Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Shure SM58 Dynamic Handheld Microphone
BACK IN STOCK

Shure SM58 Dynamic Handheld Microphone

Get the legendary live sound of the Shure SM58 microphone. World-famous for its durability and clarity, the SM58 is the must-have handheld dynamic vocal mic.

Overall User Ratings (based on 237 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(237)
Submitted April 10, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Not too good on recording, but EXCELLENT for performers"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
OK, this isn't necessarily designed for recording, but the SM58 is an industry standard when it comes to performance applications. No mic I know of out there beats the SM58 in overall performance and reliability in performance applications.
Features
None. But none needed.
Quality
Build quality and qual control on Shure products are one of the best. Made in the good ole USA. Shure isn't BSing you when it says that this mic is consistently the top choice of performers around the world.
Value
Worth the money.
Manufacturer Support
I have dealt with their CS and it is prompt and informative.
The Wow Factor
Sex appeal of a mic? It's conventional looking.
Musical Background:
Active Musician, Hobbyist Recording Engineer
Musical Style:
All kinds
89 of 91 people (98%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 2, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"The SM58, Legend for a reason"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I would buy another if I needed it. This is the most professional piece of equipment I have, including my digital piano, Korg rack,... laptop... If you're like me and you're practically broke but want a mic that you won't regret, get this microphone. Heck, if you're as broke as me you won't even mind that it's not the best for acoustic guitars. You can actually get a pretty good (read: if you're a novice it will sound great =] ) sound out of it even for things it wasn't designed for. Anyway, take the leap and buy this mic.
Sound
Does this microphone need another user review? It's just plain perfect for recording vocals, as far as I'm concerned. It's not good for acoustic guitar though, just as a warning. But hey, that's not what it's for.
Features
I bought the mic with an on/off switch, which is really nice. It doesn't have any other options like some other mics, but that doesn't really matter.
Ease of Use
Plug it in to your preamp, turn up the gain (not too much), and you're good to go.
Quality
I was surprised by how small it was, but quickly realized how ergonomic it is. It's also surprisingly heavy; or, I should say, substantial. It feels really good to hold. Another surprise was how easy it was to get to some of the electronics by unscrewing it in the middle. Just as long as you don't unscrew it and then accidentally take a pair of scissors to the wires you'll be fine :) . The top of the mic is very sturdy as well. It's just awesome :D
Value
Uber-affordable and super-quality. You could spend less and get a crappy microphone. Or, you could buy this professional mic and get a cable and stand.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed support. I'm confident in Shure, though.
The Wow Factor
Haha, the infamous Zzounds sex appeal question. The SM58 is the perfect size, shape, and weight, and the clarity of the sound is excellent. It also looks excellent. I'm definitely inviting my musician friends over to play around with it... especially the ladies ;)
Musical Background:
Hobbyist Composer/Producer
Musical Style:
Techno & Christian pop
13 of 14 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 31, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Good all around bang for your buck? Shure!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
sounds good for what it is worth. You want more even higher quality products, then upgrade to a beta 58. If you really want a great smoother sounding microphone, then go one step further with the beta 87 a or c
Sound
It is the perfect microphone for someone doing a speech, or a lecture. The way the sound is tailored for this microphone suits it purpose.
Features
What can you say. An oldie but a goodie...in design.
Ease of Use
Again, if you know your microphones, you will know how to maximize the use of this microphone. Good lecture and speech microphone. Also a great backup vocalist microphone. However, I would not recommend it as a lead vocalist. The beta version will give you more gain before feedback!
Quality
The huge bulb shaped mesh grill, I wish would be more tainted to more of a design like its Beta 87 design. That is just a personal wish is all. However, what can you say. This design has been around for years.
Value
By far. A good sound system starts with a good board, and also a good microphone. No matter how smooth sounding your speakers sound, a good microphone degrades the quality of the overall sound. For its price, it is a very good stepping stone in starting or better yet, an upgrade from those cheap microphones for your audio system
The Wow Factor
Still like the beta 87 design is all. Just because of the mesh grill
Musical Background:
Audio Engineer
Musical Style:
Contemporary Christian
53 of 60 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 5, 2006 by a customer from hotmail.com
"best stage microphone ever."
try and find a better factory-made stage microphone. i dare you. no one can improve on this. There is an on/off version, a wireless version, and an instrument version(SM57), but i like mine the way it is. I'll never have to wire this.
Sound
I love Shure. They give you tons of instructions on how to use it different ways. to mic an instrument, take off the windscreen. to have a bassy sound, work close. This microphone will let you discover everything about producing and live performance, with a beginner's price. I hardly have a studio to do it justice, but I've used it before and all the problems i encounter are the fault of my interface.
Features
"unbreakable???" mic clip, whatever that means, and some weird velcro strap. VERY nice carrying case, and even the box makes me salivate.
Quality
how the HELL can shure sell this thing at such a low price? they should make bulletproof vests out of SM58 cases. It's beautiful too.
Value
like the guy below says, worth its weight in gold.
Manufacturer Support
awesome warranty, and comes with a beginner's manual on how to use it.
The Wow Factor
theres nothing sexier than simplicity. this is black and silver. that's it. nice and heavy. Solid. And the ring that says Shure Sm58 is in exactly the right place.
Musical Background:
3 Year guitar player, aspring producer, singer, bassist, keyboardist...
Musical Style:
Rock. most of it.
16 of 18 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 13, 2017 by John South in Ft Lauderdale, FL
"As Good then as they are now!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
20 years later I need more mics. Great to see and hear Shure 58 is still solid and affordable! I started playing in bands twenty years ago in college and now ready to do studio work and some live shows. Not hard decision to go with Shure!
Sound
professional quality, very responsive, it is compatible with my playing style, has good sound in all settings I have tried so far.
Features
This version of the 58 has an ON-OFF switch which is a good feature.
Ease of Use
This Mic as are most are quite easy to use and easy to install. No problems with anything.
Quality
well made product as expected
Value
The Shure-58 mic is a great product for a great price.get the B model I think is the designation for adding the ON-OFF switch
Manufacturer Support
I have ot had to contact the manufacturer in 20 years for the product is reliable and if I were to contact them it would be to get an endorsement deal lol!
The Wow Factor
I have always loved Shure Mics
Musical Background:
20 years guitar, bass, keys, percussion, vocals
Musical Style:
rock alt rock, hard country,
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 9, 2005 by a customer from rogers.com
Shure SM58 Dynamic Mic Customer Review
Sound
A workhorse vocal stage mike. Gets an 8 for the studio, get a condenser mike if you want crystal purity.
Features
Just one pattern but when that's what you need it does the trick.
Quality
Are you kidding? I bought mine in 1966 (hey, maybe I've got a collectable). Looks all beat up and it still works.
Value
Let me see....I think it was about the same price back in '66 as it is now. That would come to about 0.7 cents a day. Pretty good deal, eh?.
Manufacturer Support
Can't say, never needed it
The Wow Factor
It lasts
Musical Background:
10 years active, 30 years hobbyist-jammer
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues
14 of 16 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 6, 2017 by Joshua Prentice in Dayton, NV
"Best Vocal Mic for DJ"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have owned this mic for over a year now. You know you're buying quality when you purchase Shure products. Crystal clear vocals through my DDJ-SZ and it picks up really well, compared to my wireless karaoke mics. This is a must have for DJs.
Musical Background:
Guitar/Drummer/DJ/Electronic Music Producer
Musical Style:
Electronic, Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 17, 2008 by a customer from gmail.com
Shure SM58 Dynamic Mic Customer Review
Good mic for stage and recordings. It's all based on your personal expectations and what kind of sound you wanna give.
Sound
It's a good stage mic. Now for the studio... I know people prefer the condensers... me not. In the studio you cannot find bad mics unless if they are very cheap. It's all personal expectations and preferences. For me It works fine for recording vocals but not instruments. I don't use the condensers anymore but only this only for a special type of songs. Sorry but if you guys want an excellent recording production better get different mics and use which one works better for each specific song. One mic cannot solve the problem.
Features
No It doesn't have anything but it's a mic...
Ease of Use
Nothing hard
Quality
I would say that shure sm58 is the toughest mic... It never brakes...
Value
I think it's ok
Manufacturer Support
No Idea...
The Wow Factor
Well I think I like it but....
Musical Background:
Musician, Music teacher, songwriter, music engineer
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 10, 2011 by a customer from earthlink.net
Shure SM58 Dynamic Mic Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
these mics never break. I knocked over my mic stand and the mic hit the cement and only got a small dent. Keeps on working and holds up to rigorous beatings.
Sound
This is the only mic as far as I'm concerned. Great lows that other mics don't have. They mostly have great highs.
Manufacturer Support
I have one but bought this one with my order for a band member so he could get the free shipping.
Musical Background:
Active musician
Musical Style:
Classic rock.
9 of 11 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 19, 2009 by a customer from sbcglobal.net
Shure SM58 Dynamic Mic Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
it has the best sound you can ever imagine. i've purchased the sm58 on jan. 12...and i'm planning on buy a few more :)
Features
it came with all its accessories and the features is excellent
Quality
shure has made a microphone thats very reliable...its the best mic you can ever purchace
Musical Background:
church musician
Musical Style:
gospel
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 5, 2018 by Dean Bagdasarian in Franklin, MA
"Sure SM-58"
I have been in working bands since the early 70's. Have used 58s for vocals since the beginning. Never had one fail ,even after hitting the floor. Nowadays the bands I'm in cant afford soundmen so I mix from stage . They are easy to EQ and get a good sound without worrying about feedback from monitors or FOH. Highly recommended.
Musical Background:
Playing professionally since mid 70's
Musical Style:
Rock, Art Rock, Prog rock ,acoustic rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 21, 2009 by a customer from gmail.com
"The proof is in the pudding they say and this is the best.PERIOD"
Sound
I have owned and used the Shure SM58 for 18 years I have used these mikes in live performing in some wild venues and to comment on using this mike for live recording,I have recorded over 300 vocals over a span of 10 years which the audiences continue to compliment on the great sound and I am still using the original mikes as of this date 09-21-09,now if any mike can do better and produce the same results year after year for the price,I personally don't think it has been created yet.
Musical Background:
Professional Vocalist and Recording Artist
Musical Style:
Elvis,Country and Gospel
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 19, 2012 by Kraig S in Bayboro, NC
"Good ol' SM58"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been using SM58s since the early 70s. It's the go-to mike for live sound. Vocalists expect them, they have a consistent sound mike-to-mike, they're sensitivity is just right to minimize feedback, and they're bullet proof - you could use one for a hammer and it would probably still work. There are far better mics for the studio, but the SM58 is king of the stage.
Musical Background:
Musician and sound-man for 40 years.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 17, 2016 by Jobany Bedoya in Ephrata, PA
"Great bargain"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
very reliable and affordable. I use it to have it at my dj station in case I also need to mc, sounds great and always great to have a wired mic in case wireless fails.
Musical Background:
mobile dj
Musical Style:
everything
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 31, 2013 by John Lawton in Craig, CO
"SM58 Rocks, the world, literally."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The SM58 is the industry workhorse. These are built like tanks. I just love them. And, I love the fact that the boxes came with the stickers inside, unlike another anonymous supplier.
Musical Background:
off and on since I was 5
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, No Hip=Hop, Blues, Big Band, Spiritual, Folk.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 11, 2013 by a customer from zipski.com
"Shure mic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Excellent mic....excellent service...I highly recommend you guys!!!!!!! You truly work for the musician...miked
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 1, 2010 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Rase Your Hand If Your SHURE!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
great value and sound it is refered to as the industry standard.
Sound
for me this is my goto mic for live vocals.the sound is crystal clear and natural.
Features
for a vocal mic its great some peoplelike the switch version but a mute switch on the board works great.
Ease of Use
plug and play. no mater your eq settings you will probably get the vocal sound your looking for
Quality
these things are tuff mine are close to 10yrs old and sound as good as ever.replaced a few windscreens but that was my fault for crushing them. still they work.
Value
$100 and you get what they use at the grammy's!!
Manufacturer Support
never had an issue with shure
The Wow Factor
best mic value out there if you want the best sound reprodution live.
Musical Background:
semi-pro
Musical Style:
Punk/Hardcore, ALL
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 27, 2012 by C PRODUCTIONS in FT.WORTH, TX
"SHURE MICS"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I OWN THE SM57,SM58`S,AND THE BETA 58.I ALSO OWN OSP`S,PEAVEY DIAMOND 22`S,RADIO SHACK WIRELESS,AND A FEW OTHERS.ALL OF MY MICS WORK WELL.MY BEST( IN THE ORDER I FEEL APPROPRIATE):BETA 58,NECK AND NECK-PEAVEY DIAMOND 22 ANDSM58,OSP(VERY GOOD),CRATE(GOOD),V-TECH.
Musical Background:
MUSIC;47YEARS,I PLAY:PIANO,ORGAN(STRING),CLARINET,FLUTE.
Musical Style:
CHRISTIAN:GOSPEL AND CONTEMPORARY,R&B,JAZZ,CLASSICALCOUNTRY.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 4, 2014 by Gary H in Columbus, GA
"Shure SM58 Microphone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great quality mic! Everything you would expect from Shure. The only problem I have is with the switch. It is a little bit recessed and is hard to turn on and off in a hurry. I am in the habit of turning off the mic when I am not talking and turning it on right before i speak. It is hard to do with this mic.
Musical Background:
I have played drums professionally since 1966. I have been a mobile DJ for 14 years.
Musical Style:
I have played rock, country, blues, soul, funk, disco, gospel, a little jazz and some original music. I am now a mobile DJ. I pl
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 27, 2012 by George R in Jefferson city, TN
"Shire sm58 microphone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was familiarly with the sure product from having worked with them in a church where I operated the sound mixing and video. Liked the warm sound so when it came time to purchase a microphone for my own use it was my top choice. zZounds made the shopping for a complete kit easy and affordable.
Musical Background:
Playing guitar off and on for many years, so many interrupts over the years feel like a beginner again.
Musical Style:
Christian
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 3, 2014 by Frederick Knight sr. in Pittsburgh, PA
"Shure microphone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Nice and clear voice pickup. My grand kids love to hear their voices when papa's fiddling around with his music.
Musical Background:
Jam at home for a hobby
Musical Style:
Hip Hop and R&B
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 27, 2006 by a customer from bellsouth,net
"for shure.(wow thats original)"
i think ive gone over this pretty much above.
Sound
it is great for live performances, Corey taylor uses one in Slipknot
Ease of Use
hook up the wireless..flip on and sing(or scream)!
Value
i was surprised at the price..considering slipknots lead singer uses it, i thought it would be like 400 dollars haha
Manufacturer Support
its fine. no support yet.
The Wow Factor
very sexy. look at the black and the silver. its great, the people love it.
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
metal,rock,hardcore, punk...pretty much anything.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 8, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"An AMAZING Gift"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
It was a gift for my Pastor and he loves it..The sound is AMAZING!!!
Features
We are just excited about the crisp sound and the convience of cordless
Musical Style:
Gospel
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 6, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Number 1 for a reason!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I will be buying more as budget and need arise's
Sound
An industry work-horse for live set-up, serves a variety of purposes from horns to vocals. Some may serve better for specific purposes, not many do as good as this does for a multitude of purposes! Especially for the price
Features
I am glad I got the newer version w/ on-off switch
The Wow Factor
Shure mic's fit and feel great -
Musical Background:
Hobbyist player & Promoter
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 10, 2014 by alan lyons in whitman, MA
"shure 58 mic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It is a workhorse. built strong sounds great I love it...
Musical Background:
guitar jam at home
Musical Style:
rock country
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2012 by JP E in Griswold, CT
"SM58"
I didn't know what microphone to purchase, but after talking with several friends, they instantly told me to get the SM57 or SM58. I went with the SM58 (obviously.) So far, this mic has been working out great for me. I have absolutely no complaints about it. I have a pretty decent vocal range and haven't noticed anything wrong with the clarity, or any distortion. My kids love it too, especially when they sing while I play my guitar.
Musical Background:
Playing guitar for over 15 years. Practice at home, play in a jam band, and also play solo acoustic at a local coffee lounge.
Musical Style:
Classic Rock, Jam Band stuff, Acoustic Rock, Blues.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 21, 2014 by Harry W in Fairfax, MN
"Shure SM58 Microphone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have only used this microphone twice, but it works fine and picks up voice very good.
Musical Background:
I have been playing for 50 yeas- I play the Chemitzer concertina professonally
Musical Style:
Polka-Waltz music (Old Time)
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 24, 2012 by Vision Ventures in Indy, IN
"SM58 sweet clean vocal mike"
Nice quality good pickup pattern good vocal mike
Musical Background:
Use for live shows and reporter standips
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 15, 2010 by a customer from comcast.net
"Buy the mic but be careful buying an accompanying XLR cord."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Mic is great. However, the XLR cable purchased with it has a loose fit to the mic. Periodically, it falls out. Not good!!
Musical Background:
DJ/Karaoke performer
Musical Style:
All genres but lean toward oldie rock & roll and country.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 19, 2014 by Joseph Grimm in Shady Spring , WV
"Great"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Meets and exceeds expectations
Musical Background:
Sing in a Southern Gosple Group
Musical Style:
Christian
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 28, 2007 by a customer from aol.com
"The mic to buy if you're not sure which mic to buy."
I recently bought a Beta 58 thinking it would be a better mic, but found it's sound to be too "hot". The Beta is a good mic for vocalists who have a hard time standing out in the mix, but it seems too harsh for me....I'm still using the SM58.
Sound
smooth-blends well in the mix.
Features
It does everything it's supposed to do very well.
Ease of Use
Plug and play
Quality
Perfect build quality. Rugged, simplistic beauty.
Value
This is really the "one mic to have" and is not expensive compared to other pro mics. Martina Mcbride used a wired SM58 on the 2006 CMA awards show. She is a four time country female vocalist of the year so I figure if it's good enough for her, it's a fine mic.
Manufacturer Support
Never needed support. Don't expect to need it.
The Wow Factor
This mic feels good in your hand and is a classic design.
Musical Background:
Run sound for my daughter
Musical Style:
Country
3 of 5 people (60%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 5, 2011 by a customer from netscape.net
"Metal mic."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Buy it now!
Sound
I am in a metal band and use this mic for live shows and practice. Works great, gives vocals a nice rounded tone, unlike other mics that just sound flat
Features
Comes with what you would expect, the on\off switch is pretty handy.
Ease of Use
Plug it in and sing away.
Quality
Its been beaten and keeps coming back for more
Value
For the money you won't find a better mic out there. Great tones and durability. Buy it.
Manufacturer Support
Not sure haven't dealt with them yet.
The Wow Factor
Sexy I guess?
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
technical metal
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 20, 2016 by Steven Millhorn in Denison, TX
"You get what you pay for"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I would caution everyone to buy microphones according to their recording needs. When you buy inexpensive mics for studio voice recordings only, you really should buy in the 2 to 3 hundred dollar range or higher. Eighty to a hundred 120 dollar mics will disappoint you. But as far as the mic I got....if you speak into it straight on and just the right way, it will serve ok.........so over all it was a good purchase for the money, and zZounds delivered what they advertised; I have no complaint with them.
Musical Background:
Voice only artist
Musical Style:
Christian
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 9, 2005 by a customer from shaw.ca
"Very nice little mic for the price."
Sound
this little mic is nothing fancy but great sound,tough as nails and over all a decent mic. Im a pro musician and Ive had a lot of mics worse than this little gem
Features
I didn't get the one thats switched..my mistake
Musical Background:
active
Musical Style:
folk,country,blues
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 10, 2006 by a customer from gmail.com
"Shure better than anything else on the market."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
It's lasted more than thirty years and it's gonna last at least another 30. Everything about the mic, the sound, the quality, even the sex appeal, is all worth the small amount of money. You can't go wrong with Shure and the '57/'58.
Sound
The sound is truly amazing, it's virtually perfect, every single aspect. I use it in the studio for everything vocal. Live, it's the best mic out there, as for the studio, it's second to none.
Features
There is a version with an on/off switch, which could help out in the studio or live performances. I believe it comes with a clip as well.
Ease of Use
Come on, it's a microphone. Plug it in and sing.
Quality
"Built like a tank." Or better. I bought 3 for the studio back in the late '60s. Every one of them has outlasted the equalizers and boards I've plugged them into. They sound today the same they did 30+ years ago.
Value
There's no better mic out there for this price (aside from the '57) or any other price for that matter. It just doesn't get any better than this.
Manufacturer Support
We've never needed support, none at all. And like stated previously, there's no better support than support you won't need.
The Wow Factor
Oh yeah, it's sexy. Black and silver, perfect for live performances, or just to sit and stare in the studio. Put it in your hand, it's heavy, rugged, and damned good looking. When an ulgy man stands next to the the '58, he's still ugly, but the mic is all the more sexxy.
Musical Background:
Active
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Alternative
2 of 5 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 15, 2012 by Jonnie S in Vallejo, CA
"Industry standard...still maybe a bit overrated and overpriced"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It's a Shure sm58 so I expect it to be a solid workhorse mic but only time will tell ... the sound has a lot to do with the mixer it's plugged into and how you set it. It does give me more clarity than my EV mic which sounds "darker". A bit pricey compared to other similar mics. Purchased as bundle with stand and cable. Stand is ok but plastic parts broke as soon as I put it together. Cable is a piece of Karaoke cable crap from China.
Musical Background:
20 yrs, Bass, guitar, keyboards, drums, vocals. Played church, parties, home recording.
Musical Style:
Christian, rock, jazz, country, blues, latin
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 12, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Awesome mic, nice mic stand and not so good chord."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Eventually we will go totally wireless at our church but for now, We are 100% satisfied.
Features
The mic stands that came with the mics works just fine but the chords are pretty much junk. Of course I expected that and they are just cheap chords. One shorted out right out of the box and a second is falling apart after just a few uses.
Manufacturer Support
All of the Shure products I've ever owned were excellent. I have a Shure wireless unit I've been using with my bass since the mid 90's and it still works awesome! I've never had to use the warranty on any Shure product.
Musical Background:
former active musician and now music pastor
Musical Style:
a bit of everything
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 11, 2008 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Shure SM58"
I Would not sell I'll rather sell my computer first.
Sound
Good for bands or performing not for the studio but only if you have a really good preamp. Better than any other microphone of its kind.
Features
The Sm58 is very durable other mics like this one will crumble in comparison. This mic has a very hard outer shell.
Ease of Use
For instruments this baby rocks. very easy to use.
Quality
Made well like a rock.
Value
Its worth what u pay.
Manufacturer Support
Never dealt with this company for support
The Wow Factor
Has a nice look to it. This one is a keeper in my storage collection.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 2, 2012 by terry stone in erwin, NC
"shure sm 58"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Nothing to say, It just don't get any better
Musical Background:
been playing in bands since 1973. off and on.
Musical Style:
you name it.......... I've played it.....except rap.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 2, 2012 by terry stone in erwin, NC
"shure sm 58"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Nothing to say, It just don't get any better
Musical Background:
been playing in bands since 1973. off and on.
Musical Style:
you name it.......... I've played it.....except rap.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 15, 2018 by Johnny G in Grand Haven, MI
"Shure SM58"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Why drive a Pinto when you can own a Cadillac I always say. I had a SM58 years ago for about a minute. I never liked a microphone you nearly had to eat to get the sound you wanted. I thought it had a very flat response. It was suggested to go with the Shure Beta 58A instead. What a sound difference and you don't have to eat it to get the sound you want.
Musical Background:
53 years behind the guitar. 12 string guitars exclusively.
Musical Style:
Folk to Folk rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 11, 2014 by Johnny G in Grand Haven, MI
"Shure SM58 Mike"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It is what it is. Pretty much standard and what everyone uses on a budget. Not my first choice.
Musical Background:
47 years, 12 String Acoustic guitars, professionally and jam at home
Musical Style:
Folk to Folk Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 20, 2011
"Great sounding, rugged and excellent value for the money."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Would buy another Shure sm58 without hesitation.
Sound
Sound quality is better than an expensive Yamaha mike I was using.
Features
Great mike for a singer. Shoud have purchased the one with on/off switch. Thats a great feature.
Ease of Use
Sounds great with my Idol II karaoke system. No feedback issues.
Quality
Semms like a very rugged well built microphone but then again I use it carefully. Stays at home, no road work.
Value
Great value for the money. Could spend a lot more money for better mikes but this is more than adequate for my use.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't dealt with Shure directly. Ordered on line fromz ZZsounds and received quick delivery.
The Wow Factor
Looking to sound as agood as possible without going broke.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 12, 2008 by a customer from telusplanet.net
"still the best for the price"
There is a reason this mike is still the industry standard, you dont get a good reputation from sounding crappy.
Sound
I cant believe the people who say it sounds like crap. Our lead singer was talked into an electrovoice by a salesman in a music store and told it is much better than the shure beta and the sm58. I have been using an electrovoice condenster style for years and got tired of the batteries going dead so i just got a new sm58. Funny thing happened during the first sound check, the lead vocalists electrovoice sounded like crap but the sm58 sounded just beautiful. I had to end up letting him use the shure and got stuck using the electrovoice. Dont believe all the crap about every mike will blow away an sm58, your typical salesman's line. Tell me why they are comparing evering thing to an sm58 and not the others? Because everyone knows the reputation of this mike. Take one out and do a side by side comparison with anything in its price range and i bet you will be amazed as i was.
Features
none
Ease of Use
It sounds so good it doesnt need aot of fooling around with during a sound check, even sounds good flat. So easy to get a good sound from.
Quality
Have played with people using shures for the last 35 years and I've never seen a problem. Tough mike
Value
compare it yourself to any mike at this price
Manufacturer Support
never needed it
The Wow Factor
i got it
Musical Background:
active musician for over 35 years
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 21, 2008
"SM58 - The Thrill is Gone"
There are better mics for the same price. If you find an old SM58 - OK, but stay clear of a new one.
Sound
I own a new SM 58 since about two years now. Sorry to say that when using this mic you wonder why the SM58 has become such a popular microphone. To answer this question you should understand that there is a big difference between the newer and the older Shure SM58. While an old 58 really is a nice sounding mic on vocals, the new SM58 is a muddy sounding mic. It is unclear why shure has changed the manufacturing process of the SM58, but its is a fact that a newer version of this mic is not what it once used to be. While I can recommend the old SM58 Iwould strongly advice to not to buy the muddy sounding newer SM58
Features
Well, its a mic, there is one with, and one without a switch
Ease of Use
as any dynamic microphone
Quality
Yes, it is good quality, but this is of no importance due to the fact that the newer SM58 is a muddy, a not good sounding mic, at least not for vocals
Value
To say it outright, the new SM58 is a horrible sounding mic compared to the older version. For the price there is a big choice of other mics that sound better, much better in fact
Manufacturer Support
Do not know
The Wow Factor
I have got one which I bought about 2 years ago and I am not using it due to the here mentioned facts
Musical Background:
Active Musician
5 of 10 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 29, 2007
"Okay for the money..."
Wouldn't settle for this if I could afford to spend a couple of hundred bucks more...
Sound
Sound quality is a bit bland, doesn't pick up subtlety and timbre very well, (mind you that is compared to slightly more expensive mics, e.g. Audix OM5).
Musical Background:
Active Musician/Recording Engineer
Musical Style:
Everything
4 of 7 people (57%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 19, 2006
Shure SM58 Dynamic Mic Customer Review
Sound
Have used other mics and hands down this is the best mic I could find for the price. Sounds great and I can really tell the difference if I use a omnidirectional mic, the 58 is teriffic....
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 29, 2005
"Only the greates live mic there is, durable, quality at a great price."
I would not search for another products because this one does it for me. i'm sold on the SM58. As a matter of fact I in here now to buy another.
Sound
As far as live sound this mics has been a favorite of mine for over 30 years. The most durable road mic you'll find bar none.
Features
Excellent
Quality
Will out last anything in mics today.
Value
You won't find this sound for this price in any other brand.
Manufacturer Support
I have several different Shure mics of different brands. Some are for studio use and others are for live use on the road. Each time I look and hear mics I always seem to come back to the tried and true Shure.
The Wow Factor
The SM58 may not have the greatest look when you see all the purty mics out there but why would you select a pretty mic over quaity of sound, da?
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 4, 2005
Shure SM58 Dynamic Mic Customer Review
Sound
God help us, there is some disinformation on this site is unbelievable!!! Let's start at the beginning I will try to take them one at a time. The Shure SM58 is an industry standard today for live vocals and speech, it has been for about forty years! It's not really a studio mic but you will find it on a number of major studio recordings nevertheless. The Shure Beta58 is supercardioid, has a little more output than a regular SM58, and is a little brighter. Whether or not one is better than the other is personal preference and is of course affected by the particular person using it. The SM58 is a cardioid microphone not an omni. The SM57 has the same cardioid pattern as the SM58. Both mics are basically the same microphone except for the ball-end windscreen of the SM58 which offers more pop protection but also a more rolled off high end. Both mics have a rise in the 6K area which is 95% of the time not a problem but actually a help in getting sound to cut through. The main reason the 58 is more commonly used for vocals than the 57 is not the pattern because thier patterns are the same. the actual reason is the additional pop filter of the 58. The SM57/58 is not the greatest studio mic if you are looking to capture every last detail in someones voice but they are both very solid performers for live or studio work. When someone tells you the SM57/58 is a crappy sounding mic keep in mind that the SM57 has been used as the mic on the podium of the president of the United States for nearly as long as it has been around. Last time you heard a speech by the president did it sound boomy, thin, or somehow crappy? I don't think so... God help us, the disinformation on this site is unbelievable!!! Let's start at the beginning I will try to take them one at a time. The Shure SM58 is an industry standard today for live vocals and speech, it has been for about forty years! It's not really a studio mic but you will find it on a number of major studio recordings nevertheless. The Shure Beta58 is supercardioid, has a little more output than a regular SM58, and is a little brighter. Whether or not one is better than the other is personal preference and is of course affected by the particular person using it. The SM58 is a cardioid microphone not an omni. The SM57 has the same cardioid pattern as the SM58. Both mics are basically the same microphone except for the ball-end windscreen of the SM58 which offers more pop protection but also a more rolled off high end. Both mics have a rise in the 6K area which is 95% of the time not a problem but actually a help in getting sound to cut through. The main reason the 58 is more commonly used for vocals than the 57 is not the pattern because thier patterns are the same. the actual reason is the additional pop filter of the 58. The SM57/58 is not the greatest studio mic if you are looking to capture every last detail in someones voice but they are both very solid performers for live or studio work. When someone tells you the SM57/58 is a crappy sounding mic keep in mind that the SM57 has been used as the mic on the podium of the president of the United States for nearly as long as it has been around. Last time you heard a speech by the president did it sound boomy, thin, or somehow crappy? I don't think so...
13 of 16 people (81%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 28, 2005
"The industry standard live mic."
Need a live mic? Look no further.
Sound
This mic is the through and through industry standard for live performance. No mic I know of combines quality and on-stage reliability like the SM58. As far, as recording goes, for a less-than$100 mic, it works damn well. In this price range, I would recommend a SM57 over this one for recording purposes.
Features
As a performance mic, it could do with an on-button standard.
Quality
Quality control - excellent. Very consistent performance amongst the various Sm58's I have used. Rugged rugged rugged.
Value
$90 is pocket change in the sound world and this mic is one helluva deal.
Manufacturer Support
Shure cs has always been prompt and informative in my experience.
The Wow Factor
ummm
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 29, 2005
"has some feedback issues,very durible,warm sound,dosent cut through the mix like i would like."
overall it is tuff but i dont like the feedback to gain ratio.but it has warmth.dosent cut through the mix enough.
Sound
not very loud,has some feedback,but sounds warm.it dosent cut through the mix like i would like it to.
Quality
it is made like a tank.you can trust it to be there when you need it.
Value
its alright,but there are better out there for just a little more $$.
Manufacturer Support
havent needed any.
2 of 4 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to