Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Vox AC15C1 Custom Guitar Combo Amplifier (15 Watts, 1x12")

Vox AC15C1 Guitar Combo Amplifier (15 Watts, 1x12")

The Vox AC15C1 Custom offers chiming, classic Vox tone. With Normal and Top-Boost channels, plus spring reverb, this tube amp will take you back to the '60s.

Overall User Ratings (based on 31 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(31)
Submitted October 6, 2015 by JJ S in Victoria, VA
"Wow!!!! I love my new Vox"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been playing guitar for almost 23 years and like most I started out with what I could afford working my way up. I had never tested the waters of tube amps and I've always owned combos and just use pedals etc. to try and achieve the tube sound. I was playing 4 & 5 times per month and then I took time off from my music for several years and sold a lot of my equipment. I purchased a Fender Frontman 2x12 and a couple individual pedals just to use to play around the house thinking I wouldn't be gigging again. I happened to play a friend's Fender Blues Jr. Tweed and fell in love with the tone and I had to have one but I always research things before I purchase and I'm glad that I did. I had never played a Vox before and after I plugged it in and let the tubes warm up, WOW!!!!! It has an almost sparkle tone to it and when you turn your volume knob on your guitar, this thing will bite. I'm hooked and the wattage is plenty for me because I'm going to mic everything else anyway and I can't stand playing with other musicians who need to crank their equipment wide open on stage (even when its running through the PA. Don't let the wattage scare you, this thing has plenty of power and I would never need anything more than this. If you're on the fence about buying one, do it! I took advantage of the zZounds payment plan which makes it really nice! Love Vox and love zZounds!!!!
Musical Background:
23 Years
Musical Style:
Country, Southern and Classic Rock, Blues, Soul, Funk and Carolina Beach Music!
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 1, 2011 by a customer from charter.net
"Solid Tool, Great Tone!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a great sounding amp, I have been playing a lot of medium sized clubs and hasn't disappointed me yet.
Sound
This amp has many sounds, I use it for Blues Rock and it fills both the genre's very efficiently, I find it to have a great clean tone and a light overdrive. Both are very useable.
Features
It would have been nice to have channel switching.
Ease of Use
Pretty easy to dial in a real decent tone.
Quality
It is built heavy, I have been using mine a lot in the last year and a half.
Value
Great price.
The Wow Factor
Dumb question. really!
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Blues / Rock, Rock.
21 of 21 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 9, 2012 by Johnny C in Boca Raton, FL
"AC15C1"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is an awesome amp. It has really good clean sound, as well as an nice overdriven sound. I love the ability to crank the channel volume, and lower the master so I can get a nice crunch, while being at bedroom volume at the same time. Takes pedals very well. Overall, a great amp.
Musical Background:
I've been playing guitar for eight years. I've played at a couple different Churches, and am going to study commercial music.
Musical Style:
Instrumental Rock, Joe Satriani, Paul Gilbert.
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 11, 2013 by Gator M in Fort Worth, TX
"Vox AC15 112"
This is one of the very best amps in this price range, without question. I've always like vintage amps and own several --54 Bassman 115, 59 Bassman 412, Concert 410, 37 Gibson EH-150 112, as well as a Peavy Delta Blues which is a great blues amp. Never owned a Vox before this one. I had tried a friends and fell in love with it. Having played for more than 40 years, I learned long ago that the 15-30 watt amps are my faves because I can overdrive them naturally and get better sound than any pedal can create. It also gives you great flexibility in your live performance by using your guitar's volume controls to achieve more drive with increased volume. The unique part of this amp is 2 fold. First, of course, you can dial in the clean chimey sounds that the early Beatles, the Byrds, and the Tom Petty get with the 3 12AX7 preamp tubes combined with EL84 tubes--a match made in heaven. I expected that. But what really surprised me was the unique tone you can get by overdriving this little monster. The natural overdrive of this amp delivers more natural sustain than I've ever gotten w/o a box (or without using a huge Marshall stack in a large setting). The natural sustain hangs on completely until you hit the next note. And let's face it, in 90% of the places most of us play, 15 watts of pure tube power is all you'll need. So getting this kind of sustaining overdrive in a small amp is really special. I play mainly blues, but also some rock. I know some blues purists will castigate me for leaving my 54 bassman (24 watts) at home and bringing my Vox, but I remember playing with Little Milton, who always played through an AC30, and he was a blues diety. Do yourself a favor before you spend $600 on another amp and try out this baby---spend a little time with it in a room because the settings are very sensitive, but make sense once you spend about 10 minutes with it. The spring reverb is adequate, not great. The tremolo is useful and more than adequate, but the tone is the king in this little beast. Don't let the brand name fool you--this amp can do it well in rock, blues or country.
Musical Background:
40+ years, guitar and vocals, play professionally. Have opened for and backed national acts.
Musical Style:
blues and rock
14 of 15 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 12, 2017 by G R in Susanville , CA
"Vox ac15c1"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
As soon as I fired it up I knew this Amp was a winner.... the tone of either channel is outstanding .... I found that For many tunes the "Natural" sound of the amp added just the right amount of "drive" to enhance my instrument without use of any "effects" ... the Reverb is warm and easy to dial in ..all in all this is now probably my favorite Amp of all time, except perhaps the early 80's JMP 50w lead that I sold (like and Idiot) a few years back ... the AC15C1 is Great !! Ps I won't sell this one...
Musical Background:
50 years of various venues (largest 4000) Guitarist, lead singer,songwriter, pro tools
Musical Style:
R&B with ballad rock combo... not sure what to calll my style other than it makes ya dance and smile.......
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 1, 2015 by David in Boonton Township, NJ
"Chime Central"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Still has the sound of the British Invasion nailed. The complexity of tone is stunning. Think early Beatles, Brian May, The Edge, and more recently, Brad Paisley. Using the master volume the output can be controlled while retaining your clean to raw sounds. I play a 57' Strat reissue and a Stratosonic [with 1 P90] through the unit. Tweak the treble and bass and I'm good to go. For that push over the cliff I use an original Tech 21 Sans Amp set to lead. Over the years I've played through Music Man, Marshall, Fender, [The only constant is a 1966 Ampeg Reverber Rocket]. The Ampeg wins the reverb and tremolo battle, but tonally the AC 15 the the champ.
Musical Background:
I've been playing since 1970, in pro and non-pro situations. Currently play to keep up my chops up and have fun.
Musical Style:
Rock in all it's forms
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 13, 2010 by a customer from aceweb.com
"Vox finally back again like the early days!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Its a Keeper!
Sound
If you really like the Vox sound for British Invasion along with Classic Rock.... this one is great !!! played Vox all my life ! there back with this new design and it couldn't be better... I've had mine for about 3 months no problems so far...it's build pretty damm good! don't worry about the china made thing ...it's under strict Vox British design and control in China!
Ease of Use
GrEat!
Quality
Just about as good as anything
Value
Top Notch!
Manufacturer Support
Any problems contact Korg in New York... good support!
Musical Background:
Pro...British Invasion
Musical Style:
Professional Classic Rock
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 26, 2013 by Joshua M in Wetumpka, AL
"Vox AC15"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a great sounding amplifier for the mid sixties classic rock sound. Put a fuzz into it and you're in psychedelia heaven.
Sound
It has the exact clean tone I always wanted to get out of a guitar amp. Chimey and harmonically complex. This combo produces amazing cleans with overtones you can hum along to. If you need more overdrive you'll have to buy a pedal.
Features
The tremolo is a nice touch. The reverb is underwhelming. It's perfectly simple.
Ease of Use
Not much fiddling needs to be done. Leave the top boost alone and crank the normal channel. Your guitars knobs can do the rest. Use top boost for clean sounds and maybe a fuzz pedal.
Quality
Easily the most upsetting characteristic about this amp. I have had it a year but replaced the V1 tube for a Mullard reissue. The tubes sit on a pcb board that flexes under slight pressure. It's very unnerving changing tubes in this amp. The stock tubes make a lot of noise. This amp has terrible tube rattle but unfortunately most combos at this price point do too. Be very gentle with this product.
Value
ZZounds helps you own this amp at only 150 dollars a month. If you're on the fence about this one just give it a try. It is a good value at 600 dollars. I may try out the hand wired in the future.
Manufacturer Support
Korg is saving Vox. Their customer service is great. Vox amplifiers may have (sadly) never been built this well.
The Wow Factor
It looks very classy. One might say dapper. It sounds different too.
Musical Background:
I've played for almost 2 years now and I am a hobbyist.
Musical Style:
Classic rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 27, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Great guitar amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp is fantastic. There is a big difference from going from modeling amps to tube amps. When playing the amp it feels like what I'm playing through my fingers is directly translating to the amp. The payment plan is great and I am very happy with zZounds service.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 10, 2014 by Ian D
"Amazing amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I tried out several amps in this price range before making a purchase, and the AC15 is the way to go. The tone is amazing and is very responsive to your playing. Turning up the channel volume gives you a beautiful overdriven sound that is superior to any overdrive you will get with a pedal. The tremolo effect sounds great and so does the reverb as long as you keep it on a low setting. It can get a little out of hand past half way up. The only thing complaint I have is that you cannot switch between the Normal and Top Boost channels, you have to unplug your cord and plug it into another input. (although, you could solve this by purchasing an A/B switch). Also I will add that if you think you don't like this amp at first, give it some time and really play around with the settings. A small change in the Treble or Bass will make a big difference in tone. So make sure to get it dialed in correctly for the sound you like. I purchased this amp to "hold me over" until I could afford a Fender Deluxe Reverb, but I like it so much that I will probably keep it forever.
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 10, 2010 by a customer from losergeek.com
"So far, very happy."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
With any luck I will never get rid of this amp. It seems to be a good one for upgrads/mods, so I see it being a permanent part of my collection in one role or another.
Sound
This amp has the tone that I've been searching for my whole life. That creamy natural british overdrive. It's just perfect. I used to play a marshall jcm600, and really pushed the tubes in the clean channel to get that sound, but never used the dirty channel. This amp breaks up really nicely at low volumes adn really doesn't need a dirty channel. If you are looking for a clean amp though, look somewhere else - you can get the vox chime if you keep the gain low, but you're never going to get fender type tones out of it. I was a little worried about the volume considering I play in a loud 7 peice punk band, and at practice the master volume sits comfortably around 5; it's really loud....not just for a 15 watt amp, but for any 1x12.
Features
Not a lot of features - 2 channels, one with EQ, one without. But the analog trem is really nice, and although some people find the reverb a little muddy, this version is a big improvement over the last one and I find it nice dialed in around 4. I don't know technically what type of reverb it is, but it sounds more like a hall reverb than a spring if that helps.
Ease of Use
Can't go wrong - couple knobs, couple switches. Crank the channel volume for overdrive, stay on the master for clean. Done and done.
Quality
Hard to tell so far. It seems solid and well built. The metal switches and inputs are definitely an improvement over plastic, but Vox has a reputation these days, so I feel better having a warrantee rather than picking one up second hand. The back is semi-closed as well, which gives it a good bit of weight, but makes it feel more solid which is good when an amp is made of MDF.
Value
I picked this up for 610$ canadian - cheaper than a blues jr and 150$ cheaper than the old versin of this amp went for. You really can't beat the price. I can replace the tubes 2 or 3 times and still be under what I think this amp is worth.
Manufacturer Support
Dunno yet - hopefully won't need to find out.
The Wow Factor
This is one sexy amp. Classic Vox.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Punk, Rock, Indie
11 of 16 people (69%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 16, 2012 by Ed Adams in Elmira Heights, NY
"It's all about Tone!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I made the decision to guy this amp after buying it's little brother (AC4TV8* used, and being totally blown away by the sound that was coming from it, and I am not disappointed. I can not believe how loud 15 watts is first of all, having used a solid state amp all of my life I had never even used a tube amp so I had no idea what to expect. But volume is not the most amazing part about this amp, it is the tone. Whether you are playing clean, or using reverb or the tremolo functions, the clarity and punch you get from this thing is remarkable. I'm selling my old solid state because after hearing this thing I can't see myself ever wanting to use it again. Whether you are playing rock or blues, you won't find a better sounding amp in my opinion, so do yourself a favor and grab one of these bad boys! Have not had to use support so rating is irrelevant.
Musical Background:
Been playing guitar for 47 years, been in bands and performed solo, also play harmonica, some keys, and sing.
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, blues
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 24, 2012 by Rick C in Fort Smith, AR
"AC15C1"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Excellent amp! Not too crazy about the reverb, but tone is great!
Musical Background:
30 yrs, guitar and lap steel, learning Oud. Rarely professional, play with friends at home.
Musical Style:
No boundaries with respect to style. I love good music, period.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 1, 2012 by Sonny C in Venice, FL
"Could be all I need..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very impressed with my new Vox AC15... Even right out of the box! Once I upgraded the tubes it was even more impressive. I have been using a Marshall JTM45 Bluesbreaker for many, many years... I needed something smaller. And this amp already comes with my fav speaker... and after hearing DEMO's online I pretty much knew it could do the job. I have absolutely no problem with headroom... and if I did... just adding another 16 ohm cabinet would bring it down to 8 ohms... or if you needed even more... Use a more efficient speaker. Now, if you still don't have enough headroom... Find a new band! LOL It's a great amp... I also own a Marshall 50 watt Plexi besides my Bluesbreaker and a Dr. Z Remedy Clone.
Musical Background:
Guitarist, started earning money playing in 1974 at 16... Never looked back...
Musical Style:
Old School Soul, Classic Rock, Blues, Jump Blues... Americana (Country Rock)
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 12, 2012 by Rick S in Riner, VA
"Sweet amp with tone!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This was my first tube amplifier purchase. It has a vox tone that with careful EQing you can get a pristine clean to a tube overdrive. The reverb is nice and much improved over the older AC15CC. The AC15C1's reverb tails off "after" a sound, as opposed to where you sound like your in a room. Tremolo sounds good (hardly ever use it). I did do a "bright mod" on the C8 capacitor and it sounds less harsh. The Celestion greenback speaker is good but I am going to get an AlNiCo Celestion blue that sounds less dark. I love this amplifier for it's crisp sound. Well work the money.
Musical Background:
10 years. playing the guitar. Recording artist.
Musical Style:
Rock, shoegaze.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 23, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Red Edition a MUST!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Being the owner of a lot of Tube Amps, this is truly one of the most impressive! I am shocked that I love this thing that much! Like I said, the Red Edition is completely different!
Sound
VOX really outdid themselves with the AC15C1 Red Edition. Only 1000 of these were made, and they were custom built! The sound is True VOX! As with valve amps, each have their own character, and this baby is unreal! I tried a regular C1, and it was a little sterile, but overall nice... I don't know if its my imagination, but this little red box is a BEAST of Tone! If you can do it, GET ONE!!!
Features
The Amp itself is amazing! Beautiful tone, the Greenback only adds to the splendor! I am a mod freak, and I don't think I am going to touch this one at all! Until it needs new valves... The only drawback is No Foot Switch! I think it is pretty chinsy not to include the $30 pedal... But, that's just me...
Ease of Use
Right out of the box, 20 minutes to let the valves warm up, and BAM!!! It was roaring...
Quality
I am very picky, and this amp was put together FLAWLESSLY!!! Kudos to VOX on the Red Edition...
Value
Excellent Price for a wonderful amp...
Manufacturer Support
I hope I never will... Korg are creeps to deal with...
The Wow Factor
The look of this Amp is PURE Vintage! And true Quality!!!
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock and Roll
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 1, 2012 by Rashad Wilson in Chesapeake, VA
"Great Amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This amp is unreal! A 15-watt, all tube combo that packs a lot of power. If you're into small to medium venues this amp is perfect. Even if you're using it as a practice amp in your room it still has great tone at low levels. If you're a pedal player like me this amp will do well with them. No effects loop like the ac15 twin or ac30, but still executes great tone.
Musical Background:
6+ years jamming with friends
Musical Style:
Indie/Alternative rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 17, 2012 by John N in Chambersburg, PA
"Amazing amp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The amp itself is incredible, the tone is so clean and anything you run through it sounds like gold.
Sound
The tone of this thing is so clean, and even on the normal channel without an EQ it sounds incredible. I play worship in church (Elevation Worship style) and it works so well, but I also play in a pop punk band, and it still works great.
Features
The amp has two inputs, one that has an EQ and one that doesn't. I prefer to use the Top Boost channel, which does have an eq, just because I like a little more bass.
Ease of Use
Takes pedals extremely well and sounds amazing right out of the box.
Quality
Very nicely made and feels like a tank. I wouldn't go throwing it out any windows, but this thing could take a beating and will last a while.
Value
Extremely good deal, and such an affordable amp.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed any support.
The Wow Factor
It's a vox. The grill and everything just looks really nice, and is already turning heads in church and at shows.
Musical Background:
4 years playing in live settings
Musical Style:
Elevation Worship style worship in church and pop punk.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to