Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Yamaha DGX-660 Portable Digital Piano

Yamaha DGX-660 Portable Digital Piano

With a 6-track recorder, Score Display for on-screen note display, wireless audio streaming, and GHS weighted keys, the Yamaha DGX-660 is ready for action.

Overall User Ratings (based on 12 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(12)
Submitted December 22, 2016 by Eric M in Knoxville, TN
"Yamaha dgx 660"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a great keyboard. It graded hammer feels just like a real piano. The piano sound is spot on. I play with a garage band,and all the voices are a cool deal. For my needs this digital piano is everything i will ever need. I would recommend it. And zZounds made it possible for me to get it right away. Great customer service. I thought customer service was a thong of the past. Thank you zZounds!!!
Musical Background:
30 years garage band.
Musical Style:
Classic rock. 70s southern rock and folk.
37 of 37 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 21, 2017 by Christopher A in Elma, WA
"Fantastic Keyboard for a Professional Pianist-Keyboardist-Vocalist"
I'm a professional, working Pianist, Keyboardist and Vocalist as a Piano Bar Entertainer and this keyboard is light weight, full size, weighted keys, split point for my left hand bass, right hand keys with padding layered underneath. I'm able to plug my mic right in and the board has multi-band compressor with all the fx you'll need to sound fantastic the first time you plug it in.. It's probably the last and only board I'll need to buy for my professional shows! I'm so Stoked! Thanks Yamaha!
Musical Background:
I'm a Professional Piano Bar Entertainer and Recording Producer
Musical Style:
Top 40, pop, rock, blues, jazz, country, contemporary Christian, gospel, you name it!
19 of 19 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 1, 2017 by Chuck H in McRae-Helena, GA
"Great Product"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm a multi-instrumentalist of 34 years. I've never owned a bad Yamaha product. The build quality of this piano is excellent and the sounds are great. Good variety of rhythms, sounds, and options. It really is a classy looking product. Key action is good. My only dislike with this keyboard is doing various functions seems a bit daunting and requires a learning curve - internal recording, front panel layout, but for the money you can't complain. Highly recommended.
Musical Background:
34 Year Educated Performer, Studio Owner, Local Producer, Multi-Instrumentalist
Musical Style:
Jazz, Rock, Country, Gospel, Pop, Acoustic, Vocal, Instrumental, Solo
13 of 13 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 19, 2019 by Bob Madura in Buffalo, MO
"Great sound......perfect touch!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This keyboard is perfect for me ! I'm learning to play piano since I have played guitar for 50 years and want to challenge myself again. The feel of this keyboard is right on the money. The voices available are endless! Grand piano?.....you got it! Pipe Organ....you got it! Stings?....you got it! Don't forget to purchase the sustain pedal for a true Grand Piano experience! Yamaha has a winner here with the DGX-660
Musical Background:
Been singing and playing guitar for 50 years. Played professionally in Chicago area
Musical Style:
Classic rock, country,blues…...love it all!
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2017 by Mo C in Pasadena, CA
"A Most Awesome Digital Keyboard!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I can't possible describe all this keyboard can do; go online and find a video and you'll be astonished. But most importantly, the sound. It's fantastic! The built in speakers are in one word - Amazing! I was going to buy the Roland Juno DS88, which is a different animal altogether, I understand, but I realized I didn't need that type of workstation. Just a keyboard with some cool voices I could play on stage. This is it! At my home studio I have it on the Yamaha stand, but for stage, it's easily removable and transportable as any 88 key. Oh, and the keys, weighted very nicely. I'm very impressed and pleased with this keyboard. I did a lot of research and found this one to be the best for me. I'm a songwriter and I perform live approx 6 times a year.
Musical Background:
I've played guitar for 30 years, piano/keys for 20. I play out about 6 times a year. I write and compose music.
Musical Style:
Rock, Jazz/Pop, Alt, Folk, Experimental
27 of 28 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 3, 2019 by Mindy Lendall in Grass Valley, CA
"Love It!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Firstly, zZounds is awesome! Their customer service is the very best, making the shopping experience so pleasant. I bought the Yamaha DGX 660 last week, it arrived in one day. It was so easy to set it up, however you should have another person available to help set the unit onto the stand.. it’s heavy. The sound, the feel of DGX600 is amazing. I have nothing bad to say about it. zZounds pay as you play is helpful as well. Makes getting the gear I need easy and more affordable. Thanks ZZOUNDS!!
Musical Background:
Play at home
Musical Style:
Love it all
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 24, 2017 by Mo C in Pasadena, CA
"Best in it's class!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
We purchased this last month and we just love it. I have a Workstation and was considering upgrading my Casio Workstation to a Yamaha or Korg Workstation; I'm glad I decided to go with the Yamaha DGX-660 Digital Piano. The feel, sensitivity, touch and sound - and the speakers! Just wow! It comes with a stand, but for portability, I can use my folding stand for live gigs. A full 88 keys and it feels like a piano. I won't go into all the features, but suffice it to say, you'll be amazed at all you can do with this digital piano. We really don't even need an acoustic piano any more. I know, the purists are gonna scream, but it's true, this digital piano is fantastic for recording and for playing for enjoyment. You'll love it!
Musical Background:
Playing music over 30 years. Write, compose, record and play live as a guitarist. Piano is my second instrument.
Musical Style:
Rock, Pop, Jazz, Alt, Soul, Acoustic R&B
20 of 21 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 18, 2020 by David H in San Diego, CA
"Perfect intermediate selection"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I researched A LOT before buying the DGX-660 but I must say the competition in this price range is fierce and there are two competing products that made the decision difficult.This piano is a nice hybrid between a stage piano and arranger which isn’t the best at either but is the best blend of the two at this price. Of the other two, one is a better piano, the other a better workstation but this is the happy medium I was after.The weighted keys are close to a piano, though the weight on the low keys is a little light and on the high keys a little heavy. It’s a negligible difference for most users and, for me, the most realistic at this price point.The onboard speakers are excellent and can be turned up quite loud. Running this unit out of a monitor is great but there’s no dual 1/4” outputs so keep that in mind.There’s tons of different sample sounds with varying quality and usefulness and you can split or layer samples. You can also record to either midi or wav. There’s a lot of features I encourage you to explore and I found an encyclopedic review on “pianodreamers” that I recommend you read if you are considering this product.I bought the LP7-A three pedal attachment with my unit which completes the package and I totally recommend it. My board came with a free bench which is comfortable but has no compartment for sheet music.One last note of import, this thing is bulky and heavy. You’ll want to consider something else if you want something for gigging. Mine is the centerpiece in my living room and hasn’t moved since I put it together. The keyboard itself weighs at least 50 lbs so it’s your call if you wanna lug it around from gig to gig.
Musical Background:
Songwriter, performing musician
Musical Style:
Modern
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 15, 2018 by Gina G in San diego, CA
"Fantastic purchase. Zzounds is the only place I shop now"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This full size correctly weighted keys piano with bench is a great deal and sounds great. Comes with built in stand and comfortable padded bench. You cannot find a better deal...I tried! The play as you pay plan is easy to get and zZounds will hook you up with the gear you want. All gear purchased from zZounds so far has arrived perfectly packed new in box and super fast shipping. The only bad thing I can say about zZounds is that buying at these prices and payment plans is quite addictive! It was easy to change my auto bill date to a day of month agreeable to me by calling zZounds. Very friendly folks will answer the phone...no robots...no AI MACHINE! Real musicians who are the chilled out relaxed professionals that can really advise you.
Musical Background:
Guitar, piano, flute, teaches guitar to others. Playing since 1993
Musical Style:
Straight player...put any music in front of me and I play it. I do like jazz the best.
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 9, 2020 by Kristina Q
"Great keyboard for serious beginners, but buy it NEW"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The DGX-660 is a great instrument for serious beginners, with features supporting use from just learning all the way up to those writing/composing their own music. Sure, it doesn't have the richness in tone of a Clavinova or an acoustic piano, but it sounds pretty darn great, and the keys nearly-perfectly mimic the weight of "real" acoustic piano keys.I cannot, however, in good conscience recommend the warehouse-resealed version of this keyboard, as quite frankly, it's been a pain.We ordered Warehouse Resealed, and our first keyboard was looked as if it'd never been opened at all and was visually in perfect, new condition. However one key was stuck. It was indeed repairable under Yamaha's warranty, however, the only provider around recommended we do an exchange instead, as the trouble/time, out of pocket cost (for an in-home visit) and risk of having it fixed was actually *more* than what the digital piano costs.Fast forward, and after a week of back and forth with zZounds, we finally receive our replacement. This one appears visually used (albeit lightly), with some light scratches on one side and light vertical lines appearing on the LCD screen. The former—not a big deal. The latter? This indicates a potential hardware issue, perhaps not now, but imminent down the line.At this point, the keyboard works, and I'm not interested in dealing with another exchange. If the LCD does indeed fail in the near future, that's absolutely a warranty issue, and I'll deal with it directly with Yamaha, if and when that happens.Long story short, it's a great keyboard— just save yourself a headache and chalk up the $75-100 more for a NEW one. Don't even bother with one of the cheaper options, because unless you yourself are skilled in digital piano repair, they're not worth it. On the plus side, zZounds customer support is friendly, even if there's a bit of a communication disconnect between front-line customer service and the returns department.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 24, 2020 by Craig B in Van Alstyne, TX
"Beware of Repackaged Deals"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This seems like a really nice piano. I purchased one of the repackaged ones because I have always had good luck with repackaged deals. And I have been purchasing from zZounds for over 10 years, and never had a problem. Until now. This thing came in and it was a complete pile of junk. The last 4 keys were destroyed, one of the black keys pulled up about an inch like a bad toenail. the box was so bad it was an our chore just getting things packed back up. They are replacing it with a new one, great. But inconvenience of repackaging, getting the heavy beast loaded in the car, driving it to UPS, etc. was just a pain. Never again. Don't buy their repackaged stuff. They obviously don't inspect the items before sending out.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 2, 2019 by a customer from gmail.com
"Not "really" under warranty"
After 9-months this piano has stopped working. We have barely played it. It has been sitting up against a wall in a low traffic area. I am hoping that the problem is the cord which has also been put away and untouched. I asked if a replacement cord could be sent and I was told that I would have to contact Yamaha (fair enough), but was then also told that even though it was under warranty that I would probably not get a cord without having to pay for it. I am a bit frustrated. What is the point of having a warranty if it is not going to be honored?
3 of 6 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
đź’¬
Chat With Us