Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Yamaha HS5 Active Studio Monitor

Yamaha HS5 Active Studio Monitor

The HS5 powered speakers' white woofers aren't just for looks: they deliver a flat, accurate response in the tradition of Yamaha's NS10M studio monitors.

Overall User Ratings (based on 9 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(9)
Submitted February 16, 2016 by Matt R in Chicago , IL
"Best Choice"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought the HS5 because I read a lot of good reviews and a buddy of mine has the HS8 and I'll tell you the HS5 are better. I feel like the sound is cleaner and less muddy. I mix in a small room 12x12. Maybe the HS8 would be better for a larger setting. I'm definitely really happy. Also zZounds was awesome with the free 2nd day shipping. Can't go wrong. Love them.
Musical Background:
Dj/Producer
Musical Style:
EDM/ Hip-Hop
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 14, 2019 by reid D in Austin, TX
"Crystal clear"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I’ve had m audio bx8’s , m audio bx5a’s , krk 5’s. As soon as I set these up and started working with them I was shocked by the clarity. I have my setup in a small room in an apartment and these are perfect for that ! Every other monitor was too low end heavy and sounded muddy for my situation. Will never recommend any other speaker to anyone in a similar situation to me. Also great build quality as you can expect from Yamaha.
Musical Style:
Electronic
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 18, 2017 by Andre Briscoe in Phoenix, AZ
"Now I see what all the hype is about"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
All of my recording buddies raved about these being the monitors to have in my home studio. I put it off for years because I just couldn't believe they could be that much different than other monitors ... WRONG! I hear everything like I should... EVERYTHING! The hype is legit, won't sleep on Yamaha ever again.
Musical Background:
20 yrs home recording
Musical Style:
hip-hop
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 11, 2016 by Omar Reyna in Hawthorne, CA
"Makes you think twice about your mix "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
wow.. talk about revealing the truth haha.. I almost returned these because i didn't like how my other mixes sounded here (which in reality , was more of a reflection of why my mixes weren't that great on other platforms).. So i'm manning up and keeping them. These are extremely flat to me and are going to help me produce better mixes. I'm thinking of getting the HS7 now, but i think that's still my pride and ego talking. smh. great speakers.
Musical Background:
Musical Director & Arranger
Musical Style:
all types. particularly pop, ccm and string orchestration
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 31, 2016 by Richie H in Duluth, GA
"Awesome"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Well I was in need of a smaller pair of monitors. I was skeptical due to the price of my Yammy H5's but decided to give them a try. Well these monitors were a very pleasant surprise. The way they translate in other sources is spot on. Great mixing tool.
Musical Background:
Been making music since the 90's. Have professional credits for production on commercial recordings.
Musical Style:
Hip hop R and B.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 21, 2017 by Pedro L in Chester, VA
"Great monitors!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been wanting this monitors for a while, and because of the payment plan offered here I was able to get them. Great monitors for mixing in a small room...I was very impressed with the sound and monitor quality, very solid!
Musical Background:
Home studio, music producer with commercial experience.
Musical Style:
Hip hop, electronica, R&B, experimental
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 1, 2019 by Henry J in Saginaw, MI
"Yamaha's HS5's is the REAL NS-10s"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
When choosing between these and the 7's or 8's, these are like Super NS-10s! I only advise these to musicians who's wiling to tweak and put work in for your music to sound perfect. Due to the poor bass sound these WILL make you work for your perfect mix! These 5's isn't for AMATURES who's looking to tweak and crank up there bass just to get by, but by willing to tweak it until it's felt!
Musical Background:
Music Artist/Producer
Musical Style:
Hip--Hop, Pop
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 17, 2014 by T D
"Great representation"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I thought I had reviewed these before, but it turns out that I reviewed the HS50M instead. They are very similar. I've had my HS50M for over a year now so maybe I can write a better review and perhaps the HS5 are just as good or better.
Sound
They say what's important about monitors is that you learn how they translate onto other systems. I can say that these translate very well onto other systems. What I'm saying is that what I hear, or don't hear, on these monitors is just about the same as in my cars or home stereo systems. I don't have to worry about any stray sound surprising me when I'm playing a track elsewhere. So the monitor "learning curve" I believe is not very steep with these. I have a pair of 8in Rokits that, while not a bad set of monitors, are my B set. Truth is I rarely turn them on because the bass representation of the HS5 is pretty darn accurate. I really don't need a bigger monitor for the area that I'm mixing in. A home recorder/mixer would do fine with a pair of these if the room is fairly small. I think I read somewhere that someone believed the high freqs are over-represented on these. I think that would be possible in an untreated room. I would advise to take that into consideration because if you think a frequency is over-represented, you'lll probably under-represent it in the mix
Features
Monitors are usuallly not a feature rich piece of equipment....couple switches in the back, level knob, 1/4in and XL ins.
Ease of Use
I'll say that I mix twice with these- bounce the first mix, listen, then mix/tweak again. The second mix is usually right where I want it to be, and the adjustments are usually small because the first mix was as accurate as I heard it on the monitor. My second mix/tweaks are usually some things I want to change- not something I heard differently.
Quality
They're heavy for their size. Seem to be well constructed too.
Value
I'll never regret buying the HS50M. I'm really impressed with what I can do with them. That's taking into account my current mixing environment. My room is a bit treated and small (~12ftx10ft).
Manufacturer Support
I haven't dealt with them.
The Wow Factor
No wow factor. After years of being wowed, I despise the Wow Factor. The wow factor is a paved road to Craigslist most of the time.
Musical Background:
Songwriter, mix engineering
Musical Style:
rock, hip hop, jazz, pop and others
18 of 20 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 9, 2015 by erick cid in portland, ME
"Better than I hoped"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I imagined these were designed to be a scientific achievement and I am not disappointed. I am glad Yamaha's reputation is deserved. I have not had to deal with manufacturer support so it is probably best to make that optional. Since I overalled it 5, I matched that with good hopes.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us