Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Shure SM7B Dynamic Cardioid Studio Vocal Microphone
BACK IN STOCK

Shure SM7B Dynamic Cardioid Studio Vocal Microphone

Capture pro-quality vocals with Shure's classic cardioid dynamic mic. A favorite microphone for broadcasters and rappers, the SM7B handles up to 180 dB SPL.

Overall User Ratings (based on 50 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(50)
Submitted December 9, 2010 by a customer from verizon.net
"Shure SM7B lives up to its reputation!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'll be satisfied for good.
Sound
The sound quality of this product is exactly what you'd expect. Professional, clean and robust. So far I've just used it on Voice Over and it has performed well. I recorded a little bit of vocals through it and I can tell it will be excellent at this too. I'm pleased.
Features
An additional windscreen was included that lets you get right up on the mic.
Ease of Use
Meat and potatoes mic. I do wish the filters were a bit easier to adjust, but I understand why they are engineered as they are. It is to prevent someone from accidentally changing the filters/roll off.
Quality
Built like a tank. This mic is gonna last forever.
Value
I think the product is worth the typical $349 asking price, especially if you haven't already invested in a lot of other dynamic mics.
The Wow Factor
Sexy Baby!
Musical Background:
Recording Engineer & Professional Musician
Musical Style:
Rock
14 of 14 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 18, 2015 by Denzil C in Charleston, SC
"Shure SM7B: a rapper's delight"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
as a rapper with a deep voice and rapid-fire delivery, recording my vocals clearly without making them tinny and lifeless has always been a challenge. i have taken to recording with dynamic mics because i love how my voice sounds on them. also, because my home project space is not treated well for sound, i greatly benefit from the noise rejection. my condenser and ribbon mics would't work here even if i wanted to use them for laying down vocals.
Sound
5 stars: i use the SM7B with the bass response flat and the presence boost engaged. that extra mid-high range gives my voice just the right extra bit of punch in the mix. this mic picks my voice up perfectly with warmth and clarity -- exactly what i was looking for. i use the thick foam windscreen and don't even additional help with plosives. i play the mic pretty closely, pretty much right up on it.
Features
5 stars: this mic has a bass rolloff and a mid-high frequency presence boost. it also comes shockmounted, has two excellent windscreens, and a customizable bracket that lets you use the mic on a hanging broadcast boom or a traditional mic stand as needed. i'm all set for voiceover work as well!
Ease of Use
4.5 stars: the only thing that took it down from 5 is that i can see some people having a little trouble adjusting the bracket out of the box. however, don't be afraid. no tools are necessary. it can be done by hand. if you absolutely need, gently use pliers to adjust the bolts on the bracket. other than that, it's a microphone. what else do you need to know about its use?
Quality
5 stars: i am convinced you could play rugby with this thing by day and lay down tracks by night. i've owned several other shure mics for years. they've been through wars and all work just as well as the day they were bought. i expect this to be no different. you would really have to try to damage this thing.
Value
5 stars: the $350 i spent on this mic almost feels like robbery. this is the finest dynamic mic the game, and it stands tall against condensers and ribbons that cost thousands of dollars. if you're thinking about this mic, don't. just get it. i can't imagine who could be disappointed with it. i don't think you should listen to folks trying to sell you the fact that michael jackson and bruce swedien recorded thriller on this. but you should consider that they had every mic in the world at their disposal and chose the SM7. that's extremely telling. at twice the price, i'd still consider this mic a deal.
Manufacturer Support
3 stars: this is only because it only has a 1-year limited warranty. that said, i can see why shure cuts corners in this regard. their mics are so well made, who needs service on them? i don't know of anyone who has ever had to take shure up on this.
The Wow Factor
5 stars: this is a gorgeous piece of kit. it looks the part of high-end professional. and hearing my voice through it with no effects or anything really shocked me. i'd never sounded so good without plug-ins and FX.
Musical Background:
rapper/producer - professional and hobbyist for over 15 years
Musical Style:
hip-hop
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 27, 2010 by a customer from yahoo.com
"SM7 perfect for Project Studio..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This mic will stay in my studio as long as I have a studio. I don't know if I can stand not having one now.
Sound
The Shure SM7b is an everything mic. I like the flat response setting, but I love the fact that you can control the frequency response. It is perfect for the style of music I'm recording. We want a nice clear and accurate sound, and that is exactly what the sm7 offers. So far, I've used it on vocals, acoustic guitar, and snare, and I haven't been dissapointed with any of the results. When using it on vocals, there is a very nice proximity effect.
Features
I love the frequency response switches. That is the reason that this mic is so versatile. You can cut the lows, you can boost the sweet spot in the highs, you can leave it flat, or you can choose any combination in between. It also came with an extra, thicker pop filter. That was a nice surprise.
Ease of Use
Plug the mic in and hit record, great sound no matter what.
Quality
This mic has a thick and sturdy metal frame. I don't think I'll have any problems with this thing breaking down.
Value
Before holding the mic in my hands, I thought it might be a little pricey. But from the time I opened the box to the time I plugged it in and listened back to the first recording, I knew it was worth it. Just looking at it in the studio makes you feel confident about what you're recording.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't had to deal with support any, and hope I won't have to, but I like to think that a company that puts out products this good won't skimp on their support.
The Wow Factor
It looks great. It makes you feel like you know what you're doing when you're using it.
Musical Background:
Recording Engineer, and Active Musician
Musical Style:
Folk, Alternative, Rock
18 of 19 people (95%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 25, 2014 by Joe G in Ione, CA
"Great mic….But..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was looking for a mic that would work well for home studio vocals that would be smooth and not "over-color." After a lot of research and testing, I settled on the SM7B as my choice. Here however is the rub: I think Shure's quality control has slipped considerably since moving operations to Mexico. After unboxing the mic, I discovered a serious problem. After reading the instructions (this is important if you don't want to buy a new foam windscreen), I removed the windscreen. Now, its important to understand how this mic is constructed. There are basically 3 windscreens/blast filters in this mic. The first is the interchangeable/removable outer foam windscreen. Second is the steel cage that surrounds the element. Third is a small disc that covers the top of the element. After removing the foam screen, I could see inside the cage and found the small disc that is supposed to sit atop the element askew and almost ready to fall off. I'm certain that with any sort of handling of the mic would have rendered the small disc falling off and lying in the bottom of cage. I had to open the mic and remove the cage in order to retrieve disc which basically fell off in my hand. Examining it, I could see three little spots where the factory attempted to glue it to the edges of the element but apparently did not use enough adhesive or else used old adhesive. Using a small amount of silicone sealant, I carefully re-attached the disc to the top of the element. Now I know that this is not a thousand or three thousand dollar Neumann but for $350, I was expecting a lot better quality than this from a renowned name like Shure. This being said and repair completed, I plugged the mic into my board and was very pleasantly surprised. Even using the onboard mic gain control only and leaving the preamp out of line, the mic rendered a very smooth sound without being overly bassy or sibilant, even with the presence boost on and the low cut disengaged. It was a much more pleasant sounding mic than my AKG C214. Comparing it to a Shure SM58, the SM7B is much smoother and freer from plosives, sibilance, and proximity effect.My testing is only preliminary at this point, but I can't wait to lay down some serious vocal tracks with this mic.
Musical Background:
Lifetime musician, recording artist, studio owner, producer.
Musical Style:
Country, classical guitar and keyboards.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 8, 2013 by Purnash D in Jamaica, NY
"Built like a tank"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The shure sm7b is just a beautiful well built mic.... It's very good for a high pitched loud singer like myself.... The settings in the back of the mic names the mic work on anything!!.... Just make sure u have a preamp with tons of gain and this mic will just shine!....also make sure u know why ur buying it!!! It has a wonderful tone and if you guys have a noisy neighborhood it cuts off background noise very well....BUY IT!!!!!!! U can't beat the performance of this mic with this price!
Musical Background:
Musician, teacher. Songwriter, engineer.
Musical Style:
Pop, rock, Indian classical vocalist.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 16, 2015 by a customer from gmail.com
"Great mic but needs good preamp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I like the mic very much. Has a unique sound that not like any other mic. I can pretty much always tell when it was used in a song. Really directional so does help block out background sounds not a lot though just a little. So if you have dogs barking, footsteps upstairs ect, You'll still pick that up in this mic. Also really do need a good preamp for this mic! Cheaper pres and even some high end one have a lot of hiss in the high gain stages. I tried the UA 710 with this mic and lots of hiss same with Golden Age Pre 73. Right now I use the Black Lion Audio B12A MK II and there is hardly any hiss at maxed out gain. Just a thick sound and clean signal. Great preamp.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 28, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"Sweet sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I needed another mic like I need another hole in the head- BUT I'm a mic junkie and decided to buy it anyway! Okay, we all have different ideas on what is a good mic or not. BUT, this is simply a beautiful sounding microphone. IF, your a vocalist- you simply have to try this unit out. I am impressed, and I love the mic I have been using. It's crisp, accurate, and can take high sound pressure levels. And the ability to tailor the sounds is a very nice feature. Just try it out. However, you WILL need a lot of gain so a "Cloudlifter" or similar device will be necessary in most cases.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 7, 2016 by James S in Atlanta, GA
"Great mic - Used on Vocals, Kick drum"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I used one of these when I was at school a while back. Its a very good mic that gives detail similar to a condenser but without picking up MAD noise from around. I bought this because my Nuemann was picking up too much outside noise around my town home and I needed to be able to record. This bad boy did the trick. It also sounded great on a kick drum. I checked the SPL online first and once I knew it could handle it I tried it and I liked it. I would definitely recommend this mic.(And do all the time)
Musical Background:
Recording / Mixing Engineer + Songwriter + Producer
Musical Style:
Hip Hop, R&B, Pop
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 3, 2011 by a customer from sbcglobal.net
"Great mic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
This has a great sound. Very little/low self-noise. It does take a lot of gain, but I knew about that going into it. The only slight negative is that the windscreen doesn't negate some 'p' sounds from singers; I have to back them up a little.
Features
Nice selection of filters on them mic plus two different kinds of wind screens.
Ease of Use
Very easy to get a good sound. It definitely sits well in a mix.
Quality
It's a Shure. I'm not worried about reliability, though it will be kept in my little project studio.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock, Acoustic
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 21, 2017 by Francisco Gamino in eagle pass, TX
"It lives for its reputation"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sturdy, well made, sounds awesome, felixible sound. I actually use it with a cloud lifter and a clarett 8pre, wich does not has enough gain for THIS particular dynamic mic. This is a gain hunger, so be sure to get a cloudlifter or a nice preamp wich in my case i am wating to test on this nice microphone.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 20, 2012 by Robert D in Los Alamitos, CA
"Upgrade your SM57 now... Great Dynamic Vocal Microphone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I own 4 Large Condenser mics, but they didn't handle the dynamics of expressive vocals well, so I went to the SM57 and loved it..... until I bought the SM7B... enough said... Genni is out of the bottle now, so can't go back. The SM7B is a very clear sounding mic over the SM57 and is a keeper. Using it with the Golden Age Mic Pre73 and a Focusrite 2i2 and have zero noise... Worth the money for sure.
Musical Background:
Vocalist
Musical Style:
Rock, Jazz
9 of 11 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 18, 2015 by Richard Davis in hot springs, AR
"Finally... The mic I have been looking for! Shire SM7b"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have tried numerous condenser mics in my studio over the years to no avail... They were so brittle and picked up too much noise. Saw a post on a micmod website that suggested a dynamic mic instead... The SM7b. Finally ! They say this mic should be wearing a smoking jacket and ascot its so smooth. They are correct... I love this mic!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 5, 2015 by Alan Lockwood in Sterling Heights, MI
"Shure SM7B Mic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I can honestly say that after being in radio since I was 18 this is the best mic I have ever come across! The staff at zzounds was awesome and assisted me greatly with my purchase!!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 19, 2013 by Robert Jericho in San Antonio, TX
"Clean!"
I bought this mic once before but it was before I bought a decent preamp, not a good idea. However, If you have a good mic pre, it will become more apparent when you buy this microphone. It's very crisp and clean but not two bright where you have cut a bunch of frequency when mixing it for vocals. Great for loud singers with lots character. It sounds great with the ISA one and the 610 solo.
Musical Background:
Full time musician
Musical Style:
Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 4, 2012 by Craig Belton in Palatka, FL
"Best Selection For Home Recording"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After doing home recording for 15 years, I have found the perfect mic in the Shure SM7b! I have tried many different mics from many companies and Shure has never been a disappointment to me and this mic has surpassed my expectations! I became interested in this mic after watching a YouTube clip on Bruce Sweden and Michael Jackson and the recording of Thriller. It tool a while for me to decide to buy this mic because I was sure I had and I did have a winner in the Rode NT1. However, I wanted a new mic for a new project and I decided to get the SM7b. I has great features! The way you can taylor the mics sound output is an excelent feature, but the most impressive feature for home recording is how it cuts out room noise. i run a loud wall unit AC with no booth next door to the city transportation depot and train station and I have to tell you that all that gets tracked is the vocals! The train horn makes it to the mix also, but I just have the artist to stop for a min. and BOOM! I get the cleanest mixes i've ever had. It's not the best looking mic but girls like it! lol! I have recorded all types of voices from male to female and some voices can be a challenge, but once you learn how to "fish out" the nasty nasal frequencies that occur with some voices then you end up with a fantastically warm sound professional sound that adds a real analogue fullness to you signal. I would recommend this mic above any other mic for home recording. Moreover, I don't use an external preamp at all! I get enough boost from the preamps in the Roland VS Studio. Absolutely the best solution for noisy environments.
Musical Background:
15 Years of Hip Hop, R&B and Gospel recording experience. Over 20 years of producing Hip Hop / Rap.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 4, 2014 by William M in Corona, NY
"SM7B"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I had this mic for a few wks now and the sound quality is just what I was Looking for in a mic.
Musical Background:
Producer/Sonwriter
Musical Style:
All music but I mostly record hip hop & R&B music
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 24, 2010 by a customer from pjfusco.com
"Do It! Do It! Do It! Because this is one of the only times in your life you won't be sorry you did."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I will remain satisfied with the SM7B for as long as it performs which should be longer than I stay alive, but I think I'm going to give the EV RE20 a shot too.
Sound
Here's the thing: I do a two hour daily broadcast over the Internet. Soon it will go live to three hours with callers. I needed a broadcast quality microphone, and there are really only two choices, the Shure Sm7b, or the Electro-Voice Re20. I know there will be people saying otherwise, but I was brought up in the industry so I know from whence I speak. The difference in price is minimal, so it comes down to personal preference. The SM7b brings out the best in my voice which is rather deep, it files all the raspy edges off as opposed to a condenser which hides the raspiness behind a hot sound. Think of it this way: A high end condenser would be the voice you use to meet the girl, the SM7B is the voice you use once you get her home.
Features
There is an equalizer on the back with bass roll off, flat, and presence (think condenser wannabe) settings, useful if you're bored, but flat is where it's at for me.
Ease of Use
Sound is what this microphone is all about...tons of pure, unadulterated sound.
Quality
It's a Shure, what else do you need to know? Built like a brick s__thouse, you can be assured it will do the job for many years to come.
Value
Are you kidding? All I can say is, compare, and then you will be satisfied it is an extraordinary value for the money.
Manufacturer Support
It's a 6 because I haven't needed support, so I wouldn't know how good or bad it is.
The Wow Factor
I don't consider anything inanimate to be sexy, and I don't get weird with gear, ever. That said, I did ask the SM7B to marry me, but she said it wouldn't work out. Look, it's a good looking mic, better on a broadcast boom. I see Dennis Miller uses an SM7B.
Musical Background:
Broadcaster
Musical Style:
Political talk
2 of 4 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 20, 2014 by Charles V in Newport, OR
"Shure SM7B in line with the Heil PR40 and EV RE370 "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
CONS: 1. Terrible packaging by sender as there wasn't enough stuffing and the box was bouncing around when I received it…just to think of the abuse my new Shure SM7B went through in delivery. 2. I can't believe that whoever engineered the yoke mechanism actually got paid. It took me about an hour of fooling around with the nuts and washers (fourteen to be exact) to actually get the mic right side up for a desk mount. But I doubt Shure will do anything about this except get a good chuckle. 3. The instructions are so bad you can't even read the word "Shure" on the back of the mic in the picture in the instructions. Then out came the magnifying glass to see which switch to set for "presence boost" which isn't even explained in the instructions…boo!4. No case…boo two! Come on, at least Shure could have printed "Shure" on a sock to make a free mic cover. PROS: 1. Great looking mic. I'm sure everyone will be impressed when they see this mic and will want to impress all their friends and enemies. 2. It feels strong, sort of like it belongs on the desk of the warden in a penitentiary. 3. I love the xlr mounting bracket which is separate from the mic and doesn't lead to cable drag…a great feature…5 stars! 4. No popping right out of the box…5 stars! 5. I have a Heil PR40 and this sounds every bit as good without the popping of the PR40 and dealing with a windscreen and shock mount…5 stars! 6. The knurled knob which is use to attach the mic yoke to the stem of a desk or boom mount is fantastic, as you don't need to turn a whole mic flange like with the Heil PR 40…5 stars!NOTICE: When I plugged my SM7B into my Golden Age Pre 73 II I didn't realize that I had the db around 25 and I got no sound. Then I remembered that this is a dynamic mic and I had read that it needed more gain than even the HEIL PR40. So I upped the gain to 75 db with the output at 12 o'clock and success. So you do need a mic-pre or mixer that will give you at least 60 db of gain. I go from the GAP 73 into the line-in on my Mac Mini i5 and bypass the audio USB CPU hog which messes with my ScreenFlow video screencast by introducing sync problems. Not all Macs have line in though. This is just a first hour from unboxing review…more later!
Musical Background:
I don't play a musical instrument, nor listen to music.
Musical Style:
I use this mic for podcasting vocal seminars.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 8, 2016 by Harry Trinidad in Danbury, CT
"Excellent Product & Service"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My experience ordering products from zZounds has always been very positive. Shipping is extremely fast and customer service is excellent. The Shure SM7B is the best I've ever owned for radio broadcasting. I highly recommend it for this purpose.
Musical Background:
I've been a DJ for over 15 years and radio broadcaster for 2 years
Musical Style:
Salsa music
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 14, 2013 by Brad Engstrom in San Diego, CA
"SM7b"
I use this on my singer's voice. It's very unique so not all mics sound right for him. I've heard great things about these SM7b's so I thought I'd give it a shot. Wow! IT's smooth response and bass roll off is just what the DR. ordered! He sounds amazing. After each show people say how great his voice was. Nice job SHURE.
Musical Background:
Been playing music for 30 plus years. Bass is my first instrument, then guitar. I'm currently touring with the English Beat.
Musical Style:
I've played Blues, Hard Rock, Jazz fusion, Reggae. I currently tour with the English Beat.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 25, 2009 by Sam
"A versatile, great sounding microphone at an extremely reasonable price."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Written by one of our gear experts!
Overall, the SM7B is a great workhorse microphone that can be used in many different applications. Some sources, such as male vocals and electric guitar cabinets, give excellent results with the SM7B. Many people tend to overlook large diaphragm dynamics such as the SM7B and the RE20 in favor of similarly priced condensers. Yet, in my experience, if one is working in less than ideal acoustic conditions, or if there is any amount of audible background noise, it is often better to choose a great sounding dynamic over a condenser microphone. I have found that many similarly priced condensers do not provide the same overall sound quality that the SM7B provides, and it is much easier to get a good sound with the Shure. If one is just starting to get into recording, and one needs a good, versatile microphone at a great price, look no further than the SM7B. Alternatively, any one who has been recording for some time owes it to themselves to check out the SM7B. There's definitely a reason why this microphone is getting so much hype, and the SM7B definitely lives up to its lofty expectations.
Sound
It's hard to describe the "sound" of a particular microphone. Different microphones sound wildly different on every source. Even a microphone that is more suited to vocal applications will sound different on every vocalist. With that being said, the SM7B definitely has a fairly distinct sonic character. The microphone sounds relatively similar to an SM57, but slightly more mellow in the upper midrange with a bit more presence in the high frequencies (from around 8-10Khz and up). Overall, the microphone isn't as bright as most condensers (which is typical of almost every dynamic microphone), but is slightly brighter than, say, an EV RE20, or a ribbon microphone. Lower midrange is clearly represented, and the microphone reproduces the bass frequencies accurately when the bass roll-off is not engaged. Yet, the bass is not hyped at all, and the SM7B would not be my first choice for bass-heavy instruments (bass guitar, kick drum). The SM7B is suited to a variety of sources, and has worked well (for me) on electric guitar cabinets, bass cabinets (when I want to pickup more of the midrange of the bass), male vocals, and even some acoustic guitar applications. Overall, the SM7B (like the SM 57) is a wonderfully versatile mic that sounds excellent on some sources, and perfectly acceptable on most sources.
Features
The SM7B contains many useful features. The microphone has a cardioid pickup pattern, and does a pretty decent job of rejecting room sounds (when close micing). The microphone also has switches for presence boost and bass roll-off, which are both useful when needed. The SM7B comes with a great suspension mount, which acts as a shockmount, and also comes with a larger windscreen for voiceover or broadcast applications. The internal windscreen does a great job at taming plosives. On the surface, the SM7B seems to be a fairly basic microphone in terms of features, but in actuality, one gets a lot for the money. Overall, the only other items that one would need with the SM7B are a microphone stand and an XLR cable. No extra shockmounts or pop filters are needed.
Ease of Use
It's pretty easy to get a great sound with the SM7B. As long as one is familiar with micing techniques, mic placement, and proper microphone usage, getting an accurate representation of a source is very easy. The microphone comes with a detailed manual that clearly explains all of the specifications of the mic. Engaging the bass roll-off or presence boost is merely flicking a switch. One caveat of the SM7B is that it has a relatively low output level. In order to use the SM7B, one has to have a preamplifier that can provide a lot of clean gain. I have used this particular mic with several different preamplifiers, and many are not able to cleanly amplify the SM7B's low output level (for instance, the UA Solo 610, or the Golden Age PRE73). I personally have gotten better results from a "clean" preamplifier, rather than a preamp that has a lot of "color."
Quality
Shure is famous for making microphones that stand the test of time, and the SM7B is no different. In typical Shure fashion, the microphone is extremely well built, and the suspension mount is very sturdy. It doesn't seem as durable as the SM57, but then again, almost no other microphone is. These microphones were designed to live on the stands of broadcast studios, without ever being put away. I doubt I will ever need to replace the SM7B due to damage/quality issues.
Value
For its current asking price, the SM7B is a steal. The microphone is wonderfully versatile and will remain as part of my microphone collection for a very, very long time. The mic is a professional piece of equipment and is very capable of making a professional recording when used correctly. Many professional studios are using the SM7B for all sorts of applications, and many albums have made considerable use of this microphone (for instance, the original SM7 was the microphone used almost exclusively on the vocal tracks for Michael Jackson's "Thriller"). The asking price is very reasonable.
Manufacturer Support
N/A; I haven't needed to contact support for any reason, but I have heard many people have had good experiences in dealing with Shure's customer service.
The Wow Factor
N/A; The SM7B has a basic, practical design that is perfectly adequate for what it is.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Alternative, Electro, Shoegaze
16 of 16 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 11, 2010 by a customer from hotmail.com
"A sexy mic that really bangs your voice out there a mic for every one that you will love from the moment you take it out of the"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I will be happy with this mic up untill the day I can not talk no more. I plan on getting a tube mic pramp to help out and give my voice a richer sound and so the voice over demos I do will have a real bang.
Sound
upon getting this fantastic mic in the mail I did a side by side with my old mic and the sound quality put me thru the roof.My podcast sound so much better . The only thing I have to do its get a tube preamp but the good thing is this mic is working great with just my mixer.
Features
the yoke is very impressive and I will say the pop filters do make a difference. kudos on shure for giving two great filters instead of making us buy them.
Ease of Use
I just took it out of box and plugged it in and started working it was that easy.
Quality
This mic is very solid great sound good case for the mic and good thick wind screens
Value
for the money this mic is very worth it like you was always told you get what you pay for well this is so true.
Manufacturer Support
have not had to deal with them as yet
The Wow Factor
This mic is a must have for any singer band or any home studio and iv you are going to do VO work this is the mic for you
Musical Background:
hbbyist
Musical Style:
R&B
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 29, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"SM7B Reviewed - now buy it."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Very satisfied. I'd like to get a few other large dynamic microphones to add to the collection and maybe another SM7B eventually.
Sound
Sound - Tailored for Vocals (Voice Overs and Male Vocals), Bass-Baritone instruments Quality - Excellent sound quality - switchable patterns allow you to shape the sound (bass roll-off is very helpful) Response - What goes in, comes out clean - very low-handling noise and it keeps out a lot of the room sound. Better? - I like it over a lot of condensers I've used. The SM7B is meant for close-up - I tried recording from a distance to see how well it works and the sound was decent; however, it was not as clear as other mics. 1 feet is about as far as I would stand from it. Live vs. Recording - I've yet to take this on the road, and when I do, I will definitely take an external preamp with enough juice for it (RNP to the rescue). Equipment Used with SM7B - I use the FMR RNP with the SM7B Tips? - Watch your preamp gain settings - you need enough gain for it but you do not need to always keep it at full blast. Even with quiet vocals, I've been successful with a lower gain setting (as long as the meters are reading at about -18dbFS(RMS) on the RNP - sometimes even at a 30dB gain setting on the RNP. Mic placement is the key, especially if the room isn't all that great.
Features
AW7S Windscreen included. Most useful feature is the switchable response (bass roll off and mid-range boost) The new Electro-Voice RE320 has a "dual personality" switch that optimizes it for kick drum and other bass instruments - it would be nice to have that extra feature.
Ease of Use
Set it up and it's ready - just like any other dynamic microphone.
Quality
Exceptional Shure quality. I own quiet a few Shure mics and the build is solid. Personally, I wouldn't take this mic on the road only because I like it in the studio. This mic seem like it will last for the next 20 years or so.
Value
Most used microphone in my home/project studio. It's my first go-to mic for vocals and bass/baritone instruments.
Manufacturer Support
Shure = great sound. No issues with the product (or any other product from them), therefore, never had to deal with customer service.
The Wow Factor
What can I say? It's a great mic.
Musical Background:
Musician, Music Teacher, Arranger, Hobbyist Engineer
Musical Style:
Classical, Jazz, Opera, and other styles as I enjoy them.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 12, 2011
"Greatness!!!"
I am seriously thinkin about buyin another for recordin multiple tracks at one time but that is the only reason I would need another any time soon.
Sound
It really doesnt get any better or easier than this!!! The sound quality produced by this is beautiful!! It's simply incredible
Features
Everything included is simple and easy to understand.
Ease of Use
Beyond easy. At the end of the day, your interface and engineer determine the quality of your mix but this mic makes it easier for everyone involved. Also, its as easy as plug in and press record with this mic. Of course when using a mic, you want to check your levels for each artist before recording but besides that, just plug in and go!!!
Quality
Sturdy and good looking
Value
A must have and a great bargin
Manufacturer Support
No need. This mic is easy to use and sturdy so I havent had to contact anybody regarding it.
The Wow Factor
Very good looking!!! No funky colors, it looks professional.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 16, 2011 by Dylan
"Impressive and affordable."
Written by one of our gear experts!
The Shure sm7B is an excellent choice for any project studio and a great addition to any professional studio.
Sound
Originally designed as a broadcast microphone the SM7B lives up to its reputation of having a full and well rounded sound. The low end of this mic makes it especially ideal for male vocalists with deeper voices but I've had good results using this for female vocals as well. Being a large diaphram dynamic mic it has all the benefits of using a dynamic mic like less backround noise or signal bleed while maintaining the clarity you get with a condenser mic. Which makes it ideal for home studio use. This mic is also one of my favorite choices for guitar cabs and gets great results with distorted or clean tones.
Features
Shure includes two wind screens one large one and one smaller one. I've used the large one a couple times but it never seems necessary in a recording situation So mostly the smaller one does the trick. Other than that not much else is included other than the usual spec sheet and owners manual. The mic clip is part of the metal frame thats attached to the sm7B and allows it to tilt up and down which is perfect for vocal placement but was clearly not designed with other placement applications in mind. The bass roll off and presence boost both work as expected and are nice options to have though I'm usually happy with the results without either one engaged.
Ease of Use
Plug it in.
Quality
This mic is well constructed and built to last which is exactly what you would expect from Shure. I don't see myself needing to replace/repair it anytime soon if ever.
Value
Worth every penny.
Manufacturer Support
NA
The Wow Factor
Looks great. Sounds great. Whats not to love?
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us