Squier Vintage Modified '70s Jazz Electric Bass

Squier Vintage Modified '70s Jazz Electric Bass

Squier's recreation of the classic '70s Jazz Bass is packed with the same playability and in-your-face J Bass tone that made the original so sought-after.

Overall User Ratings (based on 19 ratings)
Overall:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Sound:
5 out of 5 stars
Features:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Ease of Use:
5 out of 5 stars
Quality:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Value:
5 out of 5 stars
Manufacturer Support:
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Wow Factor:
4.5 out of 5 stars
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
(19)
Submitted March 6, 2016 by Thomas Hunt in Wood River, IL
"Awesome bass!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
When I say awesome I mean it...not awesome for the money, but awesome. Got it out of the box, tuned it up, lowered a couple strings and it plays like a champ. I got my money's worth and more with this bass. Will probably end up changing the bridge down the road, but would have done that with the American or Standard jazz bass as well. Got the natural finish. Its beautiful...feels great and plays even better!
Musical Background:
30 years playing bass
Musical Style:
Rock, metal, blues
12 of 12 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 26, 2015 by Edward F in New York, NY
"VM 70's J Bass"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Excellent instrument. Owned it for about a year. I put Dimarzio Ultra Jazz Bass Pickups in it. This was just a personal preference as the stock pickups are fine. The service from zzounds was also excellent. This is my seventh bass and I use it more than the other six (Pedulla, Tune, Kramer, Fender and Ibanez). I also have the Squier VM Fretless J Bass another fine instrument. People should stop looking at the name on the headstock and judge the instrument on how it performs!!!!!!
Musical Background:
Playing Bass 37 Years.
Musical Style:
Jazz, Funk and Fusion
32 of 33 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 7, 2015 by Blake F in Fayetteville, AR
"Amazing bass for the price."
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This bass sounds great running through my Hartke Bass Attack preamp. The tone is awesome and it came nearly set up the way I like it. I had to make very few adjustments even to set the intonation. Nothing about this bass can be beat in this price range. Period.
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 1, 2016 by William L in Detroit, MI
"This is a Squire? "
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a Squire? I own several Fender's including a 75' Jazz, first run Geddy, Lee and a custom shop Jazz. I am proud to stand this Bass next to them. For $350, it has everything a seasoned pro would want. If your an entry level player you'll do backflips owning it, and it won't break Mom and Dad's bank. zZounds shipped it fast, and with their payment plan it's a win win. Only changes I'll be making is a Hipshot bridge and extender and a tortise pickguard, but I do that to all my Basses. Cheers!
Musical Background:
Touring and recording Professional.
Musical Style:
Whatever's paying
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 8, 2014 by a customer from chuckboggs.com in Petersburg, WV
"Squire Vintage Modified 4 String Bass"
Overall: 4 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Purchased this Bass about 5 weeks ago. I a seasoned Bassist and heard that the quality of these instruments was way below the price point . Out of the box I did have to set the action to my liking. Finish and overall construction of this instrument was spot on. Hardware was solid and quality material . The frets above the 14th fret need some filing on the edges. Buy one and see for yourself . You will not be disapponted.
Musical Background:
Professionally 35+ years Bass player
Musical Style:
Classic Rock , Blues , R& B,
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 4, 2014 by Frank R in Houston, TX
"Great Bass, Good sound"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Let me start off by saying i have not made anything more then some bridge adjustments to my bass, it is in need of truss rod adjustments but even so the intonation is pretty damn close to how it should be. THE TONE! its got the almost Geddy /joes garage zappa tone with its own colors too it, the necks got a fat round mellow tone, the bridge is bright and gives a great jaco sounding result. Very well setup bass nice feel and the neck is a DREAM. i am very much happy with the bass and believe the soft maple body makes a huge impact in terms of the tone this baby has compared to most basses in this price range. The only problem i could point out about this bass is one of the 4 neck bolts on the back of the body is screwed in crooked and the neck is slightly offset from the body in the neck pocket. Nothing majorly wrong, tuners hold there own and i rarely have to make any adjustments, but i will be changing the bridge, and pickups out of this bass. Hope this review helps and that others may enjoy this bass like i have :)
Musical Background:
5 years of bass playing 3 1/2 years of stage experience
Musical Style:
Funk, Metal, Jazz fusion, Reggae
17 of 18 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 24, 2016 by a customer from gmail.com
"Fantastic specimen"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The bass was perfectly set up right out the box. The sounds I can get out of it are delicious. Affordable, easy to play, and a joy to behold! (Seriously, that glossy maple neck, mmmmm!) Please note: kindly disregard the rating for "Manufacturer Support", as I have not needed to contact the manufacturer.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 6, 2015 by William E in Durham, NC
"Squire Has Made Leaps And Bounds"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I recall a time when Squire meant low cost, low quality instruments you regretted purchasing. Times have changed and so has Squire. Quality control has really been tightened up. I cannot stress enough how impressed I am with the overall quality of my new Squire Vintage Modified '70s Jazz Bass. The neck is amazing. The pickups sound awesome. The finish is flawless. i cannot find one thing wrong or sub par with this bass at all. I also own a Fender Precision. This Squire Jazz sounds and plays every bit as well. It arrived quickly and the setup was pretty close to perfect...I only had to set the intonation. I really love this bass and you will too. They are really high quality and an amazing value.
Musical Background:
23 years Live performance Tech crew
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal
11 of 12 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 7, 2018 by Jeffrey M in Clarksville, TN
"Squier has upped their game"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Fresh out the box, slight bridge and string height adjustments, this girl plays like a dream. I've owned 4 other squiers. My first bass was a P starter kit and ive been playing for 15 years. Build quality keeps getting better. I really dig the tone running through my mxr m80 di really excited to see how it sounds in a live mix. Well worth the price and if you want better hard ware, upgrades would still be cheaper and sound better tan anything in the fender line. Not that its a fender product anywho.
Musical Background:
15 years on bass with Church band, aux percussion
Musical Style:
Christian
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 22, 2014 by Randy Singleton in Elizabethton, TN
"Best Bang for your Buck"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
I have owned this bass for over a year now play it regularly in a praise and worship group at our church. I bought it used with a new set of strings on it and have not had to do anything to it. The tone and action are both superb making it the best playing bass I have ever owned. I regularly receive compliments on how cool the natural finish looks with the black accents. I recently played a Mexican Fender at our local guitar store with thoughts of upgrading, but it looked and felt just like my Squier painted red with the action set too high. That Fender cost over twice what I paid for my Squier and didn't play near as well. My guitar has the Duncan designed pickups and the ad above mentioned Fender designed pickups with that being the only difference between this one and the one I own.
Musical Background:
I began playing over 30 years ago and currently play with a praise group at our church
Musical Style:
Contemporary Christian, Southern Gospel, and Hymns mostly.
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 10, 2016 by Steve M in Las Vegas , NV
"Squire 70' Jazz Bass"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The bass was just what I was looking for, I owned a Fender Jazz bass in 1972. This bass is must better quality and looks great.
Musical Background:
30 years, guitar, bass, keyboard
Musical Style:
Rock, classes rock, blues, country
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 21, 2016 by Tiffany Snelgrove in Dundee, FL
"Excellent Bass for the Price!!"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This bass is awesome! It plays perfect right out of the box and has such a versatile sound. The neck is super easy to play and feels good in your hand! I can't put this beauty down. zZounds' 4 month payment plan is the best and I wouldn't have been able to buy my dream bass without them. Thanks guys, you have a loyal customer here!!!
Musical Background:
I started playing violin at age 13, then taught myself guitar at age 14 and then started learning to play bass about 8 years ago
Musical Style:
Classic rock, blues, soul, hard rock, pop, reggae and a little bit more.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 11, 2019 by Miguel V in Woodstock, IL
"Nice Bass"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First you notice is that this is a very nice looking bass. I did my research and read nothing but positive things about this bass. Squier has come a long way. This is a well made instrument with plenty of options to choose from at only a fraction of the price of the Fender version. I was surprised at how good the stock pickups sound. I normally don't keep stock pickups from Squier, but this is an exception. You get a good variety of tones not just for jazz, but also good for rock, blues, funk and so forth. This is a very versatile bass of great build quality. For the price I would say this is a steal. Awesome buy!
Musical Background:
16 years
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Latin, Pop, and Funk.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 2, 2019 by George M in ANCRAM, NY
"Excellent Bass!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a beautiful bass. Plays and sounds great. Absolutely gorgeous natural finish. Could not find one single flaw. Squire's attention to detail is exquisite. If you're on a budget and looking for a fantastic, well made, great sounding bass look no more. This is it!
Musical Background:
I've been playing professionally for 30+ years. I play guitar and bass.
Musical Style:
Rock, Folk and Country.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 20, 2018 by RICARDO VELEZ in DAVIE, FL
"Squier Vintage Modified 70s Jazz Bass"
Overall: 4.5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This Bass Has The Sound That I was Looking For, Is Sweet, I Have Been Playing Bass For Over 45 Years And I remember Back In The Days I had An American Jazz Fender And This One Sound Just Like it ,And For The Price You Can Beat It . I will Recommend To Buy It From zZounds The Best Gear Store On Line
Musical Background:
45 Years Playing Bass And Guitar
Musical Style:
All Kinds
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 29, 2019 by Lincoln C in St Louis, MO
"Great bass for the price"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This bass has the feel I was looking for ...great bass Ill change out the pickups and that's it.I've been playing Fender basses for a long time and this fits in with the rest of my basses.
Musical Background:
Im a Bass player and Drummer...I have been playing for over 30 years..professionally
Musical Style:
R&B...Funk.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 3, 2015 by Edgar R in Issaquah, WA
"People love this bass!"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I get so many compliments on the looks of the this beauty. It's my first Jazz Bass, always played Thunderbirds before this. My back loves this lighter bass, I love that it sounds so thick. Very impressed with this Squier. The Quality reminds me of the old Japanese Squier's of the 80's
Musical Background:
30+ years experience, touring musician.
Musical Style:
Blues-Punk, Country, Metal
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 25, 2014 by Edward F in New York, NY
"Excellent"
Overall: 5 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Product quality and sound is unbelievable. Never been happier with a purchase. The pay as you play plan is a big plus also.
Musical Background:
Playing bass 35 years
Musical Style:
Funk Fusion Jazz
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 20, 2014 by Algernon M in CHICAGO, IL
"Very nice bass for the price"
Overall: 1 out of 5 stars
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bass plays very well.....construction is quite good for the price range. will be upgrading pickups and maybe an preamp soon.
Musical Style:
Jazz , Blues, Classic Rock, Funk
5 of 11 people (45%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
Please wait.