Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Yamaha A5R Dreadnought Acoustic Guitar (with Case)
BACK IN STOCK

Yamaha A5R Dreadnought Acoustic Guitar (with Case)

Crafted in Japan from solid rosewood and Sitka spruce, and outfitted with Yamaha's SRT2 pickups, this beautiful cutaway dreadnought is ready for any stage.

Overall User Ratings (based on 6 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(6)
Submitted January 19, 2019 by Mark E in Houston, TX
"The search is over!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been playing for over 10 years and I've owned several different brands of acoustic guitars. I have focused my ability to playing rhythm, primarily because most of my guitar playing has been leading worship. My last guitar was a special edition Martin dreadnought. I loved that guitar for its beautiful sound. But I seemed to have to adjust the action an awful lot. I went through some tough times financially due to illness and I pawned my wonderful guitar, never to be able to reclaim it. I know someone else is being blessed with it. So now came the new search. Boy are there a lot of guitars being made out there that sound like something out of a toy store. I have been playing, and reading about, and you tubing just about everything for the last six months and 99% of everyone on you tube believes the guitar they are playing is just so wonderful. Well who wants to admit the guitar they just spent over 2000 dollars on doesn't sound as good, or even come close to a beautiful, phenomenal, craftsman made Yamaha rosewood/ spruce top guitar, like this one I just got from zzounds! Perfect right out of the box! Best sounding playing guitar I've ever owned! I'm 63 years young and Yamaha has been making great guitars ever since I was a kid. The A5R is a total win!!! What took me so long?
Musical Background:
5 years as a worship leader.
Musical Style:
Christian
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 27, 2019 by James H in Knoxville, TN
"Remarkable Guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been a fan of Yamaha acoustic guitars for a long time. I researched this guitar for a couple of years trying to decide if I wanted a "higher end" Yamaha or not. There are a lot of big name manufactures in this price range but none of them (Taylor, Gibson, Takamine, etc...) offered both the sound plugged in or unplugged, and/or the playability that the A5R offered. The lows, mids, highs, warmth, sustain is all there and balanced perfectly. It is weighted decent compared to say a Gibson J45, but not at all uncomfortable. The pickup/preamp is very impressive and it comes with one of the nicest hardshell cases I have seen with an acoustic guitar. The setup straight from the box is great and the first chord I strummed was the "G" chord and I was in awe! The lows had girth and warmth but not boomy and the highs shimmer and ring so well. Strumming, picking, finger style all sound really good on this guitar. Can you get a better sounding/playing guitar? Possibly, but it's not happening in this price range. Not even close! I made this purchase from zZounds about a month ago and am so glad I went with my gut instinct and purchased a Japanese made Yamaha! If you have doubts find you a local dealer and play one. Only then will you understand how good these guitars are!
Musical Background:
34 Years
Musical Style:
Mainly fingerstyle/picking
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 17, 2018 by Michael McCartney in Beaverton, OR
"I did a lot of research...."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I read all the reviews of this guitar. Every 5 star review you see is accurate. This is superbly built instrument, easily a fine as my Taylor 324. Plugged it in to my Marshall AD50 and it sounds great. In fact, better by far than my Taylor. Unplugged, the sustain and resonance are outstanding. Neck and fretboard are wonderful. Seriously, I am a longtime player and have owned probably 100 or more acoustic electrics and acoustics. I have already bonded with this after a few hours of play time. There is a reason that it is so hard to find these. When you see one available, just buy it. Thanks for having one zZounds. All the other online stores are out of stock.
Musical Background:
Guitarist 40 years.
Musical Style:
Rock, country
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 18, 2019 by Lisa M in Amarillo, TX
"One of the better guitars out there"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I’ve had the a5r for a week now. The sound is even, responsive, nice sustain! I give this guitar a solid 4 stars for sound!! Build quality is very well done on the outside, the inside brace or two has glue residue on them, so if your super picky, you might want to check that out. Wood selection is good, a guitar at this price range that is all solid wood, has ebony bridge and fingerboard is a big win. Gotoh tuners are always well made, and stay in tune for days. The only thing left they could have done is used bone nut and bridge. It’s a good deal, period.
Musical Background:
30 years
Musical Style:
A good song
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 25, 2021 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Amazing Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Finally got this in the mail today and I am pretty much blown away. It’s just flawless and a work of art. I have no doubt this guitar is up there with ones twice the price. It plays and sounds just as good as it looks. Smooth as butter and has a depth to the sound and resonates unlike anything I’ve ever played. Very responsive to your playing dynamics. The Japanese really know their stuff. It has the best fretwork of any guitar I’ve had. They are perfect. Level, smooth fret ends and polished to perfection. The neck has a smooth satin finish so your hand doesn’t get stuck moving up and down it and it just fits my hand like a glove. Not too thick or thin. It come with a very nice hard case also. I feel like nothing was skimped on this guitar. There was about a month wait to get it but it was worth it and I think that’s normal with these guitars. This will be one I keep for my lifetime and pass down to my kids. Would recommend to anyone.
Musical Background:
20 years experience on guitar.
Musical Style:
I play a lot of electric and acoustic. Diverse player. Anything from country, worship, blues, rock, hard rock, metal.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 10, 2018 by Richard K in Astoria, NY
"Amazing Quality Guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just took receipt of the Yamaha A5R about a week ago and I must say after playing 100's of different guitars in my 30 years of playing, this is the best guitar I've ever played! The sound is incredible and the quality of the workmanship is second to none! I am so enamored by this Yamaha, that I'm actually planning on getting the Concert sized AC5R. This is the second guitar I've purchased from zZounds in the past 7 months and once again, I'm blown away! I also love the Pay-as-you-Play!
Musical Background:
I play professionally, been playing guitar for over 30 years.
Musical Style:
Mainly bluegrass, blues, and old-timey.
11 of 12 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to