Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Squier Affinity Telecaster

Squier Affinity Telecaster

Designed for beginners, this Squier Telecaster features two single-coil pickups and a 21-fret Maple neck and comes in a Butterscotch finish.

Overall User Ratings (based on 121 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(121)
Submitted September 20, 2016 by Ron B in Spotsylvania , VA
"Amazing Value"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Overall this is a great guitar in every aspect. I got it from a large retailer and needless to say it was set up perfectly as a demo. I have been a die hard Les Paul Player most of my life and never found a Fender that I liked until now. It has a few dings and the strings were a bit worn being a demo that is to be expected. I was so impressed that when the salesman said that he would get a new one in the box, I told him not to bother as I did not want to risk getting one that did not play or sound as good.
Sound
This guitar has a wide range of voices and surprisingly has absolutely no fret buzz or static from the selector switch or pots. The pickups are open wound so its easy to get an unwanted squeal if you stand too close to the amp and face it. Nothing a bit of wax potting wont cure.
Features
Im not up on true fender models so I would have to guess that the hardware isnt quite as nice as its higher end brothers. The tuners hold tune quite well and seem to be geared for fairly fast string changes. I wouldnt recommend upgrading the hardware or pickups on the guitar as you could probably buy an upgraded version cheaper by the time you add up the cost of the guitar and upgrades
Ease of Use
It is very easy to get different tones and sounds with this guitar. No matter what you throw at this thing it can handle it
Quality
From what I found, the only major differences between this guitar and a true Fender is the bridge, ( not a string through body design ) the lack of the dark inlay in the back of the neck, and the jack plate being surface mounted instead of recessed.
Value
Absolutely.
Manufacturer Support
Have not had to deal with support at this time
The Wow Factor
I bought this guitar as a proof of concept before I shelled out big bucks for the Fender version. After playing this Squire Tele, I wouldnt hesitate to buy another Squire Tele and definately would by a Fender version. Still not big on Strats though.
Musical Background:
Ive been playing for over 35 years, Violin, Bass, Guitar, Piano, Mandolin and more. Used to be semi pro player
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Reggae, Blues
35 of 35 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 29, 2013 by Jeff Osgood in Woonsocket, RI
"Ignore The fact That It says Squier on the headstock !"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Mine is a 2013 model which was just made in January according to the serial n umber and I for one, am just simply amazed at how great this guitar is for such a low price. I have guitars in my collection that I paid over $1,200.00 for but yet, this baby can keep up with them with ease. I used to scoff at the mention of the name Squier but I have to admit that they have definitely improved the quality of their product over the last several years and this guitar is no exception to the rule. The only thing I had to do was to do a string change and intonation check . Everything else was fine when I bought this. The pickups on this are really great sounding for a guitar of this price and can handle any genre of music while the stock tuners do a great job of keeping this baby in tune. The C shaped neck is fantastic to play on and there are no fret edges sticking out at all . The Butterscotch finish with the Black pickguard is beautiful to look at and gives off that retro 1950's vibe. This has to be IMO, Fender's best kept secret that the tone snobs out there should take a look at.
Musical Background:
Active musician
Musical Style:
Blues
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 24, 2004 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Best guitar value on the market today period!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Sound
This guitar is simple one of the best for this price on the market today. I can get everything from distorted rock, to blues, to hot country licks and everything in between. Might want to use a compressor with it but even the American made Tele will need it too.
Features
This butterscotch finish with a black pickguard is a classic. It was flawless. The only thing I would change is the selector switch.
Quality
More quality than I could have ever imagined for under $170. Get over your ego about having to have a $2000 Gibson and buy this guitar!
Value
The best value I've seen on the market period.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to use it and don't expect to.
The Wow Factor
Classic looks, sound, and feel. You can feel as soon as you strap it on!
Musical Style:
Hot country, blues, rock, southern rock, 80's metal
83 of 85 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 26, 2019 by B T in Allen, TX
"A Gooooood Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Hey, I needed it a guitar but not banking currently. This is the guitar I wish I had started on!! A really really good guitar. Price does not equal quality in this situation.It has its own character and personality like a more expensive Fender Tele big brother guitar. Whatever you need a guitar for, this one fits the bill, and your bill is small !!
Musical Background:
Long time guitar lover and hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock
10 of 10 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 14, 2020 by William B in Mantua, NJ
"Squier Affinity Maple Tele Special"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ignore Squier completely! I purchased this as a little beater guitar and now it deserves a case. This Guitar is Amazing for 200. Honestly, I dont know how it was made for 200. The neck is not high gloss polyurethane, it feels like natural wood and plays slick. If you want the best 200 dollar Telecaster, buy one before they are gone forever. I'm shocked completely! ALL The reviews are completely true. I own a few high end guitars so this tele plays like a players grade Fender. Strings thru body, body is maple and telecaster is spelled out on the headstock as a Affinity. The next model up is 399 the Vibes but I would just buy two of these instead! Upgrading this guitar is easy if you want real Fender Parts. Wow, zZounds you guys are amazing!
Musical Background:
Home Jamer
Musical Style:
Anything and everything. Classic Rock to blues
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 6, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"CIC BSB"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
With proper care I plan on keeping this until it has a true vintage neck.
Sound
It sounds like a Tele.
Features
I don't mind the top loaded strings, and I was impressed to see that the tone nob actually does something.
Ease of Use
No manual included and no manual needed. You've got a three-way switch and two pups, and a tone and volume nob, so it's pretty self explanatory.
Quality
If I could go over 10 I would. This is where I was blown away. I didn't expect much for a $162 guitar, and to my surprise I got a lot more value then $162 worth.
Value
As I stated in quality, the price does not reflect the value. I'd easily pay double.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed it and don't think I will.
The Wow Factor
The BSB Tele is a guitar every musician should have in their arsenal.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock, Alternative, and Christian.
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 6, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
Squier Affinity Telecaster Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
For the money you can't beat it. I got a great model. Just put new strings on it. You might need it set up by a pro or follow the directions in a Fender owners manual to set it up. I reset the intonations after changing the strings, set the pickup height on the bridge p/u and raised the strings slightly. The neck was within factory recommended tolerances.
Sound
Bridge pickup is hot, neck pickup needs a little more. New strings really improved sound. I stayed with bullets nickel wound light gauge for that twang.
Features
Everythign works. Quiet. Needs better strings.
Quality
Suprisingly well made. Good fret job. Looks stunnign, especially for the price.
Value
Excellent value. I own $1600 strats and this one is fun to play, stays in tune and sounds great.
The Wow Factor
Sweet looking honey blonde, always wanted one. I actually bought it for my all Fender bathroom. I also bought a $129 squire strat for the bathroom. The tele blows it away! This tele plays and sounds as good as my Fender Nashville Power Tele Deluxe. It's super fun to play with and I've tracked with it as well.
Musical Background:
song writer
Musical Style:
rock, blues, R&B, folk, Adult contemporary
28 of 29 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 29, 2016 by donald partee in fifty six, AR
"WOW !!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just received this squire telecaster and I cant believe the quality ,, everything about it is perfect ,, its an incredible guitar ,, needs no adjustments at all played perfect right out of the box ,, it plays and sounds better than any electric ive played so far and ive been playing for 40 plus years ,, thank you zZounds very impressed and will be buying more from you all very soon !!
Musical Background:
40 plus years playing all around the country
Musical Style:
rock , country and blues
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 22, 2011 by a customer from Yahoo.com
"Don't be mislead by the fact that its a Squire. Pick one up, see how it feels and plays, and compare it to any other guitar in t"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I expect to use this guitar for years to come. I have had it for several months now, and I have not had the urge to buy something else. I am very satisified with this guitar!
Sound
The sound is exceptional for a guitar in this price range.
Features
The main feature of this guitar is that it works like it should. Its not a toy that comes with a bunch of add ons to play with, its a guitar, and a very good guitar.
Ease of Use
I set mine up per the included instructions. It came with a medium low action with no buzzing or fret problems. The neck is very smooth and fast. The fretwork was very smooth.
Quality
The finish on the guitar was flawless. The neck was set up properly. The single coils sound very good. The tone knob works well and adjusts the tone as it should. The selector switch on mine works great. The knobs are tight. The cord jack is tight. The action is set up sweet and it plays like BUTTER! The quality of this guitar is excellent! Yes I would buy another if this one gets stolen.
Value
Compared to other guitars in this price range, this is without a doubt the best value for the money, and I have looked at them all.
Manufacturer Support
Have no knowledge in this area, it has needed no warranty work of any kind.
The Wow Factor
Its very eye catching in appearance. It feels really good in your hands. It is an exceptional value for the money.
Musical Background:
I play guitar
Musical Style:
Country
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 24, 2017 by J B in Lancaster, OH
"Don't let the name fool you."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This little gem is the best deal for the price point. I was skeptical when I read reviews but having owned a squire previously as a travel guitar I knew at least the neck would be good. This tele will do country, blues, funk, and rock with ease as it is. Fit and finish is better than what I would expect for a guitar at it's price point. I bought it with plans to use it as a mod platform. I may have to get a second one because this is just that good. I set up all of my guitars so I cant really comment on how it was set up out of the box however, I can say that it was playable and the actin and intonation weren't too far off. If you're on the fence just go ahead and buy one. I didn't get mine from zZounds.com ONLY because I got a great deal on the one I purchased because it had a blem from being a floor model for two years. Otherwise zZounds.com has my business.
Musical Background:
I've been playing 28 years and during that time I've performed live, recorded, jammed. what have you. I have played.
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Country, Folk,
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 13, 2006 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Best guitar for the price!"
If this guitar ever encounters any major damages I may replace it for a higher end one, but until that time I have no intentions of parting with it!
Sound
I would rate the bridge pickup a 9 and the neck pickup a 6. The bridge pickup definately gives you that classic twang that defines the telecaster. It's sharp, slappy, and bright. The neck pickup however is pretty weak and you will find yourself turning up the volume when you switch over to it. The tone is okay, but the output is low.
Features
It's got your standard telecaster appointments. Note that it has a string through top loading bridge. This doesnt seem to be an issue, atleast not for me. I dont see it having a noticeable affect on sustain or tone. The guitar retains the simplicity of the telecaster design, which is one of the things I like about it.
Ease of Use
This is one of the best playing guitars in its price range. The action is set low and the neck is very fast. I have never encountered a sub $200 guitar that plays as easy as this thing does. It is DEFINATELY perfect for beginners, because they will be able to fret the notes easier, and play faster than they would on all other entry level guitars. Yet dont mistake this for a student guitar. I have been playing for 12 years and own a gibson les paul that costs 10 times what this guitar costs, yet this guitar is still a vital part of my collection. I like it because it's very lightweight, and I can travel with it and not worry if it gets scratched and loses a few hundred bucks in value.
Quality
Negatives: Cheap singe ply pickguard Unfinished neck Plastic input jack plate Positives: Beautiful finish Fast smooth neck Good quality tuners Required very little setup out of the box. I just tweaked the intonation, pickup height and was good to go. The frets were smooth and clean and the neck position was good.
Value
One of the best guitars in its price range. Great for any level of players. I use it as a backup guitar, and to use when I play old school stuff that requires a twangy tone that I dont get from my les paul.
Manufacturer Support
Havent dealt with the manufacturer.
The Wow Factor
It's a beautiful guitar, with an excellent vintage vibe to it. A black or white pearloid pickguard added to it will make it even more gorgeous.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Blues, Indie
15 of 16 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 19, 2017 by MIchael H in Ashland, KY
"Squier Tele "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased this as a "blemished item", but on arrival, I can't find one anywhere. It shipped on Thursday and was here Saturday morning with the free shipping option. From the guitar to the service received, I'll be buying here more often. I am very happy and pleased with zZounds and the guitar.
Musical Background:
Not long, jam at home, play in church
Musical Style:
Blues, Christian
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 19, 2009 by a customer from aol.com
"classic sound on the cheap."
I thought it was a gimick at first, but I was wrong. This guitar is pretty good for the money. You should stop thinking about it and buy one. I would buy another one if this one disappeared.
Sound
The pick ups are a bit weak as compared to a MIM or American, but that is to be expected. I bought it for that Telecaster sound, lots of twang! I do everything from blues to metal on it and it all works.
Features
It is a Telecaster. You play it. Really nice mother of pearl fret markers is something I wish it had.
Ease of Use
It plays nicely for a cheap guitar.
Quality
The bridge screws are not the greatest and I had a heck of a time setting the action. The cheapo plastic plate that holds the input jack was broken when I got it, but I just cut a piece of fiber board, drilled some holes and the problem was solved. Other than that it seems solid. The tuners work well. The neck was smooth. I can see having this guitar for a long time. I have seen other Squire Telecasters that had really bad necks with sharp fret wires on them, this neck was not like that. The finish chips very easily, so be careful.
Value
It is worth the price to get a blonde tele that plays well.
Manufacturer Support
I never delt with the company.
The Wow Factor
I had to have a telecaster. My sound would not be what it is with out it. The color is what drew me to it in the first place, but since it played well, I bought it.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Sloppy
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 4, 2004 by a customer from hotmail.com
"A true, classic Fender Telecaster!"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
This guitar is now a cherished instrument, as much as all my others, maybe more so. It's a time-tested, classic design as evidenced by its continued popularity more than 50+ years after its initial debut.
Sound
A true Telecaster sound. Responsive, with that famous Fender 'twang', even at high volumes. Run through a Super Reverb amp, it's a classic combination. Good for blues, funk, rock and (naturally) country. It can even sound jazzy, with warmth and bite.
Features
I love the old-style 50's look with the modern features: good tuners, fully adjustable six-saddle bridge, medium-jumbo frets. I especially like the slimmer body - very comfortable to play. The top-loading bridge makes changing strings a breeze.
Quality
Finish, hardware and components are all high quality. A very well-crafted guitar. The 'aged' blonde color (butterscotch) is very appealing and well done, with just the right amount of wood grain showing for a tasteful, elegant look. Fender obviously maintains tight quality control, even on its import line. A professional grade instrument.
Value
The value is phenominal. It's a true, classic Fender instrument in every respect. For anyone to overlook the quality and value strictly due to the guitar being made in China and not in the US shows poor judgement, in my opinion.
Manufacturer Support
Only a one year warranty because of its budget status. Considering the level of quality, I doubt I'll ever have any problems as long as the guitar is properly treated and cared for.
The Wow Factor
I wanted a modern guitar with that 'vintage' look and a simple, basic design. This guitar had it all.
Musical Style:
blues, rock, funk and country
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 16, 2020 by Ernest Jarvis in Willisburg, KY
"Sweet inexpensive, affordable beginner guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was actually a bit apprehensive about purchasing this guitar as normally you do indeed get what you pay for and most low cost guitars are usually worthless junk but, I bought it for my grandson who is just learning and I didn't want to pay a huge price for an instrument until I know the kid is really serious about playing. I own eleven high end very expensive guitars and play professionally and I must say I am rather impressed with the quality of this axe. I found the finish to be nice enough and adequate for a teenager to rock out with and abuse as we all know any normal young rocker is simply gonna have to do. The set up was good right out of the box and the action is low and fast. The neck is very comfortable and for the price smooth enough with a 12 inch radius it's a breeze to play. I'm not all that impressed with the machine heads but I am used to more quality, however I can tune the guitar, play the hell out of it and it will stay pretty well in tune, they just aren't super precision but they'll get you were you wanna go. The guitar is versatile and has a wide range for any genre of music including blues and jazz or shredding, heavy metal, rock basically anywhere you want to go. The guitar is solid and a bit heavy but well balanced and the pickups can rock, the controls are straight forward and simple, the medium jumbo frets are smooth fret board is Fender sweet. I don't know about the strings as I always change to D'Addario NYXL .09/.46 strings outta the box so no comment there. All in all I will say this: "Damn nice guitar for a kid or anybody really", so if you want a good beginning this guitar might suit your needs, hey I'm good to go with it and kid is in guitar heaven.
Musical Background:
Guitarist for over 55 years
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Jazz you name it I can play it
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 25, 2015 by a customer from shaw.ca
"Fantasic guitar for the budget conscious"
This is a review of the Squier Affinity Telecaster. My review is for the two tone sunburst with rosewood fingerboard. See below for more details.
Sound
This guitar sounds like a telecaster. The stock pickups are weaker than most other variants but still retain that great telecaster sound. The rear pickup is great for country ala chicken picking, but can get ice picky if one isn't careful with the tone knob. I love the middle selection with both pickups, extremely balanced, and the front pickup works great for my instrumentals. For me the key to great sound is in the tone control. Unfortunately it is not as variable as it could be and I plan on replacing the entire harness in the future.
Features
I am a seasoned player and can get any guitar to sound to my liking. To be honest I will be replacing the pickups and electronics, as well as the tuners in time. I have become accustomed to a certain sound and find that lacking a bit with this model. That's not to say it isn't playable, but I require a bit more sophistication I guess. The nut is narrower than other Fender teles and the body 1/2 inch thinner too so that may be a concern for some.
Ease of Use
It is easy to get the tele sound. It's there albeit a bit weak.
Quality
The quality surpasses many MIA teles I've had in the past. The neck pocket is a perfect fit, no gaps whatsoever, and the finish is superb. The fret edges could use a touch up but that is very minor. Tuning keys are a little slack but not overly so.
Value
This product is definitely worth the money and more. People should realize that these models are built in a democratic Taiwan factory, not communist China. Big difference in terms of wages and quality IMO.
Manufacturer Support
n/a
The Wow Factor
I've had to many guitars and played too many years for any wow factor to be present. It is a solid investment and easy on the pocket book. Most of all it isn't junk. It is a true Fender guitar.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 30, 2006 by a customer from hobbsworld.net
"Steel Groovy!"
This beauty'll keep me runni'n for about 4 or 5 more years, when I get more money. Man, if it got stolen, I'd hunt it down, and get it back at all costs. This is because it has helped me widen my "spectrum" of ability, as it has a more free- for- all feel to it.
Sound
Compared to all my guitars, which include an SG and A FENDER strat, this guitar has the craziest bite, and slaps harder than anything I've played. Now, I'm a Country, rock, blues ,and anything but hip-hop player, and my tele can change tones to PERFECTLY match the appionted song. Okay, so I have a not-so-good amp, but it sounds even better, now, which is PERFECT, because All I'm gonna do is mic it for my next few gigs. Ony one thing- Make sure the pickup selector is absolutely completely tight, as mine used to wobble, and it eventually snapped.
Features
I bought this at a store, out of the box, so it had no accessories except for the obligatory truss-rod thingy. As far as features go, The pickups could use a little more "punch", But other than that, it's great! The Finish is wonderful, And the neck is absolutely Choice!
Ease of Use
First time I played this, I screamed, and jumped around like a monkey. It was such a relief, as I'd sold my SG copy, and My strat's neck annoys the hell out of me. Short and sweet- It plays like "BUTTER"
Quality
Again, my only beef with the quality is that the pickup selector snapped, but that's absolutely subjective. So, yeah, the thing is my primary and my backup! Too easy to repair to complain about.(Not like I've ever had to) For the road, it's sturdy as an ox, and it's extremely useful for those rowdy bars, where there might be a brawl at any moment. It's a total club!
Value
I'd pay a big buck for a guitar like this. It's an absoute STEAL, though, which surprises me.
Manufacturer Support
I can't complain 'bout support- never needed it!
The Wow Factor
Now, this tele's awesome, but I'd buy a better one if it was possible for me.(Tight budget)
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Everything but hiphop and Emo
13 of 15 people (87%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 8, 2012 by Ken B in Coldwater, MI
"Squire Butterscotch blonde Tele"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had mine now for 2 years and love it need I say more. It's got great tele twang with mellow sounding neck PU. It's a keeper!!!!
Musical Background:
46 years guitar player
Musical Style:
Blues, rock country
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 9, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"the best squire in years"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i will keep this guitar in my line up for the rest of my life as it will only get better through my playing n live shows
Sound
it as good as any frender i own as i am a country tribute cover act an it stand up to my style of playing and when i want to rock it rock away the night the only tip i have to make this product better is a good qualty amp n effects this guitar sound great live n people ask squire i say yes n i do my shows with it every night n people can't believe a squire can sound n look so good squire has come a long way i recomend buy one to day tony c of awrongsuffered guitar vocals
Features
it has crome turners not like the squires befor that would not stay in tune n the neck is one of the best ive played on the body is made of quilty like no other guitars at this price
Ease of Use
it easy just have a quilty amp plug it in n away u go u will be so impressed its easy to use with my studio gear n my live gear
Quality
this product is quilty n i have no complaints as it was set up perfect from factory and i did not have to set any thing to get it 2play n sound great
Value
it as good as any epiphone gibson copy guitars its as good as a real fender squire has come a long way
Manufacturer Support
if u need anything call the factory hotline there so helpfull
The Wow Factor
it came with classic butterscotch finish and just looking at it and seeing the quilty of the craftmanship is what will sell this to
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
country/rock
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 7, 2017 by jerry fulcher in stuart, VA
"Squire Affinity Telecaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Ordered on Sunday night received on Wensday unpacked plugged in ,all works fine i was surprized at how nce it was finish is really good neck is really great,only problem action was a little low,will readjust should be fine,for the money its a great buy,looks,sounds,feels great,i have owned american telecasters and this is just as good.I would reccomend it to anyone.I plan on buying another for my grandson.
Musical Background:
playing guitar for 45 years,played in small groups,all types of music from bluegrass to gospel to southern rock
Musical Style:
country,southern rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 11, 2006 by a customer from verizon.net
"Big surprise in an inexpensive package!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If it continues to sound and feel like it does, I don't think I'll be looking for a while.
Sound
Sound on this guitar is suprisingly good, I was really surprised. Always wanted a telecaster and this instrument certainly adds to a different style of playing. Neck pick-up could be a little better, but hey, for 160 bucks who's really going to complain!!!
Features
No accessories included other than the two allen wrenches. No literature of any type? Materials on this guitar seem to be pretty good, the neck seems very fast.
Quality
Still a little early to say. Originally bought this to play around with and maybe modify, but I think I'll hold off on that for a while to see how it hold up.
Value
Definately worth the price. For the sound and how the guitar looks, great buy and very classic looking.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to deal with them yet, so this is an unknown.
The Wow Factor
Very cool looking. That "Butterscotch" finish is very classy and lets "just enough" of the woodgrain to come through. The only thing that I would like to see that would make it just a little better looking is that famous "Skunk Stripe" on the back of the neck.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Jazz
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 26, 2013 by Bill T in Lafayette, LA
"Squier Affinity Maple Telecaster Special"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
has a good weight to it, plays as great and sounds the same. I was a bit turned off by a Squire, I always thought of Squire as being cheaply made and sound not up to par. Boy was I wrong. I was totally blown away by this guitar. I recommend this guitar to anyone who wants so save some money. I have always been a Brand name whore and this has totally changed my mind. Don't miss out on a guitar that has all of this quality available at a great price. Wish I had of found this out about 40 yrs ago. Better late than never.
Musical Background:
started playing in the 60's, I play lead guitar. I played professionally for about 18 yrs , I quit for about 20 and started play
Musical Style:
Rock, Southern Rock and a little Country
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 5, 2007 by a customer from mchsi.com
"Squier Affinity Telecaster: A Price/Quality Masterpiece!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
A well made guitar can last a long, long time if it is loved and cared for. Let me put it this way: You remember B.B. King's guitar Lucille, and the burning building episode? I get it about that! If this guitar were lost or stolen, I'd buy another one...probably get the Arctic White this time, though, or the black one. I actually bought this one for my daughters, and they gave up on learning to play so I glommed it back from them, and it has been my main squeeze for five years roughly.
Sound
This guitar will do anything you can imagine as a guitarist! It has outrageous! high end harmonics, but can sound like a straight-up acoustic on the front pickup too. It has miles of sustain, and a very broad spectrum of available tones. Super-clean when plugged directly into your amp (I use an old Peavey 160-watt combo amp driving a Black Widow 12), it works well with 9 out of 10 stomp boxes and multi-effects pedals too. I use it for live shows and in about half of the stuff my band records. My Affinity Tele is reliable and versatile to the max; the only caveats being that you must adjust the truss rod and string saddles accurately and patiently, and maintenance the guitar regularly (take good care of it!)I play classic rock, blues, doowop, covers, originals -- like I said, this axe does it all, I just love it. Baltic Blue.
Features
Everything about this guitar is first rate, the machines, the frets. The selector switch needs to be contact-cleaned once in a while and I actually had to put in a small shim to help align the switch contacts once but I think they have 'worn in' now -- no problem. The only feature I sort of wish it had was the 'string-through', but doing that might even have resulted in TOO much high end...
Ease of Use
The telecaster is inherently easy to use, it's practically 'stone-age' as electric guitars go. My Affinity is a true plug and play instrument. It stays in tune very well, once it has been 'played in'. It is as trouble-free as an electric guitar can be made. I would stress, however, that careful adjustment and maintenance are critical to all guitars, and this one is no exception.
Quality
I rely heavily on my Affinity Telecaster, and it was love at first sight -- the Baltic blue finish was impeccably applied, the maple neck smooth and sensuous to the touch! I don't worry about it breaking, it handles the normal inevitable clashes with walls and tables and gravity quite well and there are, after five years now, no dings on the body! There is a tiny, unexplained little 1" groove on the back of the neck, as if someone had a hellacious thumbnail! I think of it as a rugged, dependable piece of gear that performs way, way better than you would expect for such a low price.
Value
This guitar was one of the most intelligent purchases I ever made! It actually gave me some anxiety, to tell you the truth, because in the price vs. quality arena, the U.S. manufacturers are clearly being taken to school here, if you know what I mean....
Manufacturer Support
No warranty problems, no shipping problems, nothing in this category came up at all, so by default they get an A!....
The Wow Factor
Electric guitars are among the sexiest inventions of all time, to me, anyway -- they are a running Freudian nightmare, actually -- and my Affinity Telecaster, with its clean, sharp-edged look and its sheer functionality makes me proud to escort it onstage. (I'm proud to be seen with her!)
Musical Background:
Active musician, guitar teacher, songwriter, obssessed 30+years player
Musical Style:
Classic rock and roll mostly blues doowop originals
9 of 11 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 26, 2017 by Tim R in Grand Rapids, MI
"Great Tele for the $$"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was skeptical but this thing is a very good guitar for the money, I did have to radius the fret ends a little and tightened the truss rod about 1/4 turn for my liking and It sounded and plays great
Musical Background:
off and on for 20yrs
Musical Style:
Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 1, 2013 by Dan S in Mpls., MN
"Wow ! This thing is Nice !!"
I purchased this guitar a few months ago after seeing it in the store. I was first impressed with the quality. This guitar is Rock Solid and put together very well. Fit and finish is second to NONE. Like fine furniture. In fact, I thought I'd use it as a "beater" but it's way too nice for that. Everything about it is top-notch. The tuners work great and the controls are all smooth and function as they should. I now have it set-up the way I like it and could not be more pleased. AND.. It will Scream when you want it to. The folks at Fender really hit a home run with this one. Easily worth a lot more $$. I'm buying another one as a gift for my brother.
Musical Background:
Was involved with bands for many years. Now just play for my own enjoyment. Like trying new equipment.
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 13, 2018 by Shane Brooks in Granbury, TX
"Clarity is better than my American Tele"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
You won't believe how great this guitar sounds. The neck plays great, and that SOUND!!! Holy cow. The pickups are little noisy, but nothing that affect the tone or the volume. Buy this guitar today!!!
Musical Background:
Professional. 30 years. Guitar, Bass, Drums, Keys, Mandolin
Musical Style:
Guitar. Country. Rock. Worship
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 13, 2013 by Brian Phillips in Phenix City, AL
"Great Tele for the Money"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This Tele is really good for $180. I really expected to hate it and send it back, but it is better than some $500 guitars I have had. Looks great. Pick ups are vintage sounding and not very hot. Pots on mine were good. Frets were not perfect but really good.The neck is different than most Fender Telecasters. It is thin but beefy at the same time. Once you get used to it, it plays great. The frets are a little on the small side. Would prefer at least medium jumbo, but for the sound of the guitar at this price just have a fret job and it'll be perfect.
Musical Background:
25 years bass and guitar. Hobby and semi-pro
Musical Style:
Rock,Pop,Blues,metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 2, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Sweet!"
I am very happy with it. Yes I would get another one. Even if I had a Fender Tele this would be my left the good one at home guitar. I would never gig with anything without a backup, but once the switch and pots are changed I would trust it if I had to.
Sound
Sounds good for me.
Features
Better switch and pots. The plug input was already replaced when I got it.
Ease of Use
Only a 9 because of the crappy switch and pots. Other wise it stays in tune. Plays smooth.
Quality
The crappy pots and switch again, but everything else is jamming.
Value
GREAT! For under $200 it is a great deal.
Manufacturer Support
I don't need then so I don't know.
The Wow Factor
Love the color. It is a tele.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist, DJ
Musical Style:
Rock, country, techno.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 6, 2019 by Roy K in Cocoa Beach, FL
"Great Tele Type Ax!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had mine for a few years! I play in clubs. I have 50 guitars, and do not hesitate to use this Tele on stage! I replaced the stock pups with GFS Brand rail type Humbuckers. No mods needed, except for a little filing on the pup cut-outs here and there! It Rocks! The stock pups were OK, but I wanted a bit more Punch, W/O feedback!
Musical Background:
Been playing since 1965. I was a guitar amp, pianos/organs shop owner, in '70's
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, '50's '80s.Classic and New Country, Blues, the usual club stuff!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 3, 2019 by Sam G in Boyd, TX
"Room for improvement"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Finish is great, looks good, neck is sanded and not lacquered which is nice. However, both pots felt gritty, like sand was in them, and the volume pot only had actuation from 3/4 to full. Under a 1/4 turn down it shut off. Rather than deal with a return situation I replaced both with new fender pots. If you want an entry level tele that you can make a project out of this is a good starting point. If you're looking for something that is better setup I'd spend a little more on a classic vibe or other higher end series.
Sound
Sound is fine for a 200 dollar tele
Features
It's a basic tele, mostly impressed with the smooth neck and finish
Ease of Use
Mine came with bad pots, so outside of that it's pretty straightforward
Quality
Gonna have to put the quality as the low point here, since the pots were bad from the start
Value
200 is a bit high, I'd say it needs to be in the 120-150 range
Manufacturer Support
Didn't have to deal with the manufacturer. Fixed it myself
The Wow Factor
Not particularly wowed by the product itself, more wowed by the tele mystique
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 1, 2012 by G P
"GOOD Instruments with some caveats"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Aesthetically, the guitar looks very nice actually, better than I expected - The neck is nice and good for my hands - rounder than some may like though, I love it. CAVEAT-1: Frets are sharp! They didn't dress them properly. Even at this price, I don't expect to scrape my hand on un-finished fretwork. I have never played an instrument (even at this price/level) that was so bad in that department. I will have to do it myself. Of course, I could send it back to Fender but, I don't want to mess with packing, shipping, etc...The knobs and other metal parts, including the pickup selector switch, are pretty cheap feeling (CAVEAT no.2). Again, even at this price point, other manufacturer offer better "solutions". Be that as it may, everything works as it should.The pickups are ok and sound as one would expect for an instrument of this type. If you want better, there are many options from Fender and other manufacturer. As it is, the guitar as a typical and respectable tele sound and it will do until I decide to change pickups. Not a necessity right away...Bridge and saddles also feel/look cheap. as though they are made of some inferior material and low-quality paint/chrome job - I am NOT saying that is the case, simply that they FEEL/LOOK as though it were.All in all I like the guitar but, even at this price, they could have done better, especially since similarly priced instruments from other manufacturers don't suffer from those issues. Especially the fret issue, which IMO is inexcusable these days.In the end, I am very glad I got the instrument and I will slowly fix those shortcoming which of course, will drive the price much higher than its original amount...making you wonder how "good" of a deal it really is :)I would recommend this to other players, beginners or not, keeping in mind those aforementioned caveats.
Musical Background:
PRO
Musical Style:
Jazz/Blues/Country/Latin/Classical
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 25, 2006 by a customer from sbcglobal.net
"A Classic, at an amazing price."
I am what you would call a guitar whore. I have 3 Jacksons, a Fender, a BC Rich, 5 Sqiers,an Epiphone, an Ovation, and a couple of customs, and I still love to play this guitar on stage, and at home. If any one ever says that this is not as good as or better than a Fender, shut them up by letting them play it.
Sound
This is my third Aff.series tele. I obviuosly love the sound and feel of this guitar.
Features
this particular Tele. is one of my favorite Fender models. With the slimmer body,and neck it cannot be beat. The only problem I have ever had with Sqier is the quality of the fret wire. After a fret job though try to beat it.
Quality
I own 5 Squier's and other than the frets have never had a complaint.
Value
Play it, look at the price,You'll figure it out.
Manufacturer Support
Never needed it.
The Wow Factor
I have purchased 3 over the last 5 tears.
Musical Background:
Active Musician 20 years
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 20, 2019 by Jeremy R in Missoula, MT
"Get it, it plays better thank you think!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
For the price, this guitar is a steal. All you guitar snobs keep your 2500$+ guitars. You're all just paying for a name on a headstock. This guitar seriously plays and sounds very good. Entry level price, but the guitar will hang with the expensive ones. Parents looking for their kids' first guitar; this is it.
Musical Background:
25+ years
Musical Style:
Everything.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 30, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Easiest Way to Get That Great Telecaster Sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This will last me the rest of my life. I won't part with this guitar.
Sound
When it arrived, the stock pick ups sounded cheap and tinny. Replaced them with 52 reissue pups and now it rocks.
Features
A Tele doesn't get much more basic. Does what it's supposed to now.
Ease of Use
With the new pick-ups, through my Digitech RP-1 into my Fender Frontman 212r, it's got the sound I need for the songs I use it on.
Quality
after modifying it to my specs, it works well.
Value
For a maple neck and alder body, it's a great value!
The Wow Factor
Cheap way to get Telecaster sound.
Musical Background:
50 years.
Musical Style:
Classic rock, some country, oldies.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 10, 2004 by a customer from rice.edu
"No better Tele for the money out there. A steal."
I'll have this until it falls apart, which I expect will be a long time.
Sound
Great sound. I run it through a Crate GFX 15 with onboard effects, and it sounds great on all of them.
Features
Features are first-rate except for the cheesy selector switch, which everyone complains about (even on Fenders). Otherwise, it is really well made.
Quality
Seems like a much more expensive guitar in terms of quality. Only cheesy thing is the selector switch.
Value
This guitar is a steal for the money. Except for the lable, it's the real Fender Tele deal.
Manufacturer Support
Don't know--no problems yet.
The Wow Factor
The butterscotch finish is way cool with the maple neck and black nut and dots on the fingerboard. Super cool looking axe, but classic too.
Musical Style:
Rock, Country
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 11, 2006 by a customer from msn.com
Squier Affinity Telecaster Customer Review
Sound
it is very smooth
The Wow Factor
it is a great looking guitare w/ a kick ass sound
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 13, 2019 by MW Johnson in N, FL
"Affinity Tele"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Had this guitar about a month or so. Decided to review it. Let point several cons about the one I have, the bolt holes weren't drilled straight, the tone pot doesn't move smoothly and the neck is a smidgen bowed. Despite these cons, adjustment will fix the neck, the volume and tone controls are very responsive. It is easy to fret. No buzz at all. Indonesia could step up the quality control. I've played it through a Fender Champion 20 and a Bugera BC15. It's sounds very good through the Champion, however, this lower shelf Telephone really shines when played through the BC15. All this said I call it a keeper. It was actually bought to have something to play on because I lost my other lost in a fire, until I reach the point I can replace it with a higher quality guitar.
Musical Background:
Bedroom rock star...
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 17, 2014 by Jerome S F in Ventura, CA
"The Squier Telecaster by Fender"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I cannot believe the quality of workmanship that came out of this instrument. The harmonics and intoenation was perfect, the Tele sound perfect and the neck was dead on the money, perfect. Any new rock n rollers, this is a great guitar for a 1st guitar. This going to be my 2nd converted guitar. I've played for over 50yrs, and I need a lighter body so I bought this to convert a Tele on stairiods. I'm lucky here since I mainly play a number acoustics and only one electric. When I'm done, I would hope it will be a great looker guitar. 1st thing I did was using 250grit sand paper removed "Squier and made in China". The rest of it will be displayed later. Again, without touching it, a great 1st instrument!
Musical Background:
50years of writing, building and teaching guitar, bass, mandolin, dulcimer, banjo and now the bellalika.
Musical Style:
Strong on finger styles in most situations I can get by with flat picks. If I can sing it, I can play it! My wife does the singi
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 11, 2017 by Michael H
"Squire Tele"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The guitar arrived on time, and was playable out of the box with only a tune. It sounds amazing, and playability is awesome. I wish I would have switched from Les Paul's sooner.
Musical Background:
Play at home, and in Church
Musical Style:
Christian, blues
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 8, 2021 by jman m in P C BEACH, FL 32407, USA, FL
"This is an outstanding guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have a 2021 model, strings come from the back, some people say the pickups are weak, they are not, i found them to be as hot as my jazzmaster, the fret work is great no fret sprout, the nut was cut pretty good, it plays with action 2/64 at the 12th fret. I have not found one flaw on this guitar, if you find the neck pickup weak and bassy, take the chrome cover off, it will be louder and have a better tone. i installed a 5 way switch and did the Bill Lawrence mod, i will give you an extra strat tone and neck pickup with bass cut. this is better than the G&L tribute tele that i had, just amazing guitar, the finish is perfect. I purchased this from zZounds.
Musical Background:
rock, country, finger style
Musical Style:
finger style, country.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 15, 2021 by harvey m in panama city beach, FL
"This is an outstanding guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If you are looking at firefly or Glarry guitars STOP. I have owned both and this tele is outstanding, it was playable out of the box, no sharp frets, the nut was cut pretty dam good, the pickups are almost as loud as my jazzmaster, and the bridge placement is perfect, the imports are placing the bridge to far back, and when you intonate you have to move the saddles closer to the bridge, making the bridge pickup really bright. The fret leveling is great i have no buzz with action set to 2/64th at the 12th fret, tuners are good. no flaws any where. it appears to have a graphite nut, a modern low profile bridge plate. the neck is a little fat front to back with normal width, great finish.
Musical Background:
rock, country, finger style
Musical Style:
instrumental
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 1, 2013 by Lawrence K in Frackville, PA
"A low end guitar for sure"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First off kudos to Zzounds. Ordered this 8am on a Friday and had by 1pm Saturday. That was unexpected. Anyway, was excited to get this guitar as it had many good reviews. My first impression after unpacking was good. Nice finish, it looked good but that's where it ends. One grip of the neck and you could tell how flimsy it was. The finish on the frets was horrible, many sharp edges, many frets not level. Finish on the back of the neck was also disappointing. Sound was descent, nothing to complain about, nothing to brag about. Pickup switch feels flimsy and is difficult to slide. Tone control did very little to change the tone. Overall impression is that this guitar should be packaged in one of those plastic window boxes and sold at Walmart for around $100. Fender should be embarrassed to put their name on it, Epiphone entry level guitars are light years ahead of these.
Musical Background:
20 + yrs playing, own fenders and gibsons, currently jamming at home have played professionally
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Blues, Classical
1 of 5 people (20%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 8, 2020 by stephen chatman in shasta lake, CA
"just got this guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just got the guitar back from having set done the bridge was not put on straight and the small e string pick up dont make middle of its pick uo .. Im going to have to have the bridge reinstalled to get my high e to sound right. also the frets were sharp but that I expected ..well I noticed they want a order number to return I received so I will have to call no paperwork
Musical Background:
hobby
Musical Style:
classic rock/pop
of 3 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 26, 2008
"GREAT GUITAR"
GREAT GUITAR.
Sound
The sound of this guitar is amazing once you learn to dial it in. For about the first year that i had this guitar, i was still learning and didnt mess with the pickup selector, volume knob, or tone knob, mainly because i didnt know how to get tones from it. Lately I've been experimenting with those and can get great contry and blues tones. For those two, i usually have the gain between 5 and 8 but then i back off the volume konb on the guitar for cleaner tones for those genres. For rock I turn up the gain and use the bridge pickup. For anything besides metal, it works great. Nice fat distortion tone or jangly clean tone, whatever you're in the mood for.
Features
Obviously it's a tele, no special switches or knobs, just a straight forward guitar. One tone knob, one volume knob, and a 3-way selector. The only thing i wish it had is either a fishman bridge or a middle pickup (both available on Fender models but couldnt afford those). Really no complaints other than it's difficult to intonate, but maybe its just mine. (the screws only go so far out)
Ease of Use
Very easy use. Simple configuration makes getting great tones easy. I usually plug straight into my Fender Champion 300, but occasionly if i want a brighter tone i'll use my Boss DS-1. Works very well with both. It's not too heavy thanks to the thinner body and the neck is really thin so moving fast takes no effort at all. The action came set a little bit high but that was an easy fix.
Quality
For the price, it's made very well. the only problems i've had are that the volume knob fell off within a few days of having it(glued it back on. No trouble since), the selector came bent a little bit but it works fine, and the input won't hold the cable very well( i wrap it around the strap and it stays in. This isn't my main guitar and i can't say whether i'd recommend it for "on the road". Personally, with mine, i'd say no. I fell it will last a long time with only minor upgrades.
Value
Definitely one of the best guitars for the price. Compared to my friends Ibanez, this things kills. I also compared it to the Epiphone Les Paul Special and it killed once again.
Manufacturer Support
Havn't had to contact them.
The Wow Factor
Good looking but i've seen better. Finish chips easily and its easy to ding. not something to lust over but a great something to listen to.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
everything
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 29, 2007
"Squire out did themselve on this one"
I love this guitar. I have always felt that you don't need to spend a fortune to get a quality insturment, and this Squire Tele is proof of that. All anyone with doubts has to do is play it and they will be sold. I never imagined that I would be getting such a great guitar when I purchased it, but this Tele has really impressed me. I would recommend it to any level of guitarist, from beginner to seasoned pro. So if you want to get ripped off and spend a fortune for a name then go buy a Les Paul, but if you want a quality guitar that plays and sounds great, then buy this Tele.
Sound
This guitar sounds great, and for the price you can't beat it. I play mostly traditional country with a little southern rock and blues mixed it, and this guitar really delivers the old style "twang" that tele's are famous for. It is perfect for a clean country sound, but also gives you a great classic/southern rock sound when distorted. The neck pickup has a great soft sound, but it is a little weak. I may consider upgrading the pickups in the future, but for now I am very happy with it as is. I was a little concerned with how the top-loading bridge would effect the sound, but it doesn't to be an issue at all.
Features
If you want features, don't buy a tele. If you want a solid guitar that performs and sounds great, then buy this guitar.
Ease of Use
I have played many different guitars over the years that cost hundreds more than this Squire, including some high end Fender Tele's, and this guitar is very comparable. It came ready to play right out of the box, and I did very little to achieve that classic Tele sound that I was aiming for. The neck is very fast, and very easy to play. The action is just right, and plays as good, if not better than much more expensive guitars. My brother has a collection of guitars ranging in price from $1000-3000, and very few of them outplay my Squire Tele, and none of them have that great Tele sound.
Quality
For the money, you just can't beat it. In the past, I have payed much more for less. I guess with age and little experience, I have become less impressed with big brand names. I wanted a durable guitar that delivered the classic sound, and I found it with this Squire. It is very well made, and stays in tune even with hard struming and bending. With proper care, this Squire Tele will last you a long time. I haven't had mine long, but I expect to be playing it for many years to come.
Value
Without question, the best value on the market that I have seen. This guitar could easily sell for $500 and still be a good deal. I couldn't be happier with my decision to purchase it. For $170 you can't go wrong.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't needed it.
The Wow Factor
I have always wanted to own a Tele, but didn't want to spend the money. When I saw this Squire Tele I thought I would take a chance, and I am very pleased that I did. It is very well made and when other musicians here it, they can't believe that it's not the real thing. Being a traditionalists, I was really attracted the butterscotch finish, and when I got it out of the box I was absolutely amazed by the beauty and craftmanship of this guitar. Squire out did themselve on this one.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Country, Southern Rock, Blues
34 of 36 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 14, 2007
"Great Ax"
Sound
I love the telecaster sound. It has that nice twangy soundthat no other guitar can achieve. Without a little wah-wah use on my Les Pual, it can't match.
Quality
This guitar is very high quality.
The Wow Factor
This guitar looks great.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 11, 2007
Squier Affinity Telecaster Customer Review
After I switch the pickups this would lat me a LONG time.
Sound
I like the sound alot. Although i wouldn't mind switching the neck pickup, maybe.
Features
I rated 10 'cause there arent any, just some knobs.
Ease of Use
Easy to make it sound like you want it to. The neck is very nice, much better than that of my Squier Strat.
Quality
Tone knobs a little loose, but that's it.
Value
This guitar is worth the money. BUY IT.
Manufacturer Support
Never dealt with Fender.
The Wow Factor
I love the buterscotch finish. The picture just doesn't do it justice.
Musical Background:
A guy who plays music
Musical Style:
Rock, Alternative
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 14, 2006
"Guitar Review"
Over all the guitar was great and I didn't have any problems with it except the string but that's all.
Sound
The sound is good if you change the old strings.
Features
Just came by it self but the Tele is just as close as the real thing.
Ease of Use
The slim neck gives you full control of the guitar specially for solos.
Quality
Like I said all you need to change is the strings. The durability of this guitar is strong, I've drop mine but the guitar is still strong like before.
Value
The best value for a great guitar!
The Wow Factor
The nice finish gives it a nice look.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 2, 2006 by a customer from verizon.net
"Great guitar with an even greater price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Overall great guitar, sounds like $1000, but costs less than $200. For the musician who mostly plays at home and the ocassional live gigs (which probably accounts for 99% of the guitar playing public) there is no need to spend more money. I can not say how this guitar performs in the studio, since I have not done any recording with it.
Sound
This guitar sounds as good as a standard Fender Telecaster. When shopping I played this guitar, then a $900 American Tele and I could barely tell the difference. I used the guitar at church and playing the guitar without any effects produced a great clean sound, then I played with a chorus effect and got an excellent sound.
Features
All of the same features as a standard Telecaster,great sounding pickups.
Quality
Overall very well made, solid construction, very attractive finish. The only downsides (and a small ones at that) is that there is no finish on the neck, and the neck needs to be a tiny bit wider.
Value
This guitar is just as good as guitars that cost 2-5 times more. The sound is amazing for a guitar that costs less than $200. Some people might not give Squier guitars the credit they deserve because they are so inexpensive, but these guitars are great for practice or for playing live, I have seen Squier guitars sustain years of playing live shows and still have great sound.
The Wow Factor
the finish and components are shiny and attractive, you get that great Telecaster look. Again, the only slight downside is the lack of finish on the neck.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist, Worship Team Member
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, Worhsip Music
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 4, 2004
Squier Affinity Telecaster Customer Review
Nice backup. excellent beginners guitar
Sound
Awesome tele sound for the price
Features
I would've preferred string-through but top loader doesn't affect tone/resonance at all.
Quality
Excellent for the price. Selector switch is flimsy.
The Wow Factor
Pleasantly surprised with sound and quality of this guitar
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to