Vox AC30C2 / AC30C2X Guitar Combo Amplifier (30 Watts, 2x12")
BACK IN STOCK

Vox AC30C2 / AC30C2X Guitar Combo Amplifier (30 Watts, 2x12")

Choose the Vox AC30C2 with Celestion Greenback speakers, or the AC30C2X with Alnico Blue speakers. Both amp models are based on the classic Vox AC30 design.

Overall User Ratings (based on 18 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(18)
Submitted August 7, 2014 by Matthew McCray in WEST MIFFLIN, PA
"Vox AC30C2"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this amp because I needed a combo amp so I didn't have to drag my half stacks around to jam with friend. Despite what everyone recommends, I purchased the greenbacks instead of the blues. I cannot express how awesome the amp sounds. The tones you can get from this amp are limitless. I don't think I have ever messed with the settings on an amp as much as I have with this one. After they have been broken in, the greenbacks sound amazing. I cannot recommend this amp enough. As always, purchasing it from zzounds gives you the best price and customer service of any merchant I have ever worked with.
Musical Background:
I have been playing guitar for 24 years and I have been a professional musician. Currently I play with friends locally.
Musical Style:
Indie rock, hardcore, punk, acoustic.
27 of 27 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 7, 2013 by Steve T. in Garden Grove, CA
"Not for Amateurs "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
When first toying with this little monster, I was a little frustrated and not too impressed with the sound. it took a good half hour to figure out what this thing could do. Being that it is based on the mind set of an English individual who designed it in the late 50s, it's kind of like driving on the left side of the road instead of the right. Once you get going, you get used to it's novel settings. I love the tight clean bright tone that makes you want to keep playing for hours. I also leave it connected with the jump cable which give you not one, not two but three volume control simultaneously. The only thing I was not impressed with was the reverb. It was a little weak even at full tilt. I have reason to believe it's not working properly as I have heard nothing but good review of it. The attention to visual detail is near impeccable. I also should mention that zzound gave me not only a highly competitive price but it was ordered Sunday afternoon and arrive Tuesday. Unbelievable customer service. As with most of the other reviewers, I should note that this thing is not fun to carry. Have a dolly or cart nearby. 72 lbs for the Celestion model and 74+. I have the Celestions.
Musical Background:
40 years. Guitar/Drums/Lead Vocals
Musical Style:
Classic 60s Rock.
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 2, 2015 by Steve S in Miami, FL
"Great Amp Dynamic and Super Pedal Friendly"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Got the greenback version. This amp is super responsive and versatile. Love how you can set it up on the edge of breakup pick hard and it will distort pick soft and it will be clean. Also love how it cleans up really well when you roll down the guitar's volume knob. Its super pedal friendly on either channel. Haven't had a pedal sound less than awesome through it yet. You can even get metal by boosting this amp with a good overdrive. The amp sounds best with the master cranked and using it as a clean platform for a pedalboard in my opinon. But its more versatile than that because you can get natural amp overdrive. But you can still get a good sound at quiet volumes and use it as a practice amp at home.
Sound
Think U2, Radiohead, Oasis (Early in their career), The Beatles (Early Years too), The kinks, Iggy Pop and the Stooges, Tom Petty, and REM. The Sound is bright and cutting. Loud!!
Features
The tremolo and reverb are very good. Tone cut really makes this amp because it keeps it from sounding harsh. Wish it came with a footswitch. The FX loop is good too and bypassable The EQs on top boost are interactive and affect one another. No mids control. But sounds great regardless
Ease of Use
Literally you can plug and play this amp and get a good sound. 5 minutes and you'll be an expert using this amp.
Quality
Its well made despite being made in vietnam. also the fact the cabinet is not made of wood kind of sucks but it wouldve made the amp heavier and it still sounds really good
Value
Its worth it.
Manufacturer Support
no need for it
The Wow Factor
Looks as good as it sounds
Musical Background:
Been playing for several years doing live shows
Musical Style:
Rock, Alternative, Jazz, Blues, Christian, Country, Reggae
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 23, 2014 by Brian Broussard in Elkview, WV
"Loven My Vox"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This VOX amp is one that I've been wanting for several years but was never able to purchase because I felt it was a luxury item that I didn't really need. But I finally treated myself and could not be happier about. It is all that they say it is: beautiful chimy harmonics, a real organic beauty that's clear and warm and bright and gritty and punchy at intervals. Dial up your sounds with a wide range of options. Incredible versatility and-- AGAIN-- the sound is just perfect.
Musical Background:
30+ years
Musical Style:
Classic rock, new wave, punk, R&B, grunge
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 29, 2013 by DJB Manifestomode in Downey, CA
"Tube heaven when you boost it!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This will forever be a classic, From the Beatles Led Zeppelin to U2 and Radio Head,. This could easily be the most recorded tube amp in the history of Rock. This is a sonic tone monster hands down a powerful asset to any arsenal of a tube amp collector. A perfect man amp. It's not really high gain but if you know what your doing with a boost pedal like a screamer,.its Tube Heaven! I bought the Black Comet limited edition,.beautiful amp! Thank you Zzounds for the amazing payment plans. I plan on being a regular customer for life!
Sound
Bouncy reactive and crisp. I love Vox!,.its a great stereo companion to the Night Train 50 I have. I like sending the preamp sound of my Blackstar HT-20 into the FX loop. This amp has a great feel and has great harmonic overtones. This is a collectible piece of art that will go down as one of the most sold and recorded tube amps in history and prob the future!
Features
I like that you can jumper the two channels, the tremolo is great sounding and the FX-loop does its job well.
Ease of Use
It takes a few minutes to understand that your gain is a volume nob and is interactive with the master volume to get the saturation you want. Great for bedroom levels with the master volume. It's kinda heavy. No it's heavy, specially since I'm not working out lately. Along with my Zoom G9.2tt tube screamer and my vintage tube monster it's a tubey creamy full sound, a dream come true!
Quality
Exceptional! But there is that dust scratchy crackle sound at the lower setting on the master volume,. But I'm sure it's just dust.
Value
It's prob worth more since its as classic as you can get. To me it's boutique sound at around a grand. You can't beat that since its boutiques are often around 3k!
Manufacturer Support
They helped me with a exchange since Zzounds ran out of Black Comet Editions. The first one died on me not sure why but these things happen with tube amps sometimes. They where accommodating me well.
The Wow Factor
People the reason why tube amps can be sexy is that they get certain girls excited if they like the sound, and the sound is sonic to say the least. Black Comet limited Edition is prob the sexiest amp there is!
Musical Style:
Experimental Blues, Psychedelic rock, industrial, ambient, Electronic, experimental jazz, classic rock, house, minimal
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 5, 2015 by KeLynne L in Weatherford, TX
"Creamy overdrive. No real need for dirt pedals. "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought an Ac30c2 from zzounds exactly one year ago and figured I would give my review after using it for gigs and in studio. Let me say, at first I thought I would "have" to get some dirt pedals to give me a nice overdrive but boy was I wrong. Turn the gain up via the channel volume knobs and adjust the master to accommodate and you've got tone heaven! This thing roars. I think this amp is meant to be pushed into overdrive with the preamp tubes. You can always clean up the tone by rolling off the volume on your guitar. Don't rush out to buy an od pedal until you play around with the amp's settings. I have an ocd for added thickness but that's it. Seriously, I am in love with this amp. The overdrive is thick but not muddy. I use the top boost as it has more headroom when pushed (I run it all the way up) than the normal channel. The cleans out of this amp are good too. Not sterile like a lot of fender amps. The stock tubes weren't "bad" but I replaced the power tubes about 5 months into owning this and the preamp tubes 2 weeks ago. Overall, I highly recommend this amp. Buy it! You won't regret it.
Musical Background:
Singer songwriter
Musical Style:
Rock, alternative rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 2, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Soft sweet passionate tone of the gods, fun for all!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp will be my main amp for most everything I need to do. The only exception is that I may have to purchase a 4x12 unit for it in the future. Another great feature of the amp is that it can be used as a "Head" for your cabinet if you really need more sound.
Sound
The VOX AC30C2 needs no introduction. VOX has spent over 50 years asserting itself into the musical bloodstream by infusing every genre of music from Rock to Funk, Alternative to Pop and everything in between. The VOX AC30C2 delivers on tone in spades. I own the "Classic combo" of the amp and its "Counterpart" the Fender Telecaster. Together I get everything from eery melodies to twangy blues and everything in between. If you are looking to find an amp with a good clean tone your search is over. The VOX can do clean like no other (until you reach the $3000 dollar mark).
Features
The product came with manuals and a power cord. I purchased the control pedal separately and wish that there were some form of dust cover or case for it beyond a custom built one. As for its ease of use, the VOX AC30C2 delivers delicious tone after tone for nearly any setting that you can imagine. Its controls all rest on top of the amp which is perfect for "on the fly" change-ups if you need to do so during a show or practice.
Ease of Use
Just about anything you do with this amp makes it sound good. Plug and play.
Quality
Like any tube amp owner, I take extra care when toting this around to practices and shows. Beyond that, the quality and style are excellent.
Value
I wheeled and dealed this sweet baby for $800 brand new (Free shipping and no tax too!). Best $800 I have spent in years.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to use it yet. VOX is a Korg subsidiary tho and I would imagine that they are as nice as Korg has been in the past.
The Wow Factor
Sex appeal of a product really translates to who is using it. If VOX is your style, then this amp will get you laid!
Musical Background:
Active musician, recording engineer, arranger.
Musical Style:
Rock, alternative, Blues.
18 of 20 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 27, 2015 by Geoff S in Owosso , MI
"Pure Tone Monster!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is by far the best amp I own so far. Pair this amp with a Telecaster, and it's tone city. I don't there's something I can say that hasn't been said. I opted for the c2x, and the alnico blues are definitely worth the extra dough. zZounds play as you pay option is the most competitive option out there. So far, I've made some recordings using an sm57, and have no complaints. This amp is more then enough in a jam setting with drums, an additional guitarist, and bass. Master volume is key. This has been my dream amp for years, and zZounds finally helped me make that dream come true!
Musical Background:
Drums, guitar, bass, keys.
Musical Style:
Rock, classic rock, blues, indie
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 8, 2014 by Matt F in Richmond, VA
""Blemished" AC30 is a winner"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This item was designated as blemished but came to me without so much as a scratch on it. All of the functions are working properly and it is exactly what I would have expected out of a new amp. It has all of the classic AC-30 tones that would be expected with an iconic amp. I have even stopped using a distortion pedal as often preferring to plug in to the high-boost section for the nice break up.
Musical Background:
Playing for 18 years on bass, guitar and drums for several different bands.
Musical Style:
Mostly rock ranging from typical indie sounds to shoegaze and stoner rock.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 18, 2021 by a customer from gmail.com in Indianapolis, IN
"AC30C2"
I purchased the Greenback version in order to save a little money about 6 years ago from zZounds. This was my first tube amp, so the difference in my tone to me was so stark that I would have immediately rated it 5 stars across. Now that I’m a little older, a little wiser, I’m still giving it 5 stars across. I did, however, replace the greenbacks with Alnico Blues, and it made a world of difference, pushing this from a good amp into great amp territory. One word of warning: this is a bright amp, even into the normal channel. It is very finicky with drive pedals. The Fulltone OCD, Crowther Hotcake, Boss MD-2, and Boss Metal Zone are the one I ended up having luck with. You can also crank it for “that” sound. Everything else sounds absolutely fantastic. It’s a famed amp for a reason.
Musical Background:
Experienced Amateur
Musical Style:
Rock, Pop, New Wave, Hard Rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 7, 2014 by Jeff O in San Diego, CA
"VOX AC30C2X Amplifier"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Versatile, great looking & terrific sounding amp. Played following guitars thru it with impressive results; Fender Tele, Martin OMJM, Taylor NS62, & from the 60's a Hagstrom-12 & Mosrite Celebrity. Vox amp easily drives vintage Kustom speaker cabinet (also from 60's) w/ 2-10's & 2-15's rewired for 16-ohms as external or extension hookup with great results. My only gripe with Korg is they did not reply to my email request regarding Reverb level verification.
Musical Background:
Have played as hobbyist on & off over 50 years (guitars listed in review)
Musical Style:
I enjoy all types of music.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 18, 2012 by TOM BAIRD
"VTB"
GET THE GREENBACK SPEAKERS
Musical Background:
40 YRS+
Musical Style:
BRITISH POP AND BLUES
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 10, 2012 by Perry C in Chatham, VA
"Best amp I've every played"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After many reviews and trips to guitar center to try the amp out, I finally decided this was the one for me. I have to admit, when I first recieved it I was a bit disappointed. The amp sounded great, but not up to par with other ac30s I played. I have no idea what happened, but one month later and this is the best sounding amp I've every played. I honestly doubt I'll need any other amp. My main rig is a bunch of pedals and a Fender Tele. The ac30 really brings out my tele's character. I would recomend this amp to anyone.
Musical Background:
I have a band. Fender tele. I've played for almost six years now.
Musical Style:
Instrumental, punk, experimental, jazz, black metal.
4 of 6 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 25, 2018 by Jeremiah H in Elizabethtown, KY
"Pure tube tone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I ordered this amp from zZounds and recieved it in 2 days. I plugged in and got a scratchy noise from the master volume, then the amp got very very hot! I called zZounds and they shipped me another new vox. The customer service was spot on! Anyhow. After playing my new vox, I was really impressed and couldnt put my guitar down. The amp really sings with a fender American standard stratocaster. The amp can get a lot of good tones. I play mostly blues and classic rock; nails all the tones I desire. Also, this amp takes pedals extremely well and I have a fairly large amount of pedals. If you want a pure tube, vintage tone this amp does it. I've owned Marshall's, orange, fender, mesa, and trace. This amp is the tone I've been looking for. Thank you zZounds for taking care of me.
Musical Background:
30 years playing, play clubs and bars. Play a fender strat. Gibson LP custom, and Charvel 750xl.
Musical Style:
Country, blues, and rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 29, 2018 by Jeremiah Hesd in Elizabethtown, KY
"Vintage tonal bliss"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had been searching for that "one" sound for many years. I've owned a orange rockerverb stack, marshall JMP nodded, jcm800 84 model, several mesa boogie amps,all my with fender. This amp covers all of the tones I want and need. The vintage clean tones are the best you can get, not to mention driving this amp with factory gain. I should also note, I play a fender American deluxe stratocaster and just comes to life with bluesy/jazzy melodies. I am very picky but this vox bleeds me away with pure British classic vox tone. This will be the last amp I have. I cant stop playing when I get going due to the monster tonal qualities. It more than serves my purpose and blows my friends blackstar ht out the door. Great job to vox and kudos to zZounds for the play as you pay.
Musical Background:
30 plus years of playing in bands; blues, rock, country,hard rock. I have a 2009 fender American deluxe stratocaster, a les paul
Musical Style:
I play classic rock, blues, country and hard rock. It covers then all very well.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 14, 2011
"if you buy this amp you wont be disappointed. the red model is great too, limited to 550 so get it while it lasts."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
although theres many other amps and instruments i would love to aquire, until i can afford them ill be perfectly content with my vox.
Sound
the tone of this amp is as good as anything ive heard. it has amazing crisp highs and when accompanied by the built in reverb its soothing to the ears. i love a nice clean tone with mellow bass and a nice mid punch and thats just what i get from the ac30. im a song writer and guitarist and i know when the shows start lining up this amp will get me through even the toughest crowds.
Features
its nice having a top boost input for really piercing the ears with extra gain. also included is a reverb dial which is up there with the twin, and a tremolo which is a sweet little bonus.
Ease of Use
its as simple as they come. let the tubes warm up a couple minutes and youre ready to play. i play a les paul through it and even with the heavy gain and distortion the amp keeps its legendary clear sound. so id say its one of the most versatile amps on the market.
Quality
solid. although it weighs in at around 75 pounds, its worth all the weight. the knobs and switches are tight and durable. one small feature that is really nice is the metal speaker cage on the back that protects the tubes and speakers from getting damaged. it seems like vox really went the extra mile to make sure they not only give you an excellent product, but to give you something that will last a long time.
Value
ive played expensive orange and marshall amps that play loud and have great tone, but are they worth the high dollar? for a grand i got all i need and more. i was going to get a fender twin but decided to save some money and go with the vox, and let me tell you, im glad i did.
Manufacturer Support
havent talked to vox about the amp, but zzounds was great dealing with. the play as you pay deal is super. not to mention i got the amp two days after putting the order in.
The Wow Factor
i wouldnt say i "lust" for it, thats what women are for. but the design and beauty of the red color, the argile speaker cover, thats all nice, but when i plug into it i lose sense of whats around me and let the sound sooth me. its just the right look, loudness, and tone.
31 of 34 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.