TASCAM 2488neo 24-Track Recording Workstation

TASCAM 2488neo 24-Track Recording Workstation

With 24 tracks (256 virtual tracks for multiple takes on each track), high-resolution effects and on-board editing, mastering and burning, the TASCAM 2488neo is a powerful and efficient recording/mixing/mastering solution.

Overall User Ratings (based on 103 ratings)
Overall:
5 out of 5 stars
Sound:
5 out of 5 stars
Features:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Value:
5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
(103)
Submitted January 18, 2011 by a customer from comcast.net
"TASCAM 2488 Makes A Great Sounding Demo Fast And Easy"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Workstation is great. The only way I will stop using it is if I get the money or get a bigger drumset and need the inputs.
Sound
Workstation sounds great. plenty of effects to choose from. Regardless of the effects, the sound quality is just as good to me as an expensive pro tools set-up. There is a wide range of eq options(which is one of my favorite features), so if you've got the right mics there is no way this little bit of goodness can do you wrong, live or recorded
Features
no accessories. Its all there. It is easy to find my way around the whole workstation
Ease of Use
Easy. If you got the right mics and instruments nothings stopping. Manual is to the point.
Quality
It is not like the solid mixing board with a cover the hooks over the top of it. But does have a case if you transport it a lot. Nothing feels like it would break, but I would definitely treat it with respect.
Value
Great price for what you get.
Manufacturer Support
not needed repairs at all.
The Wow Factor
Wanted it when I saw it. It makes a cd right there, and my computers kept crashing.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Wide range
21 of 21 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 7, 2011 by a customer from comcast.net
"I am always a little skeptical of reviews that I read on the net b/c they may have bias either way. So this review is coming fro"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I expect that I will be using this machine for as long as it take for me to wear it out to buy Tascam again! Again, I used firewire interfaces (2x) to my computer using Cubase SX. I purchased so much outbound gear to try to make my recordings sound more like the analog days. Well, I can tell you that if your recording cannot reproduce the dry track with clarity and authenticity to the recording source, there is no way to eek out a good sound. This machine does that without the hours of tweeking required to make firewire based recording sound half as good. In one week I turned out the best recording I have created in 9 years.. I wish I dod this sooner. If you are in the same place, don't think twice. This box will blow you away!
Sound
I have been recording with a few big name computer based systems for about 10 years. In that time, I was always frustrated that the sound of what I was reording was better than the playback of what I recorded. The 2488neo changed that in a few days of use. This machine is very, and I mean very expressive compared to computer based firewire recording. I mean night and day...and I used Presonus Firepod/FP10 with Cubase. No comparison. This machine sounds way better!
Features
No accessories...but you don't need them, so this is irrelevant questions.
Ease of Use
I read many reviews where people are complaining about the difficulty of use and the thick manual. A couple of words. First there is always a learning curve with any platform regardless of features. Second, people who say this is hard to use are probably in over their heads. This box is not that difficult and with a little patience, you'll be turning out music.
Quality
Some have complained about the plastic. Honestly that has no effect on this box. It is built well... If you need to transport, you would want to get a nice hardshell case, but as with any electronic equipment, you need to use common sense. You wouldn't wrap your favorite guitar or keyboard in a plastic bag and throw it in the back of your pickup. But as far as using it on the road.. it would hold up.
Value
I received a great deal from zZounds and they are the best price overall on the net/retail. I was very happy with the presentation when it arrived - packed properly!
Manufacturer Support
I have purchased Tascam equipment in the past (TMD-1000 digital mixer). Everything that Tascam makes is top shelf. I have never been dissatisfied with their presentation. The company has been in the industry for a long time... but more than that, they understand quality and targeted use. I've had the 2488 neo for about a week and I am in love with this machine!
The Wow Factor
Sex appeal of product? Really? If that is a relevant reason to buy it, then good for you, but I think you want performance... no you're talking appeal. As far as the layout, I think the machine is layed out like a pro audio desk. But as I pointed out in my earlier statements, the 2488 neo is made by Tascam... if you have purchased from them before like I did... you know they don't make garbage. I feel that it has already (within one week) turned my musical ear back on! This box will replace my firewire interfaces and computer software..Why? there is no comparison in sound. This box reproduces the harmonics you hear from the intruments authentically! What you hear live, is what you get back on the recording - Genius!
Musical Background:
Recording Engineer
Musical Style:
Rock/Alternative
200 of 206 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 2, 2009 by a customer from aol.com
"THE ABSOLUTE BEST MULTI-TRACKING ALTERNATIVE TO A COMPUTER FOR THE PRICE,HANDS DOWN!! If you are on a budget & you're having com"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I will be satisfied with this unit for as long has it lasts! The 2488neo was the clear choice for me over anything else out there,as it's the only portable multi-tracker out there with 24 tracks of 24 BIT RECORDING. Built in synth modules & drum machines are always garbage that jacks up the price,but this recorder does not include any of that crap...so it has everything I need & nothing I don't.
Sound
As far as portable multi-trackers go,this is hands down,the most pristine sounding recorder for the money...which is second only to the Korg D3200(in my opinion). The audio quality of the effects are decent for the price...certainly usable,but there is the option of routing an external effects processor to the unit if need be. Since I have two Korg keyboard workstations that I use-as well as Reason 4,I have only used Tascam's effects for vocals..which suited me fine.
Features
The initial track recording is a "rehearse mode" while the record light is flashing,so if you make an error,you can immediately record over it,without having to dig into a sub-menu to delete it,which is ultra convenient! The ability to link the first 12 tracks into 6 stereo tracks is a brilliant design! The computer DAW-style graphical editing screen is incredibly useful for making seamless edits! The capability to import WAV files directly into the Tascam from a computer is also one of the most amazing & useful features!!
Ease of Use
For those(such as myself),who are not at all familiar with the 2488 series of Tascam,the vastness of this unit makes it quite difficult to learn with just the user-manual alone....however though,with the DVD tutorial video that you can purchase from ProAudioDVD.com,you'll be up & running in no time flat. Once you get your bearings,you will discover that the layout of this recorder is quite straight forward & intuitive.
Quality
Considering it's massive size,the light weight of it & the fact that it's made out of plastic,it's surprisingly sturdy with a great tactile aspect....as the knobs & faders are smooth & responsive.
Value
Mine is of a particular value,as Zzounds price matched with another retailer.
Manufacturer Support
I have had the unit for only 6 days & I've managed to decipher about 80% of it's functions without any assistance,thus far.
The Wow Factor
The appearance is a tasteful & neutral color scheme that should blend well in almost any studio. As I had mentioned earlier,the tactile aspect of the controls are excellent. This unit is the most practical piece of gear in my studio,as it's the CENTER of it!!
Musical Background:
Keyboard & recording hobbyist
Musical Style:
Jazz,Rock,Pop,Ambient,Lounge,Shoegazing,New age.......
135 of 140 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 3, 2011 by a customer from att.net
"A Serious Project Studio Multi-track with great features"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been using Tascam recorders for about 20 years, since the original Porta-Studio 4-tracks. They just make good stuff.
Sound
The only reason this doesn't get a 10 is the limitation to 44.1khz sampling rate. But the 24-bit audio is really good quality compared to the 16-bit 8-tracks Tascam sells. The FX that are built-in are actually very good (surprise! Good built-in FX!). The EQ is also first rate with sweepable mid-range. I was truly impressed with the recording quality.
Features
Very good feature set for the price. All it comes with is a power cord and the manual. The track strips are very full-features with post/pre select for FX sends and just about unlimited routing choices from the inputs to the tracks. Having 12 mono tracks and 6 stereo tracks seemed like a limitation at first, but I've found those stereo tracks to be extremely useful for running external FX in and for bouncing-down. The screen display is very well done and very readable, and the menu system is easy to navigate. My only complaint is I would rather have actual physical pan knobs to work with when mixing-down. But to be honest I mainly to bounce-down mixing on the machine and move final tracks over to the computer for final mixing and mastering (because of the ease-of-use of software mix automation). But you really can do the whole mix on the 2488 neo if you want - just hook-up a MIDI controller with knobs.
Ease of Use
If you've used a hard drive recorder before there are no surprises here. The top console is mainly taken-up with track arming and muting buttons, plus the usual data wheel and control buttons. You can turn 48v phantom power on/off to the 4 XLR inputs from a top-side button. You can hook-in 4 XLRs and 4 1/4-inch connections, or 8 1/4-inch connection because the XLR inputs have 1/4-inch jacks in them. There's a special input on the front for passive intruments like guitar and base - be aware this is connected through the 8th input ("H") so it's not a ninth input line. There are two aux sends that you return through the input tracks as there are no returns - I have the sends feeding an external mixer and have the rack FX hooked into that, then feed the whole FX mix back into two inputs on the 2488 neo. You also have SP/DIF digital stereo out (RCA-style jacks) so you can pump the final mix to a digital recorder without having to do a digital-to-analog-to-digital conversion, which keeps your sound quality pristine.
Quality
I've had mine for about 8 months and no problems. Be aware that this is a plastic shell so it might not be a good choice for live recording. As the center on a project studio it's an excellent choice. /i would have gicen it a 10 if the faders had been of a bit higher quality.
Value
Amazing product for the price.
Manufacturer Support
Don't need it so it's excellent.
The Wow Factor
It's very utilitarian and "official" looking - it looks like what it is: serious recording equipment for the home/project recording studio. It's not a flimsy slice of plastic like other low-cost multi-tracks you see in the same price-range.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist with dreams
Musical Style:
Midwestern reggae
136 of 141 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 17, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Awesome!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The only thing to regret would be Not buying this machine!
Sound
Sound quality is very crisp and clear. 24 bit recording, what more can I say?
Features
The effects are not the main focus for this machine, if that is what you're loooking for you may want to go with a Boss unit. For this price point however, there is nothing more anyone could ask for. All the I/O anyone could need, plus the ability to record 8 simultaneous inputs @ $650. The preamps are useable but, if you have an external unit you may want to use it. All the faders and knobs are solid, the machine itself it built to last.
Ease of Use
Does not require a college degree to figure out! You should definitely spend some time reading the manual before you get into recording an entire band though.
Quality
This is my fourth machine to own, I've had Korg, Boss and Zoom; this machine is by far built better than the others I've owned. Having said that, the guitar effects are useful but not in the same league as the Boss units. Tascam has really out done themselves with this machine, the price Alone makes it a must own.
Value
The best value in multitrack recorders, Hands Down! If you're even thinking of purchasing this unit, stop thinking about it and just do it! You will not regret it.
Manufacturer Support
Not had to use it as of yet.
The Wow Factor
Gorgeous machine! Looks impressive and slightly intimidating when you walk into the Studio and see this next to your other equipment.
Musical Background:
Recording Engineer
Musical Style:
All
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 20, 2012 by Bradley Tatum in Suquamish, WA
"I'm in Love"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
This machine is what I have been needing all along! I have been doing computer recording/editing since about 2008 and this is the missing link. I was always wondering what I was going to need to do to overcome the latency issues that plagued me no matter what. THIS MACHINE RECORDS WITHOUT LATENCY! Amazing! I can finally record songs and tracks that require speed and precision which would always previously be butchered by even a small amount of latency. The machine imports and exports wav files easily to and from your computer. I was scared that it may be a complex process or something, but it's really easy. The sound quality is great and I am hooked. If you are considering getting this machine, DO IT. I wish I got this a long long time ago.
Musical Background:
I have been playing music since '94
Musical Style:
Rock, metal, punk, electro, acoustic
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 16, 2008 by a customer from yahoo.com
"My Love Affair With My 2488"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I believe I've answered all of these questions previously in this questionaire. I would buy this machine again, as it suits all my needs and purposes at this time.
Sound
Good solid piece of equiptment. Sound quality is awesome, expressive, and has the ability to compete with other larger and a lot more expensive machines, very compatible with my style of music which is country/folk/rock/bluegrass. With the 2488, all I use is one mic preamp and a compressor. For the price, I have always been satisfied wit it's abilities. By the way, I have been working in professional studios for over forty years, mostly in Nashville, New York, and Los Angeles.
Features
I use only a foot pedal for puntching in/out for overdubbing, since I usually do my own engineering and playing my own instruments at the same time. My 2488 is the one which has drum patterns included, and makes me sorry to hear that it's not part of the package anymore. Correct me if I'm wrong, and I hope I am. It's perfect for home demos for songwriters, which I am.
Ease of Use
I believe that the manual could be a little clearer and easier to understand, meaning that when you find one thing you're looking for on a certain page, it tells you then to turn sometimes a dozen pages to another page, and the when you get there it imforms you that you still need to go to anothe page. It would seem to be more simple to explain it all on the first page. Still all in all, after you use the 2488 for a while you find everthing pretty well. It will still do a million things that I've still not gotten around to.
Quality
The 2488 is a very valuable part of my life as a musician. The one thing I would love to see would be maybe a larger screen where the fonts could be larger and easier to read even though I don't see how you really could, it being packaged in such a small unit. I have never had to worry about backups up to this time. However, also using other computer equiptment makes me always down load ever so often, just in case. As far as traveling, I build myself a travel case out of an old piece of hardback Samsonite luggage with padding. A special built travel case might be a good option to offer with the kit. My 2488 is a workhorse and as to how long it will last, I have no idea, except I really try to take care of all my equiptment and a lot will depend on how well you apply attention to such.
Value
Yes
Manufacturer Support
My 2488 is around three years old. I use it every day and have had no problems so far. I did call the company once to ask a question and it took quite some time to reach a technician. The hardest part was listening to music that didn't really care for while waiting on the phone. And yes, it did take quite a while.
The Wow Factor
It has absolutely no sex appeal and this seems to be an irrelevant question. As a forty year musician who would have loved to have this machine years ago, I can't compliment it enough. I've tried computer programs many times before buying my 2488 and was never satisfied with either the sound or quality of any others that I tried. The 2488 is my favorite so far.
Musical Background:
Active musician/recording engineer/songwriter
Musical Style:
Country/folk/rock/bluegrass etc.
203 of 217 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 19, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"If Your Looking At This, What Are You Waiting For, You Need This Machine!!! It's Heavenly!!!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I don't plan on searching for anything else. all you need to do after you buy this, is purchase things that go to the tascam for example equalizers, subs, speakers, mixers, pre amps, etc.
Sound
This is awsome, I used to use garage band and the sound is decent but not compared to this. If your trying to become anything, you want to have this board, and you need to have this board. Your going to want other equalizers and such but this is the way to go. bought this and couldn't be happier.
Features
It came with the things you need, I mean it isn't going to give you everything you need. I have it hooked up to another microphone preamp and you will need different cords but if you have this machine, you will want to start collecting all of the cords you can because you never know when they will come in hand.
Ease of Use
This is easy to operate. I had a producer show me exactly how it broke down, but it you are aware of how to use protools, or even garage band then you will get how this works. I use it for mainly recording (in one channel), track eqs and the stereo eqs then I dump everything to my computer to do the final mixdown. READ THE MANUAL, IT WILL MAKE IT SO MUCH EASIER, then you will finishing high equality songs in no time.
Quality
great equality,great sound, lots of space, dependable. I plan on using this for years and years. Its adaptable so you can bring it places with your other equipment.
Value
great value, much more expensive on other sites, and i got it for a payment plan and it is still sent out to you the same day you purchase, so thats pretty good.
The Wow Factor
looks nice, i have seen the same board in a blue and grey but black to me stands out more.
Musical Background:
recording engineer
Musical Style:
hip hop, R&B,
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 8, 2011 by a customer from dolanellis.net
""Good Sense Purchase" (Unless, of course, you just enjoy throwing your money away.)"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Well, I did extensive research before buying the Tascam 2488neo, so I have had no surprises. As technology advances, I imagine that I will eventually replace this recording machine with some other more user friendly or more advanced recording unit. My hunch is that Tascam will probably make it. I do wish that they would included a port to attach a larger external video monitor in their next model. However I'm happy for now.
Sound
I just bought this unit, so I am not operating it to maximum efficiency yet. So, I will not offer an opinion on it's final sound quality. However, let me say that I have many years of recording and live performance experience, and I know good sound. So far, this unit seems to be reproducing an excellent "raw sound" and my gut feeling is that it will produce excellent "polished sound" when I complete my learning curve.
Features
This is an amazing little machine and very well designed. I was a bit doubtful of its quality while doing my research, because of its extremely low price. It has been my experience that you usually get what you pay for. However, let me assure you that this machine is of the highest quality and with Zzound's 30 day return policy, no interest financing, and no shipping charges, it is a "no brainer". My only negative comment is that,(in view of the number of guitar based musicians who will be self producing their music on this unit), I am totally surprised that Tascam did not go ahead and include a foot control as part of the standard equipment. I had to buy a foot control from Boss. In my opinion, Tascam could have charged me $30 more and kept my business for themselves. I would not have cared.
Ease of Use
Yes, of course, there is a learning curve. But, in my opinion, the difficulty of learning curve of the Tascam 2488neo cannot even COMPARE to the difficulty, confusion, and frustration of learning a computer based software recording system. I have several years experience on the Roland 1680 and Roland 2400, and the moves of this machine are very similar to both of the other units. So, the learning curve was not so bad for me. However, even if you have ABSOLUTELY NO RECORDING EXPERIENCE, you should be able to do a "basic two track recording" of your voice and your guitar within the first day you open the box. And then you should be operating the machine really well within a few weeks...if you work at it. However, there is no magic in making great sound recordings, my friend. Being sort of a cowboy myself, I need to tell you that it is bit like learning to ride a horse..."there just ain't no substitute for time in the saddle". If you want to learn how to make really professional sound recordings, you must be willing to pay your dues, put in your time at the keyboard, become frustrated for a little while, and then emerge on the other side of the equation as an experienced recording engineer...just like the rest of us did. Don't let any salesman tell you differently! It's B.S. Like with all music, an instrument is no better than the person who is playing it. In order to make really good professional sound recordings, you will need to have three things... Experience, Experience, and Experience! (not to mention developing "good ears" and "good taste".) However, if you are new at this, I know that you are going to be thrilled with your first recordings. You have a very exciting and exhilarating experience ahead of you. Now, get on that horse and ride it...
Quality
It seems to be very well made. I think that when other reviews refer to the case of the Tascam 2488ne0 as "plastic", it is a bit unfair. No, it is not metal but it is certainly made of quality materials. I mean, what's made of metal anymore? It certainly is not a cheap toy. It is a quality and professional tool. I would have no hesitation taking it on the road with me in a good carrying case. (Except maybe on United Airlines! Have you seen the video, "United Breaks Guitars"? Very funny and very cool! There's more than one way to slay a giant!)
Value
The value compared to the price point is incredible. I think that that Tascam has one more time revolutionized the home recording unit industry and has hit their competition square between the eyes with this product. Why anyone would spend three times as much money for another brand of stand alone unit is beyond me. No, there is no port to plug in a large external monitor, but at this price, I'll live with it. Besides, I use my ears more than my eyes while recording, anyway. Unless you are a "gadget guy", and love to mess around with external attachments, and like to sit around talking "shop" to other recording geeks, you will be absolutley thrilled with this unit. Me? I am a singer/songwriter. I have no desire to become a part of the "recording community" on line chat. The only reason that I am doing this review is to hopefully help someone else make as good and wise of a decision as I did. My goal is to get my stuff down on a professional sounding recording...as quickly and as easily as possible. Just "Gitter Done"!
Manufacturer Support
I have had no experience with Tascam and its tech support and its warranties...yet. However,I have heard from several sources that there are long waits on the telephone with their tech support. I have only dealt with their sales people. They were very polite, well informed, forthcoming, and with little to no waiting on the telephone. Of course, they wanted my business. If they are like most companies, after sales service may not be as good. That's "showbiz!
The Wow Factor
Who cares about "sexy"? I'm not using this unit will not get me laid. I just want to make great sound recordings. Screw "sexy"! All I wanted was a quality product, with ease of use, and at a good price. Tascam 2488neo, Zzounds, and UPS delivered all of that to my front door.
Musical Background:
As a singer/songwriter, I like to tell people that I have never had what my dear sweet mother would have called "a real job".
Musical Style:
I am an Original member of "The New Christy Minstrels" and " Arizona's Official State Balladeer" for 45 years. Old Guys Rock!
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 26, 2012 by ALan C in Marlborough, NH
"I got the power"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've never felt so good about a piece of recording gear. Easy to use, my 15yr old engineers his band's recording sessions. Great effects, mixdown is easy, and then you get to use the mastering software. Out pops a cd from the tray with your new song on it. No limitations. No compromise. No latency issues. No waiting. Perfect.
Musical Background:
35yrs gig & recording exp / regional bands
Musical Style:
Funk, jazz
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 7, 2011 by a customer from savvis.net
"Incredible value"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
As long as the faders and knobs don't break down, I don't expect to switch as it has all the features I was looking for at an incredible price. I had bought the VS880 when it originally came out for close to 2grand.
Sound
Excellent reproduction of sound. Only issue is if I use effects on one channel, the sound seems to bleed into another. This is audible especially if you use reverb. I have to spend a bit more time to understand if I am doing anything wrong.
Features
Did not include any accessories. It plugs straight to the outlet so I did not have to worry about getting an extra adaptor etc. Comes fully contained. You can record, mix down, master and burn - all in the machine. Would be nice if it had built in mic.
Ease of Use
Definitely need to spend time to read the manual. Applying effects (especially multi, single, micx4, micx8) etc was not straight forward. It would be nice if the first 8 channels were lined up with the inputs, since this records 8 tracks simultaneously. I had to constantly trace my finger from the input to see which channel I had the inputs hooked up.
Quality
Finish is not the greatest, but for the price you cant beat it. Faders were OK. It is plastic all around. Works fine for the studio. Recording quality and faithful reproduction of the recorded sound is incredible.
Value
Best value for the money. 24 channels with built in CDR drive for less than 500 is incredible.
Manufacturer Support
My first unit from zzounds did not operate period. none of the buttons worked. I called zzounds and they shipped another unit right away and this one worked like a charm.
The Wow Factor
Fits nicely with the rest of the gear. It is not the sexiest of looks, but works fine.
Musical Background:
Amateur Muscian with wide background
Musical Style:
Pop
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 29, 2012 by Freddy Stone in Lincolnton , NC
"The 2488neo "
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just got my neo about 3 weeks ago, and its great. The looks of this unit is incredible, its a very professional looking device. And I'm so happy that I picked the neo over others. I have only just started to use the neo, but I can tell you its the best recorder you will ever have. It would take a lot of time to tell you all the features that's on the neo, There are lots of great affects right in the neo, theres no need to have any other equipment added on to this recorder. And the quality of the recordings is excellent, I would say even better than cd quality. you cannot go wrong with this machine, and there's no need to spend any more money. just add monitors and you're ready to go, one more thing. Thank you zZounds for you great service, my 2488 neo came right on time, zZounds has the best of service around.
Musical Background:
iv been playing 20+ years piano and guitar.
Musical Style:
I love blues, motown and early rock.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 2, 2011 by a customer from juddymac.com
"No more expensive studios, no more "sound Tech" jerks, no more input output device or latency or software or compatibility issue"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I will use it till it breaks or becomes incompatible with the technology needed to play or transport the finished recordings.
Sound
For recording hard drive mixer on this level, it surpasses all expectations. Easy to learn, easy to use, and gives an excellent finished recording for my acoustic styles. The thing does the job, gives lots of control, and delivers a very high quality recording if used properly.
Ease of Use
Easily equivalent to professional CD quality without the hassles of dealing with PC or Mac issues with software, compatibility, latency, input device problems, etc. Learning curve for the basic functions is almost non existent. I had 3 finished CD ready recordings 3 days after opening the box. Better than two famous central Florida professional studios(left unnamed) produced in a week.
Quality
The first one I opened had a rattle in a cooling fan. Zzounds sent me a shipping label an i had a replacement within about 6 days. My new one is performing famously. No more expensive studio time with know it all sound "engineers". Telling me "you're just a musician, let the sound guy show you how it is supposed to sound". No more expensive jerks. I am free baby!!!
Value
Well it was a sale, and it was really, really, cheap. But if I had bought one years ago for full price, I would have saved a fortune in studio costs and lost time.
Manufacturer Support
Well, Zzounds replaced the problem unit I had. I've had no dealing with tascam directly. But the problem I had was from a non tascam part, and electric cooling fan motor, it happens.
The Wow Factor
It is a necessity in my arsenal now
Musical Background:
Working musician, songwriter
Musical Style:
Acoustic rock
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 20, 2012 by Lawson W in Okinawa City, AP
"Magical piece of equipment!!"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have only recorded on an 8-track recorded before I got the Neo, but the sheer amount of things you can do on it are astounding. That fact also makes this a very complex (i.e., confusing) recorder. Most of the basics are laid out pretty intuitively, but for more in-depth operation, I highly recommend buying the DVD tutorial. And even that STILL won't cover everything the Neo can do! For that, there's always youtube. However, I like the fact that, for basic recording, you can be up and running and laying down tracks in no time flat. The virtual tracks are infinitely handy for doing multiple takes of a solo, the mixdown function is great, and the ability (for me, anyway) to import drum tracks via the USB connection is awesome. The only thing I don't really care about is the low-quality guitar effects embedded in the Neo, but I have (way too many) pedals to get that job done anyway. But in that regard, there aren't too many other multi-tracks on the market that have great effects anyway, so that's not unique to the Neo. That, and the criminally shallow instruction booklet are the only disappointments I've had with it. I also contacted Tascam with a question, and they responded to me within 2 days, with a very friendly and helpful answer.
Musical Background:
10 years or so
Musical Style:
Blues, rock, metal, punk
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 13, 2011 by a customer from juno.com
"Great upgrade & the price is right!!"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
I upgraded from the 8 track Tascam to the 24 trk. They are both great!! Much more user friendly than the 24 trks put out a few years ago and the price is fantastic! The 24 trk has a few more "on screen" items like fade and effects which are a little confusing. It is very similar to the 8trk so that made it easy to get started. I actually recorded a band the 2nd day after I got it. Overall it sounds great, user freindly, and the price makes it possible for everyone to have a 24 track. I'm happy with mine!!
Manufacturer Support
Haven't neeeded support so far
Musical Background:
teacher and weekend musician
Musical Style:
rock, soul
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 21, 2012 by John R in Chicago, IL
"Mainstay of my home studio"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After a little practice with the recorder I was able to do a multitude of great recordings with the 2488neo. Pre's are ok better with tube mic pre's, always use good mics and you cant go wrong.
Sound
Very pro, listen with good monitors and record with good mics and you got it. Able to do big drum kits with little problems.
Features
Everything you need to make radio quality recordings.
Ease of Use
Read the manual and get the tutorial they are great tools.
Quality
A little plasticy but solid, dont me banging on it.
Value
It would cost $100,000 dollers to put these tools together individually, especially the mastering tools they are KILLER.
Manufacturer Support
Havent needed it yet.
The Wow Factor
Amazing recordings for what it would cost to lay down rythem trax.
Musical Background:
Guitar player, song writter, Professional for 30 years
Musical Style:
Hard Rock, Metal, New Metal, new Country
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 26, 2012 by Victor Nowakowski
"A Serious Fun Home Recording Studio"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I finally own the 2488neo after reading about it for several years - combined with a discount coupon it was a great deal. READ THE MANUAL with a photo of the unit to locate the buttons and to learn what it can do. I've made a few practice recordings - did just about everything but final mixdown and burn a cd. Backed up to a PC, made WAV files to transfer to my Mac Sound Studio for some editing. Learned how to add built-in effects to my guitar, recorded drum patterns via a mic on my drum machine, and really enjoyed the auto-punch and repeat looping to perfect segments of the recordings. Overall this unit is just what I expected - solid, feature-packed, and a joy to play. Excellent choice for home musicians and multi-track artists.
Musical Background:
Played guitar since a teenager, song writer, multi-track artist
Musical Style:
rock and ballads, interesting melodies and harmonies
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 27, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"This purchase for me was by far one of the best decisions I have made."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I know I will use this product for many years to come.
Sound
The sound quality is fantastic, It makes my old Sc55 sound great.Having the extra channels lets me fatten the horn parts,that I could never do because the Sound Canvas is only 24 note polyphonic. The on board effects are very crisp and clear.
Features
no accessories included. a foot pedal included would be great.
Ease of Use
The manual was clear,except you have to look at several pages to do one thing, but once you understand the layout, it works.
Quality
I am unable to find anything to complain about with this product.It does what it say's it does.
Value
The price was the deciding factor. zZound were able to match their lowest price for me. Great Deal.
Manufacturer Support
I have not had to call the company, just read the manual and try it.
The Wow Factor
Not sexy at all,(unless you find lots of sliders and buttons sexy) just very usable, and great sound quality.
Musical Background:
over 40 years professional experience
Musical Style:
Guitar Player,Funk, Jazz and Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 10, 2012 by Ronald Warren in Ozark, MO
"Neo works like a Champ!"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have not found the Neo difficult to understand or use at all. The manual is a little vague but if you have used the old Tape Tascam machines it's not that difficult. The sound is really good. I'm not thrilled with the effects especially "no plate reverb" but I'm finding some things I can work with. As a songwriter and musician I love being able to record several different parts and choosing the ones I like best. Vocals are a snap with a condenser mike(the phantom power works well). I feel liberated to create music. I wish it still had an onboard drum machine but you can achieve some pretty spectacular results with the Neo.
Musical Background:
40 + years guitar,bass,mandolin, some piano.
Musical Style:
Blues,Jazz, Country and southern Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 20, 2011 by a customer from hensens.com
"Great but affordable recording gear!"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've worked with it for a little over a month and don't think I will quickly replace it in my current setup. I have a pretty normal home studio setup and it fits right in there.
Sound
I like the sound and the sound quality. It is very clean - which imo is a must for a recording station. The built-in guitar amp modulation is not great but will work for some quick recording of ideas.
Features
The machine comes with lots of features. I would have liked the pan controls to be physical switches because I like to move instruments through the stereo spectrum.
Ease of Use
I gave this a 7 because only after some getting used to, it's pretty easy to work with and goes up to an 8. But, you need the manual, which is not very easy to read because of the multitude of features that interact with each other.
Quality
Feels good. I wouldn't take it on the road but believe that it would be possible to do so for live recordings - if you use a good case for transport. The controls all feel like they are of good quality. The same goes for the total construction.
Value
Great value for the money.
Manufacturer Support
No experience.
The Wow Factor
Mostly practical for recording.
Musical Background:
30 year hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 28, 2011 by a customer from cfl.rr.com
"Great value for the dollar, and a must, if you want to preserve your musical ideas."
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I expect to use this product for a long time.
Ease of Use
the manual is good, but I'm not a geek, and some of the explanations leave room for improvement.
Manufacturer Support
I had trouble reaching the actual company, was placed on hold for 40 minutes, not on a 800 number, so it was my nickel, but, the company I purchased the product from, on-line, was the best. Great customer service!
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
country, rock, trop-rock, Christian
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 10, 2012 by David Emswiler in Bellville, TX
"Great w/some Limitations"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
The sound quality is pristine. Nothing less than well produced CDs from major studios. That being said, I have been studying, teaching, learning and researching sound engineering topics and general recording for the better part of three decades. I still have five (count them) five reel to reels, none of which work. Ugh !!! I LOVE REEL TO REEL.
Features
The most useful feature for guitarists is this. You do not need an IQ over 50 to use this unit. Have you ever heard the term Plug N Play. It's applicable from your Strat to this Neo!! Truly. But use your own effects. The on board effects are (in my opinion) most useful in the Mastering Room and for vocals.
Ease of Use
It is easy to get great sounds from this unit. If you are half way happy with a "take" you can save the take on track one, for example, and CONTINUE on one of the remaining 10 optional tracks ... STILL on track one. If you multiply how many tracks are actually available to the user, no orchestra, let alone a four, five, six or seven piece band, would EVER need them all.
Quality
Product is MADE WELL. Do not be fooled by the "plastic" comments. There are many degrees of plastic quality. This is the one that should fit right under aluminum or cobalt...or ?
Value
See above.
Manufacturer Support
No. I have not dealt with the company. By the way, I also have some high speed Tascam cassette decks. This is one of the best electronics companies on earth, for musicians, anyhow.
The Wow Factor
I rate this unit high on the wow factor. Especially with Zzounds up front, giving the recording engineer on a budget, a way to get into a high end unit, for $140 a month.
Musical Background:
Guitar, bass, keyboards, flute, sax: since 1975 (But mostly 99 pct., guitar)
Musical Style:
Christian Rock, screamo, jazz, smooth jazz, roots rock reggae if I have a cigar (cus I don't smoke that stuff no more...)
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 22, 2012 by james c in bloomfield, NJ
"I love this thing."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have not done home recording since i had a old Tascam 4 track cass. Very easy to use i did go buy the dvd on how to use it well worth the 28.00 bucks it's good if you do not have much time and a busy life style it helps you jump right in..
Musical Background:
I have seen the ramones live 100 time. Johnny thunders play live and Guns and Roses at the ritz...
Musical Style:
see above
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 26, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Turn your "jam room" into a full blown studio!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I see myself keeping this thing for many many years.
Sound
This has been the best thing that's happened to my jam room.
Features
Very easy to use! There are so many cool effects right at your fingertips!
Ease of Use
It seems far easier to use than some of the other "all-in-one" units I was looking at. I had my first song about an hour after I received it.
Quality
This thing is solid! Everything feels very nice and smooth. For the price, the quality is fantastic.
Value
I feel that my 2488 neo has changed my jam room into a sweet mini studio. I am extremely happy with my purchase. The ease of use and the quality make this awesome!!!
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed to use them.
The Wow Factor
At this price point, you won't get anything like this.
Musical Background:
Active musician/Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Funk, blues, rock and roll
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 10, 2012 by a customer from Yahoo.com in Collegepark, GA
"Tascam 2488 24- track"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Tascam is still in the box, so get back to me in about 90 daysThats when I'll have the right set up for it. What I can say now is that I have not shopped for anything such as this in a long time, and now that I have,.I must say the Customer Service is WOW...and thats after they got the Money.. The Customer Service reps, will talk, advise, and are encouraging when there is any doubt on how use any of the gear. Honestly, the reason the Tascam is still on the box is because Im a little intimidated by it....but I'm getting closer and closer to not being intimidated by it's learning curb, I was also really impressef by the quick delivery and the and solid build of the Unit....Great work guys, Good Doings....
Musical Background:
Guitar
Musical Style:
All Genres
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 20, 2011 by a customer from comcast.net
"Ease of recording"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I think it will be used for some time until technology changes
Sound
Sound Is clear , ease of use quick to learn
Features
Most useful features are recording & playback For guitars/basses I believe the separate input helps in recording Could be rack ready in that there isnt a place to install on a rack
Ease of Use
As far as the distortion. I think it may need modifying As far as learning, it helps to have had previous experience in recording Playability is easy.
Quality
Made well portability is good, finish is good, .
Value
Worth well it's price
The Wow Factor
Utilitarian
Musical Background:
Hobbyist/ practicing musician
Musical Style:
Goth/industrial
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 29, 2010 by a customer from msn.com
"Home Recording it must be Tascam !!!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have no regrets ! This is a quality piece of equipment !
Sound
wonderfull
Features
does everything it says .
Ease of Use
Being thaqt im a beginer . yes it is !
Quality
Sounds professional !
Value
It's better than the zoom r16 , and its a just a couple of presidents more .
Manufacturer Support
Don't know .
The Wow Factor
It makes you feel like a pro . lol
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
House
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 28, 2009 by a customer from hotmail.com
"why did'nt i bought this sooner"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
i hope i can use it for manny years to come and record a whole lot of demo's with it, but with what i have seen so far it is a verry sturdy device well build nice looking and amazing sound
Sound
i had some trouble recording the manny tracks of my band and putting fx on the 2 vocal tracks. but after experimenting a while al went well and i have managed to get a good solid sound out of the device, wich makes me verry happy. i already have tree booking for recording demo's at my home or in a band rehearsal room, overall verry good sound from a verry good device
Features
no acc included, however it could be usefull if a pedal was there in the standard package, because i record my own drums for my band and each time i have to walk over to the device(wich is in a seperate room) to press rec or to go listen it also would be nice if the part of the fx was a bit easyer
Ease of Use
the device is easy to use however like some1 already told it is a problem to look something up because you always are redirected to different pages, but as an amatuer i could make a nice descent recording the first time i used it, why not make the dvd availeble for free?? or put it on the site of tascam so we can learn !!
Quality
no comment no complaints just perfect
Value
a verry good device for this price range, other products cost more and do less,
Manufacturer Support
never used
The Wow Factor
just perfect, looks and design
Musical Background:
musician, recording and sound for band
Musical Style:
metal
12 of 13 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 9, 2011 by a customer from wowway.com
"Nice mixer/CD burner"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The thing works well overall, and I'm getting tired of typing this review...
Sound
sound quality is great, no hiss, very quiet, no noise at all.
Features
Lots of features, effects up the ying yang, makes great CDs...hard to get them to play in external players like your computer, but with a few extra key strokes it's a snap.
Ease of Use
Learning curve is steap IMO. Nice big fat book comes with it and you need EVERY page to work the box. My brain hurts every time I use it. Reminds me of learning DOS back in the old days. Poke one key while holding another and stand on one foot while crossing fingers. When all else fails re-boot the box and start over! Very small user screen too boot.
Quality
nice looking box, all nobs and twisty things work great.
Value
If you believe the retail prices, then getting this thing for less than half that is a good deal. I'd buy it again knowing what I know now...but I have not attempted to use any other mixer/CD-burner...think there is a six channel Korg out there, but have not tried it.
Manufacturer Support
I have not used the web support, if there is any. The manual could explain how it works, rather than how to do A, or B, or C. Once I understood how it works I could do A or B or C by using good old fashioned logic. I suppose the user manual for that would be three inches thick though a?
The Wow Factor
The box looks goood next to my other stuff...but I wouldn't say it's great art.
Musical Background:
Old geezer X-pro musician
Musical Style:
played weddings, so all types
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 29, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"AWESOME!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great product for my goalsAW
Sound
Sound quality is great, very sensitive..but love it.! Sitting about 2 ft. from it with my mic on low,still picked up my breathing..sounds great with my 01w...
Features
Not used yet..
Ease of Use
Manual could use more detail for all of us newbies..still learning much by mistakes..its all good..
Quality
The only thing I would change would be moving the button for cd over a bit, so your not reaching under drawer to open and close It..maybe a remote?
Value
Awesome price..and was able to get it for my b-day because of th payment option..thanx guys!
Manufacturer Support
No service needed..
The Wow Factor
Still don't know every thing about this thing but flying by the seat of my pants, having a blast..
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
gospel
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 9, 2011
TASCAM 2488-neo 24-Track Customer Review
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Will be using this unit for a long time, probably will add to it rather than replace it
Sound
The lead and rhythm settings for the guitar work great; as far as trying to get a convincing mellow acoustic sound with a maple stratocaster, I haven't yet heard anything that works on this machine or anything else. I am using the product for home recording. It sounds pretty good and has very little if any background noise. I am pretty much playing country and gospel. I am monitoring through a small guitar amp.
Features
No accessories were included with thise product. A drum machine might have been nice for my situation, I have to use one on a small keyboard and it does OK but not the best.
Ease of Use
The manual could be written better, you have to jump all over the book to find out how to do certain operations and there are some things I am not yet familiar with.
Quality
Seems to be well built and should be durable at home; if used on the road I would recommend a padded box as it is made of plastic.
Value
Very good compared to other comparable items. Locally the best I could have done was an 8 or 12 track for the same money. I got 24 with this unit.
Manufacturer Support
Never dealt with Tascam
The Wow Factor
For me it's a practical addition but a much needed and appreciated one
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 16, 2011
"Fantástica!...cada día que pasa me gusta más y la disfruto muchísimo. Se la recomiendo a todo el mundo."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Si me lo robaran o lo perdiera por cualquier motivo, volvería a comprar el mismo. Para sustituirlo, solo que Tascam sacara un modelo superior como ha sido el caso mio, pués tengo, como ya les dije, una DP-01 FX/Cd, pero la NEO es muy superior en todo.
Sound
Para mi es perfecto. Yo uso otra Tascam CC-222.
Features
Es fantástica! Estoy muy feliz la Neo.
Ease of Use
Muy fácil, tengo una DP-01 FX/CD, pero esta es más práctica, aparte de lo superior que es.
Quality
En general la encuentro muy confiable, y de la forma que yo la uso creo que será muy duradera. Está muy bien diseñada, para lo que yo necesito es genial. Yo grabo música instrumental con mi acordeón electrónico y tiene los suficiente canales que necesito.
Value
Por supuesto que lo vale, es más, creo que es muy económico para lo que es en sí.
Manufacturer Support
Solo pedí el manual en español y hablé con una persona muy amable en Tascam de Mexico y me facilitó todo con una muy buena disposición, la verdad me atendió muy cordialmente, estoy muy complacido y agradecido.
The Wow Factor
Yo le pondría un color dorado no muy brillante como el que tienen algunos carros, me gustó mucho el azul del modelo anterior de la 2488, y haría un mejor diseño en color y fotos en la caja de cartón donde viene.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 12, 2010
"Tascam should offer a year-long course in how to actually use this product."
Overall: 2.5 out of 5 stars
Sound
Authentic
Features
It appears that the unit has all the features one might ever need for any application, but it really doesn't matter when accessing and actually using the features are a hit or miss guessing game. A simple thing like adding delay to vocals should not require 8 hours of infuriating guesswork.
Ease of Use
Here is where I have my biggest gripe about the unit. With the exception of indicating the location of the ON/OFF switch, the manual for this unit is a complete waste of ink and paper. The video tutorial, purchased separately, isn't much better. Here is an example: After you've finally figured out on your own how to mix down your stereo master file, there is no mention ANYWHERE as to how to actually SAVE the stereo master file.
Quality
The unit appears to be well made and is attractive to look at. But then, I didn't buy for its looks.
Value
The price was great. But again, what's the point if you're spending more time trying to find the answers to simple questions like saving the file you just created, than you are actually making music. I am very computer savvy, but the reason I purchased this machine was so I wouldn't have to do any mixing/mastering on a computer. But at this point, using the computer would be simpler and faster. The makers of these units should understand that what the musician wants is to be creative, to have a unit that serves as a tool, not a complicated assemblage of features that you can only dream about using. My suggestion would be, whether it's a 4 track or a 24 track, write a manual that is clear, comprehensive, and covers everything that the unit does. Here is another example of what not to do: This unit has a button that says, "Stereo Dynamics". Nowhere in the manual or on the video does anyone explain what this feature is, what it does, when to use it, or how to use it. What is the point?
Manufacturer Support
I found a couple of forums, but no real help.
Musical Background:
Musician
Musical Style:
All
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.