Yamaha RBX170 Electric Bass

Yamaha RBX170 Electric Bass

Yamaha's most affordable bass, this bad boy comes with a solid feeling durable Agathis body and passive tone controls for greater musical versatility.

Overall User Ratings (based on 219 ratings)
Overall:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Sound:
4 out of 5 stars
Features:
4 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
4 out of 5 stars
Value:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
4 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(219)
Submitted September 16, 2013 by Jim R in Hamilton, ON
"All the right things for a basic bass"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
I'm a singer/songwriter who was looking for a bass for home recording, jamming and playing around with and when it came down to brass tacks, I couldn't beat the price/performance of this baby. I was comparing to slightly more expensive models from other seond line brands (Squire, Epiphone etc...) but beyond a few little quirks I didn't see much of a difference. I set up the bass, plugged it in, and was surprised at the playability of this instrument. The neck is fast yet strong and the body shape lends itself to sitting and pliddling around with it. I had to set the intonation but the string height was set near perfect from the factory. Intonation was so close that I could have left it, but I tweeked it to perfection anyways. This bass is light - much lighter than the Fender Jazz I've used on occasion. Why is it so inexpensive? 1) The Pickups I will be swapping the bridge pickup out at some point, it is marginal, but adequate for jamming etc.. It's not as dynamic as I want and is a little noisy. The split pickup sounds decent - though I'll probably swap both out for the sake of completeness. There is NO RUSH for this though. The cheap stock pickups are fine. 2) Other Cheap Outs There are a couple of plastic covers that give a feel of cheapness to this bass, but this is only cosmetic - so far. The cheap tuners seem okay, nothing to write home about, but not on the upgrade list (yet.) There is a bar (not sure what it is called) just beayond the nut that controls the strings for the tuners, it is held with two tiny wood screws. I've had no problems, but the arrangement makes me nervous. Basically this bass has VERY GOOD bones, and for anyone who is used to maintaining a guitar or bass, (doing upgrades and repairs) or is looking for a good starter bass, this is the one.
Musical Background:
25 yrs Guitar & Songwriting. Also some Keys & Bass
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Prog-Rock, Metal Industrial, Experimental, Psychodelic Psychobilly, Punk Folk, Country
20 of 20 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 17, 2006 by a customer from shilom.net
"Forget the Squire-Yamaha is soooooooooooo much better"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It's a beginner bass for my wife-probably trade it in - a year or two. Liked the Ibanez-but too heavy for the wife- Hated the Squire-It's basically crap.
Sound
It has a pretty good sound-pickup controls adjust the sound well
Features
One good feature is that is light-weight and has reasonable action. The Ibanez (and I do like Ibanez) was too heavy for my wife to play- The Squire is a piece of crap-the strings are about a mile off of the frets.
Ease of Use
Yep, easy to use, easy to play
Quality
Ask me in 6 months
Value
Great value-$20 cheaper than the Squire-300% Better!
Manufacturer Support
n/a
The Wow Factor
Sexy red solid body-the blue looks cool too!
Musical Background:
40 years playing electric, writing & recording
Musical Style:
Rockin' Blues style
24 of 25 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 13, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
"What A Freakin Awesome Bass!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
For the money you spend you get a hell of a lot more than you paid for. Don't hesitate to buy this bass.
Sound
This thing has great, full sound that really stands out over the other basses that are in this price range. I have tried out many basses before but this has better sounds than some basses twice the price.
Features
No stand out features but you still get more for what your paying for.
Ease of Use
Really easy bass to play. Also its very light to its great for long gigs.
Quality
This thing is very well built. Yamaha puts a lot of effort in everything they make and it really shows.
The Wow Factor
This thing is amazingly sexy. I play at gigs with other bands and they ask me how much my bass was and there surprised because it looks much better than some of the more expensive basses out there. Pure Sex
Musical Background:
active
Musical Style:
Metal, Alternative Rock, Punk
39 of 41 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 20, 2012 by Pete H in Middletown, CT
"Great Starter Bass"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had one of these several years ago - it is a good, solid, reliable instrument for beginners. Works as advertised, pretty sturdy and feels solid. Doesn't need a whole lot of maintenance, other than tuning and changing strings when needed. There are some limitations (It IS a sum-$200 bass): advanced techniques like hammers and slides don't work well at all, but if you find that to be a problem your skill level is probably beyond this bass. All-in-all, I would absolutely recommend this bass to someone just starting out.
Musical Background:
Home jammer on Guitar and Bass
Musical Style:
Rock, Pop, and alternative
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 20, 2004 by a customer from gmail.com
Yamaha RBX170 Bass Guitar Customer Review
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Features
I like the pickup alignment.
Quality
The moulded chrome machine heads look a bit cheap, and are not too sturdy, but apart from that it seems pretty unbreakable...
Value
Excellent value for the sound quality and durability.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't needed any product support.
The Wow Factor
To the untrained eye it looks expensive, and the girls seem to love it ;-)
Musical Background:
"keen amateur"
Musical Style:
Rock, blues (although this bass is not great for blues)
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 19, 2011 by a customer from att.net
"If you are looking for a bass that does the job and looks good, there is no reason to pay more than this Yamaha costs. It gets"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am a guitar player, but I needed bass for my Pro Tools projects. I have no intention of looking for anything else. The only thing I might consider is to replace the pickups with an EMG PJ setup.
Sound
I am using this bass with my Eleven Rack to record with Pro Tools. It came with round wound strings and has a good range of sounds, with the "PJ" pickup set up. The bass is relatively light compared to the original Fenders, but it still has excellent sustain. It is easy to adjust the tone by mixing the two different pickups. I leave the "tone" control wide open and never cut the highs.
Ease of Use
When the bass arrived, the neck needed adjustment, which is perfectly OK. I cranked it to the limit of its adjustment and wished it had a little more left, but it is pretty close to straight. The pickups also needed height adjustment, but there was enough room in their adjustment range to get them where they needed to be. The bridge also called for a little height adjustment, but the string lengths were spot on. The instrument responds as it should to varying where on the string it is plucked. The signal strength across the strings is very even.
Quality
I purchased the bass at a discount as a second or blemished item, but the finish is flawless black and I have yet to find something less than brand new. The tuners are good quality and the bass holds a tuning very well. I could see nothing about the bass that would cause me any concern that it would be ready to go any time.
Value
This is a fabulous value -- for $145 I have a fully functional bass that is easy to play, stays in tune, does not weigh 20 pounds and looks great.
Manufacturer Support
I have had no cause to contact Yamaha about the bass.
The Wow Factor
The bass looks great to me. The shape is nice and balances well when played seated. Its shape is not a copy of a better known bass. The only reason I did not give it a "10" is that it is simple and basic looking, not trying to be especially eye catching.
Musical Background:
First career was professional musician - now using Pro Tools to record originals
Musical Style:
Blues and Fusion
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 1, 2006 by a customer from googlemail.com
"The RBX170"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
I would always have this as a backup, being so versatile, but i may be tempted to buy the 774 as it has more advanced hardware.
Sound
The bridge pickup provides a rocky, fat tone, whilst the neck offers astounding blues, a very flexible guitar, sounds great if you de-fret it, phisically or using a pedal.
Features
Not amszing in terms of hardware and electronics, but does what it was meant to do, be an affordable bass guitar,and so excels at the basics.
Ease of Use
Nice sound, with dials to control neck and bridge pickups, and tone, passive bass(no batteries !!!) an excelent begginer bass (although mines been through a few gigs ans sound awsome).
Quality
I only have one nag, when i bought mine,the neck pickup dial and tone control (on mine anyway) where missing a washer. Otherwise, fantastic.
Value
A basic bass, affordable, good all rounder, what more can I say?
The Wow Factor
Three lovely finishes, black, glitter blue and glitter red.When I bought it i had a coice of black or glitter blue, blue seemed more appealing, being very glam rock, very nice indeed.
Musical Background:
In a local 5 peice rock band
Musical Style:
Rock, reggae, classical, alternative, jazz the list goes on...
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 30, 2005 by a customer from nospam.com
"Great starter bass for someone to learn on."
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
I'm pretty happy with the bass considering what I paid for it. I've since bought a Spector 5-string, so I haven't been playing it nearly as much, but it still plays well, and fills my need when I want a 4-string. I'm in the process of defretting mine, so I think I'll be using it more then.
Sound
The sound is actually quite good for a cheap bass. A little bit muddy on the highs, so if you're looking for one with a bright sound, I would look elsewhere, but if you like that thick bass sound it's great.
Features
Nothing special in the features department. All the electronics are cheap, but reliable.
Quality
I had to put lock-tite on the jack, because the nut kept backing off. Once I did that I never had any problems with it.
Value
This bass could be better, but I think it's great considering the price you pay for it.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to contact Yamaha so far with the bass
The Wow Factor
It looks good, nothing special.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 11, 2012 by Adam G
"Yamaha RBX 170"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
I absolutely love this bass! I own a few basses, going from ESP to a wesley, but my Yamaha is my absolute favorite! very light, great for gigs, easy action, easy to set up and quick change strings.
Musical Background:
I've been playing bass for about 3 years now. I've been gigging for about 2 of those years, and I've always had my yamaha with m
Musical Style:
I tend to play more Rock, Reggae and metal.
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 6, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"My experience with RBX170"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
this is an excellent bass for beginners to intermediate players. when a more advanced bass is required for my skill, i would probably stick to the RBX series and just get a better version of this guitar. yamaha RBX series basses have a modern design and not retro which i like.
Sound
depends if u have a good amp.
Features
for professional playing humbucker pickups would be better but i think the single coil+split coil is plenty for standard-intermediate players.
Quality
its well built and is strong.
Value
for its price u get pretty much what u paid for.
Manufacturer Support
dont know coz i havent had problems so didnt need to contact company yet.
The Wow Factor
the body shape is good but i dont like how the back of the neck and the head is left at its wooden state. if the head and back of neck had same design and finish as the more expensive yamaha rbx series it would be perfect.
Musical Background:
4 years playing jazz trumpet and started bass
Musical Style:
jazz, rock
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 5, 2004 by a customer from hotmail.com
"The Beautiful Yamaha RXB 170"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Excellent bass guitar its what you'd expect from yamaha. top noch
Sound
The sound in this bass is amazing. You can play any type of song you like with this bass and it the sound quality just simply refuses to let you down.
Features
Lots of pickups for a lovely crisp treble sound and a great looking body and head.
Quality
I expected nothing but the best from yamaha, beautifuly crafted.
Value
Great value for money.
Manufacturer Support
They were always on hand to sort any problems i had with the bass and they were very friendly to.
The Wow Factor
I already own one its great for me and my band.
Musical Background:
Bass Player
Musical Style:
Rock, punk, heavy
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 16, 2006 by a customer from hotmail.com
"The best budget bass you can buy."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Quality
For the money it looks fantastic.
Value
Excellent VFM I bought it for
Musical Background:
hobby
Musical Style:
rock
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 19, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"this bass kicks ass"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
this bass rocks literally if it's your first bass, like it was mine, you'll regret nothing about it and it's good enough to last you till you really spend and get a much more expensive bass
Sound
sounds good, i've only been playing bass for a month and a half but it doesnt buzz or anything so far. the only time there's buzz is if you turn up the rear pickup and tone all the way, turn the front pickup all the way down, and have the amp volume all the way up too
Features
for the price, it's a really nice bass and really easy for even my inexpierienced skill to play. the only features are front and rear pickup volume and tone, but that's normal
Quality
seems like it'll last a long time, probably 5 years at the least, i'll be ready to buy another bass before then but i'm still keeping this one, that's how much i like it
Value
this think needs like a 15 out of ten for value, awesome bass for like a 100 less than anything else of this quality, could probably compete with a couple basses that are even 200 more if you put high quality strings on it
Manufacturer Support
dunno, but yamaha seems like a good company so i'll give them a ten
The Wow Factor
chicks dig it....trust me....they think it's hottttt with the extra t's
Musical Background:
just started playing
Musical Style:
rock and metal
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 13, 2012 by jocelyn lepine in macamic, QC
"yamaha rbx 170"
Overall: 3.5 out of 5 stars
cette basse est parfaite pour les débutants et tres bien pour les plus avancés. tres bon son et vaut plus que son prix. le manche est tres bien et le corps est fait solide. j ai essayé plusieurs basse (cort, ibanez,squier) et j ai choisi cette basse. parfait pour moi !!!
Musical Background:
sa fait 30 ans que je suis dans la musique et j ai un studio et je joue un peu de tout
Musical Style:
rock , funk, blues et country
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 6, 2007 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Drop the Squire and pick up this Yamaha"
Overall: 3 out of 5 stars
I want to trade up to a nicer Yamaha or probably a Fender, this is only good if you are starting out on bass or are strapped for cash
Sound
Okay sound the G-string seems to have the worst buzz and it needs constant tune ups to get rid of buzzing strings.
Features
The sound controls and volume work excellent and the pickup is great
Ease of Use
easy as hell, great for beginners.
Quality
okay, it last pretty well, it just needs little tune ups here and there.
Value
Wow... a fender of around the same quality will cost about twice as much.
Manufacturer Support
Yamaha usualy has pretty good help with brass and woodwind instruments... they are a little harder to deal with when you need a part for a bass or guitar.
The Wow Factor
Mine is a little different. It has no color, just the sexy wood finishing... and everyone comments on how damn good it looks. Plus it has a very stylish design.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Classic, Jazz
2 of 4 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 4, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
Yamaha RBX170 Bass Guitar Customer Review
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Value
great deal for the price. i've had mine a year and its in exelent condidtion exept for some scratches, wich is cause of how hard i play it. The strings arent the best, but there ok.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
death metal, metal, rock, hardcore, etc
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 1, 2006 by a customer from hotmail.com
"A Great Learner's"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Features
Yea, the knobs show very little change to the sound. Or maybe it was just me, but still some
Musical Background:
Active Muscian
Musical Style:
All around rock and metal
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 25, 2008 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Kick @$$ bass that won't let ya down."
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Its sturdy, sounds good, i plan on using it for about 4-5 more years (having it for 2 already).
Sound
Really good from slap to constant strumming
Features
Didn't come with anything that i know of, i bought it off of a friends brother
Ease of Use
Plug it in, adjust volume, start strummin'
Quality
I've drop it from a broken strap w/ no signs to tell on the guitar
Value
I bought mine for 150 but its easily worth that much.
Manufacturer Support
Never needed it
The Wow Factor
Looks pretty sweet, got a nice sleek look to it
Musical Background:
Hobbyist/Avtive Musician in a band
Musical Style:
Alternative, Punk Rock, Heavy Metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 23, 2004 by a customer from yahoo.com
Yamaha RBX170 Bass Guitar Customer Review
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Sound
it is simply the best! i can do any fingerstyle with this bass, it may not be the expensive bass of yamaha products, but the quality of the sound is superb! this bass has also a unique sound, u can make the sound a little bit of jazz,rock,funky, the whole point is this bass has a whole lot of rocking to do!
Musical Style:
alternative acoustic
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 7, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Good with one HUGE problem"
Overall: 3 out of 5 stars
i expect to be satisfied with it for as long as its around, or until i can buy a new one. i hate the A string tuner problem but love its power
Sound
the sound quality is pretty bad because it has a clanging sound after you've used it for a month, its something about the low pressure in the A string's tuner
Features
its got great p and j bass sounds, its good
Quality
the clanging metal with the A string makes it horrible! the cord to plug in that comes in it broke twice and i had to refund my money 3 times until i found at least a suitable guitar that wouldnt break in my hands
Value
the price is pretty good
The Wow Factor
i like it but you have to consider that this is a "Metal" style bass, im more into the Emo punk scene
Musical Background:
Band bassist
Musical Style:
Emo
2 of 7 people (29%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 12, 2007 by a customer from aol.com
"THIS IS NOT WHAT YOU WANT TO WASTE YOUR MONEY ON!"
Overall: 1 out of 5 stars
Ive already replaced it. thiking about ressurecting it and putting some Di'Marzio Pickups on it.
Sound
It sounds terrible, the pickups that came with it went dead after only 3 years all it got was a muddy midrange and about half of the volume somehow was being cut, now i got a First Act (for free;) that sounds better, imagine that.
Features
the sound was the only real problemi had with it. it has great features, 24 frets, easy action, & perfect for speed.
Ease of Use
Very good for beginning musicians, the fact that you can control each pickup's volume seperately also separete from tone just makes it simple to get whatever tone you are looking for. That is until the cheap pickups go out.
Quality
After a while you will probably notice that your sound is deminishing but really it is just the pickups going out, also the wireing falls apart really easily so i recomend a sodering iron if you own this bass. On my RBX170 one of the tuning machines fell apart, so the quality kinda sucks.
Value
its relatively ok, but I recomend Ibanez basses
Manufacturer Support
when the tuning machine fell apart I had to contact the company to order a new one, the company isnt bad to deal with it just took forever to ship from Japan.
The Wow Factor
Its a beutifull body shape I own the metallic blue (personaly my favorite color for this bass)one. I really like te way the neck feels when im playing it.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Death-Metal
3 of 11 people (27%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 16, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"its a greta bass i wish it was my first it would ba great learner"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
im greedy i can use somthin 4 like 8 months and then break it delibratly so i have an excuse to buy a new 1
Sound
i dont care bout ur questions this thing osm period
Features
i liked the feel of the fret board tuning it can b a little tricky at times the dual pick up is pretty cool
Ease of Use
its good um i didnt read the manual its playable it stands out (in a good way)in the band i play in
Quality
it is good 4 all i dont have a stand or case (Broke guy)its fallen like 2 or 3 times and no even a crack
Value
ya it is with the rite set up it can sound great
Manufacturer Support
no i just bought it online here so i wouldnt know
The Wow Factor
i like its body great curves(ironic)
Musical Background:
i play in couple bans that are pretty good local wise
Musical Style:
speed metal
1 of 7 people (14%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 10, 2006 by a customer from netzero
"this is definatly the only good begginer guitar"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
overall its almost perfect
Sound
with its deep sound and amazing feel its the best for such a small price
Ease of Use
so easy to use
Quality
amazing durability
The Wow Factor
so beutiful
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
Rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 16, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Great all around bass"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
this is a great bass for the price it could have had some better pickups though
Sound
sounds pretty good but doesnt have a very good low end punch like drop d or low b could hace had better pickups
Features
can blend tones good for the price
Quality
strong and well built except where the input is theres a plastic piece holding it in place and I recently broke but I rigged it up and it still works fine
Value
I think it was worth the money
Manufacturer Support
i havent neede it so i dunno
The Wow Factor
looks cool but it would have been better with a matching headstock
Musical Background:
Active musician
Musical Style:
rock punk(real punk not that pussy girly punk the oldschool shit)and everything else
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 17, 2012 by a customer from google.com in denton, TX
"awesome bass"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
I've had this bass for 3 years and play it all the time (rock, blues, country). It's been all over Texas with me. I thought when I bought it, it would only be temporary. But I can't find another one even close to my budget with the awesome sound this bass has. Except for the plastic bit where you plug in, which I've had replaced, it's tough as hell, too.
Musical Background:
years, bass, profesh
Musical Style:
chillwave ragtime?
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 1, 2008
Yamaha RBX170 Bass Guitar Customer Review
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Sound
The passive pickups put out a lot of sound for this bass and the controls really work well. I paired it up against an Ibanez GSR 200 and the yamaha kicked it's butt. The P-J style tends to give a whole different variety of tones from fat to boomy.
Features
Like I said, P-J pickups give a wide variety of tone. 24 fret neck lets you go a whole extra octave. 3 knobs that all do something. Light weight. Beautifully built. The only problem i had with it was the tuning machines were crap. they wiggled alot. but after i got new tuners, i was happy.
Ease of Use
Hey, it sounds great, the neck is smooth, easy controls. The pickups were a little bulky and pointy, but i got used to them.
Quality
Quality is pretty good. Beautifully crafted
Value
This is a nice bass for the money you pay.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to deal with it.
The Wow Factor
Hey, as long as it sounds good and is reliable (which it is) , i don't care about the look. (as long as it's not unbelievably ugly) I wish it had active pickups but these passives put out a lot.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Jazz, FUNK!
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 29, 2007
"It's the best for the money."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
I'm more than happy with this bass.
Sound
The sound is really good. I like the tone and warmth it produces.
Features
For what you are paying, its ridiculously tricked out.
Ease of Use
I found a sweet spot that I really like in this bass. Its exactly what i wanted.
Quality
i love this bass, its the best thing you can possibly buy in this price range.
Value
This bass is worth every peny and more.
Manufacturer Support
I've never need suport. :)
The Wow Factor
its not the sexiest bass I've ever seen, but i care more about how i sound with it than i care about how i look playing.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
everything
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 21, 2007
""It is definitely worth the price...""
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Its Amazing all around. Bravo Yamaha.
Sound
The sound on this is warm and strong.
Features
The Passive tone controls are very easy to use.
Ease of Use
This bass is great for beginners and pros alike. Its ease of use is top quality.
Quality
This bass is wonderful and is rugged and it will last a long time. My only problem is, is that the output nut is constantly coming loose and I have to tighten it each time I plug in.
Value
This Bass is way more then the what the price tells you. It is definitely worth the price.
The Wow Factor
It has a sexy curvaceous body. and it has beautiful color choices.
Musical Background:
I'm in Two Bands currently.
Musical Style:
Metal, Rock, Classic Rock, Black Metal, Alternative
22 of 25 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 12, 2006
Yamaha RBX170 Bass Guitar Customer Review
Overall: 2.5 out of 5 stars
Sound
Hey it buzzes non stop after you play it for at least 30 minutes.
Ease of Use
If you are starting out you would like this but if you have been playing for at least a month you would want a new one.
Quality
it has smears everywhere and can't play a note with out buzzing after 2 months.
Value
If you are going to play for fun or try it out get this bass. But if you are in a band or group don't.
The Wow Factor
it is just you know just blah.
3 of 9 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 12, 2006
"this bass is stylish, has a great sound and is practical"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Sound
to make the yamaha rbx170 sound better, always put high presence on the amp.
Features
i think the rbx 170 has everything a bassist needs in terms of aditional accesories.
Quality
this bass is the best bass/guitar for value and quality.
Value
this bass is great value.
The Wow Factor
it is very good but practical bass that's why i bought it
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
rock-jazz
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 7, 2004
"For the bass players who want to have fun."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
well I've had this bass before and it was stolen. So I just bought another because they're so great.
Musical Style:
70's and 80's heavy metal rock
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 11, 2003
"MEH"
Overall: 3 out of 5 stars
Ill be gettin a new bass soon. This one did fine but Im gettin better and need more. Make sure u get a hardcase with it too cuz it seems to get nicks from soft gig bags.
Sound
It's ok. I wish I woulda bought a fender but it does its job.
Features
Features are fine
Quality
DO NOT GET IT IN BLACK. SAVE YOURSELF MONEY!!!. I have the black one and not 2 weeks after I got it there was a massive scratch on the back. and not from negligence. Its like a baby to me. But I'm already gettin it repainted cuz of its easy of scratch
Value
Good begginer but its not gona jump through hoops for you
Manufacturer Support
Havent used it
The Wow Factor
Pretty Standard
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.