Yamaha NP-30 Portable Grand Digital Piano

With the Yamaha NP-30 you can take your piano on the road. Any road. Anywhere.

Overall User Ratings (based on 78 ratings)
  • Overall:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Sound:
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Features:
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ease of Use:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Quality:
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Value:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
  • Manufacturer Support:
    4 out of 5 stars
  • The Wow Factor:
    4.5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(78) (see rating details)
Submitted March 19, 2009 by a customer from hotmail.com

"Features, Weight, and Action unheard of for the price...."

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
With the features, WEIGHT, action, and of course price this is a GREAT buy.
Sound
This is fairly simple keyboard with great piano samples. If you're looking for something basic, and not too expensive this is the keyboard for you. The fact you can layer with other sounds quickly and in the middle of a performance is a big bonus. Grand Piano 1 and 2 layered with strings sound amazing when played through an amp. Built in speakers are acceptable for practice, but not powerful enough for a live performance.
Features
The touch on the keyboard is "graded". While it's not a weighted action it responds as such and is a big upgrade from the syth feel. The keys become easier to press the higher the note, making it feel more like an acoustic piano. Layering of sounds, and the fact you can make one sound an octave higher than the other adds either lower or upper end to playing. A+
Ease of Use
It doesn't get much easier than this. Take it out of the box, plug and play. Very simple use, and easy to modify sounds to set the mood for exactly the type of feel you are looking for. The weight of this keyboard is somewhat unreal. It can be picked up and transported with one hand. Given the action of the keys and the weight this is a great production on the part of Yamaha.
Quality
Sleek, slim, and basic. Doesn't feel as cheap as it should for the price, but I wouldn't be too reckless with it. Feels pretty solid and like it will last a while as long as it's taken care of.
Value
This is a no-brainer. A digital piano that weighs 12 pounds, has graded touch, great piano samples, and a few very useful features for 300..... A+
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had any problems yet, but my experience with Yamaha in the past has always been positive.
The Wow Factor
Very slender, slim, and light. No contrasting colors or parts that throw off the overall look of the piano. Basic, normal design.

Musical Background:

Active Musician

Musical Style:

Rock, Contemporary, Jazz, Country
191 of 197 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 20, 2009 by a customer from sbcglobal.net

"Great product. Easy on the budget. Great instrument at a great price."

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This will be my only keyboard purchase as far as I can see. If lost or stolen I'd buy another one.
Sound
Sound is good. Not a concert piano or a Hammond B-3 but gets the job done for $299.95
Features
Basic stand included as an accessory. Sturdy. Is ok for home use. Power supply was included. Saved around $26.00 right there.
Ease of Use
Very easy to use. Just follow the owners manaual. Set up and playing in ten minutes.
Quality
No defects. It's Yamaha.
Value
Hell yes.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to use Yamaha or ZZounds for support yet but I'm sure they're great.
The Wow Factor
I don't know about sex appeal. I just wanted a half-way decent keyboard that wouldn't bust my wallet. I found the NP-30 filled all my wants as far as constuction quality, features and affordability. I'm very happy with it.

Musical Background:

Hobbyist

Musical Style:

R&B, Rock, Jazz
33 of 35 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 6, 2009 by a customer from charliemurphy.com

"A Bargain"

Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Assuming it proves to be reliable, I would not hesitate to buy another
Sound
With the unit plugged into a decent amp, the piano, strings and harpsichord are very good (I would compare them to models that cost twice as much), the rest not so. This makes a great companion to my Hammond XK-1 and sounds good enough to gig with.
Features
I think it does not officially come with the adapter, but it was included in the deal. I think for the price you cannot expect all the accessories 76 keys was a good choice for a stack setup. I wish the keys had a little more weight to them.
Ease of Use
I found it easy to use
Quality
It seems to be well made and it is very light
Value
This keyboard is an incredible value. You have to pay twice as much for something a little better
Manufacturer Support
Have not had any issues, but there web site is helpful
The Wow Factor
What is appealing is the value for the price. This is no toy

Musical Background:

Part Time Musician

Musical Style:

Blues
41 of 44 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 31, 2007 by a customer from thewiredcity.net

"Great sounding, simple, easy-to-play piano"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I forsee years of satisfaction from this product.
Sound
This piano sounds GREAT! This is my first keyboard, and for the price it sounds like a real piano. The vibraphone voice also sounds real (I used to play vibes in high school). It has very good dynamic response, soft struck notes have a softer timbre than loud ones (not just a different volume). This is true on all ten of the included voices. The reverb effect makes the grand piano voice sound like I'm playing in a large concert hall.
Features
It comes with a nice music stand that can be placed on top. The base of the stand is two inches thick so it can hold a lot of music. The brochure on Yamaha's site said it comes with an AC adapter; mine did not. It was an extra twenty dollars at the local music shop.
Ease of Use
Very easy to use, just turn it on and go. To change a voice, you just hold the voice button and play a certain key labeled with the voice you want. The keys are very easy to play. The graded response does make the lower keys a little stiffer, but this is consistent with acoustic pianos.
Quality
Great quality product. All made of sturdy plastic. There are no little parts that make you think, "Oh, that will break in a week" or anything.
Value
This is a value keyboard and I couldn't be happier with the sound and playability.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to deal with Yamaha support so I don't know.
The Wow Factor
The reason I picked this keyboard was because I just wanted to play piano without the bells and whistles. I didn't want a keyboard with 300 voices and drum kits that I would never use. They call this keyboard a "portable grand" and that's exactly what it is.

Musical Background:

Hobbyist

Musical Style:

Classical
139 of 151 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 22, 2009 by a customer from brturbo.com.br

"Nice, Very Portable Piano For A Reasonable Price"

Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
From the workmanship, I would hope it could hold up for about at least 5 years' use. Basically for the sound, price, low weight, relative versatility and nice looks, I would say this piano is a very good deal.
Sound
The sound of this piano is great! The only reason I give it a lower score, 8, is that I noticed that it DID have the slight buzz in the right-hand speaker that many people complained about. This is clearly a generalized factory defect because I had read about this in reviews before I even bought the thing. The buzz is not hugely audible and for a practice piano not really a huge bother. People say that it does not occur if you plug the piano into an amplifier, so it appears to be a problem related to the wiring in right-hand speaker. I hope that the Yamaha people wake up to this defect and try to do something about it.
Features
The product included a power adapter and a music stand. It did not include a piano stand nor a sustain pedal. I think it might have at least come with a sustain pedal, because there is no way to improvise that and it is pretty basic equipment for a piano.
Ease of Use
The sounds are fantastic considering the price of this piano. Really nice sounds and a fairly decent variety...you can get most of the basic keyboard sounds and then some. This is not a synthesizer or anything...nobody said it was. The interface is a bit cumbersome for somebody who doesn't like to mess around with "programming." Reminds me a bit of those old VCRs. Lots of pushing buttons with no prior indication of what the outcome will be. But if you have patience, you can do some pretty versatile stuff with this piano. The manual is clear enough.
Quality
This is a pretty solid basic product. The low weight, 12 pounds, is incredible. The product would be especially useful "on the road" as you could carry it around with little more effort than carrying around a laptop computer. The only complaint I have, again, is that slight buzz in the right speaker...but for less than $300, there's not a lot to complain about.
Value
Very good.
Manufacturer Support
Have not dealt with the company directly.
The Wow Factor
Definitely sexy for the price, weight, and sound. I don't know if it is an aesthetic or technical "marvel," but it gets the job done when the job description is "electronic piano" with a piano-like feel and sound. It doesn't go out of tune like a regular piano, although it does have 12 fewer keys. The semi-weighted keys are also a definite plus.

Musical Background:

Hobbyist/Semi-Active Musician

Musical Style:

Jazz and Pop
12 of 13 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 22, 2009 by a customer from hotmail.com

"An Average Product For A Well-Below-Average Price."

Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It's not going to please the discriminating fingers of any concert pianist, nor will it amuse your 10-year-old for hours with its 387 different sounds. But as a first instrument for students, or a cheap and lightweight gigging instrument for band musicians, it's an outrageously good value. It also makes an interesting alternative to the standard MIDI controller, although you give up pitch bend and mod wheels. Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase.
Sound
The 10 sounds are stock Yamaha AWM2 fare; good enough for practice or for playing in a band, but not too convincing when played solo. Certainly it's adequate for the first-time buyer or student, which is probably the NP30's target market.
Features
Well, the "graded key action" is disappointing. The actual keys feel just like any other entry-level synth, with just a little more resistance on the bottom couple of octaves. The ten sounds you get are average at best, and the built-in speakers sound like a boom box from Wal-Mart. On the other hand, the MIDI is very well specified, with individual channel assignments for the splits and layers, as well as local control on/off.
Ease of Use
Turn it on and you get a piano sound; hit the +/- keys to switch sounds. Hit start/stop to control the metronome. Super-easy. The more complex functions, like changing MIDI channels or velocity curves, require some fairly un-intuitive multiple-button-presses, but it's all explained in the manual. Overall, an excellent use of a very low button-count.
Quality
As stated above, the key action is not even comparable to any real "digital piano." On the other hand, neither are the weight or the price. The whole unit is made of injection-molded plastic, and the "matte finish" looks classy, but feels like sandpaper. Fit-and-finish are acceptable; I'd trust it on the road, not because it's so robust, but because there's simply not much here that can break.
Value
Well, obviously this is where the NP30 makes up for lost ratings. If your interest is specifically in playing the piano, not in having a wide range of General MIDI sounds or control knobs, then the NP30 just kills anything else in its price range. It's also a great way to expand your software synths from one-trick techno-toys into a proper instrument for full-range musical performance and composition.
Manufacturer Support
Yamaha has always been responsive to my inquiries, although their replacement parts are so hilariously expensive that on a keyboard like this, you'll buy a new one before you fix the old.
The Wow Factor
Well, It certainly looks a thousand times more appealing than any cheesy home keyboard or M-Audio controller. It's actually a heck of a lot classier and more attractive than Yamaha's MM6 entry-level synthesizer, which costs twice as much! The NP30 is a $300.00 keyboard that looks like a $600.00 keyboard, at least from across the room - and that's no bad thing.

Musical Background:

Future Rockstar

Musical Style:

Electronic Music Of All Kinds
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 19, 2008 by a customer from hotmail.com

"Fantastic find!"

Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I plan on using this for myself to play on and I give piano lessons so its easy to take to my studio. It should be great.
Sound
It has a strong distinct sound that is very similar to a real piano.
Features
It came with a great stand. And it's lighweight and slim so it does not take up a lot of room in our house.
Value
It was extremely affordable for a quality keyboard that feels and sounds like the real thing.
The Wow Factor
Its beautiful. Not gaudy at all.

Musical Background:

active musician

Musical Style:

all
44 of 51 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 30, 2007 by a customer from verizon.net

"Yamaha comes through!! A piano that's a real piano, for a great low price!"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
As far as a piano goes, I'd be perfectly happy with this one for many years to come. It serves perfectly well as a piano. There is nothing I don't like, and that speaks for the quality of Yamaha.
Sound
For the price this is one fine sounding and playing keyboard. Its rich full tone surprised me. It is truly a portable grand. Yamaha obviously put their efforts into the piano with samples recorded in AWM stereo. This unit sounds more like a piano than any electronic keyboard I've played.
Features
This board DOES have a jack for a sustain and you can use it in two modes. It has 4 reverbs, 10 voices, and you can layer any two for a new sound. It has a stereo 1/4" out and MIDI i/o, which are becoming rare these days, most having only phones and USB MIDI out. The graded hammer action is far superior to standard, non-weighted keys like most synths. It takes a while but you'll learn to like it. The metronome is simple but more than adequate. Variable tempo with all time signatures, is what a met does. The power adapter is optional, but only $20.00.
Ease of Use
Plug it in, turn it on, and play a grand piano. That's how it is. No huge menus to plow through or learning curve. That is the beauty of this beast, everything has been geared towards a piano. No extra bells you won't need.
Quality
This unit is rugged, and light weight, only 12 lbs. It even looks good. It feels very solid and I would not hesitate to take it on the road. Just get a case.
Value
The features, the sound quality, the rugged feel, THE PRICE, make this the best deal in the keyboard realm. If you need a great piano, you'd be throwing money away buying anything else.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't had to use support for any trouble, but when I've E-mailed with questions they answer back in twelve hours or less.
The Wow Factor
I will definitely return my sister's to her and buy myself one. SOON! At this price every pianist should own at least one.

Musical Background:

Long time amateur musician, writer, producer, and director.

Musical Style:

I play any genre that is asked of me. I'm a hard rocker though.
11 of 13 people (85%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 28, 2008 by a customer from cs.washington.edu

"if its features are enough for you, it is good quality and value"

Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Sound
All the voices (including grand piano, organ, harpsichord) are well done and beautiful. While individual sounds are beautiful, their combinations may not parallel the richness of an acoustic piano's. This is probably because there is no is no resonating effect between the various strings. (Which is quite understandable at this price level.)
Features
SIMPLICITY. The controls are few and quite intuitive. FEATURES (missing). The ones I cared about: additional voices (NP30 only got 10) and the 12 keys for the full-size 88-key keyboard. Again, it's all about a trade-off against portability and price. ACCESSORIES (missing). Power adapter and the sustain pedal are not included, and Best Buys charges $25-30+ for each. This is a RIP-OFF, people. For power, look around; maybe you have a compatible one already (12V, 1500 mA, negative is outside) - or use rechargeable batteries. And maybe you are fine without the pedal (I am still to answer that question for myself).
Ease of Use
KEY WEIGHTING. NP30's keys are something like "semi-weighted" and "touch sensitive" (but consult the official specs on this) and somewhat easy to press. But see "CONS" below. BTW I researched this "weighted" topic quite a bit and tried several options, but my practical conclusion is this. If you care about the feel, go more high-end or get the real thing (an acoustic piano, that is). Otherwise you will likely get used to what you have, even though it isn't perfect. While offering you an approximation of an acoustic piano's feel, NP30's keys are not quite there. First, they are hard to press if you place your fingers far from the edge of the key (i.e. towards the back of the keyboard) - I have never noticed this on an acoustic. Second, in some cases when I press several keys at once, NP30 doesn't sense one or two of them, whereas an acoustic piano would. I have to re-adjust the pressure to get NP30 to play them. PORTABILITY - especially for an (almost) full-size keyboard. I really didn't want another piece of furniture. NP30 just lies on the table, and (to my own surprise) it ended up being the deciding factor for me. YMMV.
Value
It's all relative, of course, but compared to other full-size keyboards out there, it's among the cheapest - $300 at Best Buys. (And that's without any sale discounds - Best Buys felt kinda thin on sales to me.)
13 of 16 people (81%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 15, 2011 by a customer from aol.com

"Good price for a lot of piano"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
For my needs, I can't see myself "upgrading" or replacing this product.
Sound
The sound quality on this piano is wonderful. I grew up with acoustic pianos and this is pretty darn close.
Features
You have to buy the accessories separate, but it wasn't much of an expense. I got the power cord and the pedal...both are worth it.
Ease of Use
For the price, this plays, feels, and sounds like an acoustic. I'm not a professional musician and it suits my needs -- playing for fun.
Quality
This product is lightweight and well made. It looks good and it feels good (not that plastic "toy" feel that some digital pianos have)
Value
I did a lot of research before buying this piano. This was the best price around.
Manufacturer Support
I just got this product and do not need any service. Yamaha appears to have a good reputation.
The Wow Factor
yeah, it's sexy to me.

Musical Background:

hobbyist

Musical Style:

classic
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 10, 2009 by a customer from earthlink.net

"For 300 bucks, this is a steal!"

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm keeping this thing fo a long, long time.
Sound
Simply put. This thing sounds real expensive.
Features
No, accessories. But the power adapter is fairly cheap at aprox. 20 bucks. And a cheap X-stand will hold this elec. piano with no problems.
Ease of Use
Put it this way. My 8 yr old knows how to find the sounds she likes easily.
Quality
Very elegant. Especially for a 300 dollar porta. piano.
Value
I feel like I've ripped Yamaha off. Plug this thing into a large sound system and you'll know what I'm talking about.
Manufacturer Support
Have'nt needed it. After living in Japan for 5 yrs and dealing with many Yamaha products. I've never encountered any problems ever with their equipment. Yamaha takes pride even in their lower end products.
The Wow Factor
Put it this way. I'm a drummer and bought it because the price for that classic Yamaha sound and look is unbeatable.

Musical Background:

Active Musician

Musical Style:

Latin Jazz, R&B, Gospel, Rock
5 of 9 people (56%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 6, 2008 by a customer from aol.com

"LIGHT AS A FEATHER.......SHORT ON SOUND"

Overall: 1 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sorry I bought this. Wish I knew how poor it sounded before I bought it but from a box house......I didn't hassle to return it. Maybe I can move it on EBay or Craigslist.
Sound
The piano sound doesn't cut it if you're trying to use it with a working band. It's harsh, honky, mid-rangy. Maybe with the right EQ it could sound good. Run my keys through a Roland KC500. The far-cheaper PSR280's piano sounds better than this AND you'll get almost 300 other voices.
Features
The best feature is.....IT'S 12 POUNDS! Thought this could replace my heavier 'board which I'm tired of luggin' but the sound doesn't make it.
Ease of Use
Turn it on & play it but if you plug a sustain pedal in while it's on it reverses the function (pain-in-the-butt).
Quality
Seems to be well-made for the weight but sound quality isn't there. Worst aspect is only piano & strings are nearly usable. Organ & other sounds are poor.
Value
I think you're better off with an entry-level PSR Yamaha if you're a beginner or the P70 (twice the price) if you're a pro.
Manufacturer Support
Sent my unhappy attitude in an email to Yamaha & they have yet to respond. I own MANY other Yamaha products (Acoustic piano,PA Speakers,P200 high-end digital piano) that I am thrilled with.
The Wow Factor
Best feature.........IT'S 12 POUNDS! That's all it's got.

Musical Background:

Active musician/engineer home studio owner

Musical Style:

Rock/Blues/Pop
19 of 33 people (58%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 1, 2009 by a customer from gmail.com

"Sexy, cool, a must-have and really produces the goods!!!"

Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Many years ago I had the Roland D50 then the E70 and was very happy with them both. Economics saw me have to get rid of them. I don't feel I'm settling for second best here, this piano serves my needs 99%.
Sound
I play in a seven piece R&B band and the Yamaha has really impressed all. When I purchased the piano I was looking for exactly that, a piano. The grand is excellent as the other sounds which I don't really use. Maybe a good rock organ could finish this piano off nicely.
Features
I did not purchase this product through ZZ but at a local music shop. I received a Yamaha sustain pedal with it.
Ease of Use
Being a guy the manual was the last thing on my mind. I was up and running in 5 seconds. Taking a little time to go through the functions is really helpful as I think that doing away with a million function buttons was a good idea. Most functions are done through the keys.
Quality
Perfect for the road, light but still gives the feeling of a 'keyboard'. I don't like the almost tectured finish of the piano casing as it tends to leave light marks if one wipes it.
Value
Certainly!
Manufacturer Support
The transformer burnt out after about two months. Easy enough to replace and was done efficiently by the music shop.
The Wow Factor
I like it, so do the rest of the band!

Musical Background:

Playing since childhood, active band member.

Musical Style:

R&B, jazz.
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 26, 2009 by a customer from hotmail.com

"Pure. Simple. Light. Clean. But. I. Think. A. Bit. Too. Pure. Simple. Light. Clean."

Overall: 3.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I expect to keep the NP-30 around for a long while. Since I am a beginner and all, this keyboard has more than enough for my needs. I also only play at home, so I don't need to travel with this. And I play moderately, 4-5 times a week, so I feel this is perfect for now. But if you're an advanced player, I'd only suggest this keyboard as a back-up, or one that's expendable. If I really wanted another keyboard, it would need to have the grand piano 1 and 2 voices from the NP-30 duplicated 100%, it would need a display screen so I could navigate through options and see changes take place more effectively, it would need Line IN/OUT, much better speakers, a more space-saving design, have a slew of high quality voices, have less thumping noise from key presses, have more of a natural touch to the keys, have 88 keys (even though I really don't need it, but we're talking about my dream keyboard), and also be around the same 12 pound weight of the NP-30. Now if my NP-30 had been stolen, and I had the option to buy another keyboard, I would. Even though I'm satisfied with the NP-30, this was my first ever keyboard, so I did learn a lot from purchasing this. I would try to find one that matches what I've stated in the previous paragraph since now I have an option to do so.
Sound
Well since this keyboard is pretty much intended for use on the main voices in my opinion (grand piano 1 and 2), I gave it a rating of 8 for those two voices only. This is my first ever digital piano, and it's my first ever instrument related to piano. So from that perspective, both voices sound awesome. However, I do know how a quality, full-sized grand piano sounds, and the NP-30 of course, does not match up with it. But, if you're a beginner/intermediate player, and don't really have a keen sense of hearing, you probably can't tell much of a difference. Sound output on the speakers aren't that great when played on highest volume. It's flooded with too much bass, even when playing the higher treble notes. Versus the headphones I use (Sennheiser HD201 Closed-Back Headphones), it's much much better. As for the other voices included with this, don't expect much from them. It's really not the selling point of the NP-30 anyway. If you wanna learn piano, or have a fairly good keyboard that emulates piano without any other concerns, then you don't really need to look further.
Features
When I bought mine, it came with the X-Stand and AC adapter for $299.00 (the pedal did not though, which I bought seperately). Supposedly, in the past, it didn't. So if you're reading this, and zZounds does not have the deal, then prep yourself to shell another $50 or so for the stand and adapter (and the pedal +$15). As for the features on the NP-30: *Pros* -Does not contain the bells and whistles of other digital pianos, eliminating clutter and one-time-use-and-never-use-again features. It has 5 buttons, and a volume control, that's it. Simple and classy. -Velocity control, I believe 3 sensitivity (soft, medium, hard). -Weighted Keys, although the weighted feeling isn't enough to be effective, but it's there. Additionally, some people may not like this feature due to being use to having no weighted keys from their previous keyboards. -Comes with a built-in customizable metronome which makes things extremely convenient. -Has 76 keys, which is pretty much all most people need which also helps the size be a tad smaller. -Has MIDI IN/OUT, for recording purposes. (You'll need a USB-Midi Interface device to do so, usually goes for around $30.00) *Cons* -Does not contain the bells and whistles of other digital pianos. Some people may think it's too simple, and might find themself wanting some more fancy features. -Does not have Line IN/OUT (which is usually how you can obtain the best quality of sound). -Mentioned in Pros about the weighted keys, the weighted feeling isn't there that much. -Does not have a display screen, making it difficult to do some settings and to see if the change actually took place. It's like having a MP3 player with no display screen. It all depends on what you want. I initially thought having it be a simple unit was what I wanted. But it turns out, I kinda wish for more. Such as more high-quality sounding voices, beats, lighted keys, display screen, etc.
Ease of Use
There's really nothing to learn when using the NP-30. It's simple, clean and has minimal buttons. If you know how to get to use a computer to surf the web to read this review, then you'll know how to use the NP-30.
Quality
This keyboard is friggin' LIGHT. It's 12 pounds, you can pick it up with 1 arm and not break a sweat. Also, being only 12 pounds and all, expect to have no trouble bringing this puppy around on the road. But don't be fooled by it's low weight. The device feels sturdy and well-made. Very smooth and classy little thing. I do have my share of complaints though. I'm not sure if it's worse on other digi piano's, but the thumping sound when you press the keys, are moderately loud. After you play on it for a week or two, it'll soon begin to become noticed to your ear, and it's rather annoying. The effect can be nullified though, by using closed headphones. Also, another thing about the keys.. is that they have this semi-springy feeling, and it's unnatural. But if you're a total beginner, you won't notice any of these key problems. And last but not least, I believe they could've made the unit much smaller (in length) if they had put the speakers on the top left/right portion of the device. Instead, it's on the direct left/right position of the device, placed before and after the keys.
Value
Well this is my first digital keyboard, so I can't really comment on the value compared to other keyboards, but I can say that it's cheap compared to most and that it's the world famous named brand, Yamaha.
Manufacturer Support
I am neutral with this, since I have not had to deal with any customer service yet. Just to note out, it's been a month since I've had this at the current time of writing this review and everything's working just fine. So, the 10 rating is just a placeholder.
The Wow Factor
There's nothing too surprising about this unit in terms of looks. But it does deliver in being very classy. Simplicity is written all over it, and just like how, say, the original iPod has that simple, pure white look to it, I get the same impression from this unit (although it's black). And of course, the Yamaha tag on the center of unit =) Pure, simple, light, clean.

Musical Background:

Pianist

Musical Style:

Everything
44 of 46 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 6, 2011 by a customer from sbcglobal.net

"Yawn....."

Overall: 0.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Already looking for something better.
Sound
Very thin sound. Piano is the only useful voice on this. The other voices are worthless novelties.
Features
No sustain pedal or A/C adapter included.
Quality
Quality is marginal. You get what you pay for--so for the price, it's not bad.
Value
You would be much better off with a similarly priced keyboard from either Yamaha or Casio.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed support.
The Wow Factor
Like going to bed with your sox on...

Musical Background:

Recording Musician

Musical Style:

Multiple Styles
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 12, 2008

Yamaha NP-30 Portable Customer Review

Overall: 2.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
The piano sounds are what you'd expect for the price. Don't let anyone tell you they're descent, the mids and highs are tingy and the lows have too much bass in them. The EP's are pretty cool. The organs are limited, only churchy style organ sounds. I definitely would NOT invest in this if you are a gigging musician.
Features
It comes with a power adapter ( of course) and a music stand. No sustain pedal, and my M-Audio sustain pedal would not work with it, so that was reallly annoying. thats about it.
Ease of Use
Pretty straight forward to use. There aren't really any shortcuts to get to the sound you want. They do have a "grand piano" button which can be useful when switching from an EP sound to the piano in a hurry.
Quality
Mine was built pretty sturdy. Feel kind of cheap, but what do you expect from a 12 pounder. This is used as my backup, so the quality is good for the rare case in which i need it.
Value
For the price, it can be used as a back up, or a beginners keyboard at home. Don't expect much from this one.
Manufacturer Support
Good warranty.
The Wow Factor
Nah....
6 of 11 people (55%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 15, 2007

"This piano is, meh..."

Overall: 2.5 out of 5 stars
(see rating details)
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This piano for me is a gig piano only. It suits that purpose well, but I would never use it as my main instrument.
Sound
The piano has a surprisingly decent sound. I found the touch a bit awkward though in relation to the sounds I got. It often over-emphasized hard touches and didn't quite get the light touches as lightly as I would have expected them to be. The touch is NOT graded-hammer and it's obvious. I've read many reviews that are impressed with this keyboard's action, but I'm not. It's admittedly better than a synthesizer, but the touch was awkward. It's hard to describe, but the word "springy" comes to mind. The key bounces up too quickly and the pressure it exerts is unnatural (when compared to a piano).
Features
It's a little frustrating that the keyboard does not come with a sustain pedal nor an adapter. The voiced that the piano carries are plenty for my use, but if you're looking for something with a synthesizer's ability, look elsewhere.
Ease of Use
The features are few, but very intuitive. It comes with a built in metronome which is handy.
Quality
The product is surprisingly sturdy. As light as it is, I expected it to look and feel cheap, but it was quite solid.
Value
I would recommend to piano players to dish out an extra $300 and get the p70. This is an upgrade from a snyth (as far as touch goes) but definitely a downgrade from hammer-action pianos.
The Wow Factor
The piano has a nice classic design. I have the black model, which was the only one made available to me, but apparently there is a silver model available as well.
15 of 20 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.