Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Zoom H6 Portable Digital Recorder

Zoom H6 Portable Digital Recorder

This flexible field recorder gives you 4 XLR-1/4" inputs and stereo X/Y microphones, plus a 6x2 USB interface. Attach more mics with Zoom's modular system!

Overall User Ratings (based on 14 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(14)
Submitted January 31, 2014 by J N in Philly, PA
"WOW!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just purchased this device from zzounds .com. I've been an amateur recording engineer for 20 years. Of all the portable, compact devices I've used, I've never used one as awesome as this, for the size and price. My first quasi pro recorder was a Fostex multitrack tape recorder. I paid exactly $400.00 for it, 20 years ago. It pales in comparison to the Zoom H6. Out of the box, it was up and running - zero learning curve. At this time, I am a film student. I've worked on sets where the Zoom H4N was used. I was amazed by the quality and versatility of that device. When deciding to make my purchase, I compared the H4N with the H6. It was a no brainer. I chose the H6! The spacial sound stage and stereo depth is mind blowing. I ran it as I simply walked around, drove my car, ate dinner at a restaurant, etc. While listening back, I am totally blown away by the clarity and precision of the audio quality. I am 100% confident I made the right choice. I'm giving it 5 stars for the Manufacturer Support, even though I haven't had a need for support. And this is because their support has been evident by their quest for quality, out of the box. BUY IT!!!
Musical Background:
34 years. Variety of instruments, professional and personal.
Musical Style:
Rock, World, Classical, Metal, etc.
25 of 25 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 15, 2014 by Norman v in Silver Spring, MD
"Amazing performance for the price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I own the Zoom H4n, and while it is a very capable device, the H6 has marked design improvements. The changeable modules add more mic/input options, and of course having two more tracks to record onto is nice. One great improvement is that they've simplified the recording mode and file system. No more having to choose between STEREO/4-CHANNEL/MULTITRACK mode. Just arm the tracks you want to use, set the levels, and record. The trim pots are real trim pots, and not the up/down button. The unit remembers the date and time even after you remove the batteries - no more resetting that every time you use it! The diaphragms on the X/Y mic set are slightly bigger than the ones on the H4n and I think they capture a little more range. I've been using them as the mics for my drum kit while recording band practice, and the sound is big. I haven't used the M/S capsule yet, but I'm sure it won't disappoint.
Musical Background:
I've been playing various instruments for over 30 years. I'm also a recording engineer.
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 31, 2014 by a customer from cox.net in Phoenix, AZ
"What a wonderful recorder thx zZsounds"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love this portable solution to catching ideas on the fly. Then when time permits go back pull up the recording then pickup where I left off. Very pleased with the purchase! Thx Zzsounds for this awesome recorder. Look forward to many years of working with you folks. I only have 4 years left before the next crossroads. Get this little jem you won't be disappointed. I came from a old 424 Tascam, could not be happier! Cya on stage.,.... ;) Cheers
Musical Background:
performed in the past, back at our after break
Musical Style:
Blues. Rock
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 25, 2014 by Nick D in Chicago, IL
"Portable Recording Studio"
Pros: This thing is a tiny wonder. Phantom power for connecting pro mics is really wonderful. Solid battery life. You can have it automatically record a safety track that records a -12db track incase you have the gain set to high. This feature is a LIFE SAVER. It has saved shoots. The included mics are surprisingly good quality. Case is rugged and wonderful. Sound is pure. Built solid. Cannot say enough wonderful things about this. Cons: XLR cables don't lock into inputs.
Musical Background:
Playing music for 18 years. Couple of rock 'n roll bands. Filmmaking.
Musical Style:
Punk
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 15, 2016 by Dorrell E in Phoenix, AZ
"Amazing Product"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have the Zoom H1 and was fine with just that. But after upgrading to wireless lava mics I needed something a bit more flexible with the XLR ports and this product is an amazing product. I would recommend this to anyone who's looking to upgrade and be able to record music as well as interviews etc. Great Product.
Musical Background:
10+ years of music, Music Recording artist and play the piano
Musical Style:
Hip-Hop, Christian, Rap, R&B
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 25, 2013 by Jose M in El Paso, TX
"Great Recording Device"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just got my Zoom H6 today and used it to record my band rehearsal. It has a superior sound quality and really easy to use as it only took me about 15 minutes going through the users manual to learn the main functions. Before I recorded my band using multiple mics, mixer, computer and Firewire interface and it took forever to do the setup, a bunch of cables and al I was able to get was a stereo mix. With the H6 I quickly setup just on mic for the vocals and one for the bass and use the built-in mics to record everything else (guitars, keyboards, drums) and I got a better mix that I ever got using all the other expensive equipment. Besides, I got separate tracks for the vocals and bass so I can play with them a little bit more on my DAW. I cant wait to use the H6 in the future to record our gigs with a Canon T3i DSLR camera.
Musical Background:
I've been playing with different bands for about 6 years. I play mainly keyboards and guitar.
Musical Style:
All types of rock.
15 of 16 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 17, 2015 by Leroy R in Ft Lauderdale, FL
"What a Great Mixing Board"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Never knew this was also a great mixing board. The Zoom 6in 2 out is also a usb mixing board that I use for Live streaming. I can use it with or without a computer and the audio is just awesome. Great product
Musical Background:
Live streamer
Musical Style:
Reggae R&B
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 1, 2014 by David Mann
"The search for the perfect recorder is over"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Finally after 10 years of changing recorders , The search is over. Great Quality 6 real channels 4 phantom, dissent bolt in mics, ridicules battery life .what else can you ask. Zoom finally got it right.
Musical Background:
Sound Effect records / editor
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 5, 2015 by Tin H in St Lucie, FL
"More than I expected"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
For some time now I have pondered what to do for a portable recording system. Laptop or a device like this. Keeping things simple, or just in the realm of what is needed without extras. I went with this. I am very happy I did. The unit is solid, the pots feel nice, buttons firm, display is easy to see, menu simple to use. I use Linux for my production so I can not comment on the ease of Windoze and I-stuff and thankfully Zoom designed this for low level hardware access. Plug and play, direct connect right into the heart of the unit. Within 5 minutes I was up and running, not reading the manual. I had Jack access with full control from my pc to everything that is adjustable in it. The same ease of connection I get with my Emu 0202 and 0404. No extra software layers to deal with like much of the hardware made today, unfortunately. Thank you Zoom for being open with your hardware!!! Using the unit as a DAC is simple, and sounds quite nice. Not as refined a sound as the Emu's, but it is hard pressed to find a DAC that will contend with the 0202 in that particular aspect under 1k, and I think that is a conservative guess. I have been in the high end audio world for 20+ years, besides being a musician, so I have ears for both sides of that coin. The stock mics are clear, better than I expected. I bought the dual xlr adapter so I can pipe in 6 total off board mics. The adapter and stock mics are in aluminum chassis, very solid! That I was not expecting for the price. I can not comment on the quality of the compression or limiting factors within it, that is something I do not intend to utilize outside of my daw. Pick up a set of batteries with a charger, a big class 10 sd card and you are set to go for a mind boggling amount of recording hours. I can't comment on the support part, I have not needed it, and honestly unless it is thrown on the ground I don't think I would. I don't want to take away from the ratings because of that so I 5 stared it. Overall this is much more than I expected and I think will be a valuable tool for anyone when used in the right way, for the right purposes.
Musical Background:
Roots are in classical strings, all 4 of them. Been playing for 25+ years. Main is Basses, of all kinds.
Musical Style:
Classical, ambient, shoegaze feeling is my favorite. I am open to all kinds of intelligently created music, no matter the "styl
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 16, 2017 by Marcus S in Toledo, OH
"Zoom is amazing"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Dopeness at it's best. Zoom delivers high quality sound in this device. I love the fact that each track records separately and I can go back and edit and mix in Logic or Pro tools. Great for live events and recording video.
Musical Background:
Audio engineer, vocalist, pianist, guitarist, and drummer
Musical Style:
All styles
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 10, 2017 by William C in Snow Hill, MD
"Great Problem Solver"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I use this to record rehearsals and review as well as to record parts to email to performers for them to rehearse on their own. Ease of use and sound quality are tops.
Musical Background:
In the music industry 50 years
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 11, 2020 by Jon McLemore in Dixon, IL
"Buy it!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Clean sound, good battery life, no glitches.
Musical Background:
Professional player singer
Musical Style:
Acoustic guitar and harmony all styles.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 7, 2014 by a customer from gmail.com
"exelente"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Exelente producto y exelente servicio al cliente... totalmente recomendado
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 25, 2013 by Clarence Wolbrette in New Orleans, LA
"Pretty good but needs some tweeks"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Still getting acquainted, but already have had some problems with physical interface. The rotary gains are extremely easy to turn, so once you're in record, if you lightly touch them in any way by accident, you've messed up your settings. Also there is no way to link the gains so any intentional change in gain has to be done one channel at a time, even for a stereo recording. I prefer the digital gain control of the H4n - much friendlier for field recording. The layout of the input selectors is also confusing. The "L-R" input is for the centered mic's in the front of the unit, but the buttons are not placed in the center of the row of input choices as I would expect. This lack of symmetry is quite confounding, especially if you are using all your inputs. To make a "Mark", you have to use the choose button on the side of the unit, which is a little difficult to do, and almost insures you will mess up your rotary gain setting I spoke of earlier. The headphone output is placed directly above the volume control, making it difficult to access the volume control, and again raising the chance of messing up you gain settings. If you use the "hold" mechanism, it prevents you from changing volume, but not gain. Another words, the current design is a handful of pitfalls and needs some reworking. That said, I'm still glad I purchased it. The recording quality with my outboard mic's is quite good. It will have it's place in my bag of recording tricks, but if you get one, be very careful when using it. One other disappointment, I purchased the add on for two additional inputs. Each input comes out of the sides of the unit instead of the front. This makes the the lack of symmetry of the input buttons even more confusing - you'll have to see it to fully understand. I hope Zoom will redesign this module so the the inputs face outward like the mic's do. Also, these two channels have no phantom power which grealy limits their usefulness.
16 of 26 people (62%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to