Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Yamaha HS8 Active Studio Monitor
BACK IN STOCK

Yamaha HS8 Active Studio Monitor

Continuing the tradition of the Yamaha NS10Ms, HS8 monitors deliver a flat, accurate response with 8" white-cone woofers in a bi-amplified powered design.

Overall User Ratings (based on 14 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(14)
Submitted April 21, 2014 by Jeff R in Rochester, NY
"Great monitors!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am very pleased with the HS8 monitors. I have used KRK, Adam, and others. I feel that the HS8 has the best representation of what you are mixing. Other brands I have used seem to have a slight low-mid scoop, or a colored high-end. The HS8's are on the money and probably the best buy of any monitor costing $0-$1000 each. Buy them...you will be glad you did.
Musical Background:
Multi-instrumentalist and sound engineer
Musical Style:
Hard rock
30 of 30 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 11, 2016 by Noah Raskin in Palmdale, CA
"F**king AWESOME! Just being blunt! "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
All I can say is the translation from these speakers to other audio systems is FANTASTIC! That's what I was looking for! I used to mix on the M-Audio BX8's and they sound pretty good and loud but the translation was just not good. I would think I have the mix on point and then take the mix to my earbuds or car system and things wouldn't sound how they did on the BX8's. However that problem is no longer with me now that I have the Yams!!! Completely different experience in the best way possible! I would recommend these to anyone who really cares about getting perfect levels and hearing sounds and frequencies as they really are! Another great thing about the Yams is they sound so true up front. I was worried about my lack of accoustic treatment still giving me problems with reflections and not being able to mix right! Not the case with these. They are just so balanced that you don't really get that problem! Now I'm not saying don't treat your room if you can help it haha, by all means try and treat your room right! I can't say enough great things about these monitors! Balanced low end which sound amazing as well as. I mix a lot of hip hop and record vocals. So those are the main things I care about. Especially getting the right vocal mixes. A1! I am able to really judge the right levels and EQ for vocals and sit them into the mix properly. Now I can actually have fun mixing again instead of stressing if I was getting things to sound right! Hope this helps! Also, Zzounds is amazing! I literally got these monitors shipped to my house in 2 days! Not a single problem! They even email you like 10 days before the next payment comes out to give you a heads up! Really stand up customer service! You will enjoy these bad boys! ;)
Musical Background:
Professional Music Producer, Mix Engineer for about 5 years. Plus extended live music background since I was 8 years old.
Musical Style:
I primarily work in Hip-Hop, Trap, Pop and R&B genres! I also have experience with electronic, rock and heavy metal music.
13 of 13 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 8, 2013 by William M
"Completely satisfied"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I needed some new monitors. The hs80's were what I was looking for but they had been discontinued. So I ordered the hs8. I don't think you can get a monitor that's this truthful for this price. I'm glad I ordered.
Musical Style:
Everything
21 of 21 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 20, 2015 by Derrick Givens in West Orange, NJ
"These Speakers are Awesome"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So glad a friend advised me to take back the KRK's and purchase the HS8's. I immediately heard the difference between the two right away. the Low, Mid and Highs on these monitors are as true to the mix as you can possibly get. The clarity is breathtaking even at very high volume. The price on these are a steal compared to the build, quality and sound you get out of these high quality and well made monitors. Thanks YAMAHA!!!
Musical Background:
Lyricists, Producer
Musical Style:
hip hop, R&B, POP
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 8, 2017 by Joshua B in DALLAS, TX
"Finally something that works"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After mixing on Mackie mr8 mk2s for a few years, I finally decided to upgrade after doing the typical going back and forth checking my mixes only to keep finding something needed to be fixed. Those days really are finally over after buying these bad boys. I've never had better translation or have been happier with my sound quality. The only bad thing is listening to old tracks you've done and realizing those need to be fixed too!
Musical Style:
Hip hop
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 23, 2017 by Barry Belanger in Gilbert, AZ
"Awesome"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Best decision I have ever made. Went from the truth monitors and tried everything to get them sounding good with no luck. The truth monitors picked up so much interference when the DAW started up. Plugged in the HS8’s and quite as all get out. Truly flat monitors and I like them more than the Adams Ax7’s with a much better price tag!!!! The only problem I had with them is now I have to remix my extensive library of songs, had to turn these down to 5 since they are so loud for my Home Studio and had to buy monitor stands because they are twice as big as my truth monitors. Don’t be fooled by the price tag. These things are professional studio quality with a home Studio price
Musical Background:
30 year guitar player
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 18, 2017 by Michael Weber in Maple Valley, WA
"I Went from KRK RP6's to the HS8's and what a difference!!! "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I recently just purchased the HS8's to replace my KRK RP6's. I had the KRK's for about a year and was just unhappy and disappointed with them. They were an extremely muddy speaker. The HS8's are hugely different in sound and especially quality. The HS8's are just a better speaker all around and i would say this is the best speaker for your money out right now. I say a pair of good quality studio monitor is key to good music production and the most important thing to anyones setup and i would recommend these speakers to anyone! Only downside is they are quite expensive at $350 per monitor, but i promise you won't be disappointed.
Musical Background:
Been playing for over a year. I play just the keyboard/synthesizers. I am mainly a bedroom producer that has a few hundred fans
Musical Style:
Synthwave/Retrowave/Italo Disco
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 20, 2016 by Michael B in Brentwood, MO
"HS8 white studio monitors"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought 2 of these for my basement studio setup. I like the white ones because they match my White Motif XF6. The sound is more accurate than my headphones. I am able to get a greater sound field as well. Performs well at lower volumes.
Musical Background:
Playing piano and bass guitar for more than 35 years.
Musical Style:
Mostly light jazz.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 6, 2017 by LARRY C in ALEXANDRIA, VA
"LOVE THEM!!! ALWYS HAVE!!!"
Great sound!, full and clear evry partial heard, not muddy! No distortion! Nothing better with this much power of sound! Beautiful design and very clean white set for my white studio. Clean lines nice look!
Musical Background:
43 YEARS IN MUSIC! ORGAN, PIANO, VOICE, GUITAR, TRUMPET, FLUTE, CLARINET, OBOE, ETC>
Musical Style:
CLASSICAL, OPERA, BROADWAY, CHRISTIAN, JAZZ, POP, 80's ROCK/POP
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 3, 2020 by Danny Contreras in Dalton, GA
"Amazing!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Yo...these monitors are insane! I bought them, and have NO REGRETS whatsoever. You should do the same. :)
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 16, 2015 by Luis F in Jacksonville, FL
"Yamaha HS8"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a great near field monitor with plenty of clarity and smooth mids. Somewhat bass shy and because it is a ported design, tends to load the room if nor properly damped. Otherwise, great value and albeit it is nowhere anywhere close to that other "legendary" sibling monitor it's also a fraction of its cost.
Musical Background:
DJ
Musical Style:
ALL music types
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 16, 2016 by Joey Lapino in Clifton Park, NY
"Bang For Your Buck"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall these are great speakers. I find that vocals tend to sit low in these speakers when I A/B them with HS50's. The have great low end and full sound. I would recommend using these along side a smaller set of speakers. These are without a doubt incredible for what you pay.
Musical Style:
Rock, Electronic, Acoustic.
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 25, 2017 by Frank O in Las Vegas, NV
"Best Investment for any kind of studio"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These sound good at any volume, dont really need a sound proof room to experience the monitor's true power. If it wasn't for zZounds.com, I would have never been able to get this. These are so accurate and flat with true bass response that your mixing sessions are going to cut the whole process in half, which will give you more time to tackle more projects because you know the art of mixing can take a while depending on what you are doing.
Musical Background:
Been making music since I was 10. Got into production by learning how to play the keyboard I was 15
Musical Style:
hiphop music, r&b, pop, reggae, carribean
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 2, 2018 by Jarren Thompson in Richmond, VA
"Must Have!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I love these speakers! I heard them in up against the KRKs, the HS7s and 5s, the JBL 308s, Mackie CR3s, and the Adam A7X... man no question I would get the HS8s everytime! I also have a small home studio and my room is not fully treated, but I do have some treatment. I still feel like these speakers allow me to get a great mix. Love the Love them Love them! they are huge though, lol so if you dont have alot of space, get the HS7s. I used Tannoy 501A's for 8 years prior.
Musical Background:
I started out as a drummer(20y) and I have been a composer/engineer since 2008
Musical Style:
hip hop, trap, r&b, pop, soul
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us