Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Squier J Mascis Jazzmaster Electric Guitar

Squier J Mascis Jazzmaster Electric Guitar

Wail like the Dinosaur Jr. frontman. J Mascis' Squier Jazzmaster packs a pair of single-coils with dual tone circuits -- and that distinctive gold pickguard.

Overall User Ratings (based on 14 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(14)
Submitted December 2, 2012 by Lance L in Jacksonville, NC
"Squire J.Mascs Jazzmaster Signature Model"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar is excellent. A low priced signature model from a person who obviously understand what guitars are all about. The Jazzmaster itself is a total educational machine. Dual switching and toners and pick-up configurations is what makes this guitar a total encompassment of what guitar SHOULD be about. This guitar taught me alot about guitars, sound, and what it takes to make expression happen. The pick-ups are warm and the swtiching only furthers that expressiveness of jazz amp sound and thick and foggy presence prescribed to the Jazzmaster. This guitar is a quality EXPERIENCE. I play it through a Ibanez Tube Screamer and the amp is perfect as a starter amp and has the switching variables to compliment the switching of this guitars pick-ups and tones. The switching has some volume changes along with the tone so it's good to have a boost on your amp or an exterior boost/gain device. The pick-gaurd an excellent change from the regular white or tortoise shell gaurds. I personally hate staring into a wierd brown thing while i play so the gold is a must and i am just not into silver so it's perfect in that regaurd. The only complaint i have had is that the tremolo bar is not as solid as the old Jazzmasters is. It doesn't lock in the same way and if you don't pund it in it's not going to stay in there. I put mine in with a proper hammer(anodized) but you probably should use a rubber or plastic mallet to put it in there. I just did whatever was fastest and sure to make it stay. It can always be pulled back out but i just don't see it as the same without it. It sounds great and though it's a little, well, alot less responsive than vintage Jazzmasters it still responds effectively and the spring could be changed and i'm sure there's something out there to make the trem.bar stay in permanantly. The tuning machines are quality too. It stays in tune and i also recommend nut sauce for anyone who plays any stringed instrument. It helps the machines too and it really does stay MORE intune if not EXACTLY in tune. The pick up toggle switch is a little rigid but again nut sauce is the way to go to get an automatically worn in feel on that too. This is a beautiful guitar and a quality low-cost signature model suprisingly from J.Mascis. Most signature models are on the other end as far as pricing but this is definitly a players guitar and not a model built for show or tech over production or illusion. It does what it says it does and IT is it's frills. A true piece of history and an educational experience in owning this piece of electronic and musically atuned instrument. Comfortable and playable. Great neck shape and true feel. Coming from a person who's played on shred machines and vintage Fender's this guitar is fit for life and worthy of any player who wants to learn and know what they are doing and what sound is all about. A mentalists device and alot of fun. The Jazzmaster is not too heavy not too light and though the J.Mascis signature is inked in the headstock and is replicated it's still cool because this guitar has everything J.Mascis on his except custom paint and adapted tremolo. Good buy and good make by J.Mascis. I can't believe he got this through at this price.
Musical Background:
Since 2003. Guitar, bass, drums. Was in a band for 3-4 years. Now i just play at home.
Musical Style:
Mixed. Still learning
26 of 26 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 25, 2013 by shad warrell in hemet, CA
"a notch above...."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
so, I wanted to review the J Mascis Squier Jazzmaster and give you insights from my perspective. I also own a Squier Vintage Modified Jazzmaster which I'll use as a comparison. the first difference I noticed right off the bat was the packaging. greater care was taken in the factory box to insure the guitar was protected. there was a tag hanging from the tuner that indicated that the guitar was quality checked for both playability and cosmetic condition. nice touch. I don't care for the gold anodized pickguard and will be replacing it with a AVRI red tortoise guard, asap. I wanted this model over the standard Squier VM Jazzmaster for a couple reasons. one, I like that the rattly / buzzy standard JM bridge was replaced with a tune-o-matic style. VERY nice. second, I like the vintage white color as opposed to the Olympic White that the VM jazzys come in. the aged plastic parts are a nice touch as well. this guitar is really solid and played well for me right out of the box. I owned a classic player jazzmaster (MIM) that i've since sold as I find the Squier VM jazzmasters to be every bit as good if not superior for less than half the price. both my VM Squier Jazzmasters even hold their own against my 62AVRI Jazzmaster! I was debating on whether or not to spend the additional $100 to get the J Mascis over the standard VM and I'm REALLY glad I did. I've been playing for over 20 years and have owned some high end guitars. I'd have no problem making this my main gigging guitar at all. very solid value here... simply can't find a better value at this price point if you're in the market for an offset fender.
Musical Background:
23 years of studio and stage experience behind all kinds of guitars....
Musical Style:
surf, blues, jazz, americana
13 of 13 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 27, 2017 by Mark W in Austin, TX
"My new main guitar. "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I've wanted a Jazz Master for years, the late nineties to be exact, but they always seemed insanely out of reach for me. Eventually, I decided I'd probably never really end up owning one. Then J Mascis puts this Squier signature out so now he's a hero not just for Dino, but for also for finally being involved with the release of a high quality, functional, and affordable JM. It even actually has the rhythm circuit that they've left out of even the new pro series that just released. The mods that Mascis/Squier have employed here are all things a lot of people would normally do anyway. I was surprised that with the factory setup when I received it. The action was comfortable for me, and the intonation was very close to being correct out of the box. That will change as soon as I throw 11s on it, but this was a detail I wasn't expecting. That's something worth noting here. I also appreciate that they decided to move the tremolo closer to the bridge improving the strings' break angle over the adjusto-matic. I'm a very very heavy handed player and I had zero issues with the strings jumping out of the saddles. I also, as a test, decided to keep the stock strings on until one breaks and I'm pleased to say that I haven't broken one in almost a week. That's really impressive and I'm a guy that broke two gabriel tenorio strings in under a month. The string spacing across the neck took a little getting used to. The gaps between the strings feel wider to me, but I quickly adjusted to this. The only thing I found really necessary was to loosen the strings up and throw some graphite into the nut slots. I now own two Squier guitars, my other being the Classic Vibe Tele, and I've been very impressed with the quality and playability of both. That's not something I can even remotely imagine saying if you had asked me 10 years ago, but I'll get back to the guitar itself. The pickups, from what I hear, are more P90 than they are wide range JM single coils. I think this will be a matter of opinion, but they sound great to my ears. They do have the distinctive mid range bark I typically expect from P90s, and they suit my style of playing more than the traditional pickups. It's more Sonic Youth than it is Mickey Baker. All the typical JM electronics are faithfully represented here. You have the rhythm switch, rollers, and traditional 3 way bridge toggle people are familiar with. Personally. I find the rhythm switch has utility as both a quick fire rhythm toggle and an overall kill switch. It has a lot more utility than people give it credit for and unless you play with your guitar slung really low it's unlikely you'll bump it by accident. The aesthetics are entirely a matter of opinion. I think knowing that JMs used to come with an anodized gold scratch plate helps, but, personally, I love the way it looks. I like it far more than the sparkle purple Mascis JM put out in Japan. When it comes down to it, the guitar is an incredible value and a great introduction to the JM, which has been woefully out of reach for people that don't have wads of cash to spend on AVRI or Japanese models. You could say it would be nice to switch out the tremolo system (vibrato system) with an AVRI or Mastery system. You'll maybe want to switch the nut to a bone nut at some point. I might want to switch out the pickups for Lollar P90s or SD Antiquities, but these are are also all mods you might consider doing on the higher priced models as well. However, with the Squier model your base price is much much lower. The only thing I take issue with is the adjust-o-matic bridge. It's apparently a common mod and one Mascis employs himself. However, this means that switching to a mastery bridge is no longer a 'drop in' affair. You would have to drill new holes and that's not something I'm entirely comfortable with. A note on the trem-arm. The one included with this guitar is of the 'push-in' variety. The one on mine quickly became so loose it just flops down to the guitar input. However, I've heard that this is because it isn't all the way in. I've put what I would call an uncomfortable amount of pressure on it and I still don't think I've got it down all the way. Even in a simple google search you'll see some photos show the trem arm with about a half inch of vertical bar outside of the collet while other show the arm almost immediately bending outside of the collet. I believe the latter is correct, but I haven't gotten mine down to that point. Also, this seems to be up for debate. It would be nice for Squier to include some instructions on installing this correctly. Finally, it looks as though the new, 2017, line of Squier offsets includes a jazz master that is pretty much a standardized version of the Mascis JM. It must have done well enough to warrant that.
Musical Background:
I've been playing professionally and just at home for over 15 years now.
Musical Style:
ROCK
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2015 by Ralph E in Boise, ID
"Nice guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a nice guitar. Pretty much what I was expecting. Couple of points I'd like to make, that either aren't in the actual description or may get overlooked: -- The tremolo is moved up toward the bridge, as in the new high-$$$ Fender JM's and Jaguars. This increased the break angle and puts more string pressure on the bridge, which is a good thing. This is in contrast to my $300 Squier Jaguar that still has the Tremolo plate wayyyy back there, which is not a good thing and really makes the strings buzz & pop out of that stock bridge. -- The Tune-o-matic bridge works just great. Lots of good sustain, no buzzing, no strings popping out. Anybody who prefers the stock Jazzmaster/Jaguar bridge is high. HIGH, I say. -- These are NOT humbucking pickups. NOT!!! When a single pickup is selected, there is a slight noise. When both are selected, it is virtually silent. ("Rhythm" selector is single-pickup & noisey, presumably using the neck pickup.) I can get distortion but pretty much only by using a fuzzbox or the dirty channel of my amp. This is a very clean sounding guitar. If you are looking for max grind built right into the pickups, probably you should look elsewhere. It's pretty heavy. Heavier than any other guitar I personally own. But I kind of like it, I think it must help with sustain or something. Tremolo bar works Awesome and so far stays in place perfectly. The action is very smooth on it, unlike my $300 Squier Jaguar whose tremolo makes a weird clicking sound/feel (which doesn't come across in the amplified sound, but still...) I would choose this again, I'm warming up to it very much. Stings really seem to stay in tune, even with heavy trem use. I have a wide range of strumming in my playing and have switched both the upper horn switch and the lower pickup selector switch by accident. But I kind of thought that would happen. This and many other guitars have that problem.
Musical Background:
been playing almost 40 years, played in a few bands, nothing professional. I have my own studio at home.
Musical Style:
rock/jazz/house/acid jazz/punk/general noise
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 28, 2012 by Dave W in Redding, CA
"Better than an "ORIGINAL"!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am amazed at the quality of these Squier guitars! Honestly, other than the name and some better quality electronics these are as good if not better than the American made products! I have purchased 30+ guitars of which many are collectables I have to admit my Squiers are as good if not better playing and sounding! The J Mascis is another "DREAM GUITAR"! TOTALLY UNIQUE IN DESIGN AND PLAY it rivals the collectables! I am considering putting in my custom JM pickups based on an 64 JM but am having so much fun with the "STOCK" pickups WHY? LOL These are basically P90's stock which sound AMAZING!!!! this is a PLAYERS GUITAR and the neck is BUTTER!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Country
24 of 25 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 5, 2016 by Timothy Hawkins in San Francisco, CA
"Happiness is a J. Mascis Jazzmaster from Zounds.com"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am the proud owner of one of Fenders secrets. The 'Fender' Squier J Mascis Jazzmaster. I have been a zZounds.com family member since 2014 and there has only been one issue..and it was quickly resolved. EPIPHONES, now FENDERS stoke my creative fire. First a Modern Player Telecaster that blew me away with its versatility of tones. From Strat to Les Paul under one iconic guitar. Then I was on a new mission..an offset design. The 3...Mustang, Jaguar and Jazzmaster were my choices and after much consternation and orders made and subsequently cancelled, I made my choice. The torturous wait for my baby to arrive had me looking for new videos of her to help 'sate my wait'. Actually waiting outside playing my Casino for Fedex to arrive. After opening her packaging and wiping the drool off, I stretched her strings and after a couple of play throughs and string tightening tunings she has settled in and made herself at home. I am soon to purchase stands for all my girls, so they can breathe. Dont like keeping them cooped up. Free Range guitars is how I like them. The neck as many have mentioned is like butter. I don't find her weight to be an issue. The electronics have been easy to use and have had no issues. The 'trem' issues I have read about. The trem rod if simply inserted into its holder will fall out if the guitar is tipped forward. But...you are required to 'push straight down' on the trem rod into the holder. When you do it 'pops' into place. Now, it goes where you place it..no problem. And..at least for me..the tension is perfect. I am enjoying experimenting with tones. This guitar is a 'TONE MONSTER!' BUMIf you can find one at Zounds.com, snap it up. You won't be disappointed. Even if you have to go elsewhere.
Musical Background:
5 years experience, some gigging. Mostly play for myself
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Jazz
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 13, 2020 by Acen H in Greenville, SC
"An Absolute Steal"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Bought this guitar as a backup and this thing has been an absolute workhorse. This replaced my custom Fender Jazzmaster as my daily driver and it is the best bang for your buck out there. The pickups get close to p-90 territory but still holds true to that jazz master sound. I play indie/alt rock and you can get some killer tones with it. 10/10 highly recommend.
Musical Background:
10 years, play professionally
Musical Style:
Alternative, Indie, Rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 16, 2015 by Elias C in Fort Worth, TX
"Rad guitar, great price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had the itch to pick up a jazz master for a few months and this definitely satisfied it. Very surprised at the playability and quality put into this. Stays in tune even when gliding heavy with the tremolo~ get your shoegaze on the cheap
Musical Style:
noise
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 7, 2016 by Mark S in Jacksonville, FL
"Very Nice Qaulity"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The good.. Quality feeling guitar and looks likes its worth some $$. Action and neck feels very nice. Body and finish was perfect with no flaws. Pots all good and responsive, and in that being the best Squire I have ever played. Metal feels a bit soft but looks great.. Tuners are so so.. it does stay in tune but recommend you upgrade them some day. Pickups sound good quality.. they are essentially over-wound P-90's so don't expect the traditional Jazzmaster sound. The bad.. Not much but.. I didn't like the jumbo frets, but could have lived with them. Its the pickups. I was hoping for a better clean and it ain't there. Its a grunge playing guitar and that's it. The Jazz switch really didn't do anything for me but would work for light rhythm stuff. You could say this is a one trick pony (ive heard that before) ..if you want a nice bright/midrange and gnarly overdrive sound .. if you also like space odyssey acid rock as well ..then this is your guitar!! The guitar is absolutely beautiful to look at it and play.
Musical Background:
35 years
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, Jazz and Blues
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 20, 2019 by Sam G in Sarepta, LA
"My main guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is my main guitar now. I’ve been playing for 16 years now and this is my favorite guitar I’ve ever owned. I was in the guitar store and I played so many guitars and this one checked all my boxes an won out over guitars that cost 2x as much. I’m in love
Musical Background:
15 years. Worship guitarist. At home blues man, metalcore
Musical Style:
Worship, blues, metal, rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 11, 2012 by David O in Kenton, TN
"Squier J Mascis Jazzmaster Guitar"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I always wanted a Jazzmaster since I played a friend's 62 model. The Squier is NOT a 62 JM, but it's build quality and sound exceeds my expectations. I hate the cheesy metal pick guard, but it is gone now. Watch the switch and the volume pot on the upper bout. It fooled me into thinking the pickups went dead.
Musical Background:
Guitar, bass, since 1959.
Musical Style:
Rock and roll, classical, folk, and limited country.
14 of 17 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 23, 2017 by Brian L in Gainesville, FL
"Incredible guitar for the money"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This guitar was a perfect player right out of the box! Unbelievable that a guitar this inexpensive plays and sounds so good. I may perform a few upgrades as time goes on if needed, but I am extremely happy with this instrument. I am a relatively seasoned player that tends towards more experimental forms, but this guitar will excel at any style or genre. Neck is perfect, pups are lovely sounding, fit and finish are superb. I like this better than the $1500 Jazzmasters I've handled.
Musical Background:
20+ years, guitar/bass/drums/modular synthesizers
Musical Style:
ambient, experimental, indie pop, folk
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 8, 2014 by Wesley C in Los Angeles, CA
"Love it (after replacement)"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm in love. After a friend recommended this guitar, I bought it here and it arrived with the rhythm/lead switch broken. That really sucked, and I had to chase customer service around a little bit, but once I received my replacement, I was blown away. I have tuned this guitar ONCE in five days and it just stays in tune. Zero buzzing, the neck was straight, action was great - everything -right out of the box. Amazed and impressed are probably two good words to describe. As a player that's been out of the game for about a decade, I (like so many others) was really leery of purchasing a Squire, but not anymore. After comparing my Jazzmaster to a new model Fender Jazzmaster, I was even more happy with my purchase. The matte neck really did it for me. None of the stickiness of the glossy lacquered necks. The pickguard looks more rusty-orange than gold in person, and I love it. WOW WOW WOW
Musical Background:
20+ years, Guitar, very unprofessional bands
Musical Style:
Rock
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 8, 2014 by Wesley C in Los Angeles, CA
"Love it (after replacement)"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm in love. After a friend recommended this guitar, I bought it here and it arrived with the rhythm/lead switch broken. That really sucked, and I had to chase customer service around a little bit, but once I received my replacement, I was blown away. I have tuned this guitar ONCE in five days and it just stays in tune. Zero buzzing, the neck was straight, action was great - everything -right out of the box. Amazed and impressed are probably two good words to describe. As a player that's been out of the game for about a decade, I (like so many others) was really leery of purchasing a Squire, but not anymore. After comparing my Jazzmaster to a new model Fender Jazzmaster, I was even more happy with my purchase. The matte neck really did it for me. None of the stickiness of the glossy lacquered necks. The pickguard looks more rusty-orange than gold in person, and I love it. WOW WOW WOW
Musical Background:
20
Musical Style:
Rock
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to