Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Shure Super 55 Deluxe Vocal Microphone

Shure Super 55 Deluxe Vocal Microphone

Croon, wail and belt into this stunning retro-styled mic! Designed to deliver natural-sounding vocals and speech, the Super 55 Deluxe is built Shure tough.

Overall User Ratings (based on 19 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(19)
Submitted February 21, 2013 by Michael Lovell in San Angelo, TX
"Beautiful Sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been using my trusty old SM58 for a while, but I love the Bel-Air mics. I had an original '53 that I used for years until I was "relieved" of it. I have since been trying to find that perfect mix of vintage looks and modern reliability. Well......I found it and then some! This mic not only looks super sweet, but it has beautiful sound. Even my bandmates were blown away by the tones I was able to get out of this thing. Lyrics and phrases that had seemed muddled were suddenly crystal clear. We're considering replacing all of the bands mics with these. I would recommend it to anyone.
Musical Background:
20yrs as a drummer, guitarist, and vocalist
Musical Style:
Red Dirt/Texas Country, Southern Rock, Blues
30 of 31 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 25, 2012 by John D in Chino, CA
"Awesome Mic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am a frontman for a blues band. Bought this mic for it's look, heard it was good for vocals. This mic is OUTSTANDING for vocals. I love the blue felt. If you are considering buying a Super 55, don't hesitate. You won't regret buying a Super 55.
Musical Background:
I have been singing in church and in bands for 30 years. I play the harmonica.
Musical Style:
I am in a blues band
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Shure hits a home run with the retro 55 design!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I plan on using this microphone for a long time!No other mike can come close to the way it looks,feels,and sounds.Yes,I would buy it again.
Sound
This classic Shure 55 style microphone is awesome to say the least! Not only does it look "fantastic",it sounds like you won't believe your ears!The only reason I did not give it a 10 on sound,is I am a back-up singer at times,besides lead,and when I do sing bass back-up,I have an other microphone I use.But,when I sing lead,myself and others in the band do use it.The Shure Super 55 Deluxe captures your voice in such a way that it is all natural,and it also captures even the slightest nuances.My hats off to you Shure !!
Quality
The satin chrome finish and the way it feels,lets you know that this is a quality made microphone.
Value
Given it's classic roots and design,YES!
The Wow Factor
The microphone "grabs" you and your attention.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
50's,Classic Rock,Country,Blues,and R & B
37 of 39 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 31, 2019 by Jerry Conner in Eugene, OR
"Style, Performance, and solid"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I’m not a fan of Shure. Never liked the vocal microphones sound personally. Having said that, I bought the Super 55 more as a prop because my company logo has the mic on it. I decided to play with it out of boredom and liked what came out sound wise.
Sound
It sounded better than I expected. I have been a singer for over 30+ years so the sound factor is something you just have to fine tune on your own. If you get too close it will have some popping which happens with most mics so don't eat the mic when singing into it.
Features
It’s super cardioid...
Ease of Use
Plug it in. Hit the phantom power button. That’s it.
Quality
It’s well built. I’d suggest a chrome polish and keep it fingerprint free.
Value
I feel it’s worth the price.
Manufacturer Support
I haven’t needed it yet so it’s slow rating.
The Wow Factor
It looks awesome on stage.
Musical Background:
Vocal musician for over 35+ years
Musical Style:
Rock, pop, R&B, Blues, Jazz
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 27, 2015 by Corey Cross in Lexington, KY
"Better than expected!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I perform with this mic with my Bose L1 w/Tone Match and the sound is exhilarating! The build quality is rock solid, the look is beautiful and the sound is true. People love commenting on it. The mic is very highly resistant to feedback. A real performance asset, it's raised the game on my live show quality. Definitely, go for it! Thanks to ZZOUNDS for making it a painless purchase process.
Musical Background:
Pro singer/songwriter, perform with the underground legend, Ben Lacy
Musical Style:
POP/R&B, A/C
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 23, 2014 by Manuel L in El Monte, CA
"Shure 55 Microphone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The quality is great, awesome sound, excellent service. One small suggestion you should offer the quick release for the microphone, had to purchase from another vendor. Would definately recommend.
Musical Background:
Im a singer front man, my band "Popaganda"
Musical Style:
80's
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 2, 2014 by Tommy Bryant in Dry Prong, LA
"awsome Mike"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I help set up a one of a kind karaoke show I got the SS 55 Deluxe Vocal Microphone for my DJ doing the Karaoke we were using sure 58 mikes which were great mikes but it seam he had to talk like direct down into the mike ,He went to using the SS 55 the sound was a 180 from other mikes it didn't have to open air sound around it his voice stood out like it was jumping out to you extra clear sound. He had to cut back on most of all the settings it was as if mike was inside his mouth and he was in speaker . As far as manufacturer support never had to use it on any product I have bought
Musical Background:
i don't play but been envolved with music around 45 years i buy stuff to use for family get togethers and karaoke at a local bar
Musical Style:
rock, country, blues, hip-hop, rock and roll,
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 15, 2013 by Frank C in Salt Lake City, UT
"Great mic with only one caveat"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I want to address two points made by several other reviewers. 1- The Super 55 Deluxe sounds just like the Shure SM-58. This is definitely NOT true. I bought the mic on the chance that it could be the case because I love my 58 and have used it exclusively for a long, long time. The 55 has a really good, full-spectrum sound, and if you have a nice EQ unit and know how to use it you could probably get it to sound similar to the SM-58, but to be clear, this is an entirely different instrument from the 58. Don't get me wrong it's a very well built unit with a fine sound, just not like the SM-58. 2- The Super 55 Deluxe is way sensitive. This point is kind of true...sort of. It took me about an hour of practice to revise my diction and mic technique, but I was able to eliminate the problem. Side-by-side comparison with the SM-58 shows this mic significantly louder on the *pop* of hard consonant sounds. You'll have to learn to soften your P's. Summary: This mic is GORGEOUS!!! I croon the jazz standards and love having a mic I can hold like a woman I'm kissing. The sound is a very good, clean, full-range, accurate reproduction of whatever you put into it. If you can learn to manage your range - with a mic that doesn't manage them for you, I'm sure you will love this beautiful instrument! I penalize one star for the *pop*.
Musical Background:
Bachelors degree in jazz, gigging regularly for quite some time.
Musical Style:
Jazz, blues, R&B.
6 of 9 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 24, 2014 by Fallon E in El Dorado, AR
"Good deal!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This Mic is Great.
Musical Background:
A rap artist 13yrs
Musical Style:
hiphop,rap
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 21, 2014 by mario soto in Browns Mills, NJ
"great sound!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
im very pleased with the quality of this mic.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 12, 2014 by Joseph Grant in Decatur, TN
"Sure super 55 mic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great looking and sounds even better.
Musical Background:
34yrs playing bass
Musical Style:
Rock,alternative, southern rock,classic rock, hip hop, christian alternative ,country rock.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 25, 2015 by Ronny Starr in Milwaukee, WI
"I AM NOW A FUNK GOD!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am now a funk god! I have seen and coveted the SHURE ELVIS MIC,and as a working musician I also wanted a mic that made a statement!Than zZounds made me an offer I couldn't refuse! I didn't have to keep waiting and drop the whole cost at once....I COULD CUT IT UP IN 4 EASY PAYMENTS!The gigs....are paying for it exclusively! HAH! Noe ...I LOOK LIKE THE FUNK SINGER I ALWAYS ENVISIONED MYSELF AS! THANX zZOUNDS!
Musical Background:
Singer,percussionist and Front man for JSB( JEMISON,STARR & BROWN)
Musical Style:
FUNK,CLASSIC ROCK,80'S ROCK AND R& B/SOUL....and anything else we take a liking to!
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 11, 2020 by a customer from verizon.net in Arizona, AZ
"MY SECOND REVIEW (MASK IT)"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I cut a piece of mic windscreen about two inches square and put it on the outside with two rubber bands. It cut out the s-sounds and pops completely and turned this mic into the most awesome mic ever. I have used it at several solo gigs. It sounds simply amazing from six inches away to an inch or so. I would never gig without it. Once you put a screen of some material in front of it. A pop screen is used in studios but a simple "mask" does it even if you just use cotton cloth but the mic foam is best.
Musical Background:
Professional Musician
Musical Style:
Solo guitar and vocals
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 13, 2020 by AZ Musician
"LOOKS GREAT - SOUND SO SO"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It has the same capsule as the Shure Beta 58. For some reason this mic does not filter out the sh and pa sounds. Its awful. I would have returned it if I thought I could. I cut a mic windscreen down and put it over the capsule on the inside. Did not work. Took that out.Then just hung a bandana over the mic and that worked. Great! But not can not see what I paid big bucks for. Lastly I cut a square piece of mic windscreen that just fit over the front section of the mic and held it on with two rubber bands. This seems to work just fine.
Musical Background:
Professional Musician
Musical Style:
Solo Guitar and vocals
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us