Vox AC15 Custom Twin Guitar Combo Amplifier (15 Watts, 2x12")

Vox AC15 Custom Twin Guitar Combo Amplifier (15 Watts, 2x12")

This legendary all tube 15-watt combo amp boasts two 12" Celestion Greenbacks and rich reverb and tremolo effects to add some spice to your sound.

Overall User Ratings (based on 10 ratings)
Overall:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Sound:
5 out of 5 stars
Features:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Value:
5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
4 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(10)
Submitted September 30, 2014 by M Campbell
"Vox AC15C2 Guitar Combo Amplifier"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I was on the fence as to whether I purchase the Fender Hot Rod Deluxe III or the Vox AC15 C2. Though I already own two Fender amps and, therefore, familiar with their quality and sound, I decided to go with the Vox because, for close to the same price, offered more of what I was looking for in a tube amp.
Sound
The most important factor is the sound. I have a good variety of guitars to choose from, each with different pick up configurations (Stratocaster single coils to Gibson Hummbuckers to P90’s, etc.). With the choice of the “normal” or “top boost” channels, along with the reverb and vibrato settings, I’m able to create an endless array of tones. In fact, I’m still discovering what this beauty can do. She has excellent clean tones and when pushed, can really create some great overdriven growls. I don’t really play metal or thrash styles, so I’m not looking to get massive distortion tones. If that’s your bag, you’ll need to use your pedals. If you want that crunchy, growling “natural” overdriven sound, this is it!
Features
Unlike the Fender Hot Rod Deluxe II, the Vox comes with a vibrato option which I feel is just about mandatory if you want to play certain blues and “swamp rock” (I just don’t understand why Fender does not offer this on the Hot Rods nor the Blues Jr. amps !?!)
Ease of Use
Nothing overly complicated. It's pretty straightforward as far of the controls are concerned. The control knobs are very touch sensitive, just a little adjustment can make a big difference.
Quality
As far as looks go, she’s a class act! Fro the price of a limited edition AC15 C1 in red or purple, I got this AC15 C2 in her classic and iconic natural state, which I think looks way cooler than the limit colors, anyway. She’s just a stunning piece of art. Not to mention how rock solid it is, as well. As I mentioned earlier, this is one heavy amp. I about killed myself lifting her out of the box. You will definitely need a roadie or another band member to help you transport her around if you gig with her.
Value
I took a chance and stepped outside my Fender box and rolled the dice on this Vox AC15 C2, and I’m very glad I did. For basically the same price as the Fender Hot Rod Deluxe II, I got much more (head)bang for my buck. I highly recommend this amp to anyone who plays blues, tradition rock, hard rock, classic rock, power pop…and just about anything else!
Manufacturer Support
Have yet to deal with them. Let's hope I don't ever need to.
The Wow Factor
The Vox sound and look are iconic. She defiantly has the "WOW!" factor in spades.
Musical Background:
Songwriter/Musician
Musical Style:
Blues/Blues based Rock, Classic Rock, Hard Rock, Power Pop
37 of 37 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 7, 2014 by Jor-El T
"the tone you're searching for"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Was originally opting for the c1 version as a practice amp to keep the wear down on my vintage musicman hd 130(130 watts of tube power is not he best for small rooms) and saw this "twin" version. Its the same cab and reverb tank as the ac30 but with the ac15 chassis. With two greenbacks it really opens up the tone and pushes hard enough to feel the depth of the bass. Its definitely a heavy amp but is sufficient for small to medium venues and perfect for practice. I don't have to turn down to a tonesucking level when I rehearse and that bigger reverb tank sounds great. I love the jangly, slightly overdriven tone that vox amps produce, very unique and easy to pinpoint with a trained, discerning ear. My band's music is heavily influenced by the Mersey sound(think of the the pre-Sgt Pepper era Beatles) and now its right there on point! Only thing I wish is that vox would include the foot switch instead of as an option.
Sound
Very 'chimey' and jangly; THE unmistakable sound of Vox. Two speaker twin really pushes the sound and makes the amount much more responsive. Top boost really make this thing come alive especially with single coils!
Features
Love the bigger reverb tank and the onboard tremolo has a nice warm sound. Only con: no included footswitch
Ease of Use
Very easy to dial in your tone and the top boost channel does a great job of adding a natural and subtle overdrive that's capable of crunching at max.
Quality
Very well built, looks and feels like a much more expensive instrument. Plus the ac30 box will have everyone fooled! It is very heavy though almost close to the weight of an ac30 secondly would recommend casters or an ata case to make transport easier.
Value
For an all tube quality gigging/recording/rehearsal amp from a highly reputable manufacturer for under a grand is a godsend and should NOT be passed up! IMO there is no better value unless of course you've got an extra 300 for the ac30.
Manufacturer Support
No problems yet. Will see how well they respond if and when the time comes
The Wow Factor
The twin speakers and bigger cabinet are the deal breakers here and it sits right at home in almost any situation from recording to rehearsal and gigging.
Musical Background:
Semi-Professional Guitarist
Musical Style:
Pop
16 of 16 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 18, 2013 by Steven Giordano in Rochester, NY
"THIS is the sound in your head you've been searching for!"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
One of the finest amps I have ever played and I've been playing over 35 years. Great cleans, chimey highs,Tone cut ,Tremelo and Rerverb...2 Celestion Greenbacks and a sound that will knock your socks off. One of the Best amps you'll ever hear. Worth every penny Vox quality through and through!Best amp I HAVE EVER OWNED!
Musical Background:
been playing over 35 years, I play guitar, slide and bass
Musical Style:
country, blues, classic rock, slide, whatever I feel like and whatever way the band wants to go
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 5, 2021 by Susie Smith in Nixa, MO
"15 watts of British bliss (thank you England)"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Best amplifier I’ve played through in years, blown away at the sound and feel of this unit! It does one thing, and it does it very well!!!! This is old school, all analog, tube goodiness. Simple easy to read knobs for fine adjustment of sound and grit, plus a great sounding reverb tank and tremolo. First off…this beast has wayyyyyyyyyy more volume than what other 15 watt amps have. For instance, compared to a blues jr at the same 15 watts, this things just rips your head off! Beautiful touch sensitive creamy growl when pushed and clean chimy highs that sparkle in a 3d sound I’ve never heard before. I own a Marshall dsl 40 that gets mean and sounds good clean but this amp is toe to toe when things get beefy and crunchy. Only thing it doesn’t have over the Marshall is a higher gain distortion but I am totally satisfied with what it does. When people say “think ACDC”…their not kidding, it’s there and without any pedals at all. Want more distortion this thing loves pedals. Was not expecting such a strong sounding performer, should have pulled the trigger on this years ago. You will love the sound of this amp, just buy it!
Sound
Sound is phenomenal. Totally happy with the $900 big ones I ponied up for the experience. People buy smart phones that depreciate in in just a few years where as I bought a legacy piece that my children and their children can enjoy.
Features
Most useful feature in this amp to me is the addition of reverb and tremolo circuits. Some amps don’t come with these and I think it’s important to at least offer these staple effects. There are no least useful features. This amp keeps it simple. All the materials on the amp look and feel top notch. Yes it is heavy as some complain but it is sturdy, definitely doesn’t feel like it would break apart if it were abused while taking to gigs. Built to last a lifetime plus!
Ease of Use
Getting food sounds are easy if you know what you like. Even if you are new to guitar and don’t know what to adjust I feel like it would be easy as this is a simple amp to adjust. Just turn some knobs till you like what you hear. Works week with pedals.
Quality
Product is made very very well! I wouldn’t have a problem firing this amp up after throwing it down a flight of stairs. After all, that’s how Vox advertised it’s toughness back in the day when they first started to sell them to working musicians. I bet this amp last a very long time before it becomes unusable, I’d say 100 years plus, maybe longer depending on who cares for it.
Value
I feel like the price is justifiable for the product I received. Even though this amp is from China, the quality surpasses my expectations and I am very happy with my purchase.
Manufacturer Support
I have never dealt with Vox on this amp or gear in the past. If I have an issue I feel like it should be handled professionally gu en it is a such a well established company with years of experience.
The Wow Factor
The appeal of this amp for me comes from Rock n roll history, especially the Beatles!
Musical Background:
Rock n roll, blues, country, indie, punk, heavy metal
Musical Style:
Rock!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 22, 2021 by Kevin C in West Paducah, KY
"best amp for the price"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have had several amps in my lifetime.The Fender '65 Twin Reverb my cost 1, 400.00 very good amp but was getting some age on it and I did not want to have to worry about tube change out Etc. so I sold it and decided to change up and try a marshall. not very satisfied with it so I was about ready to go back to a fender when I read the review on the VOX. after reading reviews and deciding it was about half the price of the fender I thought I would take a chance. it was the best decision I've made in a long time. This thing sounds fantastic. I have a music room so therefore the 15 watts is perfect. plenty of volume if you wanted to play a venue somewhere but for indoors and close quarters you can turn it down and still get the quality of sound from every string. I can't say enough about this amp other than if you buy it you will not regret it. I love mine and will not go back to the others. The only thing I wish Vox would do is add a slipcover for their amp at that price. The one I bought extra was not bad and pretty good quality for 30 plus bucks .
Musical Background:
played guitar and banjo for years
Musical Style:
All kinds
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 23, 2015 by Kyle R in Katy, TX
"Beautiful and Historic Sound"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I searched for months trying out every amp I could get my hands on and read every review out there in my quest for a new combo amp. The Vox AC15c2 was the most musical-sounding and warmest I could find. Once in awhile, something would pop up on my radar but for one reason or another, it would fall off and the AC15 twin would be there waiting for me to come back to it. This thing is everything I want, need, and expect from an amplifier. Not needing the stadium-ready loudness of the AC30, the 15W'er is absolutely just right for my home playing, band practice, and gigging small venues. The only thing I wish Vox would do is include a cover with purchase and that they still offered the tubular chrome stands of yesteryear. Check out the Vox Story on You Tube for some extra info!
Musical Background:
35 years of playing everywhere.
Musical Style:
Rock and blues.
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 28, 2020 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Love It"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It's like an AC30, but you don't have to blow out all the windows to use it.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 12, 2014 by darren k
"an"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp does sound great. At first i did not like it, i am a modern amp guy so i was not used to the earthy,organic sound,so i went back to listen to some old classics and realized it sounds awsome.i just needed to grow up.
Musical Background:
punk rock,blues,rock,pop,alt.
13 of 15 people (87%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 7, 2013 by Ed L
"Vox Ac15c2"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Perfect for bedroom and playing with a drummer. nice crunch, I love the clean sound it provides. Sounds good with any guitar, especially with Strats. Tone control is awesome and the boost channel gives you a lot more variety. All in all I love this amp.
9 of 11 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 10, 2017 by Lando Texano in Dallas, TX
"My preference to the 1x12"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall fantastic. I used to (key phrase "used to") have an AC30. My wife got tired of competing against it from across the house with the TV This amp is so much more small room friendly. Sounds as expected. Even fits my VS30 stand. Neutral on support....no issues
Musical Background:
intermediate player of 15 years
Musical Style:
50's and 60's classic rock; country; blues
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.