Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Taylor 214ce Koa Acoustic-Electric Guitar (with Gig Bag)

Taylor 214ce Koa Acoustic-Electric Guitar (with Gig Bag)

Taylor's signature Grand Auditorium sound gets a boost from the resonant, highly figured Hawaiian koa back and sides found on this 214ce acoustic-electric.

Overall User Ratings (based on 11 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(11)
Submitted June 11, 2018 by Charlie Mashburn in Sapulpa, OK
"Great guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ordered on a Monday, came in on Wednesday. Right out of the box, it sounded beautiful. Very comfortable to play and will definitely turn a lot of heads, whether you're just jamming or performing. I do recommend eventually sending it in to the Taylor factory and upgrading to the ES-2 system and upgrading from plastic to bone on the saddle and from plastic to ebony bridge pins, but this guitar is definitely one that's meant to be held on to for years.
Musical Background:
Playing guitar and bass for 15 years
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Folk, Fingerstyle
27 of 29 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 20, 2019 by Ed M in Harrisville, WV
"This 214 CE Koa proves"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
You dont need to spend 2000 or more dollars on a Taylor to have a really nice one.Right out of the very nice soft case the tone was balanced and articulate. It played absolutely perfect.Very light in weight and extremely resonate with excellent sustain.I must admit I was not a Taylor fan at all but I thought why not give a reasonable priced one a try. I did not expect to like it much because every one I had played in the past including an 812 and a 600 series all sounded very bright to me. They did have a very nice neck but the tone turned me off.The 214CE-K is completely different tone wise. Yes, it has the same neck carve and playability as those but the tone was so much better to my ears even though the others were way more expensive.Such great even balance across all the strings.Not a bad note anywhere on the neck.
Musical Background:
Playing guitar since 1964, I have 20 guitars of every major brand
Musical Style:
Blues , country, rock
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 26, 2019 by Jason Dozier in Indianapolis, IN
"Best guitar I've ever purchased, or played!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So, I waited a few weeks to write this review, as it's the most expensive guitar I've ever purchased, and it was a HUGE financial decision. I went back and forth between Martin and Taylor (much like I would deciding a Les Paul vs Strat). I leaned toward Martin due to the name, but there were just too many options with Martin in the price range I was looking for that it made it more difficult finding the 'right' one for my use. Taylor has only a few options, each with their specific use, which made it a little easier. I play small bars and venues as the only guitar player in a duo and a trio. I liked the 114 when I played it at a local guitar shop, but the extra $100 or whatever the difference was to go up to the 214 seemed to pull me in that direction - I figured if I'm spending this much, go for the little extra quality. I couldn't have been happier with my purchase. Ordering blind is always a risk, and I've sent back two other lower priced guitars to zZounds before finally deciding to go all in with the Taylor. I will NOT be returning this Taylor 214ce. It is now glued to my fingers and I have no intention of separating the two. The neck is so smooth and feels like velvet (maybe a bad comparison but it's mine and meant to be a positive compliment!) I've already played a gig with it within a week of purchase, and I can't wait to get back out to play more with it. Definitely my number one go-to guitar. The setup was incredible. Like butter. I'm a stickler about dirty or old string, but even though I've gigged already with this guitar, I still haven't even changed them! I'm afraid of the setup changing on me, but will be doing so in the next day or so. I also watched the Taylor video series on care for your acoustic, and found some things I've either been doing wrong for 40 years of string changing, and a few other great tips for cleaning.Finally, the 'semi hard' gig back they include is better than just a bad, and maybe even somewhat better than a cheap hard case. Easy open and close, but will eventually likely buy a hard case. Again, I plan to keep this beauty forever - no doubt about that!I'm now a Taylor man! And proud to show my guitar off to anyone that will look at it!
Musical Background:
40+ years performer
Musical Style:
Mostly classic rock - electric and acoustic shows.
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 8, 2014 by Champe Barton
"Taylor 214 ce DLX - K"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a beautiful guitar with a rich, beautiful sound. I was thrilled with it when I got it and it was even better than I had expected it to be.
Musical Background:
Recreational self-taught
Musical Style:
Rock, blues rock
16 of 18 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 27, 2017 by Greg M in Bailey, CA
"perfect...."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Right out of the box, this guitar was flawless. Set-up was great, everything about this guitar was fabulous. Dots not diamonds on the frets, and white binding not cream, but it is easy to love this guitar. Smaller, lighter, brighter. Electronics sound great too!
Musical Background:
50 years, studio, back-up rythem guitar.
Musical Style:
any
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 1, 2018 by a customer from gmail.com in Oakhurst, CA
"Great Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Right out of the bag it sounded good but had a buzz from the 9th fret down,the strings it came with made the action a bit stiff,after replacing the strings with Elixir Nanoweb 80/20 Bronze Extra Light and a light truss rod adjustment " relief " this guitar's action is very nice it sounds and looks great ! I definitely recommend this guitar for it's price range,another well made taylor Rock On !
Musical Background:
Self taught 38 years
Musical Style:
Rock, southern rock, country, blues
16 of 19 people (84%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 12, 2020 by Don W in Belton sc, SC
"Looking for a Taylor, Look no more !!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Satisfied period!Ignored Taylor for years cause I felt didn't have enough bottom end for my taste. Played a 714 it was perfect, BUT couldn't afford it.I played a new 214 Koa and feel in LOVE...
Musical Background:
Country, blues , RETIRED playing over 30 yrs
Musical Style:
Blues, and country, cowboy songs, southern rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 17, 2013 by Brandon W in Quitman, TX
"Amazing Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
A really great guitar. It was perfectly set up right out of the box and looks beautiful. Has a great tone and the action is the best of any guitar I've played. The Koa is absolutely stunning.
Musical Style:
Singer/songwriter, Folk, Americana
17 of 21 people (81%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 3, 2019 by Fabe Vasquez in Hart, MI
"First Taylor"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Well I had a hell of a time getting my order delivered, not zZounds fault it was FedEx's fault a two day delivery turned into a five day delivery,and my precious Taylor was out in the Michigan cold two extra days but alls well that ends well it came In pristine shape after it climatized to my studio environment and alil tuning it played and sounded awesome no YouTube video captured the true tone of this beauty.its the nicest acustic I've ever owned better than a USA made Breedlove Oregon that was over $1700.if your in the market for a $1000 geetar look no further. And zZounds gave me a $50 gift certificate for the hassle of FedEx!!!
Musical Background:
40+ years musician artist audio engeneer
Musical Style:
Rock metal stoner
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 21, 2013 by john white in san marcos, CA
" Taylor 214ce Koa Acoustic-Electric Guitar (with Gig Bag) "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Taylor makes PERFECT guitars. Right out of the VERY nice gig bag, just had to tune it a little and I was off and jamming. This is the best acoustic I have ever played. The action is awesome and the neck is just a bit smaller which works well for me since my hands aren't that big.
Musical Background:
Been playing for 15 or 20 years, seriously for about 5
Musical Style:
rock, rock, rock, country, blues, blues rock, rock blues
14 of 18 people (78%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 5, 2019 by Stephen Davenport in Clovis, NM
"Finish not up to par"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just got the guitar and the finish on the headstock and fretboard looked incomplete. There were places that didn't blend in and made the guitar look strange. Needless to say it is going back. Shout out to zZounds for excellent customer service. Its a shame because the guitar looked to be set up very well. The action and playability was fantastic. Not sure how this got through Taylor inspectors the way the finish was. Didn't use manufacturer support so that's why its in the middle.
of 3 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to