send jacks into the input of the Behringer direct boxes, and take the output of the direct boxes and plug them into the Zoom R24's. Then, I press the "30 db attenuation" button on each channel of the Behringer. I also adjust each channel of the Zoom to a certain location (about 10:00) which I have fore-determined at home which works correctly. The end result is that I can now make perfect recordings on the R24 with no distortion. Now, I should also mention that I am using these units exclusively for LIVE work. That is the ONLY reason I use them. Their sound quality is *not* as good as my Presonus device, but they are self-contained and don't require a PC. This is very important to me. They also appear to be crash-proof. As I'm playing outdoors, off a gas power generator, this also is important. Then I take the WAV files from the R24 and import them into Cubase and edit them from there. I do not use the R24's for editing of the tracks. I don't use the built-in effects. Besides, I'm creating the sound tracks for videos, and that requires 48K. The R24's effects only work at 44K. (Don't ask me why.) I also bought new speakers for my PC workstation. That, itself, made a significant difference in my perception of the sound quality of the R24 wav files. They still are not as good as a Presonus interface (definitely a difference) but they blow the doors off anything you could get from a video camera's built-in "microphone". Ha. The sound is "respectable", IMO. Another thing about the R24: I am using Cubase (came with it), which I upgraded. I finally figured out how to use the R24 so as to act like a "control surface" for Cubase. In fact, I managed to make my 2 units to control 16 channels of Cubase! Now that is *nice*. It did take some fooling around to do it, and it's not well documented. It was frustrating to figure out. And the documentation that is there does *not* tell you how to make 2 units to control 2 banks of 8 channels each in Cubase, but I guessed and played with it and got it working. So, this is another VERY USEFUL feature of the R24!! So that's the updated review. Hope it helps you. :)
Musical Background:
Play out weekly
Musical Style:
Christian Praise & Worship
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 14, 2015 by Steve Patridge in Post, TX
"Best one I've tried for the price."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Zoom R24 is the easiest recorder I've use. I would recommend this machine to anyone. We just keep cranking them out without a hitch. The sound is awesome.
Musical Background:
I've played the guitar for about 25 years. I have played with a few bands but now I just like to create, record and jam a little
Musical Style:
Country and a little classic rock.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 11, 2012 by Phillip B in Shawnee, OK
"The R24 SUPER RECORDER"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have had my R24 for three months now and I can'tr say enough great things about it and its performance, I uset o use just my computer but the R24 changed that, I can transfer data and mix downs burn CD's a world of things i use to hav eto do only on my pc now I can take it in the field and do awesome things.when I get back to my home studio, you can;t find another system like th R24.
Sound
I record acoustic guitar every week and the sound is awesome clear and the sound that I wanted t o hear was right, my tip for recording acoustic guitar would be use two mics and place one about 9' from tth esound hole an done about 7" from the strings on the neck sound willbe awesome and clear and strong.
Features
the drums pads I've always used my kit but thats just me.
Ease of Use
The R24 is easy to use and set up took me all of 10 minutes lol, It is great with your home recording pc and easy to set up there also, I fell there was no learning curve just a rush to get set up and start recording .
Quality
It looks great its built well and I think if you took care of it could be using it 10 years from now.
Value
Ohhhhhhhhhh Yes I think its a great price for what it is and how much help it gives musicians.
Manufacturer Support
I never have had to call support so I wouldn't know!
The Wow Factor
all of its fuctions are well worth the price and its weel worth a musican or a studio engineers time.
Musical Background:
I've been a musician 35 years and play many instruments Guitar, Piano, Bass, Drums, steel
Musical Style:
I love my county and a little pop.
7 of 9 people (78%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 3, 2017 by stephen moore in vale, NC
"for me it's a bit cumbersome"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have many hours recording on the Boss BR1600 CD which I loved but I didn't like the fact that there was no ability to record onto or master onto a thumbdrive or sd card. I bought this one and it has that and it works well. However I find it much more time consuming to do things I used to do on the boss. Also I can't record onto the tracks at as high a volume level without distorting. The compression doesn't work that great. For the money I think it's a great recorder though. Also I have not tried the DAW with the computer yet. maybe that would do it for me.
Musical Background:
guitar, bass, harmonica, lots of recording hours and mixing down. in an acoustic gospel group
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 11, 2018 by Anthony Rucinsky in Havre, MT
"Don't buy"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Have been having problems with tracks lining up and sliders going crazy on me. It's driving me nuts. Of course this is a cheaper multi track recorder for how many inputs it has, but I've been having nothing but problems with it. Layers don't line up within my DAW after exporting them, which isn't a problem with the DAW, it's a problem with the recorder slowing and speeding tracks up. Also the volume sliders (especially the master volume) just decides to go crazy at times while I'm recording another track on top of another, making it almost bow my mixer in the process. I would maybe wait a bit, save up a little bit more and invest in a more professional unit. Have had nothing but problems with this one.
Musical Background:
20+
Musical Style:
all
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 8, 2010 by a customer from gmail.com
"zoom r24 dissappointment"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i have send this unit back to its creater and looking for something a bit more expensive but suitable for my needs
Sound
ok...so im new to this type of menu- search- patch -file -search back and forth, select (save parimeter(..etc type of recording,but still i seem to figure it out..and what i figured is the r24 is not what i was hoping in a multitrack unit...im more into knob turning than file swapping to get things like reverb effects etc.let me explain...first its too cheap of a plastic shell on the outside to make me believe it can travel..second the manual is made as a flow chart more than it is a manual that can explain its features and how to apply them in a recording scenerio..as far as the effects..some ok but most i find of novelty qaulity..too much menu bouncing to do simple tasks..also i like to have variable tempo...not just a few pre select from a button..most of all i worked too hard at the options to see how i could just simply play some selected drum sounds and still record ideas from those inpired drum sounds, i think all of us have created a song that a drummer has kicked off...good points i do like ..no hard drive to crash..but honestly i tried to love this thing but it didnt love me back
Features
came with 1gb sd card
Ease of Use
sounds of effects were not studio but ok
Quality
very fragile plastic be careful
Value
its new you pay for that till the ssgm price is exausted..but zzounds gave the best price on its price match
Manufacturer Support
zzounds has exepted the return..they have always been great to deal with
Musical Background:
30 years guitar music writing recording
Musical Style:
rock jazz electronica jam base
32 of 56 people (57%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 6, 2012 by Phil T in Wilmington, DE
"Great Product. Great Customer Service."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Purchase a "B" stock of this model for the 8 simultaneous inputs to mic my drums. When I turned on the phantom power the was a high pitched buzz. Contacted customer service and they promptly issued a return authorization and emailed me a UPS shipping label. They stated they would ship another unit as soon as my return label was scanned and shipping information received by UPS. Received the replacement in 2 days and it operates fine. This is the biggest bang for any dollar I've ever spent on music or recording equipment. The 8 simultaneous inputs, phantom power on 6 channels, and software were worth the price alone. Very happy with the replacement at the price I got and the customer service was fantastic. I am sold on Zzounds And Zoom.
Musical Background:
Play out occassionally, home recording, play drums and bass
Musical Style:
Passsion is Jazz/Fusion, but will play anything. Currently palying in classic rock and blues band.
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 16, 2012 by Rob S in Oahu, HI
"NOT for the novice or perfectionist. Nice scratch pad for patient musician "
There are cheaper / easier machines to use. Purchase this if you need portability and interface. The onboard drums reverb and chorus and pre-amps should be the LAST reason you are buying this. Stay away also if hate reading manuals, and if you hate checking to see you have all the right buttons on and off for the most basic recording routines (i.e., effects on, bouncing). For example, a wrong setting in say a previous menu 3 deep left on/off will spell catastrophe for that one magic/perfect take. Also, after you record say 6 instruments individually, when you play it all back, the first few instrument tracks you recorded is not quite in-sync with the most recent recorded tracks. So if you suppose to record your rhythm tracks first, imagine how it will sound in the end when your lead guitar or solo is not in sync with the percussionist or bassist, Yuk! I do like the Neumann U87 microphone, and a myriad of amp/cabinet combo simulators for recording acoustic or electric guitar /bass is handy especially if one can't afford and arsenal of recording equipment. Customer support is there and they come back with all the right fixes/answers too if you are willing to wait for an e-mail response 48-96 hours later.
Musical Background:
35 years. Strings, drums, brass
Musical Style:
All except Hi-Hop, Disco, and Balinese
12 of 16 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to