Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
TASCAM DP-24SD Portastudio 24-Track Digital Recorder
REBATE

TASCAM DP-24SD Portastudio 24-Track Digital Recorder

Record up to 8 simultaneous tracks on SD card media, then mix and master with real faders and pro-quality effects on the TASCAM DP-24SD Digital Portastudio!

Overall User Ratings (based on 10 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(10)
Submitted September 22, 2016 by Kevin V in Rome , NY
"Tuscam Portastudio 24SD"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been using this great multitrack recorder for about two weeks. I have been able to easily learn how to operate it. I have made my first demo and am greatly impressed with the professional sound quality. I love being able to record most of my synths on eight available inputs. This recorder is amazingly simple to learn.
Musical Background:
Since I was 17
Musical Style:
Rock, electronic,
45 of 47 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 17, 2015 by William R in Parkesburg, PA
"Great Product"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have owned and used Tascam products in the past so I knew what to expect. Product was exactly as described. There was no disappointment. It is possible to make radio quality recordings with this product. I would purchase again. Have not had to contact the manufacturer for product support. Otherwise this review would be perfect.
Musical Background:
30+ years. Guitar, saxophones, keyboards, bass. Professional
Musical Style:
rock, country, r&b, Christian
76 of 80 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 17, 2015 by Randy L in Seattle, WA
"Great recorder."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This thing is a Corvette. Beautiful unit! You get exactly what it says it has " in the specs". No cd burner or midi in/out but it tells you that. I have 4 digital recorders and this is a nice addition to my studio. It's my main workhorse and songs, tracks etc are sent out to other gear. I've been involved in audio recording for 30 plus years and this is well built excellent recorder in my opinion.
Musical Background:
50 years involved in music.
Musical Style:
rock, country, r&b, etc
53 of 58 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 3, 2016 by Don Schott in Cincinnati , OH
"TASCAM DP-24SD Portastudio Recorder"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
A lot of value for the cost. Coarse I have not at this time had it more than a month and my experiences are as yet limited. Shame they had to put a ceiling on the size of the SD card. Also, would be more versitile if a USB2/3 line could run into an outboard storage drive. Maybe would be nicer if it "questioned" ones patching of incoming signals upon creating a new song folio. (Once set, they remain) but one only makes that mistake once because it is a "porta" studio, one would think that there should be some method or supply of a "made for it" hard case or padded soft bag. I've made due though.
Musical Background:
Recording since 1961
Musical Style:
On this machine ... So far ...instrumental surf and rockabilly.
16 of 18 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 16, 2020 by Scott S in Accident, MD
"pretty cool"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
OK, this thing is pretty cool. It just takes some time to read through the book, which gives you step-by-step instructions on how to use it, but after that, you have a really good grasp on things. The Only issue I have found, so far. is the SD card that came with it is only 4 GB. I did purchase a new card that was 128 GB which should be plenty of space. The small card is not the issue though, formatting the new card is very time consuming. I installed the new card 4 days ago and it has been formatting ever since and it is only 1/4 of the way done. Once you start the formatting you cannot turn off the unit or you have to start over.
Musical Background:
41 years playing guitar, bass.
Musical Style:
Rock, Classic Rock, Metal...
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 19, 2016 by Jim M in Fiskdale, MA
"Some trouble."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
1st problem.I recently bought a Tascam DP-24SD. I've noticed that I'm getting shocked when trying to record using a dynamic mic and playing an electric guitar. I investigated that problem further, and found using a multi-meter (by touching a grounded pipe in my home) that the unit was always sending 48.5 V out from both the casing (the screws), and the mic's even when phantom power was not turned on, and even when the unit was turned off (but plugged in). I hope to send it back for repair.2. I got a write timeout error. I resolved that with a decent flash card. Class 10, U3. Sony UDS-1.3. Noticed some sound glitches in the monitor mix when recording that were intermittent.
Sound
Great sound. Very clear. Some glitches though in the monitor mix.
Features
Great features. Compression on input channels.
Ease of Use
Very easy to use. I set up myself and a band friend to do a quick take of guitar and drums as a stub track for later use. Very easy to learn and use.
Quality
Not so sure about that. I'm having an grounding issue that I hope I can work with Tascam to resolve. Basically, the unit seems to be sending 48.5 volts out through the the mic inputs and the casing. I talked to zZounds and they have not heard of this issue before so I'm hoping it can be repaired.
Value
Great value, it is works.
Manufacturer Support
Yes. We will see, I've sent an email off to TASCAM for support. I'm not sure if they are friendly. I'm not sure if they will solve my problem.
The Wow Factor
Not sure.
Musical Background:
Guitarist for 35 years....a perpetual learner.
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, punk, funk, jazz a bit.
13 of 15 people (87%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 9, 2020 by Michael L in Lebanon, MO
"Two years of usage!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought my DP24 two years ago. After hours and hours of usage, both recording and mixing/mastering. I am very happy with it. I use it mainly for recording raw tracks. Transfer to data to the computer for final mix and master. It works great as a multi track interface
Musical Background:
Instrumentalist/vocalist
Musical Style:
Punk rock, heavy metal, county, bluegrass.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 29, 2020 by a customer from hotmail.com in Annapolis, MD
"Pretty dope but with one killer flaw holds it back so hard."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Been using the DP-24 for the last year after using the Zoom R16 for the last 3 years. It's a massive improvement in ALMOST every way. Love the assigning track feature. Pretty good effects, great recording quality, an extensive amount of audio editing functions like track editing all outboard from the PC. 12 mono tracks with 6 stereo love it. Great 3 band EQ. Love the send effects outputs great for SMPTE, Good UI would've liked a tad bigger screen. Only one crash since I bought, it didn't lose any song info. SOLID enclosure mostly metals with plastic. One board mastering effects great for Dawless recording and Lofi. BUT the thing that Absolutely is almost a deal-breaker. Track Faders ARE NOT saved from project to project. Lemme explain, if I'm working on one project, say I have a synth lead on track 13/14 but on another project its keys that are mixed low, if I move the fader levels for the first project the fader level becomes the same for the other making it virtually impossible to work on 2 or 3 songs at a time !!! Bro, THE ZOOOM R16 allows you to change fader levels on one project without affecting the levels for any other project. So color me surprised when the $500 unit doesn't. Thankful everything else is saved like pan and Eq. But that's kinda worse XD feels incompetent.
Musical Background:
Daw-less College Apartment Instrumentalist
Musical Style:
Lofi, Jazzhop, Chillhop, Instrumental Jazz hip-hop Fusion, Instrumental Neosoul.
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 21, 2018 by Douglas Hulderman in Valdosta, GA
"Don't Buy This!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I recently purchased this unit and zZounds was awesome, no complaints. However the Tascam 24 is one of the worst recorder I have ever used, I should have bought the boss. The effects are so limited and you can only use 2 within a entire song. What good is a 24 track recorder when you can only process 2 effects within an entire mix? Are you kidding me! I can use my daw to compensate for this problem but wow, not worth the money. I can't believe Tascam and teac have fallen so for, they used to be the leaders in the industry. Do yourself a favor and get a different brand, they screwed this one up major!
Musical Background:
I play a variety of instruments professionally and am a studio artist.
Musical Style:
Alternative is my preference but I play almost all types of music.
8 of 15 people (53%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 9, 2016 by Raymond Gomez in Stockton, CA
"I made a real good choice."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Been spending a lot of time using this recorder and it is so much easier than the one I had before. Still have to try the mastering part of it, but doubt if that would be any harder to work with.
Musical Background:
40+ years
Musical Style:
Blues and Rock and Roll
9 of 50 people (18%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us