Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Washburn B9 Banjo

Washburn B9 5-String Banjo

Ideal for first-time pickers or old pros looking for a back-up, the Washburn B9 is an outstanding value in a classic banjo.

Overall User Ratings (based on 22 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(22)
Submitted January 9, 2015 by Warren Lanza in Douglaston, NY
"Washburn Banjo"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just purchased a Washburn B9 5 string banjo and am loving it! New to the banjo scene and wanted to not spend so much just in case. After a few weeks I find and I don't know why that it's easier to learn the the banjo than it was the Guitar. I love the sound of this Banjo and learning new terms like forward and backward rolls! Like Johnny Cash sang! Get Rhythm! Would definitely recommend for a novice like me and Defenitly recommend zZounds! Bought a Taylor from them a while ago and they will be where I shall purchase all of my equipment from in the future!
Musical Background:
Play for my own happiness and if anyone else enjoys it then fantastic! Guitar and now Banjo.
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock, Alternative , now some Bluegrass!
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 20, 2015 by Kelly W in San Leandro, CA
"Great quality starter banjo"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Washburn B9 5-string banjo is a great quality banjo at a good price. I got the banjo day after I ordered it, it came well packed.As usual, I opted to use the zZounds pay-as-you-play payment option which helped a lot. I pulled it out, tuned it, and it sounded great, stayed in tune well, and had great action.
Musical Background:
I've been playing bass for 20 years. I play in my own band locally, write the music, play bass and do vocals.
Musical Style:
Doom, Stoner, Psychedelic, Progressive Rock, as well as, a bit of bluegrass and folk.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 11, 2014 by Philip Fielder in Madera, CA
"Washburn B9 banjo"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am still in the learning portion of my banjo adventure. My first purchase was a basement bargain, should have left it in the basement. I spotted the Washburn B9 as I was surfing through ZZounds and ordered it. Wow, what a difference, it stays in tune, feels more comfortable, sounds better. I know it is supposed to be on the lower scale, but feel this will be my playing banjo for several years. I am 69 years old and this is an exciting adventure. Old dogs can and do learn new tricks. Check out this awesome banjo, you won't be disappointed.
Musical Background:
Hand drums for many years
Musical Style:
Mostly strong percussion music, Latin and salsa style preferred.
12 of 13 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 7, 2012 by Daryl Davison in Virginia Beach, VA
"Washburn B9 Banjo"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very Nice Banjo, Great Price and Fast Shipping
Musical Background:
40 year For pleasure
Musical Style:
country, blues
10 of 12 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 22, 2012 by Christian Ehrnst in Ames, IA
"Best "beginner" banjo EVER! "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
The Washburn B9 far exceeded my expectations and will be in my collection forever. The finish is absolutely beautiful and came without any flaws. After setting the bridge up and tuning, it sounds GREAT! Take a look at this video if you want to see a full look around: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lxgLKJdHf8s If you are a beginner in the banjo world, this is the one for you. It is priced low in the "beginner" category, but is a high quality instrument. This thing will last you forever and is suitable for advanced players as well.
Musical Background:
I have played the drums for 12 years, and love picking up a new instrument to learn.
Musical Style:
rock, bluegrass, hip-hop, beatstep
14 of 18 people (78%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 11, 2014 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Washburn B9 5 string banjo"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have recently retired and have always wanted to play the banjo. I picked this one after several months of research. It suits my needs as a beginner and sounded great right out of the box. I set the bridge, tuned it up and began to strum cords.
Musical Background:
I play for my own pleasure
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 14, 2010 by a customer from aol.com
"Totally amazed Washburn, I'll keep in touch!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I plan to keep this in my setup for as long as it lasts. I'll definetly supplement it with something else, but that's what I'd do anyways. I researched a lot of other banjo's and decided on this (and I so glad I did), because of it's quality and workmanship. For this price (or an even higher price) I don't think you will find a better banjo. If this were ever to be stolen I wouldn't think twice about getting another one just like it. I like it best for it's beauty, playability, and sound!
Sound
I was amazed at how well the Washburn B9 sounded. Mine sounded great right out of the box, with no ajustments other than tuning it. At this price! That's the amazing part. It's loud, clean and clear. It plays well with other too. Like electric, bass and acoustic guitars.
Features
I wish it came with a case, but for this price I can buy it a new one.
Ease of Use
Like I said before, mine sounded great right out of the box. The action and intonation were dead on. All I had to do was tune it and it wasn't that far out of tune. It plays beautifully
Quality
The B9 is well built. The factory quality control is very impressive. I'm used to doing at least some set up work on my instruments - this needed nothing! There is not a blemish on it, the finnish is beautiful. The hard ware is chrome, but again the price. It's very dependable. I would recommend a second banjo for other tunings only. For ease of use on stage. Like I said earlier, I wish it came with a case and only God knows how long it will last. I think it will be quit a while.
Value
I think it is well worth the price, absolutely! This is my first Washburn product. Up until now I thought they were cheeply made. I've have always bought Gibson, Fender, Martin, Carvin etc. instruments. I bought this because I wanted something I could go on the road with that I wouldn't have to worry about. Now, for completely other reasons, I don't worry about this one at all.
Manufacturer Support
Never needed it.
The Wow Factor
This is a beautiful instrument. Feels great in your hand and play wonderfully. I'm glad to add it to my setup.
Musical Background:
Active musician and recording engineer.
Musical Style:
Contemporary Christian, Rock, Jazz, Blues etc.
24 of 26 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 6, 2011 by a customer from aol.com
"Wow! Not bad at all!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I expect to keep this for as long as it lasts. I would replace it with another B-9 in a heartbeat. This so much better than anything else in it's price range (and then some). I tried them all! It's exactly what I was hoping for and more (at this price range). I wish I new how nice it was before I started looking. It would have saved me alot of time. I used to think Washburn was a cheeper quality product and never even looked at them, but from now on when I need a new instrument I'll give them a shot as well.
Sound
This is a good quality sounding banjo. In fact, for the price I paid I'd say it is an excellant quality and sounding instrument. It sounds great all by itself and with other instruments (it's sound cuts right through). I use it for recording and live. I use an AKG C-3000-B mic at the base of the neck and a AKG C-1000-S between the bridge and the tail piece. I run the mic's through a PreSonus pre-amp and I am good to go whether live or recording.
Features
It's a standard 5 string banjo. I like the fact that it has a bound neck and that it has a machine head on the 5th string.
Ease of Use
Mine sounded and played great right out of the box. I usually have to spend time setting the action and intonation, but not with this Washburn B-9. This thing plays great and sounds good. I got this as an as needed back up instrument (just in case) and it fits the bill nicely. I am not afraid to use this whenever the need arrises.
Quality
This is a well made inexpensive banjo (very well made). Mine came looking great and sounding good. I can get right on this thing and it handles nicely. I can and do depend on this, but I always have a back up. In fact I bought this to be my back up. It seems well built. The finish is beautiful.
Value
For this price I should have bought two and I just might.
Manufacturer Support
Never needed it!
The Wow Factor
This thing looks great! It's a practical addition to my setup.
Musical Background:
45 yrs (yes 45 yrs!) Musician and audio engineer
Musical Style:
Contemporary Christian, Rock, Jazz, Blues etc.
24 of 27 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to