Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Tobias Toby Deluxe IV Electric Bass

Tobias Toby Deluxe IV Electric Bass

A great value on a great-feeling bass, the Toby Deluxe IV sports a comfortable, low-profile bridge and a Tonexpressor knob for robust tone-shaping options.

Overall User Ratings (based on 12 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(12)
Submitted September 1, 2012 by robert k in nashville, TN
"extremely satisfied "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The guitars overall feel is out of this world. I've always wanted a Tobias bass but couldn't afford one that would be $2200 or more, and I was always unsure about one that came off the line like this one. After playing it at practice, I was stunned. You just can not go wrong with this bass, its 110%!
Musical Background:
7 years playing bass in my band
Musical Style:
Rock progressive rock metal blues
54 of 56 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 14, 2014 by B Harris in Mira Loma, CA
"Tobias Toby Deluxe IV Electric Bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am amazed how great this bass sounds. Needed a little setup out of box but nevertheless this is an excellent sounding bass.
Musical Background:
1year
Musical Style:
Jazz, rock, classic rock, heavy metal, blues.
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 3, 2020 by Jason D in Brooklyn, OH
"Great bass the rock machine"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I’m gonna say not too good for any other genre but rock, or metal but this thing blows me away . It is the rock machine , the sound is undeniable! The pick ups some times buzz but I’m not gonna change em because they sound so beastly ! Great 300 for you too spend especially if your into like Black Sabbath , or Cream or any rock / metal this bass is balls out all day . The neck feels great , and controls are easy to identify. Stays in tune , even you like the high end stuff get this for a couple rock songs great instrument .
Musical Background:
Been playing bass 13 years
Musical Style:
I like classic rock , metal , and r and B
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 19, 2015 by Clint C in Kalispell, MT
"Fantastic bass!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have played drums for years and want to learn a new instrument. So I bought this bass. I looked at purchasing a $700+ bass, but bought this one to be cheap and save some money. I wasn't expecting much, but have been pleasantly surprised. The fit and finish of the instrument is flawless. Not one scratch, nick, ding, color inconsistency, workmanship issue, etc. It is light and plays effortlessly. It doesn't let you down in the sound arena either. It sounds just as good as other basses I have heard costing a lot more. Another reason for choosing this bass over other brands is the lifetime warranty. Overall I am thoroughly impressed with everything about this bass. I highly recommend it.
Musical Background:
I have played music for 34 years. Played in bands, toured, studio, etc.
Musical Style:
Rock, Jazz, Classical, etc.
11 of 12 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 2, 2014 by David Vance in Cuyahoga Falls, OH
"Great Bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm new to bass guitar and wanted a decent starter bass. This Tobias bass has been outstanding. Great tone, great style, great feel and easy on the wallet. I'm very pleased with this bass!
Musical Background:
Been playing on and off for over 30 years.
Musical Style:
Rock, Punk, Metal
12 of 13 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 15, 2019 by Luke M in Greensboro, NC
"Excellent bass, both value and quality."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After deliberating for a day, and bothering the heck out of zZounds customer support, I decided on the Satin Walnut Toby. I am incredibly happy with this bass. Out of the box playability, beautiful construction and excellent tone. Highly recommend.
Musical Background:
15 years
Musical Style:
rock, folk, acoustic
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 2, 2015 by Shawn G in Mt. Vernon , OH
"Toby 4"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought this bass because I needed a stage back up, and didn't have much extra cash at the time. For the money, you can't go wrong. I owned a Tobias Toby previously, this is no where as high end. But I honestly cannot complain. I really enjoy playing it. The active eq is a real treat at $250!
Musical Background:
25+ years, guitar and bass. currently bassist in a hardcore/ punk band
Musical Style:
Hardcore/ punk, metal
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 7, 2015 by Wes C in Morrison, TN
"This is an entry level bass?"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am a guitar player who wanted to dabble in bass a bit (I know, another guitar player who thinks they can play bass). In one of the bands I played in the bassist had an original Tobias made by Michael Tobias, a neck through beauty with active electronics. Although this bass is a bolt on neck, the neck heel is nicely contoured and very comfortable. The neck is shaped nicely, not too thin and flat on the back. It has a U shape to it. The tuning keys hold tune and are smooth to turn. The strings don't hang in the nut either. The fret work is adequate. I might have the ends dressed to get rid of some slightly rough edges. I also wish the top edge fret markers were slightly larger because I have trouble seeing them in low light. They are rather small and there are no fretboard inlays of any kind. The pickups and electronics are what sell this thing. The tones this bass can produce are what I would expect from a much more expensive bass. Altogether, I'd say this bass is about 60-75% of what an original Tobias is for a lot less money. At least to me, an inexperienced bass player who knows what a great bass sounds like.
Musical Background:
Jam at home
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, folk, jam
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us