Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Shure SM57 Cardioid Dynamic Microphone
BACK IN STOCK

Shure SM57 Cardioid Dynamic Microphone

Own a time-tested legend: the Shure SM57 cardioid dynamic microphone. It's a worldwide favorite on drums, guitar amps, and more -- on stage or in the studio.

Overall User Ratings (based on 257 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(257)
Submitted March 31, 2013 by Brownsound L in San Diego, CA
"All season all terrain!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been using the SM57 20+yrs weather its on toms,snares,Bass drums(yes! Bass drums!)guitar amps,percussion,vocals you name i"ve been there done that. Very easy and quick to get awesome sound and EQ on the mixer.I purchase a Jet city isolation cab six month ago and installed an Eminence Lil Texas. Long story short I wanted to get away from that SM57 mic for recording purposes and try something else.I tried Audix i5,senheiser 609,xl's and other brands under $200 range no matter what I did i could not get a good descent sound. After six month of experimenting I grab one of four SM57's I own,well needless to say the true awesome guitar sound is back and works with pro tool 9 tons better than the other mics. Don't get me wrong other mics that I mentioned sound great but they get lost in the mix or you have to do massive EQ changes.To my ears,the SM57 is more natural or lets say a more audio environment friendly,very reliable,I own four of these and have lasted me 15+yrs now through a lots of set ups and tear downs as well as accidentally drops.Cant go wrong with the SM57 and for $99 a piece,one of the best musical equipment purchases you will make, I have no regrets.... I purchased mind for $79 each 15+yrs ago brand new!
Sound
A very natural reproduction of sound live or recording. Audio environment friendly
Ease of Use
C'mon man!
Quality
lasted me 15+yrs of heavy use so far!
Manufacturer Support
never had to....
The Wow Factor
I never leave home on the way to a gig without the SM57 on my guitar case as well as a small mic stand. I reposition my own mic in front of my amp cause half the sound man out there are not guitar players! some are computer geeks running the sound boards!
Musical Background:
Electric Guitar,Bass Drums,Live/Recording 20+yrs
Musical Style:
All kinds where loud Electric Guitar is wanted!
13 of 13 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 20, 2017 by Steve L Fidanza in Avondale, PA
"SM 57 microphone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have several of these SM 57 Mic's and let me tell you and all the mics that I have studio mics good vocal mics SM 57 microphone with stands all that I have. I choose to use the SM 57 even for my vocals on my master recordings on my vocals. Even on my amp my acoustic I play a lot acoustic and it sounds really great . Even on my electric guitar it works really great for that as well. I even use them on my drums Mike every drum and it was an awesome sound. Now I bought me a set a really nice electric drums so I'm good to go there but the SM 57 in my studio is a great tool Mic to go for . I just purchased another one through zZounds . And I'm sure I'm going to buy several more as well. It's not like they break down I've had him for almost 30 years now and it seems like you can never have enough SM 57 Mic's So thank you zZounds for the purchase of this Mic I just bought from you guys I'm sure i'll be purchasing another one as well Steve L Fidanza
Musical Background:
Home Studio recording
Musical Style:
Crossover country rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 9, 2017 by David Narine in Vallejo, CA
"Instant Quality Increase, Very Fast Shipping"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I ordered the SM57 on Feb 8th and it arrived the next day. I didn't even ask for one day shipping. zZounds is the only musical instrument website that I will ever purchase gear from. The SM57 is literally the best mic I've ever used. Sure it doesn't make a crappy guitarist play any better, but it WILL definitely inform you or anyone else if they need to revise their work from sheer clarity.
Musical Background:
Home Studio
Musical Style:
Alternative, Metal, Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 1, 2010 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Possibly the best mic of all time"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
this mic has defined music from Bon Scott's vocals to just a bout every live show you've ever seen these are the mics that get the job done.
Sound
For live instuments this is great Guitar,Drums or even vocals.works equaly well for recordings.
Features
mic to cord to mixer
Ease of Use
plug and play well set your levels
Quality
I have 2 57's that are almost 30yrs old and they sound as good or better than the new ones I have. but even the new ones sound better than any other mic at this price period.
Value
must have for any musician. I say all giging musicians should own 1 57 and 1 58. and if you have a home studio you probably have a few already and if not buy some.and the last one I bought they were only $70 retail and I would pay $100 if I ever need anymore.
Manufacturer Support
never had a problem
The Wow Factor
A must have mic.
Musical Background:
semi-pro
Musical Style:
Punk/Hardcore, All
20 of 22 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 11, 2004 by a customer from something.com
"GREAT mic, even BETTER price!"
This mic will probably belong to my grandkids someday... assuming they get into recording or music too.
Sound
The 57 is incredibly clear. 10 out of 10 for the price, but we still have to note that there are plenty of high-end mics that will outdo it, so for fairness, it gets a 9 here.
Features
Well, there aren't necessarily any features to the mic, but I honestly have to admit that mics without a switch tend to be more durable (one less thing to break).
Quality
Durable as you can possibly imagine. This thing's shell is like tank armor. I'd be willing to bet you could put a bullet to its casing and still come out with a working mic (of course, you can't aim at the windscreen :). Sound quality is simply awesome.
Value
Simply incredible value. $90 for a mic that's a small step under some $900 mics.
Manufacturer Support
shure.com - never used it myself, as it hasn't been necessary, but I've heard good things.
The Wow Factor
Slim body, baby... just how I like 'em. :o)
Musical Style:
Rock/Metal/Punk/Jam
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 20, 2012 by J G
"Industry standard mic."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
What can I say about it that has not already been said. It's a great mic for vocals and instruments. You know what else it great? zZounds! I always try and buy from them. They are friendly, competitively priced and delivery is fast.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 30, 2003 by a customer from yahoo.com
"thuper!"
Sound
I record my snare with it, and it's the only mic I've used that gives it that explosion sound that you hear in professionally recorded drums, as opposed to the dull sound of home recorded stuff.
Features
I guess I kind of wish it came with like five of them.
Value
while being very cheap for a mic as good as it is...$80-90 is still a lot of money in my book.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't needed any support so far.
The Wow Factor
it's got a *nice* shape.hehehe.
Musical Style:
emo
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 7, 2004 by a customer from aol.com
"Quit reading the reviews and buy the thing."
The SM57 was my first mic, and every real studio has like, 8. A good personal collection of mics is say, 4 to 10, and the Sm 57 can be half of them.
Sound
This mic sounds good on just about everything. I hear that Tom Petty always uses one for his vocals. (rumor)
Features
What can I say? It's tough and sounds good. Did I mention it's under $100?
Quality
Tough Tough Tough!
Value
Definetly worth the price. However if you plan to use it for vocals, buy a pop screen.
Manufacturer Support
Who needs support? It takes a nuke to destroy one of these.
The Wow Factor
Look, I've seen people abuse the hell out of loaner 57s and 58s and they just don't quit. (the microphones or the morons)
Musical Style:
Any
12 of 14 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 10, 2015 by Derrick A in Detroit, MI
"Classic reliable SM57"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I almost never write reviews, but I decided to this time just to let some of the younger guys know that this is a microphone that's in a class of its own Works on just about everything. I use it exclusively for snare drum, but it sounds excellent on guitar amps drum kicks also I use it for violin players. This standard Shure microphone gets the job done.
Musical Background:
I am a professional sound engineer
Musical Style:
All types
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 16, 2013 by Andrew A in Sand Lake, NY
"Works GREAT"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been using shure mics for years and have never had a problem with them. I have purchased more SM57's due to more on-stage amps being used ,they work great bringing the sound to the FOH for a more clear sound coming froom the speakers, once everything is timed correctly, the sound is awssome.
Musical Background:
Drummer/now doing sound mostly
Musical Style:
Classic Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 12, 2017 by Art Rice in Largo, FL
"SM57"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I normally use these for mic'ing instrument amps. They've been around forever and have always come through for me. I do use other vintage mics of different brands depending on the effect we are looking for.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 1, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"A warm, but tenuous sounding mic. Awesome!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
I love it. Great pop for its tailored made sound. I used it on my snare and toms. And they just sound really great. Also are very versatile as a guitar amp mic, and even a vocal microphone.
Ease of Use
Great pop on the snare drums. But the tailored sound of this mic would have to be tainted just a little for a vocalist.
Quality
I still wonder about the loose head and why you can keep turning and turning it
Value
great instrument dynamic mic
Musical Background:
audio engineer
Musical Style:
contemporary christian
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 12, 2011 by a customer from me.com
"Like a good screwdriver, not expensive, reliable, loved."
I'll be happy if my new replacement SM57 lasts 30 years. Probably outlive everything else I own.
Sound
A little dull, but just a little - and comparing it to condensers, which might not be fair. As a vocal mike, works well but sensitive to plosives. Needs pop filter.
Features
It just works.
Ease of Use
Plug in. If not sound, then check everything BUT your SM57.
Quality
I gave this mike no respect, and it was still limping along after 30 years, until (see "Support")...
Value
It ain't no Neumann condenser, but it's $100. It'll do, pig, it'll do.
Manufacturer Support
The grill wouldn't stay on anymore and I said, WTH, after 30 years I can plunk down the $58 flat repair fee and send it back to Shure. For this price, they sent me a new one, no questions, no discussion, "here you go". I guess the old girl had some capsule damage (I let my two little kids play with it) and they decided it was time to put her down (sniff).
The Wow Factor
Eh - not a sexy mike, but neither is a screwdriver. You need a screwdriver, you buy it, you use it (a lot). Same with the SM57.
Musical Background:
Amateur
Musical Style:
Vamp
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 17, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"I'm Shure glad I got one."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
Use it conjunction with a Roland AC60 amp. Guitar: Juan Hernandez Professor (classical). I can't ask for anything better. I set the mic about 8 inches from the soundboard, and yet it still picks up the sound very well.
Features
Included pouch useful. It was shure nice that the company also included a mic clip. Although, it would've been even better had Shure included the windscreen. No switches, no worries. Simplicity is king.
Quality
Solid body construction. Plastic screen/grill assembly might shatter if dropped.
Value
Very good for the price.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't used it.
The Wow Factor
No need for 'sex appeal.' The sound is great, and that's the most important factor.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
classical/jazz guitar
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 28, 2014 by Mike M in Paducah, KY
"Shure is nice!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Having read so many times over the years that the SM57 was the way to mic a guitar amp, I wised up and bought one. Nice! Might even work good as a vocals mic with a touch of EQ.
Musical Background:
Veteran amateur.
Musical Style:
Freedom Rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 29, 2015 by Ric Burns in Bristol, VA
"Shure SM57"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
What can I say? It's a classic. Currently using it as a snare drum mic. It does what it's supposed to do, and it does it well.
Musical Background:
Educator/Musician
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 2, 2012 by C A in Frisco, TX
"Solid Performer"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This mic is the standard in the industry for recording an amp. It is solid, well built, takes a licking and still performs well. You could not hope for a better sounding quality dynamic mic than this one. Notwithstanding, I do still think the mic is a bit overpriced for what it is.
Musical Style:
Blues, rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 15, 2017 by Max Doty in Pulaski, VA
"Standard workhorse around the studio"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
nothing needs to be said that isn't already said.... these get the job done... is there better yes...is there worse yes however ... most ears can't tell after this level of mic recording... for the price they can't be beat... research and see over the years lots of recording done with this mic...
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 31, 2014 by Lake McGlaughlin
"SM57,LC?"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Can only say that the SM57 is an excelent mic....Have no idea what the LC designation is - Tho The overview/spec,info give many details about the SM57,it makes no mention of what the LC designation means?
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 1, 2016 by Calvin S in Idabel, OK
"Shure SM57"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
It's great for micing cabinets. I don't like using it for vocals because you have to be in one place, and I'm not, or it doesn't pick up your voice. But if you want to mic your amp, you can't beat the Shure SM57.
Musical Background:
Gigs and jams
Musical Style:
Blues, R&B, country, classic rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 5, 2008 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Top Recording Engineers use it.... You should too..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
My name is Bruce Ellison, I was a mixer from 1963 to 1977. Worked with Marvin Gaye, Canned Heat, Nitty Gritty Dirt band, Five Man Electrical Band (SINGS) and many others. The Sure 545 (SM57) was one of my favorers. We used it on most every session. I did a session for Sure in the late sixties where we only used the 545's with 30 pieces including strings, brass and wood winds. What a great recording. It will do most everything you would want fro a Great price. Get it you will love it.
Musical Background:
Recording Engineer "Mixer"
Musical Style:
All
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 6, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Killer guitar cabinet mic!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
No need to search
Sound
Clear sound! Like the description says, they block a lot of ambient noise when doing studio work, such as low-flying airplanes which seem to be constantly circling the studio where I record dammit! But we use them for close miking 4x12 and 4x10 cabs and they work great. Also great for vocals, (one of our singers uses Sennheiser, and the Shures are much clearer and you don't have to get right on them to sing).
Features
Not many features besides the great sound.
Ease of Use
It's a microphone!!
Quality
Tough as nails
Value
Great price for the best guitar mike in its price range
Manufacturer Support
Never dealt with em
The Wow Factor
Hear and you will believe
Musical Background:
Active Musician, hobbyist, weekend warrior,
Musical Style:
hard rock, alternative, blues, raggae, experimental, Slash copycat
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 25, 2013 by Bob F in Mendham, NJ
"The BEST Mic!!!!!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought one of these when I was 17 in a band. I'm 63 now and still love this mike and a few more 57's I bought along the way. I use for vocals, guitar mic thru the PA (works great!), and micing my acoustic guitar to the PA. There's no mic like this. This is why it has been around for so long. Highly recommended.
Musical Background:
musician for 30 years
Musical Style:
rock, blues, country
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 22, 2008 by a customer from gmail.com
Shure SM57 Mic Customer Review
I can't say anything more. Buy it and you will never regret it.
Sound
I have no words to describe it. It's a fantastic microphone. They sell it as an instrument microphone... I disagree. It sounds really great for male voices. It shines in the following instruments: Classical guitar, violins, cello, trumpets, drums... It's horrible for acoustic guitars but in overall is a fantastic mic.
Features
It doesn't really have a lot but it's ok for me... I wasn't expecting anything more.
Ease of Use
Nothing hard
Quality
Great sound but as I can see you maybe have to watch after it. It looks very very fragile.
Value
Ok I think I got the chance... this price and what a sound... It couldn't be better
Manufacturer Support
I never needed any kind of support for the shures but their website is great...
The Wow Factor
I like the black color but all for all it's not very sexy... Who cares if the sound is great. This section has no sense
Musical Background:
Musician, Music teacher, songwriter, music engineer
Musical Style:
Rock
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 20, 2014 by a customer from gmail.com
"As expected"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I haven't got to use with an instrument, but with a voice it is acceptable
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 11, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Great first mic, still worth it for veterans."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a great first mic, if you are just getting into recording, and will be needing to record instruments. If you are just going to be doing vocals, I'd go for some large diaphragm condenser, but if you need a mic that you can put anywhere and have it sound solid, this is a great one. That's not to say this is just a beginner or entry-level microphone. Anyone on a budget should have one, and anyone not on a budget should still have (and use) theirs from when they were on a budget. I can't see anyone really being disappointed with this mic.
Sound
It's a dynamic mic. it's not going to have that crisp high end that you'll get with a small-diaphragm condenser, but this mic excels on guitar cabs and snare drums. I have even used it as a drum overhead, where, while it may not have that high-end shimmer, it does capture a nice, fat cymbal sound, that should be fine if you are recording a demo, or a diy recording where you don't need everything to sound super crisp.
Features
It comes with a mic clip and a zip pouch. They are nice to have, I guess. nothing to complain about here.
Ease of Use
Just plug and play. Point it what you want to hear, point it away from what you don't want to hear
Quality
As others have said, the metal casing feels indestructible. The pickup end feels a little loose (it has some sort of internal shock-mount, which is why it feels this way), and I would expect that if I did have a problem with this microphone, that's where it would happen. That being said, I have had no issues with it so far, and I believe you can buy a replacement capsule head if necessary. It's a really solid microphone, though. Another thing about this microphone is, it is used everywhere, so you know that, at the very least, you are buying a microphone that everyone else is using. It's not just some unknown out there.
Value
As far as mics go, it's cheap. That being said, when I want another, I will probably buy one used off craigslist, where you can usually find them for $50-70 since they are so indestructible. Still, $100 is not a bad price at all.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't needed any
The Wow Factor
It's nice enough. No one will care how it looks when it's in front of a guitar cab or snare drum anyway.
Musical Background:
Student, aspiring recording engineer
Musical Style:
Rock, metal, hardcore
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 28, 2012 by Rodolfo Alcantara in Jacksonville, FL
"SHURE SM57 MICROPHONE COMBO"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i like the sound of the microphone, but the SM58 is lot better when I tried to used it with my friend karaoke he got one of SM58. Most of all I am very satisfied when I ordered my merchandise to zZounds, I received my order on time when I found out I made a mistake ordering just a microphone, I called the store and the gentleman I talked to is very polite and helpful, when I discuss to him my problems he didn't hesitate to correct my problems, he knows exactly how to satisfied the costumer. I've been ordering a lots of stuff on line but this is the time I am very satisfied with the agent or who ever he might be in the store. Job Well Done! Highly recommended.
Musical Background:
I've been playing Ukulele and Guitar at home, But because of my age 75 I can hardly play.
Musical Style:
N/A
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 8, 2012 by Roger Bauer in Lexington, KY
"Great Microphone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Pick up my violin very well, don't need to get too close to the mike. Not intimidating.Great Service from zZounds
Musical Background:
fiddle
Musical Style:
classic country
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 10, 2003 by a customer from socal.rr.com
"Shure is not a company that will piss on your back and tell you its raining, they make great quality!"
Im planing on getting 4 more. Overall good ass mic!
Sound
Wow, this is a mic that anyone who is recording drums MUST have! This sucker is that damn good, and a litte better!
Features
The mic alone is all you need, if i didnt have a mic stand i wouldnt mind holding it when recording, its still going to sound good. One more thing, i liked the sticker.
Quality
The quality of this thing is great! Rugged! If you got a SM57 you can hammer in a nail.
Value
I think Shure did something that we wont see in a while, a damn good product. a product sooooo damn good that you will be able to pass this down for generations. Its going to be sounding the same way it sounded when you took it out of the book.
Manufacturer Support
shure.com need I say more?
The Wow Factor
Looks good, feels good, when it comes out of the box, smells good too.
Musical Style:
House, Hip Hop, Drum and Bass, Rock...
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 28, 2005 by a customer from six12.com
"Shure SM-57 is a sure thing."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Shure SM-57 Dynamic Microphone gives out great sound and will work for almost anything from lead vocals, to drums, guitar and bass recording. Its low feedback, low noise and you can tell its just well built by the heavy duty construction. The only possible downside is there is no on/off switch. Its not a big deal but it would have been nice to have. You get a very clean sound with very good bass responses for vocals, which is what I use it for. Its by far the best mic you're going to get for the price and is a "must-have" for vocalists.
Musical Background:
Vocalist, Guitarist
Musical Style:
Melodic Death, Death, Thrash, Power Metal, Progressive, Tech/Math Metal, Metalcore
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 2, 2005 by a customer from NETSCAPE.NET
Shure SM57 Mic Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
THIS IS A GOOD "INEXPENSIVE" MIC. IT SHINES AS AN INSTRUMENT MIC SUCH AS SNARE DRUM,ELECTRIC GUITAR IN "LIVE" APPLICATIONS. SOME FOLKS USE THEM IN THE STUDIO,ALTHOUGH THERE ARE MANY MORE BETTER AND EXPENSIVE MICS THAT WILL FAR OUTPERFORM THE SM57 IN STUDIO APPLICATIONS. FOR THOSE ON A LIMITED BUDGET THE SM57 WILL DO. IF YOU INTEND TO USE THE SM57 FOR VOCALS INVEST IN A SHURE SM57 WINDSCREEN OTHERWISE THE POPPING SOUNDS WILL RUIN YOUR PERFORMANCE.
Quality
DON'T DROP THIS MIC ON IT'S CARTRIDGE. THIS IS A "PROBE" STYLE MIC AS COMPARED TO A "BALL" STYLE. PROBE MICS ARE FAR MORE DELICATE AND WILL TAKE FEWER DROPS TO THE FLOOR BEFORE IT'S READY FOR THE TRASHCAN.
The Wow Factor
IT'S A GOOD ALL AROUND MIC, FAR FROM THE BEST BUT YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.
Musical Background:
MUSICIAN,ENGINEER
Musical Style:
VARIOUS
4 of 10 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 19, 2008
Shure SM57 Mic Customer Review
Sound
Nice flat response upto 3 KHz and enhanced definition at 6 KHz - 10 KHz means this guitar is perfect for such things like the sound hole of an acoustic guitar and snare drums. Works nicely for vocals if combined with a nice condenser microphone (such as Rode NT1-A, or if your rich a nueman). Also brilliant for loads of live sound applications.
Features
A fairly basic microphone package. One polar pattern (cardioid) and no phantom power required.
Ease of Use
This product is simple to use for anything. Don't be afraid to try out odd microphone placements with this, for example miking up the back of cab's has worked well for me in the past.
Quality
All Shure microphones are very durabile and reliable with this one probably leading the field in these respects.
Value
A Cheap everyday use Dynamic microphone.
Manufacturer Support
N/A
The Wow Factor
Not the sexiest of mics that has ever exsisted.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 1, 2008
"ONE OF THE MOST OVER-RATED MICS EVER!!"
It's okay, but I sure don't know why people rave about it.
Sound
This mic is not very true to the source it is picking up. It adds it's own tone and certainly does not work well in the area me and my brother are using it in (mic`ing our amps). I've tried it for acoustic guitar as well and it's not great for that either.
Features
It don't have any real xtra features, not even a pop-filter. There are'nt any i'd want, except maybe a poo... er, I mean pop-filter. Considering the sound quality (crappy), I'd just like it to sound better.:P
Ease of Use
No comment.
Quality
It seems durable, as alot of people say, but I have never dropped or broke it. As for sound, it does not deserve a 4.
Value
Value is okay cosidering the price to quality ratio.
Manufacturer Support
No comment...
The Wow Factor
This mic is not sexy. The sound is not sexy, the look is not sexy, and that top that just keeps spinnin` round is DEFINETLY NOT sexy.
Musical Background:
Active Git-Fiddle Picker
Musical Style:
Blues, Rock, Folk, and a little bit o` Twang.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 12, 2007
"See Popular Mechanics Jan 2008"
Sound
This may be the best microphone for recording both vocals and acoustic instruments. The SM 57 was described as the classic unit for this application in the January issue of Popular Mechanics. This would be a great unit to begin making quality recordings. The sound engineers agree!
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 26, 2006
Shure SM57 Mic Customer Review
Sound
This is a great sounding mic for almost everything. I use it as an overhead for my drums (until i get a condenser), and it picks up a good amount of what i'm playing. it's more on the unidirectional side, so its not a great area mic, but it really isnt supposed to be used that way anyways. its alright for vocals. it's kind of hard to get a level volume with it when singing. phenomenal for micing amps. even bass amps sound good with it. acoustic guitars sound ok with it.
Ease of Use
Very easy to get a good sound out of anything besides vocals. That's the only difficult thing to get out of this mic.
Quality
Very durable body, but the top of it is made of plastic. That part seems like it could break easily, but the rest of it is literally bullet proof.
Value
One of the best mic out there and it hasn't even hit $100 yet.
Manufacturer Support
No problems to beging with.
The Wow Factor
Great piece.
2 of 4 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 20, 2005
"SHURE SM57"
Love it, can't let it go, record all my vocals on it.
Sound
Larger size maby.
Features
Nice and durable.
Quality
Picks up alot.
Value
It's a must have, not the best, but better than others for sure.
Manufacturer Support
No problems with it yet.
The Wow Factor
Very sexy mic.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 16, 2005
"AWSOME MIC AWSOME PRICE!!!"
Sound
THe sound is great. People thinks its just the mic that makes your guitar or snare etc. sound good. ITS NOT!!! You must have a great sound to being with. However this mic colours the sound slightly and captures sound great. Recommended on guitars snare and toms.
Features
Came with a mic clip thats handy. Other than that this mic doesnt need features. Its a one of a kind.
Quality
Bulletproof, Shatterproof. Go ahea throw it against the floor. It'll still work.
Value
Get one of these mics you wont regret it guranteed
Manufacturer Support
Shure has great support for the customer.
40 of 45 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 7, 2005
"Lose the booth"
Forget about the other mics. Save yourself alot of time and dissapointment and record your big hit out of the box.
Sound
I read on the Shure website that these mics as well as the KSM mics are designed for live use. I tried some other company condensers and they all were horrible. But this mic was way better. Shure is the only company that can make a product where you can record anywhere without having to use a special booth or mic position. Everybody endorses Shure for something. Nearly every other mic I used I had to return except this one.
Features
you don't need any
Quality
designed for live use to get banged around so it is rugged enough for studio and on tour.
Value
Don't bother making a recording booth. Point this mic in front of your amp.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to contact them yet.
The Wow Factor
The only mic brand you want. Shure won't rip you off.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 3, 2005
"Pimptastic"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Excellent mic for under $100 which will sound good on nearly everything. Drums, Guitar, Bass, Vocals, Keyboards, etc. The best bet for any beginner wanting to start out recording. Try the Shure and if the sound isn't for you buy a condenser later but keep in mind it is more sensitive to sound and can be more difficult to use. For Drums some people prefer condensers overhead for cymbals because of the higher frequency you are recording. It makes it sound more crisp.
Sound
This is a powerful microphone. I've recorded clean sounds with it which came out great but then I wanted to try some distortion and the first thing I noticed is that it picked it up with great accuracy however it got all of the cone. Moving it off axis with the cone helps to get a loud and clean distortion sound. Record low and mix high. get the sound in the yellow and boost the volume with your sequencer or iTunes so it won't peak. Using a condenser is a good idea for vocals to cut through the mix but if you have a screaming, angst ridden serial killer vocalist this will help you attain sound control so nothing peaks. Compression will fix this for condenser mics, high compression.
Features
It doesn't have many features but it doesn't really need them. Since it is directional, point and hit record. I got good results without compression so it is optional. For directional mics you don't really need it.
Quality
Dependable with Shure quality sound and craftsmanship. I have an older shure mic passed down to me from the 70s which is still in excellent condition. The Shure Model SM 59, basically the same mic as the 57.
Value
I've tried some expensive condensers and this is easier to use and you have more directional control of the sound. I have used this mic in a basement and it shined beautifully like being in a $1,000 recording booth. My song's chorus effected guitar sounds like Tonic. Condensers are sensitive and have to be positioned just right otherwise you have high peaks and harshness for loud instruments. Record reasonably low without peaking and mix high.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to call them but I believe you can email them from www.shure.com for support
The Wow Factor
Kiss the mic. You give love to your mic and your mic will give love back to you. ;) Looks can be deceiving. STP used this mic for the whole Core album
7 of 9 people (78%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

"Ferrari of Mics, at the cost of a Geo Metro"
ugh havent i said enough buy this mic
Sound
This mic is in everyones locker....You do not own a studio until u have one of these things
Features
add an on off switch as standard equiptment and it would be the best ever
Quality
Run this thing over many many times with the biggest truck you can find and see for yourself...if it breaks its only another 80 bucks
Value
shure sm57 is a must for studios this thing is the Ferrari of mics at the cost of a Geo Metro
Manufacturer Support
shure is the best at everything. period.
The Wow Factor
i need a stereo pair of these
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to