800-ZZOUNDS (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20X-JPXQ
close [x]
Hours of Operation (EST)
  • Mon, Tue, Wed, Thur, Fri 7:30AM - 11:30PM
  • Sat, Sun 9:00AM - 10:00PM
Free shipping on every order: no minimum, no exclusions. Fast 2-day shipping: free on 90% of orders.

Rating and Reviews: Yamaha EMX512SC Mixer

Be heard in the largest venues with the EMX512SC powered mixer's dual 500 watt outputs, one-knob compression, and great Yamaha sound.

User Ratings
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
| | |

"The best value out there for powered mixers" submitted November 14, 2011

By a customer from gmail.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Played guitar and sang my whole life. Been doing it full time for about 20 years now
Music Style: Acoustic Rock
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: Great sounding mixer with VERY clean power. With the SV115's it sounds awesome. Feature: The one knob compressor is great. The bottom is angled in a way to make the mixer lean back which makes access to the controls much easier during a gig. No bending over to see the settings during a song. The speaker outs and power cord socket are placed high in the back so leaning the unit back doesn't kink the cable. An individual gain knob per channel would be a great addition, but it is very workable without it. Ease of Use: Extremelely easy to use. Even a beginner could dial in this mixer quick. Quality: I've made my living as a musician for about 20 years now and this is my 5th EMX series powered mixer. My gear gets set-up and torn down 5 or more times a week. I've only had one of the EMX's break, and that was because it fell out of a Van onto concrete. That crash caused it to break a circuit board. All the rest were retired after 2 - 3 years so I could stay current. Value: I've had Mackie, Soundcraft, Peavey and god knows what else. NOTHING compares to this unit for the price. I've bought more expensive and gone back to the EMX everytime. Manufacturer Support: Only had to deal with Yamaha once in 15 years. It was quite sometime ago, but I don't remember getting angry! The Wow Factor: To get 1000 WATTS of power in a box that weighs less than 10 lbs? Wow! When you first lift it you can't believe how light it is. That means alot when you set-up everyday. Easy to use and sounds great. Overall: I really stick with all Yamaha now. I have used about every type of system out there and chose this based on hands-on experience. If it disappeared I would replace it with the same.
35 of 37 people (94.59%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Great, very light and small profile powerhouse will built in effects." submitted June 7, 2007

By a customer from mikewestwood.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Pro Musician
Music Style: Acoustic Rock, and singer songwriters
Back to Product Information
Sound: Excellent sounding Mixer, very clean and loud enough for most bar venues. I play Acoustic Guitar and Digital Piano solo, and the system handles both very well. Feature: I really love the built in compressor and effects on this unit. the compressor is very easy to use - one know. Of course your are not going to get a good of a sound with it as with a separate unit, but the fact that is has only one knob makes it much easier and accessible to the non-technical musician. I don't want to waste time didling with setting for knee attack, etc. I just want to play. The built in effects are very good sounding, but could user more configuration parameters. I would also like it much better with dual effects, so you can have different effects on the Vocals than the Guitar. Speakon connectors are great, and I like the flexibility to be able to send power to the monitors, or not if you have a powered monitor. I gave it the 8 rating because of the lack of dual effects and the fact the there could be more EQ bands to cut feedback. The Feedback locator is fairly useless for me, as I only have 2 instrument plugged in at a time - but I am sure with 2 or 3 mics and guitars is would be helpful. Ease of Use: Really easy to use - especially the fac that it makes compression accessible to anyone with the turn of one know. the on;y reason I am giving it a 9 is because I think the EQ needs more bands to cut feedback, ao even better a notch filter would be a good addition. Quality: Fit and finish is very good, seems well made. It is actually so light I thought maybe they forgot to put the amp in it - I was amazed. the only reason I give it a 9 and not a ten is because they have these goofy removabe rubber plugs to use as back feet when you are not leaning the unit back. I will lose them sooner or later - but no big deal. Value: The fact that you really no longer need separate compressor and effects units makes this well worth the money. Manufacturer Support: I have not had to deal with support, so I gave this neutral rating. The Wow Factor: No such thing as a sexy mixer - but again, the integrated compressor and effects are groudbreaking, so I give it a good score. Overall: I will use this product until it dies and would replace it with the same if stolen. The compressor and effect really enhance my vocals, and I love not having to carry separates.
65 of 71 people (91.55%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"very well built " submitted October 18, 2012

By Susan Reynolds in Caldwell, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: musician for 20 years and a DJ for the last 15
Music Style: All types of music
Back to Product Information
Overall: I have used one of these boards for the past 10 years at least 3 times a week and never had any problems with it at all. It does a super great job.
3 of 3 people (100%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"LOOKING FOR A RELIABLE * POWERFUL * CLEAR * LIGHTWEIGHT * SYSTEM?" submitted February 21, 2008

By a customer from nycap.rr.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Rock n' Roll, 1920's thru 1990's
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: The sound with this unit is phenomenal! Nothing gets in the way of your vocals when using this PA. Adjustments are up to the user to accomplish the right mix. This unit is compatible with most any style because of the EQ and overall adjustments suited to the user. It sounds great with my EON 1500 speakers. I use this live on our band gigs. There hasn't been a room or outdoor situation where we couldn't carry the sound. We do not mike the band and use our system for vocals only. I also run music through it on our breaks. Feature: Features could include a few more effects. We use echo and I haven't researched the best setting for us. This is only due to not having the time to experiment. I don't really understand the speakon cable setup on this unit. They should have used either all Speakon or 1/4" but not mixed both. The main takes 1 speakon and 1 quarter whereas the same with the monitor hookup. I love the compression settings for the mics. I'm also not sure about playing an acoustic electric through this - which I will be trying this on a gig this weekend - that's another reason why I rated an 8 here. Ease of Use: Modifying the sound is very easy with a turn of a knob or an adjustment up or down on the EQ. As i stated previously I don't care for the speakon and 1/4" hookup for main and monitor. Although, this does not hinder the quality and sound of this unit. Quality: This product is made very well. I've owned it for over 2 years now and gig several times a month. It's very dependable. I made a plastic cover for it. Hope in the future that they will offer a cover. I keep my equipment pristine. This unit has longevity. I've never had a PA as light as this unit. Sometimes you wonder if there's any electronics in it! YAMAHA has stepped up to find out what musician's want. That's a large accomplishment! Value: I beleive that this product is well worth the cost. I make this statment based on its performance and usage over the past 2+ years. Manufacturer Support: I haven't had to call the company for anything since I have owned this product. Although, I'm sure they support their products. The history of the name says a lot about a company. I have a Yamaha acoustic guitar I purchased in 1982 which plays excellent to this day. The Wow Factor: I like the tilt feature because it's easy to see the controls in tilt position. I don't recall where I put the removable feet for this because I believe they are necessary due to the light weight of the PA. I've been putting an extra guitar strap under the back when I tilt it. I've go to find those feet! You won't believe how light this unit is. Overall: I will wear this unit out and once that happens, go buy another one. What I like least about it is speakon and 1/4" hookup. What I like most about it is the light weight and power.
41 of 46 people (89.13%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"dont think much.. buy it and enjoy!!" submitted October 23, 2007

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: hobbyist
Music Style: pakistani semi classical, with karaokes or harmonium, key board and "Tabla"
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Sound: great sound and works gr8 for karaoke music. I use it for live performance and practice.. with my busy work schedule I needed something ready to go and easy to use and it suits me perfectly!! Feature: I bought the deal with 2 BR 15 speakers, cables and stands and it works exceptionally well.... a little too loud for my huge basement but I love it Ease of Use: very easy to use... manual say it all Quality: light weight and easy to carry.. Value: cant get a better deal... may be speakers could be better for some extra money Manufacturer Support: my unit is few months old but I trust yamaha The Wow Factor: sexxyyy, only thing I feel is lack of extra effects, the inbuilt effects are not that many specially for my kind of music Overall: as long as it goes... and take good care of my stuff.. so I think its gonna go a long way
18 of 21 people (85.71%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"A really good pa mixer!" submitted July 29, 2015

By john bockbrader in bowling green, OH
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: i played in rock band during the 80's but now play church gigs
Music Style: rock, blues, christian
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Everything I need in a good pa. very good clean sound, ease of use, lots of good features that can be tweaked for your very best sound. With good size speakers I believe this could be used in very good size venue. I use it with quite a bit of power and no clipping problems. Very satisfied! just received this unit 3 weeks ago, so don't know about manufacturer support.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Yamaha EMX512SC Powered Mixer with Effects (2x500 Watts" submitted January 10, 2016

By Dalton S in Leesville, LA
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: Love this mixer, it has plenty power and is not too big as some of the mixers with this much power are. I received it really fast also, two days after I ordered it!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"EMX512SC" submitted July 22, 2013

By Aaron L in Poughkeepsie, NY
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Manufacturer Support
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: I play bass in a small amateur band - I've been playing music since I was a kid
Music Style: acoustic, bluegrass, folk, a dukes mixture!
Back to Product Information
VERIFIED BUYER
zZounds has verified that this customer bought this product from us.
Overall: This is a great powered mixer for the price. It has plenty of power, good effects, and it is very easy to use. It has stood up well for my small acoustic band. I highly recommend it.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"Don't trust a name or past performance when buying sound gear." submitted November 3, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
The Wow Factor
Musical Background: Active Musician
Music Style: Vintage R&R, Blues, Classic Rock
Back to Product Information
Sound: Lots of power. Poor sound. Effects are "plastic" sounding and unplesant to my taste. Works okay for a cd player. Live vocals hard to EQ. Not even close to Mackie, Peavey, EV etc. Feature: The EQ, Compressor, and effects. No adjustment seems to make them better. OK but never great. Ease of Use: Found it impossible to get great sound from this unit. I tried using it with JBL speakers which have sounded great with everything else. Don't know about instruments. I bought this unit to use for small gigs and for rehersal. Don't like the sound well enough to use even for that. Quality: Fit and finish ok, Dependability ..... the case is made fo brittle cheap plastic and won't take any kind of rough handling. Mine was accidently dropped from waist high onto a hardwood floor and I had to dismantle it and epoxy the screw "towers" on the front in place to keep the thing from falling completely apart. Very cheap. For the purchase price the box should be made of less brittle material. It does still function tho. Value: NO. Manufacturer Support: No dealings with the company on repairs. The Wow Factor: I wouldn't take one for free. I can't get rid of the one I've got. I'd really rather eat hickory bark than try to sing thru this thing. Overall: I could not be less happy with this unit. It has been less than satisfactory from day one. I have had great Yamaha products in the past and this is one of the two worst I've ever personally experienced. (Both Yamaha mixers) Up to now I felt confident about buying almost any Yamaha gear, but now I'm a little more than gun shy.
10 of 21 people (47.62%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

"I'd rather have a toothache." submitted April 20, 2010

By a customer from yahoo.com
Overall
Sound
Features
Ease of Use
Quality
Value
Musical Background: Active Pro Musician
Music Style: variety- Blues, 50's and up Rock, Motown, Country,
Back to Product Information
Sound: I bought this unit about a year ago to use for small gigs and as a rehersal studio unit for the band. It has plenty of power, but the effects are not great, and the sound is not good in general. Just not real impressive. We use it now only for a kick drum moniter. I have had Yamaha gear in the past that was great, but I am completely dissatisfied with this unit for vocals. Feature: It has plenty of features, probably too many. Ease of Use: Not much point in using it if you don't like the sound. Quality: Feels light for the amount of power it puts out. I don't think it can take much rough handling. Value: It can't compete with the comparable priced Peavey. I know cause I own one of those too. Not even close. Manufacturer Support: No comment The Wow Factor: SEX APPEAL Overall: I am not satisfied, never have been, won't ever be. If it were stolen, I would cheer and collect the insurance. I'm done with Yamaha for good. It has no trade in value. I tell everyone who asks, not to waste their money. Guess you could say I'm not a happy customer. Sorry Yamaha. I've had some of your good products, this just ain't one of them.
11 of 24 people (45.83%) found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
close [x]

Thank you. Your vote has been counted. Could you briefly tell us why the review was or was not helpful?

BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site
Questions? Our gear experts can help!
800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
When you call, mention priority code 20X-JPXQ. Llame Gratis en Español: 844-432-7449
Lunes-Viernes de 9AM a 7PM EST
Customize Search Results for Your Location
Follow zZounds on:
Shop with those who respect your privacy — we do. Copyright © 1996-2018, zZounds Music, LLC. Terms of use apply.
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
 
close [x]What is this?
A temporary customer reference number is assigned to each customer only while they are shopping on zZounds.com. If you call our customer service department for assistance, this number makes it easier for us to answer any questions you have about products, services or purchases.
close [x]

1. zZounds offers the industry‘s most musician-friendly payment plans

zZounds offers a variety of Play as you Pay® installment plans that allow you to get the gear you want today. While our competitors might offer house credit cards that require you to fill out an application and pass a credit check, our payment plans are easy to get, simple to use, and, best of all, accrue zero interest. Unlike those house credit cards that can leave you vulnerable to exorbitant interest charges once the promotional period ends, we never have and never will charge interest when you take advantage of one of the zZounds Play as you Pay® plans.

zZounds payment plans details »

2. zZounds guarantees the lowest price

Seen it for less somewhere else? Get it for less at zZounds. Simply click the “Seen it for less?” link on any product page and as long as we‘re not losing money, we‘ll beat any legitimate competitor‘s lowest price, usually within two hours. Want our best price even faster? Call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll provide you with a lower price on the phone. Also, if you purchase from us and later find the product for less elsewhere, call or email us within 45 days, and we‘ll refund you the difference.

zZounds.com price match details »

3. Nobody Beats zZounds‘ Fast & Free Shipping

At zZounds, we know you want your gear fast, and shipped to you free of charge. That‘s why we have absolutely free ground shipping on every single order shipped within the continental United States. This includes heavy and oversized items. No minimum purchase required. No exclusions. We also ship over 90% of our orders with FREE 2-day shipping. We pull it all off with our strategically placed, coast-to-coast warehouses.

zZounds.com shipping details »

4. zZounds makes returns super easy

Buy it, try it, like it, or return it to us for a full refund. It‘s just that simple. If you‘re not in love with what you bought, return it to zZounds within 45 days, and we‘ll promptly arrange for an exchange or a refund. No hassles. No hidden charges. And if a product‘s defective or damaged, call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637), and we‘ll email you a prepaid shipping label so you can easily return it to us at zero cost to you.

zZounds.com return details »

5. zZounds delivers top-rated customer service

zZounds has received multiple Bizrate® Circle of Excellence Platinum awards, placing us in the top 0.7 percent of Bizrate‘s network of 5,200 retailers. Our success in meeting the needs of our customers -- since 1996, we‘ve satisfied over 1,000,000 people -- is due in large part to the fact that zZounds only hires experienced musicians to answer your calls and emails, and they are never paid a commission.

zZounds.com customer service »
close [x]
Available on
orders $59+
learn more

Need it now but short of cash? All we need is the first payment up front and the rest in easy monthly payments!

Fast approval.
We approve everyone, with very few exceptions, as long as we can verify your identity.
No interest. Ever.
It's just as if you paid the whole amount up front!
No paperwork. Nothing to track.
No application to mail or fax, no bills to pay. We automatically charge the payments to your credit card.

We'll wait on your money so you don't have to wait for your gear!

When you checkout, just click the Play as you Pay® checkbox to indicate which installment plan you wish to use.

close [x]
no minimum

learn more

Why fight traffic and pushy salesmen when we'll bring your gear straight to your home, free of charge?

zZounds free shipping is really free!
No hidden charges or hassles on returns.
Fast, reliable delivery
We have warehouses on both coasts, so most shipments arrive in 3 days or less.
close [x]

A guarantee so solid, you never have to worry about price when shopping at zZounds

We'll beat any price
Simply click the Seen it for less? link next to the gear you want or call us at 800-zZounds (800-996-8637)
Got a coupon from another site?
Use it with us - we'll beat those prices, too!
Find a better price after buying from us?
No problem. We'll refund you the difference for 45 days, so you'll never regret buying from zZounds.

You'll still get the trustworthy service you've come to expect from zZounds, without paying more for your gear!