Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Yamaha P70 Digital Piano

Yamaha P70 Digital Piano

Graded Hammer Standard keyboard. Perfect for practicing or performing.

Overall User Ratings (based on 81 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(81)
Submitted August 24, 2006 by a customer from xmission.com
"It is exactly what I needed."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I plan to keep this piano for a long time. I have had a top of the line Roland and found I just didn't need that much instrument for my purposes. This one is just right.
Sound
Sounds like my Yamaha acoustic piano. I am a piano teacher and bought it to use as a second keyboard for duets and teaching. I use them together for piano teaching. The speakers are not a loud as I might like, but the sound is good.
Features
It came with a pedal, but I purchased a better one. The only feature I wish is had is a built in metronome. That comes at a higher price.
Ease of Use
It was very easy to figure out. You have to get used to the keys to press to change voices. I mainly use the grand piano voice and occasionally the harpsicord.
Quality
It had a very nice look. I have it right next to my Yahama grand and it looks great. Yamaha products are always reliable.
Value
For the price, it is the best available. If you need more voices, and more bells and whistles, you can get them at a higher price. I am very happy with it.
Manufacturer Support
I have have several Yamaha products and have always been pleased with them. The are consistently good quality.
Musical Background:
Piano teacher
Musical Style:
Classical
24 of 25 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 11, 2007 by a customer from HotMail.com
"A phenomenal concert piano for a phenomenal bargain!"
Unless my church decides that they want to spend a fortune on having a keyboard that sounds more like an accoustic concert grand, I don't think we will ever want to buy another keyboard. As a performing pianist, it suits my needs perfectly. If you want a quality keyboard that sounds and feels great for a low price, then this is the way to go.
Sound
This keyboard is very good in terms of its similarity to the sound produced by an accoustic piano. It has a few piano voices such as Grand and Electric Piano, and they all sound very realistic. This keyboard is a great way to put a small piano on your stage for a VERY low price. It doesn't have much of a good selection for non-piano voices (and the other few voices it has aren't very good anyways). However, I would never use any of the other voices (I've just experimented with them in my free time), so the wonderful piano sounds it produces are more than good enough for me. The sound is also very realistic in terms of its sensitivity to my touch. I can put my heart into the way I sink my fingers into the beautifully weighted keys and it renders every bit of that soul into the character of its output. I play this keyboard for the hymns every Sunday at my church, and the choir, the other musicians, and I are all extremely pleased with the spirit that this keyboard packs. Not to mention the onboard amplification is phenomenal; once when my church could not use their P/A system, I had to use the onboard amplification. It sounded fine to me, and nobody in the congregation seemed to even notice a difference.
Features
To be honest, the keyboard is actually somewhat dumbed-down. You just plug it in, turn it on, and start playing piano; that part works exceptionally well but that's mostly all it's good for. It does have MIDI in and out, so you can hook it up to a synthesizer and it makes a wonderful controller. However, no 1/4" audio jack is quite a pain, but a 1/8"-1/4" adapter quickly solves that problem. In summary, this keyboard is a simple digital piano not dekced out with a whole lot of neat features.
Ease of Use
It couldn't get any easier -- plug, power, and play. Although the interface has no screen, the buttons are still quite simple to use (partially because there aren't many features to access). Overall, I've always had an extremely easy time using it.
Quality
The product is very solid and definitely made to last. It has a very tough plastic case that feels rugged and dependable. There are no loose parts or cosmetic blemishes; it arrived in perfect condition and it has stayed that way. Nobody has ever had a problem with it; in fact, it has even outlasted a Kurzweil synthesizer. I am sure that nothing will break, and that is saying something with the way it is handled sometimes. We are constantly transporting it in a trailer with a bunch of other equipment and the transport people keep it in its original cardboard box; it *does* have a few minor scrathes, especially on the music stand, but I am confident that it will never break or get damaged. It is extremely appropriate for use "on the road". As long as you don't drop it or destroy it some other way, it will last for decades.
Value
This product is definitely worth its selling price compared to other items. I've done a LOT of shopping for other keyboards and I have yet to find a graded-hammer-standard 88-key stage piano with good sound for a price lower than that for which the P-70 sells.
Manufacturer Support
I have never even needed to contact Yamaha, so I honestly cannot rate their support.
The Wow Factor
This keyboard is very attractive; I prefer the black version (and the one that I use is black) but the silver version is also very pretty. I feel right at home playing this keyboard and when I watch other people playing it onstage, I can tell that they feel the same way with it. The keyboard doesn't have the "features galore" appeal that attracts many people, but it has the modern look and comfort which appeal just fine to me. In terms of the stand, it looks great with the Yamaha upright stand as it does with any other peice of equipment.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Classical
21 of 22 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 7, 2007 by a customer from verizon.net
"Yamaha I am satisfied....almost perfect!!!"
I am satisfied...........
Sound
I tried them all, all other brands and even Yamaha's other higher end models. I kept coming back and playing this keyboard, I like the feel of this 88 keyboard and the quality of the piano sounds. So I bought this and have not been disappointed with it since. I just love to play for hours on end, very playable and enjoyable indeed! I really do like the built in speakers and it is real easy to setup and play. The sound quality coming from these small speakers are actually really good! My only concerns with the P-70 is the sound level volume is sometimes not loud enough, but you can use the headphone outs into a mixer and amplify it to a professional level. For the price yes, no 1/4" outputs sigh'. But you have midi out/in for your midi controlling purposes. I use this keyboard also for a midi controller for my Motif ES Rack Module and it makes it sound perfect and expressive like no other keyboard controller can, a real piano feel to any of your synthesizer sounds! The way you choose to program this keyboard has to be memorized from pages in the manual, and you have to hit certain piano keys while holding down some other key and sometimes it is easy to forget which piano key does what. I wish Yamaha put the programming info right on the top of the keyboard so you can easily program it rather than memorizing the pages of the manual. I guess you could just put labels on the top next to the keys on the keyboard for programming purposes. But Great job anyways Yamaha, on a nice light weight but well made 88 keyboard with a great feel to it and a great midi controller to boot! Yamaha makes the very best digital pianos for the money and this model is it! I just might buy another one for a practice room.
Features
Could be more features like 1/4" audio outs but all around great for the money and can not be touched!!!
Ease of Use
Programming could have been easier and rather labeled on top of the keyboard for easier programming of the piano keys and various functions you have to hold down multiple keys, sheesh! It should have been labeled right on the case by Yamaha, come on Yamaha get with the programming!!! But it is rather real easy to play and choose the various sounds and both easy on the ears.
Quality
Very well made, you could drop it off a ten story building, well, if it survived after that I would be surprised!!! I would call up Yamaha and give them an endorsement! Trust me it will survive the studio and then some. Buy it already will ya'!!!
Value
Oh yea' for the price nuttin' can touch it!!!!
Manufacturer Support
I would rate Yamaha as one of the best!!! I get answers on the website and from their personnel.
The Wow Factor
Can't live without it!!!
Musical Background:
musician and recording engineer
Musical Style:
jazz, lounge, rock
14 of 15 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 6, 2008 by a customer from aol.com
"Country Legends Piano Player Chooses the P70"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the best piano for rehearsing and small rooms that I have ever owned, but for the big shows the YAMAHA CP300 reigns supreme. When I am on stage with Grand Ole Opry members its the CP300, but I have rehearsed with many legendary performers with my lightweight P60, and now with my P70.
Sound
This product is an excellent rehearsal piano. We carry it on our tour bus and rehearse our harmony parts. It works just fine. I use to take it on stage as a controller to play my Coakley Perfect Piano programs through my Proteus 2000. Now I own the YAMAHA CP300 which I use for stage performances and the P70 is kept for rehearsal only. It is carried in a soft gig bag from hotel rooms and remains one of my closest companions. You can find any better piano for the price. It is no a good performance keyboard, though.
Features
All accessories are useful in operation. I did not require the 1/4 output jacks because I used the MIDI outputs to control the Proteus. The piano is perfect for rehearsal and performing in very small rooms, which we don't usually fin ourselves in.
Ease of Use
This piano is very easy to transport, setup, and play. I cannot think of a better rehearsal piano for the money. I have played YAMAHA pianos professionally since 1986, coming up through the ranks of the CP series of the 80's and 90's. YAMAHA is the world's best piano.
Quality
Quality is one of YAMAHA's best attributes. They simply do not cut corners on quality materials and electronics.
Value
There is not a better rehearsal or small room piano available for the price.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't needed support from YAMAHA for either of my piano's...YET! Let's keep it that way shall we?
The Wow Factor
It is an adorable little keyboard with a resemblance to it's big brother the CP300 which in itself is an engineering marvel. I recommend black. I had a silver p60 and grew tired of the color quickly. And this piano is easy to transport. While my 100lb. performance piano stays in the cargo bay of the bus, the little P70 follows me right into the hotel room.
Musical Background:
Professional Career Pianist
Musical Style:
Country, Southern Gospel
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 18, 2007 by a customer from newagearts.com
"Big bang for your buck. Dollar for dollar the best I could find under a grand."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I expect it, like other Yamaha products, to last and last.
Sound
Sound is certainly high quality for such a bargain digital grand. Piano/strings layers is very nice! 1/8" stereo output can be easily changed to two stereo 1/4" with the purchase of a simple effects loop cable and a 1/8 to 1/4 stereo adapter
Features
It has most features and parameters available - albeit through a button press/keyboard press configuration - but it works. Transpose, dual layer, tuning, reverb type and depth, layered balance, MIDI implementation, touch sensitivity settings, etc.
Ease of Use
Interface lacks display and uses keyboard notes for setting parameters but it's not too difficult once you see the manual.
Quality
For the price - the sound and action response are top notch.
Value
A great value. The cost saving style and design of the piano in no way diminishes it's sound and playability as a serious instrument. I have a real grand but I am playing the P70 from now on. Wanna buy my baby grand?
Manufacturer Support
Have no idea - Yamaha stuff just plain works!
The Wow Factor
Plain and simple. Very good piano sound, very good action. Very good at any price let alone way under a grand!
Musical Background:
Pro musician
Musical Style:
Various styles - mostly rock
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 3, 2008 by a customer from melissatrinchere.com
"You Won't Be Sorry for Getting This!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm only giving it a 9 because my keys DO clunk (and that is a bit annoying) and the piano sound is a bit fake at the end of your sustained note. Eh, it's near frickin perfect.
Sound
My model has a clunking sound too (just as the person below has mentioned), when I depress the keys. But I don't care! The "piano" sound is brilliant, for the most part...but it does have that obviously digital hum at the end of a note if you're using the sustain pedal. That doesn't bug me either. Yamaha is a sound brand, they make sound products. I'm happy with the sound really :-)
Features
As someone said, this does not have a 1/4 inch connector for live gigs, but it's not a problem! Get yourself an adapter and plug it into the headphone outlet! It works that way just fine! I use it to practice at home and I use it on my cafe gigs (sometimes I just use the built-in speakers, sometimes I hook it up to the house P.A.)There is no point whining about this, you can get around it. But ditch the sustain pedal it comes with, get yourself a piano style one! It slides around everywhere and doesn't seem to depress when you want it to! It's very frustrating during a live performance! LOL!
Ease of Use
Absolutely simple to use, it's not brain surgery. It comes with handy extras (except the sustain pedal!).
Quality
Sturdy. EASY TO CLEAN. Maybe it does get scratches, but because of what it's made of, they seem to "disappear" when you wipe it down. The texture of the plastic really attracts dust, but you just brush it off and you're good to go!
Value
VERY affordable. VERY good product for the price. I am a poor, "starving musician" this was right up my alley.
Manufacturer Support
I've never needed support from Yamaha!
The Wow Factor
It's a beautiful thing really. I have the black one. Can't complain there. And it's not that heavy! I swear, I'm a weak woman with no muscles and I can pick it up and haul it around, set it on my stand, take it off, no problem!
Musical Background:
Professional Musician (www.melissatrinchere.com)
Musical Style:
Folk, Alternative, Pop, Experimental
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 24, 2007 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Excellent electric piano; action is not perfect."
The next time I move will probably be more permanent. In that case, I will look for a regular piano with a better action. Until then, this keyboard is very appreciated.
Sound
The sound is mostly excellent. As with all other digital pianos I ever tried though, if you hold the note for too long (like 4 seconds), it goes into an audible loop which is distracting. The fadeout of very long notes is not very realistic.
Features
I only care about one feature: its use as a piano. It has a few frilly voices like pipe organ and xylophone, but those are useless to me. The touch and the action are one of the best I've had in electric pianos. However, if you play fast, difficult pieces (for instance, the presto agitato of the Moonlight Sonata), you will notice that there is too much resistance on the notes when you play them with your fingers all the way up on the black notes. I think this is because the keys on this piano are shorter than the keys on a real piano, so that the leverage action works against you because the point d'appui is right where the key ends and the case begins. This means that fast note sequences and trills are more difficult or impossible. I also play Busoni's arrangement of the Toccatta et Fugue in D minor. For that piece, the action is perfect. This is a hard piece that does not have trills or fast passages. As others have noted, it should really have a 1/4" connection for performing, but unfortunately it does not. I don't perform with this, so it doesn't bother me.
Ease of Use
My sound is always very good, except when I sustain a note for too long, when you can totally tell that it's looping a sample. I've already made my slightly negative comments about the action.
Quality
Works impeccably well so far, seems sturdy and reliable.
Value
This electric piano is certainly an excellent value. You can probably find an upright at the same price with better action, but I got this because I move frequently and you can't beat the portability. I didn't want to spend too much, and 600 was stretching it, but it was well worth it. One cannot live without a piano.
Manufacturer Support
I have never had any problems with Yamaha products, so I don't know how their support is.
The Wow Factor
Black. Looks nice.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Classical
14 of 16 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 18, 2008 by a customer from gmail.com
"Yamaha P70 is a mixed bag. Several weak points mixed with solid piano sound."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If it weren't for the easily scratched top, the lack of dedicated sound selection buttons, the wobbly music rack, the 1/8" headphone jack as the only audio output, and the horrible service I received from the local Yamaha repair center I would recommend this unit as a low end, but good value digital paino.
Sound
The sound is solid but not brilliant. The built in speakers are fine for home use, but you can't really use them in any bigger setting such as a classroom. I know you wouldn't want to use them in a concert setting, so you would have to interface the piano with the sound system. It's not as easy as just getting an 1/8" to 1/4" adaptor. I tried that and the 1/4" inch adaptor stuck out from the headphone jack about 2". Later I got an 1/8" cable that dropped down to the floor and then adapted to 1/4" so the connection could sit on the floor and not hang off the front of the keyboard. An adaptor is way too heavey for an 1/8" jack and can cause headphone jack failure.
Features
What features. Of course this is bad and good. Really, I can't fault this keyboard for lack of features because it is what it is. I appreciate the simplicity, but would much, much, much prefer having dedicated sound selection buttons. Having to press a button on the panel and then two piano keys that may or may not be close together is almost impossible during a live performance. Casio managed to include this at this price point, why not Yamaha. Another irritant is the music rack tends to wobble out of the holder if you have a stand that is at all bouncy. I do a regular gig where I use music sheets and several times I have to reach up and push the music desk back down into its slots. Now I realize that I don't have the sturdiest stand, but it's not like it's bouncing all over the stage. Just a little minor flexing of the stand will make the music rack walk up out of it's slot.
Ease of Use
This is as easy to use as they come.
Quality
Normally I am happy with Yamaha keyboards. I have owned several in the past and own two others besides this one currently. My problem with this unit is that the keyboard is clunky sounding. There is a loud audible clunk when releasing the keys. It's a mechanical noise. I had it in for service under warrenty, they kept the keyboard for over three months and in the end said that there was nothing wrong with it. Now, I am a veteran piano player and I know a clunky sounding keyboard when I come across one. I have a friend who has the exact same model and his doesn't have the clunk factor, and I have played his extensively. But mine? Clunk city. Yamaha has been absolutely no help in fixing this obvious problem. The problem is so bad that I can't play the keyboard at soft volume because the clunk is so audible it's distracting.
Value
If my keyboard problems are atypical, this would be a fine keyboard. My friends P-70 is just fine and I play it regularly. Mine on the other hand sounds fine electronically, but terrible mechanically.
Manufacturer Support
Big problems, no solutions, only excuses. This was a Yamaha authorized service center and a dealer, and although I spoke to Yamaha directly on the phone, they were not able to help the dealer get my problem fixed. Booo Yamaha.
The Wow Factor
This piano is not bad looking. It's basic, understated and rather handsome. The plastic finish tends to get a little scratched. The textured plastic top is prone to scratch marks by things as simple as trying to grab a pencil off of it and letting the pencil slide a little before you get a grip on it.
Musical Background:
Active pro musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Gospel, Worship
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 20, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
"The Truth From JOLLY"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm gonna ride Crystal until her wheels fall off !!
Sound
I actually have one of these P-70s and I don't really know what everybody talking about when they say they takin it back to purchase another keyboard. YAMAHA P-70 is one of the best sounding pianos in the world hands down. No lie. I've benn playing with YAMAHA products since I was 13 in my school band and I didn't even play piano, I played on the drumset. Now I'm 25, and I still get excited to play with YAMAHA's products. They have spoiled me. I've used this keyboard in recording and live performances it is definitely the sound you want. TRUST ME !! TRUST YAMAHA !!
Features
True, it would be nice to have the 1/4 outputs on it but dummy, just get a cord from your local music store to fit it, then get an extension cord to run it to your mixer. Now don't get mad cause I said dummy cause I was wonderin about it too when I first got it. I was mad for about a month, lol, but I finally realize afterwards what I could do. Now I don't feel so dumb. In buying a keyboard look for three thngs that you must have. (bread & butter) #1. Make sure your keyboard is Touch-Sensitive #2. It should be Midi-Compatible. #3. Purchase a keyboard that you can't quickly outgrow. The features are simple and basic like it supposed to be. Think about it: Most of these sound effects are gonna be outdated in 10 years anyway so why waste time and money. Question: When Ray Charles, Alicia Keys, Brian McKnight, or John Legend play live piano, yes, they may have MOTIF brands, but do they NEED all those sound effects?? NO!! So what does that tell you? STOP HIDING BEHIND A BUNCH OF SYNTHESIZERS AND COMPOSE SUM RIFFS, LEARN BLUES / LATIN SCALES & OTHER TECHNIQUES and start impressing your audiences and/or your band. Don't be scared to jump that thang, baby. It got 88 keys just like the MOTIF, even tho we all know there is no comparison between the two, but this keyboard ain't no punk. IT DEMANDS RESPECT!!
Ease of Use
Ease of use?? Plug it up, Push the "Power" button and start playing. How simple is that??
Quality
I play in recording studios and live performances. Excellent Choice.
Value
Trust me, you gonna save about $500, cause other keyboards like this are up in the thousands.
Manufacturer Support
Everything has been fun. NO REPAIRS, NO PROBLEMS. CRYSTAL BETTER NOT TEAR UP !!
The Wow Factor
It's feels like making love baby. It like you lying your wife down slowly on the bed and kissin her from head to toe. It's a love maker ESPECIALLY if you can play and sing at the same time. If you a male, I guarantee you will get sum phone numbers from the honeyz after the show, even if you happen to be ugly. (laughing) I don't know about the black one, but the silver one looks real pretty in person. I call mines "Crystal".
Musical Background:
Active Vocalist, Pianist, Composer, & Producer - "S.B. Music Director"
Musical Style:
Blues, Jazz (including Straight-Ahead Jazz), Rock, R&B., Soul, Motown
13 of 20 people (65%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 6, 2008
"The P-70 is awesome!"
I plan to keep this keyboard for a long time. It's everything I was looking for :)
Sound
The sound quality is amazing. I love how I can make anything my own with the Yamaha p-70. The other voices it comes with, I don't see myself using much though, because I'm mainly interested in the piano, although, I do like the strings sound.
Features
The weighted keys are my absolute favorite part of this piano because they feel so real. The pedal that comes with this keyboard though, is ok to use for some things, but I've already ordered the FC3 foot pedal to use the half damping feature. The FC5 (the pedal the keyboard comes with) seems to make things sound a little muddy if you're playing faster, sustained pieces, especially in the lower keys.
Ease of Use
This keyboard is extremely easy to use. Plug it in, adjust your sound and volume and go!
Quality
I think this piano is made pretty well. As mentioned in other reviews, the material of on the top looks to be very sensitive to scratches, but if you get even just a dust cover and use it every time you're done playing, you could avoid this problem easily.
Value
I think the price is right for this piano completely.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't had to deal with support, but I've heard good word of them
The Wow Factor
The black attracts me a lot. I think it is very simple and elegant looking. I'm sure the silver is too, but I haven't seen it in person.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 26, 2008
"THIS INSTRUMENT ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!"
I expect to be satisfied with it for a while.
Sound
When I tried the instrument out for the first time,I liked the sound of it. I have a Yamaha Clavinova as well, and they sound pretty much the same.
Features
An instrument that was easy to use was what I wanted. This product is very easy to use. I wasn't looking for one of those fancy expensive keybaords with the screen and all that crap,I just wanted something simple and versitile. This was the way to go for me.
Ease of Use
I have rather large hands so it is very easy for me to change the sounds on it. All you have to do is plug it in, turn it on, and you're all set to play.
Quality
The place I purchased the instrument from didn't have the black finish, just the silver finish, so I had to go with that, otherwise I would've pickef the black finish. Otherwise,AWESOME!!!!!
Value
This product is such a good instrument that I was expecting to pay more for it than I did. Very reasonably priced.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't had to contact them yet, so I don't know, but from the way it looks, they are very reliable.
The Wow Factor
The appearance of the instrument was very good. When I'm looking for instruments for my band, I always look at appearance first. If it doesn't appear to sound good then I don't even look at it.
17 of 18 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 15, 2007
"BEWARE - NO 1/4" OUTPUTS *****"
great action, not too many features. NO 1/4" OUTPUTS? THATS CRAZY. forget taking this on a gig.
Sound
sounds from speakers are just average.
Features
DOES NOT HAVE 1/4 OUTPUTS. IM PROBABLY GONNA RETURN JUST FOR THIS. HOW COULD THEY INTENTIONALLY LEAVE THIS OUT? yet there are midi connections? i dont get it. Yammy probably wants you to buy a more $$$ piano from them so they leave important features out. otherwise its really simple, not to many features, just basics. The key point with this piano is that action. Great feel.
Ease of Use
not too many features= easy to use.
Quality
only good thing going for this is the graded hammer action.
Value
im probably gonna upgrade to a better keyboard with more features and -A 1/4" OUTPUT- for a few bucks more.
6 of 20 people (30%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us