Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Squier Classic Vibe '50s Telecaster Electric Guitar
BACK IN STOCK

Squier Classic Vibe '50s Telecaster Electric Guitar

Squier's Classic Vibe '50s Telecaster is a great value on a classic guitar. Fender Designed Alnico single-coils deliver that Tele twang, with plenty of bite.

Overall User Ratings (based on 62 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(62)
Submitted January 29, 2015 by Joseph Valenti in New York, NY
"Just can't stop playing this guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just recieved this guitar a few days ago, and I can't put it down. I know there are many positive reviews, and I have never written a review for a guitar before. To qualify that I have been playing guitar since 1969, I have been everything from studio musician to wedding band player. I have preformed live a many famous names from the past. I currently still gig, sing and front my current band. I own many high end expensive fender guitars, and never thought to review one of them. This guitar is different, it out preforms many of my far more expensive guitars. The only thing i did was to take some relief out of the neck, and set up action the way I like it, I am amazed. Fit and finish is near perfect, frets feel like the just came out of the shop, body weight and size is just to 1950 spec. If you didn't think it could get better, the pickups out preform my 52 reissue. Hurry up and by one before fender realizes they made a mistake, and don't worry about name on headstock. I am so jealous of young players today, a cheap guitar when i started playing would mean bloody finger tips.
Musical Background:
I Have been Playing since 1969, I still actively gig playing out at least once a month. I also sing and fond my current band
Musical Style:
Classic Rock Top 40
64 of 65 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 8, 2018 by GLENN L. BAKER in CHILLICOTHE, MO
"TOP OF THE LINE PRODUCT EXCEPT FOR PRICE"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Many thanks to zZounds for helping me afford this blonde gem with the alnico 5 pu's. Very nice grained pine body and a beautifully finished neck, everything is top shelf. It is well balanced, a tad weighty but what the heck, the tone comes thru perfectly. You'd be hard pressed to find an instrument of this quality for anyhow twice the money. My hat is off to the SQUIER CO. and to ZZOUNDS for giving us a terrific instrument to play and hear. It is a real GEM. ok, come ln Squier people, don't hike the price now that everyone is raving about your CUSTOM VIBE products.
Musical Background:
Been playing 65 years-love the old country and rock-n-roll-
Musical Style:
50's, 60's, 70's country, rock-n-roll and rock-a-billy. Music that I grew up with and still like.
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 10, 2018 by Johnny B in OAK GROVE, LA
"Best bang for your buck!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I own about 20 guitars total. Some very high end. The neck on this guitar is unbelievable. The neck is nice and smooth and fretwork is perfect. And the tone from this tele is phenomenal. This guitar will hang with many much more expensive models. For the quality of this guitar, I feel it was a steal with the price I paid.
Sound
Awesome is the best definition. The sound from these Alnicos rates up there if not better than some of my custom shop pickups. I honestly could not believe the tone from it being a squier.
Features
I love the vintage look, tone, and feel of this guitar. The simple three toggle switch and no-frills hardware is a perfect match for this model. With the build quality of this guitar, it should cost much much more.
Ease of Use
It plays like butter. The neck and controls on this guitar is phenomenal.
Quality
This is a very well made guitar with quality parts. I can't find anything on this guitar that screams lower model entry level. This is a true quality player.
Value
A great value is an understatement for this guitar. I am truly blown away by the amount of guitar you get for the price point.
Manufacturer Support
Have not but I have spoken with Fender in the past with some of my other guitars and they were always helpful. I am sure it would be no different if I ever needed support with this one.
The Wow Factor
It is a classic designed tele with the look and feel to support it. When you play it, you know you are playing a fine quality guitar. I love the look and feel of the body and neck with the vintage tones.
Musical Background:
Professional player and teacher with over 40 years experience. I am also an avid collector and self taught luthier.
Musical Style:
I do not limit my playing/teaching to any one genre. I am more into the tones and techniques and what sounds good to my ears.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 17, 2016 by mark anderson in ventura, CA
" I NEVER leave reviews but.........."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a fine Telecaster. I have owned over 135 guitars. Name brand good guitars. When I started the sell off... I ended up keeping 2 USA Strats, 2 USA Teles and 2 Custom ship 58 Les Paul's "R" reissue VOS. All three awesome guitars. But, after reading (for years) the reviews on this CV Tele I bit the bullet and boy, am I glad I did. After a 5 minute set up and am near overwhelmed at this Tele. I am not going to change a thing, just play the crap out of it. Playing it through a Blues Jr. III and my Fudge Brownie Deluxe Reverb. I could not be happier with this guitar. Buy one before they are gone.
Musical Background:
Since 1961
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock,
23 of 24 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 14, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Totally floored!!! It's a Squier!!!???"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I expect to be satisfied with this for a very long time. If this were lost or stolen a would buy another one just like it right away. I have no complaints whatsoever.
Sound
This guitar sounds really great. If you're looking for that true "tele" sound, this guitar will definitely not disappoint. I was expecting the single-coil pickups to be noisy while playing through my distortion pedal (Fulltone Full drive 2) but the buzzing was very very minimal. Country, blues, rock, this guitar sounds great in all situations.
Features
The glossy neck is straight as an arrow. It's a seriously beautifully made and good looking guitar.
Ease of Use
Plays excellent. The action and fret height was great right out of the box. No fret buzz what so ever.
Quality
Cosmetically superb. I am surprised this is a Squier. I will totally take this on the road. I played it for 3 hours today and it barely went out of tune. The tuners are very decent and seem very durable.
Value
GREAT bang for the buck. I would choose this over a MIM Tele any day of the week.
The Wow Factor
Super sexy! I love seeing the wood grain through the finish.
Musical Background:
Active musician
Musical Style:
Indie rock
21 of 22 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 16, 2019 by Han Djob in Atlanta, GA
"My new favorite guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My first Tele is incredible! I’ve heard such great things about this guitar that I had to give it a shot, even if it were 2-3x the price. Vintage Blonde was my choice and the finish is beautiful in my opinion. Pretty heavy guitar, but I like that. First Poly neck for me, kind of a game changer. I actually love the way it feels. Love the neck pup, bridge is a little too bright and twangy for me, but it’s a Tele so this should be expected. The middle position seems to be the sweet spot for my taste, which sounds great enough to keep that bridge pickup for good (and just roll some of that high end off). Tuners feel phenomenal, really like the vintage feel. Overall this guitar is incredible, and the price tag is kind of a joke. If you want that vintage Tele sound at the cost of half my monthly rent then bring this baby home to papa/mama. Glad to live in 2019 where Squier guitars can actually have a chance, headstock snobs are missing out!
Musical Background:
15 years
Musical Style:
BluesRockR&BNeo-SoulMetal
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 29, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"The Best Deal to be had in an electric guitar, hands down."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am completely satisfied with this instrument.
Sound
The Tele sound I wanted is right there.
Features
The quality of materials is top notch.
Ease of Use
Construction is precise and solid; very resonant body; solid bridge.
Quality
Can't fault it.
Value
Absolutely unbeatable for the price. I want to collect all the Classic Vibe guitars.
Manufacturer Support
No need to contact the company.
The Wow Factor
It looks exactly like it's supposed to.
Musical Background:
Life-long Music Hobbyist
Musical Style:
No easy label
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 1, 2018 by Stephen Douglas in St. Petersburg, FL
"A Great Guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My first guitar was a 1962 Fender Stratocaster with a Rosewood Neck. Of Course, in 1970 it was only eight years old! 1988 Japanese Fender Tele Esquire 3-way Sunburst that I put a set of EMG's and a six-saddle bridge on .... great Guitar but not "that real Telecaster Sound" without the Brass Saddles and the Maple Neck. I have always felt the need to change things on guitars, bigger frets, different pickups, etc. but "If It Ain't Broke Don't Fix It"!!!!! I am afraid to change a thing! I put a set of D'Addario XL New Yorkers gauged 9-46. ON the Neck pickup with the Volume rolled back a touch, It sounds like a Beautiful Acoustic Guitar. Bridge Pickup yields excellent Country Type Twang. Overdriven, all of the positions are good especially the Neck & Middle. It is a little bit Heavy in weight and I know some people say the lighter the better but ...... It's got TONE! I am planning on buying at least 2 more of these. One to put a Super-Vee Bladerunner on and another to make a Jeff Beck "Tele-Gib" with a Seymour Duncan Jazz in the Neck & a JB in the Bridge. I sure enjoyed this Workhorse last Friday Night at the Gig! Plus, it's Rock-Solid. No Worries, Mate!
Musical Background:
Since 1970 ..... High School Jazz Stage Band, private Lessons with Vic Juris, studied Jazz Theory & Chord Function-Hal Crook.
Musical Style:
Top 40, Rock, BLUES, Jazz, Southern Rock (I'm in Florida!).
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 22, 2020 by Rick M in Bend, OR
"Best Value Tele Out There!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been playing for 45 years, gigged in my 20s and still do occasionally. I had an old tele back in the mid-70s and it was probably the best guitar I ever had. Approaching my 60th birthday and feeling nostalgic but also budget conscious I looked for a Tele that would feel and sound as good as that one I was so lucky to have 40 some years ago. I evaluated the regular Squier Telecaster, this one, and also the Fender Player (Mexican made) Tele. This to me was BY FAR the best sounding and playing and looking of the 3, and it happened to be the middle one in terms of price. The Alnico 5s are really punchy and give you that gritty grinding sound with lots of energy, but if you dial the guitar volume back you can get really smooth bell-like tones. It is heavy but in a good, solid feeling way. I love the vintage tinted look of the neck, and the wood grain under the butterscotch is just beautiful and a perfect match to the neck. I inspected the fit and finish closely and have found no flaws, and the initial set up was perfect, all I had to do was tune it. All in all, this is without a doubt the best $399 guitar I have ever purchased. If you want a great sounding Telecaster without compromise, this is it. You will have a great time blowing away your headstock snob friends with this puppy!!
Musical Background:
Amateur, 45 years
Musical Style:
Blues, Vintage Rock,
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 3, 2011 by a customer from charter.net
"The only blonde allowed in my bed room....."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am keeping it as long as I can play...then I will pass it on to someone deserving....many years down the road. I will probably buy another of the Squier CV series....one of the Strats. It is fun to play and makes me want to play more...a very good thing. If lost or stolen I would buy another one and hope it was every bit as good as this one. Get a hard shell case for this guitar...it deserves it.
Sound
Sounds like a deeper, huskier voiced tele.....the kind of guitar sound you want to hear in a smoky blues bar! I like the middle position and neck position best although the bridge is great for cleaner sounds. It everything I had hoped for for the style of music I enjoy.....blues rock, classic rock, southern rock...even some progressive. It sounds good acoustically and amped.
Features
Allen wrench. A better nut would have been nice but I am thinking about installing a brass nut anyway(to go along with the brass bridge pieces). Knobs and switch feel solid....good response from turning the tone knob. I can get any sound I need from it. Overall I am impressed with all of the hardware. Some have mentioned replacing the black pick guard, but I don't know....a dark tortoise shell might look pretty bad ass! These are alnico 3 pickups...not 5's.....they sound great!!
Ease of Use
The tone knob works great like I said. I love the neck and bends are easy enough...I may get a pro set up done to lower the action a bit...but very nice as is. I unpacked it, tuned it and it plays extremely well believe it or knot....intonation is great.
Quality
The butterscotch blonde is gorgeous...I was not able to find even the tiniest flaw....and I looked hard!! The neck joint is tight and clean....frets are seated nicely and finished well...I can't find any thing wrong with this guitar!! I was a little hesitant about buying a Squier but I am very glad I did...this guitar is under-priced period.
Value
I know there are alot of 400 dollar and under guitars on the market...but I don't think this guitar has much competition in quality until you get into the higher priced MIM's or even made in USA Fender tele's....yes...I said it....and I believe it.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to deal with Fender but I am sure they would be fine. ZZounds has been very good to deal with...this is my third purchase from them and there will be others. About to buy an amp from them.
The Wow Factor
It's the only blonde in my bedroom right now!! Beautiful guitar....I love the butterscotch blonde....perfect finish and the neck is down right pretty. Squier did a great job on this guitar. This one is definitely a keeper.
Musical Background:
hobbyist....songwriter
Musical Style:
blues rock, southern rock, classic rock
30 of 32 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 1, 2019 by Mark Parker in Murfreesboro, TN
"I love this thing (first review after many purchases on Zzounds)"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have never really liked the way Tele's feel honestly so I wouldn't want to put a ton of money into one. I took a chance on this one. When I took it out of the box at first, I wasn't too excited. It looked great but I just wasn't feeling it. Keep in mind this had nothing to do with the guitar and was based off of my comfort level with it. After forcing myself to play this guitar for about 3 hours I was starting to like it, ALOT. I've had it about a week now. This guitar sits right next to me. My others hang on the wall now. It has taken the place of my les paul. I absolutely love it. Squire guitars have came a long way. I was really surprised with the tuning keys and pickups. Tuning keys stay in tune VERY well and the pickups sound amazing in my opinion. also the fret work on my guitar is absolutely astonishing for the price. I will be buying the Classic Vibe Strat 60s (With rosewood fingerboard) model when zZounds gets the 2019 - 2020 models. I can't wait. I highly recommend.
Musical Background:
Bedroom Slayer (Headboard Thumper :)
Musical Style:
Everything
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 19, 2012 by Chuck T in Dedham, MA
"Everything you've read about this guitar is true.An amazing deal on a great guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've 'needed' a telecaster for a while now and didn't want to drop the dough for a MIA Tele. This CV Tele has everything you'd ever want. From the brass saddles to the amazing Alnico V pickups. It needed a minor setup, but nearly every guitar at every price needs one, so that's a non-issue. The switch is SOLID, smooth and snaps into place firmly. The tone and volume pots are smooth and work from 0 - 10, so its not just off or on. Full size pots as well. The capacitor is a little chicklet, but that's so minor it's barely worth mentioning. The tone from this guitar is pure tele from clean to raunchy dirt, it's perfect. The fretwork is well done. The tuners need a slight break in period, but work great after a week or so. And I think I may have gotten very lucky and got a quarter-sawn neck! 4.5 out of 5
Musical Background:
Play in a band
Musical Style:
Blues, Blues based rock, hard rock,
15 of 16 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 25, 2017 by a customer from yahoo.com in Harrisville, WV
"Sometime you find a gem"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Every once in a great while you find a hidden gem of an instrument. These Classic Vibe 50's Telecasters are just that. If you research them you will find out. They are fitted with very good full size electronics, solid switching and outstanding truly vintage style Alnico V pickups.The neck is just perfect for my hands. It only needed the slightest of adjustment out of the box to make it absolutely perfect. A set of 10-46 strings and a good tube amp and away you go.The fit and finish is amazing at this price point. Good as almost any Made in the USA Tele I have owned. Good balance and weight. Not to light and not too heavy.The input jack is solid also which is rare in Squier guitars.This model is a steal at this price and zZounds is great to deal with. I have bought a lot from them over the years and never had an issue.If the gloss finish on the neck bothers you just a little rubbing with a scotch pad will cure that. Frets are done outstandingly and once again beyond any lower priced instrument and as good as any high end Fender Telecaster. No wonder these are a hidden gem. Only one other time has Squier made an instrument this good and that was back in the mid-late 90's with the Squier Korean Pro-Tone models and Fender discontinued them because they were killing the sales of USA and MIM models.Buy it and never look back because for 399.00 you stole it !
Musical Background:
52 years a player and recording engineer
Musical Style:
Blues / Country / Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 25, 2019 by Stephen F in Santa Fe, NM
"How can this guitar be so good for $399???"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Came via FedEx this morning (although not scheduled to arrive till Tues) This Classic Vibe 50s Telecaster is blowing my mind, and I have and have played a lot of good guitars. It feels great in my hands and is gorgeous to my eyes. The neck is smooth and the fretwork is very good. Funny thing is that I can see this becoming my favorite guitar (at least to "noodle around" on). This is a very good guitar and a fantastic buy. If you're on the fence, well, get off of it and pick one up while available at this price.
Musical Background:
Playing for 50 years. Played professionally many years, studio, etc. Now play/record at home studio. Play guitar, bass, banjo
Musical Style:
Blues, classic rock, Americana and the infamous "whatever" genre.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 2, 2012 by john shaw in leander, TX
"Squire classic vibe 50s tele"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the first guitar i have bought in a long time,that I have not had to change any thing on. It plays and sounds really great. The fit and finish, in my humble opinion, is as good or better than most Fender teles I have owned. I have found zero flaws. I have played for 42 years and highly prize this guitar. Also the payment plan that zZounds offers makes it easy to get.
Musical Background:
Pro musician for too many years
Musical Style:
I play Blues,Jazz,Rock Texas style!
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 18, 2016 by john powell in Victoria, TX
"Great bang for the Buck"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've played music for over 20 years from bluegrass , western Swing, Rock to Top 40 cover tunes and this little guitar hold its own with my American Teles ... you cannot go wrong with this purchase.
Sound
As close to if not better then a 52 American re issue tele.
Features
Pine body... brass barrels. ... 3 way selector switch. . Nice medium jumbo frets. .and surprisingly the Pups sound great.
Ease of Use
Little to zero set up is needed out of the box...
Quality
Product is made with quality I've no issues with neck frets
Value
It is worth every penny. ..
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed them as of yet.
The Wow Factor
The quality and tone has a huge WOW factor
Musical Background:
over 20 years from bluegrass to top 40 cover tunes ...guitar...bass...mandolin....fiddle and I'd consider myself semi pro.
Musical Style:
Bluegrass, country, rock, western Swing,
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 4, 2020 by Eric Fisher in Elk Grove Village, IL
"Insane"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I recently became obsessed with telecasters after roasting bon jovi guy my entire life. I bought a MIM HH tele first. Then I checked out the monoprice Indio butter yellow one. Then I purchased this white blond CV after watching a zillion videos on everything. I could only find a white lightly coat paint showing wood grain in the Jimi Page and some high end american line. The classic Vibe is like a fifth of the price and its a legit nice guitar. All three of my teles are to be honest. The monoprice has a fat baseball shape neck but the electronics and build quality are insane for what I paid. The MIM has seymour duncan blackouts so its an edgy ass tele. And now this thing for the CLASSIC TELE VIBE to complete the circle. Honestly, I think this is better than my MIM or the new player series I played at guitar center several times. This guitar is REALLY nice
Musical Background:
25 years
Musical Style:
punk/rock/blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 24, 2020 by Matthew Beebe in Zanesville, OH
"Unbeatable Value and tone."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bout it with the intention of relicing and upgrade/modifying it but i cant im going to uprade the pots and mod the electronics. The pickups get replaced but definitely not a priority, they are better than most lower to mid range ones. Im definitely buying another one for a Esquire project. Im in love with this guitar. Outside of the cheap pots and switch its perfect. Its not USA level quality but for at ministry a third the price its way closer than it should be. And blindfolded you wouldn't be able to tele the difference between it and a Fender 52 reissue unless you were really familiar with the 52's 7.5 radius and its taller thinner frets but the 9.5 radiios and slightly thicker frets make the Classic vibe a more accessible instrument. Buy one you wont regret it. Im not a strat player but with the quality and value of this Im considering trying one.
Musical Background:
10yrs, Just guitar, intermediate player.
Musical Style:
Blues, rock, country, metal and industrial.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 29, 2017 by Thomas C in Mount Vision, NY
"A MUST have guitar!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
There is so much quality in this build for such a great price. This is a must for ALL guitar players of ALL skill levels.
Musical Background:
Worlds most averagest guitar player.
Musical Style:
Prog-rock, rock, blues, jazz, country
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 27, 2019 by Mike Pearson in Middlesex, NC
"Pleasantly surprised!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After doing a lot of research, I landed on this guitar and, oh my, am I happy I did! The finish? Gorgeous. The quarter sawn maple neck? Beautiful. My biggest problem with this guitar is that I want to look at it almost worse than I want to play it!Speaking of playing it...the sound isn’t as “vintagey” as I was expecting. Sounds very similar to my 2001 MIM Tele. I don’t have huge hands but the neck fits perfectly. Definitely needs a quick hit of some steel wool on the back of the neck to knock down some of that factory shine to speed it up a bit. Otherwise, I’m happy as a clam!
Musical Background:
33 year guitarist, local band member #streetrevival
Musical Style:
Country, Classic Rock, Rock, Blues, Jazz
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 5, 2020 by Pat Donnelly in Springfield, MO
"Classic vibe 50's telecaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Received this tele couple of days ago. It is a really beautiful guitar! QC dept doing a good job. I set up my own guitars and found this one to be set up quite well from the factory. I did some minor nut filing, bridge adjusting, truss rod adjusting to suit my tastes. Didn't really have to do much to get the set up "perfect" for me. After adjusting the pickups a little closer to the strings, it really sound great! (bridge and neck pickups sound good). I've seen complaints about the production from China to indonesia, but mine was "Crafted in China". Also, complaints of the newer ones being "boat anchors" is not true in my case, mine weighing shy of 8 1/2 lbs. The bottom line is, in my opinion, this guitars looks and playability FAR exceeds the $400 price tag! (note: cant rate mfg support yet?)
Musical Background:
Been playing organ, guitar, bass since 1965. Presently perform solo or duo, playing primarily 60's music
Musical Style:
60's rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 14, 2020 by ROBERT W in Smithville, TX
"A Keeper"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
As stated a keeper for sure. This is a quality instrument,regardless of the name on the head stock.Multi-instrumentalist here. 48 years playing guitar,bass,drums.harmonica and keys. I own and have owned a variety of high end guitars. Name,where its made and price is the only low end on this one. Forget about the fore mentioned and get one. You can thank me later,lol.
Sound
Classic Telecaster.
Features
Finish,neck top notch. Frets feel as they should,nice and smooth down the neck.
Ease of Use
Very nice player out the box. Setup on this one is great. action very good.
Quality
Quality exceeds this price point easily.
Value
If there is a better value at this price points I want to find it.
Manufacturer Support
?
The Wow Factor
Butterscotch Telecasters looks great. The wow is in the sounds this thing is capable of in the right hands.
Musical Background:
Professional
Musical Style:
Any genre but death core and such.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 13, 2012 by a customer from gmail.com
"Exactly what I hoped for"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I wanted to have the tele feel and sound without having to wade thru the varying quality of the MIMs. This guitar had such a good reputation, I decided to overlook the Squier name. I've had it for a couple months now and I'm very happy with the purchase. It's very fun to pick up and play, and even more fun knowing I didn't overpay for, if anything I underpaid for it. My only two gripes are that it did not come setup very well, the action was really whacky and the 1/4" input is super cheep and loose. But both those issues are easily fixable, I got the action just where I want it with no buzz issues and may just replace the input jack. Aces to Squier for this one.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 23, 2013 by bob p in myrtle beach, SC
"Squier Classic Vibe 50s Butterscotch"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Absolutely great...Beautiful guitar....Bought my 1st Tele 44 years ago...I've had quite a few over the years...this rates along with any I've owned...can't find anything to complain about....It's keeping my Vintage Blonde Classic Vibe company.Zzounds service is first class.I am a first time customer with this guitar but i'll be back soon...for the CV Thinline !!!
Musical Background:
Been playing 45 years...mainly a pedal steel player but double on guitar
Musical Style:
Varied...Reggae,Soca,Calypso,Western Swing,Country & Western,Country Rock,Blues,Classic Rock,Christian(Contemporary & Old standa
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 12, 2015 by Todd D in Tacoma, WA
"Great Tele!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my first Telecaster, and I highly recommend it to those who haven't yet decided whether to buy a Tele. I read multiple reviews that rave about the Classic Vibe 50s Telecaster, and the raves are well-founded. I got the butterscotch finish, and I'm very happy with it. I had slight reservations about the narrow nut (1.625"), but I've learned to work my way around that. The stock pickups (Alnico 5s) sound fabulous, and the controls really help you glean a great number of tones. I see no need for mods, although this guitar is certainly inexpensive enough to leave some money in your bank account to allow you make your own modifications. I say, order one of these Classic Vibe Teles from zZounds!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Classic rock, blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 8, 2019 by Scott T in Last Vegas, NV
"Fantastic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I dropped 1500 bucks on an American Professional Stratocaster the build quality of this guitar is on par. That's a bold statement for a Squire I know. Loved he beveled neck .The mismatched pine body kinda passed me off but after playing this guitar for a few hours that went out the window Squire Smire just buy one.
Musical Background:
40 years
Musical Style:
Blues and classic Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 2, 2016 by Robert S in Bristol, VA
"Great Tele!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had been looking @ one of these for the longest time, and finally pulled the trigger and got one. It is awesome! Great Telecaster tone and looks for a fraction of the cost of a Fender. The quality is second to none as well. Overall, I am thrilled to have added the Squier classic vibe 50's Butterscotch Tele to my fleet! Have not had to have any kind of support.
Musical Background:
Drums 36 years. Guitar casual player , Jam @ home.
Musical Style:
Progressive-Rock, Old style metal Jazz/Fusion.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 4, 2015 by Wilson S in Boston, MA
"Superior Value, Superior Tone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After 20 years with an Epiphone SG that I got back in middle school, I finally pulled the trigger on "something completely different." I must have read at least 50 reviews and scoured every video on YouTube before buying this "blemished" butterscotch beauty from Zsounds. Received it today and couldn't even identify the blemish. It played great right out of the box through my Fender Blues Jr. and sounds much better through that amp than the old SG. Still enjoying the clean tone, but it sounds great with my Joyo Sweet Baby Overdrive pedal too.
Musical Background:
Hobby for the last 20 years
Musical Style:
Classic rock, blues, alternative
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 2, 2015 by Wilson S in Boston, MA
"Superior Value, Superior Tone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After 20 years with an Epiphone SG that I got back in middle school, I finally pulled the trigger on "something completely different." I must have read at least 50 reviews and scoured every video on YouTube before buying this "blemished" butterscotch beauty from zZounds. Received it today and couldn't even identify the blemish. It played great right out of the box through my Fender Blues Jr. and sounds much better through that amp than the old SG. Still enjoying the clean tone, but it sounds great with my Joyo Sweet Baby Overdrive pedal too.
Musical Background:
Hobby for the last 20 years
Musical Style:
Classic rock, blues, alternative
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 29, 2015 by a customer from gmail.com
"Better than my fender."
This is one of the best guitars I have played. It being a Squier, I was not expecting much, but when I got it and played it I was amazed. I can get virtually every type of sound I want out of it. What you're paying for is quality parts and excellent craftsmanship. However what you aren't paying for is set up. Yes they inspect the guitar for quality control and working parts (which they do), but it's not set up out of the box. It's not a big deal. adjusting the action fixed all my problems.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 24, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Forget the price ,Forget the label ,Love the guitar !!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
If this axe was stolen ,I would definitely buy a replacement .I know I will not EVER get tired of this guitar .I am so happy I bought this model .I think it is going to be a big seller . Looks ,price ,and performance -What more could you ask for ?
Sound
If you forget about the low price and the name on the headstock ,you will be in Tele heaven with this guitar !!It rated the Editor's Pick in the current edition of Guitar Player magazine . This axe has all the clean chicken picking sound ,bluesy vibe ,and the charateristic spank of a great Tele .It is a simple but extremely versitle axe ,and suitable for just about all styles of music you hear .The pick-ups are Alinco 3's and are very punchy .The straight grained pine body really gives a feel for the sound Mr. Leo Fender was trying to achieve on his first tele prototypes .
Features
I really like the pine body very much ,the pick-ups ,hardware ,etc. are really quite good quality .With the 3 position toogle ,the axe remains true to its roots .A very nice looking little package for players of any skill level.
Ease of Use
A manual would be useful for a novice player ,my guitar didn't come with one ,but I downloaded it off the Squier web site .As stsated before ,it is a simple axe to use ,and with a little time it is very easy to get the tones you desire .This axe is one you won't get tired of or outgrow .It is a keeper !
Quality
I give the Classic Vibe a 9 only because the truss rod was loose on mine when it arrived .While personally this was no big issue for me (I have played for 50 years ,and am resonably competent on set-ups ),it is a project I would not recommend to a beginner .I would have a tech set the action to my liking for a $20 or so .The intonation was fine,fit and finish impeccable .I expect with proper care that this guitar will last .As far as reliabilty goes , I would perform professionally with this axe ,and defitely will use it for some tracks on our next CD.
Value
This is head and shoulders above anything on the market in its price range .I truly prefer it soundwise to my American made tele!!
Manufacturer Support
I don't really know as I have not had the occassion to call for service with this guitar .I will say however that my past dealings with Squier have been pleasant ,professional ,and very helpful if I needed a part ,or had a question .
The Wow Factor
It hits the 50's vibe right on the mark .If you like teles ,and who doesn't,you will fall in love with this instrument .
Musical Background:
Pro Musician ,and band leader of The Ground Zero Band
Musical Style:
Rock ,blues ,with a hint of surf overtones .
9 of 11 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 27, 2017 by jt b in safford, AZ
"Squire cv Tele classic vib butterscotch "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought this guitar about a year ago .. I play it everyday ''I have had no problems with the guitar tuners or electronics .. I set it up myself new out of the box ..I put on fresh Slinky regular strings and a brass nut ..filed the outside edge of the frets to smooth em up .. replaced the jack plate ... highly recommend this guitar ..zZounds is the best .. bar none ..
Musical Background:
Started playing guitar in 1972
Musical Style:
rock, country, blues, Christian,
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 1, 2017 by Richard Polcsak in Montréal, QC
"Best value"
I got this guitar last week and all I can say is WOW! I love playing it. Sound is very good but the play ability is superb. This is the least expensive Tele I own and holds itself against my Limited edition American Tele. The Classic Vibe Series from Squier is as good as any other bolt-on neck and is the very best of sub $500 guitars. It has become my #1 regardless of the headstock logo.
Musical Background:
Semipro playing for decades
Musical Style:
Rock & bluesrock, some country
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 15, 2015 by Laurence Schwarz in Edmonds, WA
"What an outstanding instrument."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had a lot of guitars. Fenders, Gibsons, Parkers, Taylors, Ibanez, you name it. This however is something special. I am so impressed with this instrument. One might be inclined to dismiss it because it's a Chinese made "Squier". You'd be foolish if you did. This guitar cannot be beat for the price. I really do enjoy it more than anything else I currently have, or have had in the past.
Musical Background:
Amateur. I pick it up, I put it down, I pick it up, I put it down,
Musical Style:
Blues, classic rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 20, 2010 by a customer from verizon.net
"Fantastic!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Coincidentally, this Tele arrived the same day that my special order Fender Custom Shop '60s Strat arrived. You'd think I'd be all excited about the Strat. Well, I am. But I'm equally as excited about this great Tele. So much so that I'm gonna order at least the Squier Classic Vibe '50s Stratocaster. And maybe some other Classic Vibes as well. Believe the hype. It really is that good!
Sound
Classic Tele sound! Snarls like a mean junkyard dog on the bridge pickup and a smoldering blues tone on the neck pickup. In between you get a chimey sound with enough grit to make it sizzle. Just add the smell of whiskey and the smoke filled air and you'll be bringing the heat behind the chickenwire on the roadhouse stage.
Features
True to the theme of "Classic Vibe" it's got two single coils, a thick 1-ply pickguard, and "double shot" brass saddles with string through body. A cool vintage style washer string tree, yellow tinted maple neck and an authentic pine body (just like the originals) complete the package. Simplicity defined...just as Leo Fender designed it sixty years ago.
Ease of Use
I'd almost forgotten how much "fun" changing strings on vintage style top loading tuners really is. Plug it into a good ol' tube amp and play until your fingers fall off.
Quality
This is perhaps the most surprising feature. Crafted in China and $350? How could this be quality? But this thing is probably the best built Tele I've seen, owned, or played in years. NOTHING on this guitar says "cheap" or "inexpensive". The finish is very heavily glossed and I've seen people give it lukewarm reviews because of that, but go on down to your local musical toy store and pick up a genuine Fender American Vintage '52 Telecaster Reissue and what do you see? Yep, a heavily glossed finish!
Value
You've gotta be kiddin' me! This guitar is the best value out there. Feels, sounds and plays better than most Fenders I've tried recently (Not to be negative toward the real Fenders. It's just that this guitar is that good!)
Manufacturer Support
Don't know...My Chinese vocabulary barely gets me through ordering from a takeout menu, so I guess I'd be SOL if I needed to call the factory in China with any technical questions. Fender, however, is very helpful with Customer Support (via telephone. Never tried emailing 'em).
The Wow Factor
There seems to be quite a variance in the finish on these. I've seen 'em with an off white finish. Some with the wood grain showing through and some more opaque. Mine is very yellowish tinted and only slightly opaque. Very good looking with the tinted maple neck.
Musical Background:
hobbyist, been in the music retail business a number of years
Musical Style:
Erstwhile metalhead, current blues afficiando.
11 of 14 people (79%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 15, 2019 by Stephen Douglas in St. Petersburg, FL
"Classic Vibe 50s Telecaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am not going to say this is "The Best Guitar" I ever bought. That being said, pounding this through a Xotic EP, Wampler "Velvet Fuzz" with a "Source Audio" Nemesis into the "Effects Loop" of a Peavey Classic 30 is Insane,
Musical Background:
!970-2020 equals 50 Years.
Musical Style:
Rock, Bluegrass, Folk, Blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 30, 2013 by Steven I in Chandler, AZ
"Wow, I didn't believe the hype, but man, what a guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Wow, that is the only word I can muster. Long story short, I've been playing 30yrs and all manner of American and Mexican Fenders and USA Gibson's and this is the best bang for the buck for a guitar I've ever seen, and could easily cost double for the quality. Neck needed a little truss adjustment, a little spray helped a stiff knob. The pickups are awesome and QUIET, much quieter than any other stock single coil guitar I've ever purchased, I normally gut a Fender and get some noisless etc, but surprisingly these are incredibly tame and I play with gain and not brittle at all and very smooth. I have the Blonde with the Alnico III's,(smooth, warm) the Butterscotch has Alnico V's (snappier, brighter). I'm going to buy the Butterscotch as soon as I can before these are not around anymore!
Musical Background:
Pro, 30+ years
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 14, 2015 by a customer from me.com in San antonio, TX
"Squire classic vibe telecaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have researched this guitar for a week before I bought it. It is simply wonderful. Fit and finish great the switches easy to reach and change settings. The sounds or tones are really nice. Right out of the box tweeted the strings a bit for tuning, inspected it for blemishes, and have not regretted the purchase one bit. Why from Zzounds? 1. The payment plan 2. The Telecaster came from the factory sealed in a box. Other stores around here tried to sell me the floor model.
Musical Background:
Guitars sporadically playing for years at home finally decided to get serious about playing
Musical Style:
Rock. Hip hop 50's Trying the Blues Little country
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 1, 2018 by Brad C in Fayetteville, AR
"Great Bridge Pickup, Great for the Money, But I Like My MIM"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had one of these, sold it, bought a black MIM. The Classic Vibe is very good, esp for the price, but my MIM is just more comfortable and playable in every way. THAT BEING SAID, the bridge pickup in my MIM just doesn't compare to the one in the CV. That thing is close to a sharp P-90 and it will easily Black Sabbath. It'll do anything and sound great doing it, both meaty and articulate. I miss that pickup and am going to see if I can buy it from the guy I sold the CV Tele to. It's certainly not the world's worst tele by any means, and it looks awesome, and maybe there is some truth to how those saddles affect the sound. I think I got a better (or at least bigger) attack from the CV bridge position than I do from my MIM. And it looks super sweet. It's also a great banger guitar that you can throw in the back seat and go anywhere and don't have to worry if you get a couple of dents in it, in fact it looks more "vintage" that way. Recommendations of this vs an MIM? For me, the MIM is a better player. It might not be for everyone. And I'm eventually going to replace the bridge (which actually isn't bad, but just doesn't have the same kick and personality as the CV). The CV doesn't have quite as smooth a neck, and the neck pickup is a little dark, but hey it's a tele neck pickup. One good thing about the CV tele is that you don't have to mod it to make it sound great. You pays your money, you take it out of the box, and as long as it feels right to you, you're good to go.
Musical Background:
Playing some sort of music since I was 8--piano, trombone, all the really cool stuff. Picked up guitar '97, then in '12.
Musical Style:
Clean psychedelic, slow Earth riff, general rhythym, 90s music from the brief period it was good.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 22, 2018 by Trevor Rolls in Plymouth, MA
"Good, but not spectacular."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
People far and wide love the CV series. I will be honest, I am not wowed through the floor like some claim to be. I'm not saying the guitar is bad, and to be fair, I wanted something a lot better and had to settle for this, but many people say things like this is just as good as their American...I just can't see that being true. I bought an Xaviere tele for under 300 bucks with a case, and it was every bit as good as this.As far as zZounds goes, you can't beat them. One of the best companies I have ever done business with, and I look forward to buying from them again (This was my fourth purchase).Back to the Tele, maybe I just got a bad one. The neck wasn't bolted on tightly at all, and the bridge pickup route hole is poking out of the top of the bridge (I can see down in it when wearing the guitar). Also, while I like the feel of the neck, It is so flimsy that it bends just from me playing it (altering my sound like a tremolo). It's a Telecaster and it works, but I think mine was not worth 399, maybe 299.
Musical Background:
Been playing 23 years; guitar, bass, drums. Ive been in gigging bands, and done a good amount of home recording on my own.
Musical Style:
In my time I have played everything from heavy metal to classic rock to folky soul music.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 28, 2015 by Steve Lewis in Buffalo, NY
"The Truth"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm not gonna give this Tele a good review just because I bought it. The bottom line is this,I gave my 1971 Tele to my son and had sold all my others. I was listening to Roy Buchanan,Danny Gatton,and than I went to a Stones concert, so I had to have a Tele and I wasn't gonna pay what I usually pay for a guitar, so I got this one.This is my report. It's heavy ,in spite of pine,Mine is 8 1/2 pounds. fit and finish is amazing !, the pots work great for sound, but very slow for swells and such, and they don't grab your finger at all, the sound is very good. hard to describe, kind of like the Les Paul of Tele's . I have owned a dozen Tele's and the lighter ones always sound better to me.but they all were very expensive,But I will have to say, the only way you will get anything that sounds any better is by spending a $1,000 or so, more. Does it sound like the 52 reissue ? No , but it don't sound bad ! Buy one, you can always send it back, but you won't
Musical Background:
Playing for 15 years, Player and collector of the best
Musical Style:
Vintage Rock, Blues
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 23, 2014 by john cartelli in belchetown, MA
"CV-VB Tele"
I have the Vintage Blonde Classic Vibe... sounds amazing...truly can cover many many styles of music...beautiful to look at.. slight draw backs are..pine wood body is soft so easy to damage by denting. (The soft wood gives so the hard clear finish cracks... also screws will strip easier. Neck feels thicker than my MIM Strat. Because I find myself feeling conscience of this on and off while playing, it detracts from concentration. I find the neck a tad slower than my Strat Plus side- I have the Maple neck/fingerboard..which I find it easier to find positions with a lighter colored neck. Frets smooth. More room between strings(than the MIM Strat) so for me easier to chord. sustains very very well for a soft bodied instrument. This makes me question all the claims of hard wood needed for sustain. Just a Damn good looking guitar that sounds awesome for very little money. Have not needed any support so I gave it a neutral rate
Musical Background:
bassist (43 yrs) guitarist (5yrs)
Musical Style:
classic rock/ electric blues
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 18, 2019 by Mark Garner in Metairie, LA
"Fantastic, REALLY!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
For the price this is a fantastic guitar. It's a virtual clone of my beloved '76 Tele except the Squier has brass saddles, which I do prefer.My Fender is loaded with Seymour Duncan 'Vintage '54 Tele' pups and the stock pups on the Squier sound really similar until you crank the volume; the Seymours have a bit more girth but the Squier still sounds really good. (Like the "Seymours", this model has Alnico V pups, the 'Vintage Blonde' has Alnico III. I had that model and foolishly sold it.) For a budget guitar this beauty SLAUGHTERS anything else in this price range. (And it is a beautiful guitar!) I prefer the look of the 'Vintage Blonde' but this one, the 'Butterscotch Blonde', was discounted 20% as a "scratch and dent" model so I couldn't resist such a deal. (I didn't really "NEED" another Tele.) It was pristine except for a ding on the back. [Picture me laughing. zZounds' "scratch and dent" models are the BEST DEALS GOING. I've bought three so far and none were seriously injured.]The neck is a single solid piece of maple with a delightfully slim profile, IDENTICAL to my '76 Tele, and with very well dressed frets. No sharp edges, etc. And there is sufficient room below the high E for bends without pulling the string off the fretboard.As of now, August 2019, Squier has moved production of this model from China to Indonesia and zZounds is the only major online retailer with some still in stock. I've owned ten Squiers and the only ones that had issues were Indonesian made. IMHO the Chinese Squiers are SUPERIOR. If you're on the fence, ACT NOW. I've looked at the specs of the new ones and there have been some changes. And the price has dropped $50 which tells me some corners must have been cut.Also, this model is already routed to take a humbuggerer pup in the neck position, so if you're into "modding", this is a great platform. Vintage style Fender parts fit perfectly. (I know because I put a Fender '62 Custom bridge assembly & pickup on my Classic Vibe Custom Tele. A Fender bridge plate is currently enroute and destined for this model as well.)Let's see, what else? Oh yeah, the hardware. Slotted brass saddles - LOVE THAT! - good solid vintage style tuners. I'm an intonation fanatic and this specimen was almost perfect right out of the box. It's so close I'm leaving it alone. (Those of you having experience with vintage Tele bridges know what I mean.)In closing I want to implore you, the reader, to grab one of these (the Chinese made) while you can. Just click that wonderful 'Add To Cart' button and you're on your way.And with theZzounds' 'Pay As You Play' plans, you won't be eating Meow Mix to pay for it.
Musical Background:
Former semi-pro now a stay-at-home jammer.
Musical Style:
Rock, rock and rock.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 24, 2013 by Steve C in East Meadow, NY
"WOW! I'm more and more impressed as I play with it!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just got my Vintage Blonde Classic Vibe 50's Squier 3 days ago. It came in just two days - thanks Zzounds It was flawless out of the elaborate card board box it came in, a really beautifully made guitar. Both wood and hardware are first rate! I have been playing for 48 years and I have a few instruments, including an American Lonestar Strat and a Clapton Strat, and I have to tell you, this guitar is beautifully crafted, period! The neck is ever so slightly fatter (rounder) than my Strats, but not enough to be an issue. It was quite playable and sounded pretty damn good right out of the box, although the neck had a bit of a bow to it (I like mine pretty straight, with low action). I straightened the neck with the truss rod adjustment, and lowered the action and adjusted the intonation, and it played perfectly - no buzzes at all. I was a bit concerned about whether I had made the right choice with the Alnico 3 pickups. The Vintage Blonde has 3's and the Butterscotch Blonde has Alnico 5's. I read such great things about this one, but they sounded a bit weak to me, so I went online and started reading... okay, adjust the pickup heights (they were pretty low). I raised them quite a bit. WOW, did this guitar come to life! The bridge pickup got powerful and twangy, but could also rock out. The two together sounded great, and the neck pickup was warm and round, although not quite as powerful as the bridge. And they all handled distortion beautifully. If you're thinking about swapping out the pickups, try adjusting the height, you'll probably wind up keeping the guitar as it is. I can't wait to gig with it tomorrow. This guitar looks and sounds beautiful, not just for the price, but beautiful, period. Thanks to all who reviewed the guitar and turned us all on to it. I'm thinking about getting another one and making a 3 pickup 7 way strat-telecaster out of it, but this one is staying just as it is!
Musical Background:
Professional Guitarist/ singer. Playing 48 years.
Musical Style:
Rock, pop.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 20, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"This IS a Real Tele!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I imagine for years to come... I would absolutely replace if stolen...
Sound
This is the shcoker in guitars for the past 20 years. I am a USA Guitar Only type of guy... I don't ever consider MIM, MIC or MIJ. This guitar completely caught me off guard! If you are a tele fan, you have to play this. The only thing you will have to do is get over the name on the headstock. It doesn't play good for a $300 guitar, it plays good PERIOD!
Features
The neck is star of this guitar... It is AMAZING! The pick ups actually really good. I did change them out to Texas Specials, upgraded the switch and put an oil and paper capacitor... The guitar smoke my other USA made Tele's....
Ease of Use
It is a Tele... Unmistakable...
Quality
You have to completely remove the fact out of your brain that its a squier... Like I said, people that say "it plays good for a $300 guitar" are wrong! It plays good PERIOD!
The Wow Factor
Looks and sound are perfect!
Musical Background:
Guitar - Professional
Musical Style:
rock,metal,classic
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 16, 2012 by Johnnee D in Kerrville, TX
"My "Blondie!""
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've never been inclined to buy a Squier ANYTHING until I saw one in a second hand music store and tried her out. And I have to admit, I was very impressed! So, after looking at some YouTube demos and further investigation I went to zZounds and made my first Squier purchase and my first dealing with this company. This Tele has become my main ax for 50's, 60's, and blues. She rocks them all! I gave a 3 1/2 for manufacture support 'cause I really haven't had to deal with them and no need. She played well out of the box and still have no complaints or issues. She looks and sounds GREAT!
Musical Background:
Been playing since I was a teen and I'm 52 now . . . do the math. I play guitar and bass both professionally and at home.
Musical Style:
50's, 60's, Classic Rock, Blues.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 14, 2017 by jerry g in kokomo, IN
"Squier Classic Vibe 50s Telecaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
have been wanting one of these squiers for a wile, shiping was great, fast and well packed. guitar was spotless as for anything wrong with finish.had to ajust action,plays really nice....The problem i have is I orderd a new guitar and got a two year old guitar ( sitting in wearhouse for two years )????.and neck is a little on the thin side as far as you can sharp of flat the notes your playing to easy...
Musical Background:
40 year novice, play at home mostly.
Musical Style:
rock, metal, jazz, blues ect....
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 22, 2009 by a customer from verizon.net
"Get the best for a lot less!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
This guitar does everything I expected, and then some. If it were lost or heaven forbid, stolen, I'd would get another one, and pray it's like this one. For it's price range it's a great value. I don't care whats on the headstock, it belongs to me! I paid for it. If someone has a problem with that......take me on a shoppng spree, and buy me the guitar you think I should have.
Sound
This guitar has met my expectations in every way. It can hang with the best of 'em. Very versitile, you can use this guitar for almost any kind of musical style. I like the way Squire captured that vintage sound in an affordable package. It's a keeper. Sweet right out of the box. The clarity and detail of the sound that comes from this one is nothin' but the truth.
Features
If you know Telecasters, it's pretty simple. The pick ups are clean, a bit average in output, but that's not a problem. The entire body, and neck finish look great. I AM going to change the original pick up selector switch to a heavier switchcraft one. I believe it'll hold up better. The volume and tone pots are smooth, and tight.
Ease of Use
Other than what I stated, I'm not changing a thing. Very comfortable to play, and the action is on the money for me.
Quality
I'd expect to have this as long as I'm here. I've got other axes to keep it company. I don't gig anymore, but it'll get plenty of studio work. If I needed to do live work, I'm sure this Tele will hang in there. Squire nailed on this one. No complaints here.
Value
Great value for the money. Can't beat it at all. You shouldn't have to get a second mortgage on your home, or sell your car to get a decent guitar.
Manufacturer Support
Can't comment on this as I never had to use them, and hope I never do.
Musical Background:
retired musician, recording engineer
Musical Style:
blues, jazz,r&b, funk,gospel
10 of 12 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 25, 2016 by jt B in Safford, AZ
"Squier Classic Vibe 50s Telecaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased the Squier Classic Vibe 50s Telecaster. Guitar arrived very quickly in a secured package . Guitar played well after I set it up. I changed the strings and new amp input jack, adjusted the neck and lowered the stings at the bridge. run a quick file on the frets to smooth the edge. Fret board feels great ..pick up's sound great (i use an old 40 watt Crate amp for practice) over all very nice guitar and I'm completely happy with the purchase. Thank you zZounds for and EXCELLENT transaction.
Musical Background:
I picked up my first Guitar 45 years ago and have played guitar to relieve stress..I never played professionally..
Musical Style:
The style I like most is old Rock country and blue's ( Jerry Reed is my favorite guitar picker ..) I love his finger picking sty
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 1, 2016 by jt B in safford, AZ
"NIce guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
nice guitar ... outta the box it needed setup ..I put on new slinky strings adjusted the neck string height and dressed the outside edge of the frets.. electronics sound great and works fine... over all I think it's a great buy loaded with fun..Thanks zZounds
Musical Background:
I have played guitar fer over 40 years
Musical Style:
My favorite style of music is old school country.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 9, 2014 by Dennis H in Mount Olive, IL
"A GREAT GUITAR AT ANY PRICE"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Squier Classic Vibe 50s guitar is everything they advertise and more. The action and playability are great. I would not be ashamed at all, to play this at a gig.
Musical Background:
Drums, Guitar and Keyboard - overall about 30 years
Musical Style:
Country and Southern Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 2, 2014 by Dennis H in Mount Olive, IL
"Wow, who woulda thunk."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I could not believe the action and playability of this axe. The quality is absolutely fantastic. Mine is at a Luthier right now as one of the pickups went out. But hey, that can happen. This is really a fantastic guitar.
Musical Background:
Have played in several bands, but playing at home right now
Musical Style:
Southern Rock, Country
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 16, 2014 by Dennis H in Mount Olive, IL
"All You Could Want in a Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased this guitar from ZZounds and WOW what an axe. It is all that had been advertised and more. The sound, the action, the finish are in keeping with the Fender name, even though it is the Squier. I highly recommend this guitar for all genres.
Musical Background:
Play guitar, Drums and Keyboard
Musical Style:
Southern Rock, Country and some classic rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 30, 2017 by Lora P in Holiday, FL
"Squier Classic Vibe 50s Telecaster"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Well just got it. It is a good guitar but not a great guitar. I have to adjust the action and so forth ,Which is no big deal. The blend knob is pushed tight against the chrome plate and again no biggie. I have probably had 80 % of all high quality guitars and I have had 2k plus Gibsons come and cannot even be setup due to the neck being set in the pocket wrong. It is worth the money but the quality does net come close to a MIJ electric. I had an Ibanez 1972 ThinLine and that was an awesome made guitar. The pickups in this are good but not the best. The finish has fine scratches from being buffed. And you can see in the body where they did not match grains when they had to add a piece. It is what it is but not a Pro guitar.
Musical Background:
37 years
Musical Style:
Rock and Country
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 24, 2013 by Richard B in Lake Katrine , NY
"not what I expected"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
When I recieved the guitar, it was not the color I ordered, and the gig bag was backordered. I thought it would beto the tele that I owned back in the 50's. Boy was I wrong.the neck was bare wood (no finish) and the frets were sharp and rough. The tone was nothing like a real Tele.
Musical Background:
Semi Pro, and demo recording
Musical Style:
Country, and rocka-a-billy
1 of 18 people (6%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 16, 2011
"Tele lover!!"
Sound
its a good clean sound which is gd for me!! and plays well through a fender amp
Features
It only has 3 bridges so it is more basic than the stratocaster
Ease of Use
Very easy to play!! almost plays itself
Quality
The volume and tone bolts come lose so i glued mine on!!! its broken once when the jacksocket came out of place!!
Value
Rip off got it for 220 pounds!!! but accessories (case and strap) cost more
Manufacturer Support
i didnt go to the company but i went to avalon and they said it wod cost 60 pounds!! so i got a builder to fix and its been fine ever since!!!
The Wow Factor
Performed at disco and all the girls were telling me how much they liked it!! very sexy
Musical Background:
In a band
Musical Style:
Rock
1 of 8 people (13%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to