Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Shure SE215 Sound Isolating Earphones

Shure SE215 Sound Isolating Earphones

With these earbuds, Shure brings their incredible in-ear-monitor technology to an affordable price point. The SE215s stay put and deliver detailed sound.

Overall User Ratings (based on 27 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(27)
Submitted April 17, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Amazing product for an amazing price. Can't go wrong with Shure."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I will be using these for a long time to come, no doubt. They are well constructed and can really crank out the volume when needed, without distorting at all.
Sound
THese things are amazing. I was looking at the more expensive ones for a while, but was not ready to drop $200-plus for headphones. These ones are incredible and look and sound very professional. I use them as In Ear Monitors with my band, and they work perfectly. They block out almost everything, but i can still talk with the band members on stage without them yelling at me. Amazing product.
Features
I love the case that comes with them.
Quality
Very durable product
Value
100x better than a different pair of headphones i paid 70 bucks for.
The Wow Factor
They look super professional. Most times you can't even see them from a distance since they are clear.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Alternative Rock
34 of 35 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 26, 2016 by Brian Dorsey in Caledonia, MS
"Shure SE215 Isolating Earphones"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These earphones are GREAT! I have been looking for a in ear monitor I could use when I play drums and these fit the bill. I can hear everything clearly, they are comfortable and they don't slip out. I'm thinking about ordering a second pair to make sure I have a backup. They are GREAT!
Musical Background:
Playing drums for over 20 years
Musical Style:
Gospel
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 19, 2018 by Kyke M
"Worth Every Penny"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Weather in the studio or an industrial environment, the isolation and reproduction these provide was surprisingly pleasant and most of all COMFORTABLE!
Sound
Sound quality is excellent, better than my skullcandy methods. Cleaner, cheaper, and more accurate than powerbeats. Noise cancelling is excellent on these!
Features
Comes with foam and rubber tips, a carry case and instructions on how to wear them, no complaints. These have a 1/8 tip for convenience so you will need a 1/4 adapter to monitor more often than not.
Ease of Use
Two or three attempts to insert and seat properly and you're good to go. It's different but not really weird or anything. Best of all they're designed for flat eq and transparency so no eq required!
Quality
Very sturdy, cable, ear pieces, all of it. More so than any other ear buds I've owned. But they should be since they're intended for gigs!
Value
Excellent. This is my first pair of in-ear monitors and I'm impressed with the entry level pair. If you're looking at these do yourself a favor and get the bluetooth cable, you'll want to use them regularly coming from typical ear buds.
Manufacturer Support
Tbd
The Wow Factor
I bought these to protect my hearing as a drummer at band sessions and they do that very well. I've convinced my guitar/vocal guy he needs a pair. When playing a good headphone amp goes a long way! I'm using the Art Headamp6 and its awesomely flexible. But the real wow factor was at work. I work in an industrial manufacturing company where large steel and heavy equipment is all around me and VERY loud. I'd be surprised if I don't have ear damage lol. I use Skullcandy Method wireless daily for their tips but decided to try these and there was a big gap in isolation performance. I wore these all day without removing them using the foam tips and they won't mute the world but you'll be hard pressed to beat these! I'm sold and now tempted to give mine to the guitar player so I can get the dual drivers! Highly recommend!
Musical Background:
Drummer, aspiring producer/engineer
Musical Style:
Rock, metal, blues, anything really!
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 12, 2011 by a customer from stlsupra.com
Shure SE215 In-Ear Phones Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
Can't beat these in ears for the price. After using these, I will never go back to using over the ear headphones. I use them for drumming and once I get them in, they don't move. They have great bass and clear mid's and highs. Although I have not tried any of there higher end in ears, but honestly I don't know how much better they can be.
Features
Came with several different ear pieces for great fitment.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist/Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock
17 of 18 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 26, 2014 by John Isom in De Soto, KS
"Sure SE 215 earphones"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've been using custom made, 2 driver earphones, that cost almost 3 times as much, and I have to say I prefer the Sure SE 215 earphones. Great sound and a good fit. The fit may be different for other users, but 3 of the 4 members of the group I work with love the Sure 215's.
Musical Background:
Pro player for over 50 years. Yeah, I said 50
Musical Style:
I'm just a guitar player. I'll play anything if the money is right............
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 6, 2012 by Deni L in Oceanside, CA
"amazing, really."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I read what others said about these little earbuds and of course I thought that 100 dollars was a lot of money. than the guy at work proceeded to break, loss and or destroy over 100 dollars worth in the time it took me to save up for these(a month) and man was that worth the wait. the heavy duty 1/8 inch plug is justification enough. the sound is just incredible. out of a possible 30 for volume on my walkman I have it turned to 8. out side I hear every nuounce of the music I listening to and nothing else. I mean N-O-T-H-I-N-G !!! and the sound stage is IN my head.
Sound
to really get the sound I went with the foam instead of the silicone. it took a little longer to get use to the feeling of them in but the isolation quality is worth the extra break in time. playing around with the equalizer had me lost in the magic of hearing things i did not notice before.
Features
the clear ones are practically invisible at ten feet. lol. the wrap around the ears was for me revelation. no more messing with the cord. out ot the way and with the silicone slide I can lock the cord to the back of the head out of the way, thus making the stealth quality that much more enjoyble
Ease of Use
some time was spent figureing out how to get them in the ear, but after a couple of days of use it was worth it
Quality
the kevlar in the cord along with the wire over the ear makes these earbuds the best i have ever owned. bar none, sony, sennheiser, koss, skull candy. after losing money i am overjoyed to be able to have something this great.
Value
i feel like i received a ducati for the price of a honda step through
Manufacturer Support
the ease of registration was a blast. no issues with the items and do not plan on contacting the company except to register the next up grade, when i can afford to do so.
The Wow Factor
i show people and they cant believe it. they are just simply amazing ear bud. clear to see the inside stuff is so crazy and yet so practical. with the name across the ear opening is the ultimate status. as far as i am concerned
Musical Background:
play bass guitar , jam at home taking lessons, loving music all a new
Musical Style:
blues, jazz, electronic, reggae, rock, classical, soul, r and b, hip hop,
11 of 12 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 21, 2015 by Noah Sharon in Mukwonago, WI
"Shure SE215 Earphones"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These are definitely the best for the price. I've used them for about 2 months while I drum and they are incredible! There are so many options for sizes as well as changing material. An absolute must if you're looking for quality and comfort at a much lower price than the super high end ones.
Musical Background:
Playing drums for about 3-4 years
Musical Style:
Metal, prof metal, djent, djent jazz, alternative, rock, punk rock, punk, groove, groove metal
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 15, 2014 by Don P in Athens, TX
"Ear buds for bass"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
What a deal! These $100 ear buds produce far more than I had imagined they would. I am now excited to be playing again in spite of an in ear system. I have a six string Bass that just was not being reproduced in other in ear products that I had tried. The rep at ZZounds told me these would work and they do. Thank you Zzounds!
Musical Background:
Played bass for 36 years professionally and (mostly) at church.
Musical Style:
Fusion, Christian rock/pop, blues, jazz
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 21, 2017 by Greg S in Edison, NJ
"Great ear buds for in-ear monitors"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I recently started using in-ear monitors (IEM) with my band. We needed to reduce stage noise. These ear buds work great!! I use the rubber inserts and all external noise is muted. My ears no longer ring after a gig! Well worth the price!!
Musical Background:
Guitar hobbyist for 20+ years
Musical Style:
Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 21, 2017 by Greg S in Edison, NJ
"Great ear buds for in-ear monitors"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I recently started using in-ear monitors (IEM) with my band. We needed to reduce stage noise. These ear buds work great!! I use the rubber inserts and all external noise is muted. My ears no longer ring after a gig! Well worth the price!!
Musical Background:
Guitar hobbyist for 20+ years
Musical Style:
Rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 24, 2016 by Rick B in Alexandria, TN
"Great product at a great price"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Amazing sound quality for such a great price! Need to add a collar clip to keep the wires in place and it would be perfect!
Musical Background:
35 yrs singing and playing guitar
Musical Style:
Country and southern rock
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 17, 2018 by Candice O in Chicago, IL
"Shure is GREAT!"
I got these headphones in March and I'm really enjoying them. The sound is fantastic and I don't have to blast music at full volume to hear it on the trains in Chicago (unlike my old pair). The cord that connects the two ear pieces and houses the control/wireless receiver is a little fragile, but Shure's customer service is amazing. I sent the cord back on Monday for repair and received a new cord on Wednesday of the same week, only charge to me was the shipping of the broken one. Would definitely buy again, if I needed a second pair.
Musical Background:
I am a semi-retired live mix engineer
Musical Style:
listen mostly to ...everything but country and Christian
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 3, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"I recommend this product to anyone in need of a quality headphone"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I will be satisfied as long as both earphones keep working.
Sound
Well it sounds better than most earphones I've tried, no distortion at all, only other high quality sound earphone I've owned are V-moda vibe duo and this blows that earphone out of the park. Bass is pretty good too, and the memory foam creates a very nice sound isolation, I wore these on a roller coaster and it completely canceled the noise from the screams and the roller coaster, volume was maxed out though.
Features
Out of the box there's a good amount of sizes for the earphones, but I also bought a C-BL-K or whatever its called cable for the Iphone remote, and its been working perfectly for me so far, though i like the build quality of the original cable better than that one.
Ease of Use
Takes a while to get used to fitting, but once you get its very easy to do and fits very well. I still haven't figured out how to take of the memory foam though to put on the other earpiece or a different size.
Quality
Superb factory quality, however I hate that the plug on the headphone is so big, it doesnt fit on most Iphone cases, and I have to force it a little for it to be fully connected to the socket, however this is not a problem with the cbl cable, but as I said before the original cables build quality is much better than that cable, and that cost me an extra $50.
Value
My family members might not think this, as they can't tell the difference between Wal-mart headphones and these, but the value is phenomenal compared to other headphones in this series.
Manufacturer Support
Dont have much experience here, I haven't even registered my product yet, but I should do so soon.
The Wow Factor
I don't like the look of the clear headphones, but it feels pretty good.
Musical Background:
Play Violin and little piano
Musical Style:
I dont make music
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 30, 2013 by Kyle Shafer in Denton, TX
"Great purchase!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
So glad I got these headphones from zzounds! Great quality and perfect on stage
Musical Background:
Voice student at the University of North Texas
Musical Style:
Christian, classical, etc
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 14, 2011 by a customer from verizon.net
"Impressive sound. Plus, imagine coming home from a gig with no ringing in your ears!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm hoping this lasts for years with proper handling, cleaning, etc.
Sound
I bought this item based on other reviews and brand reputation. I am very impressed with the bass response and overall sound quality. The noise reduction works very well too...37db I believe.
Features
Comes with a carrying case and various-sized plugs. Wires are replaceable, if needed. I wish the length of the wires were a little bit longer -- as a keyboard player, I have to be sure that I don't get tangled up :-)
Ease of Use
Just takes a few practice insertions to get used to putting them in quickly. Instructions/care/maintenance were fine.
Quality
This is my first product of this type, so far so good.
Value
$100 may seem like a lot at first, but saving your eyes is priceless.
Musical Background:
Composer and part-time gigging musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Alternative, Techno, Dance
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 10, 2012 by Deni L in Oceanside, CA
"sound stage in my head"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i have read the reviews on the web and at zzounds but i had no idea how accurate the reviews would be, i am astounded at the clarity and fullness of the music i now am exposed to.
Sound
i did some work with the equalizer and the bass has come around, as well as the background instruments. when i listen to classical, and baroque wow. rock and reggae are so much more.
Features
the comfort level of not having to shove a small speaker into my head is amazing. i even used my cell phone without removing the bud and i could still hear the person on the other end. resonate.
Ease of Use
it is a little more complicated than say most ear buds but the effort, trying several foam and silicone over pieces, like that was work.
Quality
the robustness of the ear piece feels very remarkable, and should last many years. plus being able to direct the wires over my ears, around the back of my head and than pull the slide up to secure it to my head is amazing.
Value
more than twice the value of any thing else i have used. so far. so good. i even looked up the web chatter about the se 315 verse the se 215 and the commonsense argument is 99 for the se 215 is by far the best value for the money. that being said i wonder how much better the other price points sound.
Manufacturer Support
i have been on their web site and as zzounds i a registered reseller i came back to buy them. i have not had to deal with them except to register my new purchase and it was so easy, i want to buy more just so i can use the web site very easy. just like zzounds
The Wow Factor
these are what i would call game changers. i am astounded by the shear look, feel and robustness of these ear buds. i feel sorry for any one that does not have a pair.
Musical Background:
bass and trombone jam at home, still learning
Musical Style:
the only styles of music i do not listen to are country, most rap, and most christian.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 13, 2012 by J-J d in Wausau, WI
"Outstanding upgrade!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I upgraded from a pair of Shure E2g earphones that had reached the end of their useful life, and boy, am I glad they gave up the ghost! The SE215 are some of the best I've used; when you factor in the quality-to-price ratio, you'd be hard-pressed to find a better bang for the buck. They're comfortable, lightweight, durable, and sound great. The included options for fitting your ears are fantastic, and for durability, you can't beat the modular cable design. I love the fact that the clear design makes them nearly invisible. The build quality is great, which I need because I travel a fair amount. I have no doubt that these will last a long time, but should they ever meet their maker, you can bet I'll be buying another set. FYI: I only gave 4 stars for features because I wish they had an in-line microphone and play/pause/volume controls. You absolutely can get an adapter cable to add these features, but, sadly, not in clear. I also wish, for the sake of protection, that the case was the hardshell type, instead of the soft-sided pouch, but that is a minor quibble, especially since these practically live on my noggin.
Musical Background:
Professional live sound engineer, amateur bassist.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 19, 2013 by Tod M in Thetford Center, VT
"Nice But Beware of Replacement Parts"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These things sound great and for me, one of the selling points was users serviceable replacement parts. Well, wouldn't you know that after the first set of the first gig, I dropped them on the stage and stepped on them breaking one side, where the stem that holds the earpad meets the driver body (or whatever you want to call it). I figured that I would have to pay roughly half the cost of the whole set, maybe a little more but I found it offensive that Sure gets $78 dollars for it PLUS shipping. Sorry but that strikes me as a bit over the top.
Sound
Sound is nice and clear and clean.
Features
Thought the most useful part would be the replacement parts but not so much (see above)
Ease of Use
A little tricky to figure out how to get them placed in your ear just right but after the first bought of fiddling with them I got the hang of it.
Quality
Seems like a good build but beware of parts replacement
Value
I would have rated them hi in value if it weren't for the parts thing.
Manufacturer Support
Pretty sucky. I called and got right through but well... you know the rest of the story.
The Wow Factor
The fact that they come in clear is really nice. Barely noticble from even a few feet away.
Musical Background:
30+ year pro. Singer/Songwriter, guitarist, drummer and producer.
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Pop, Folk... You name it.
6 of 8 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 3, 2012 by Brett H in Moorpark, CA
"Adequate, but not great"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought these for live performances as I am a drummer. They get the job done, but I was expecting a better range and I have to turn the volume on our Aviom System completely up to hear any details.
Musical Background:
Live stage performance drummer. I have been playing for 20 years.
Musical Style:
Christian Rock / Worship
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 5, 2015 by Amanda Gentle in Kirkland, WA
"Excellent Service"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The earphones are just what I wanted but are even more comfortable than I expected. Great for running. Excellent service - I received the order in less then 2 days.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 27, 2014 by Rick R in Hays , KS
"Very hard to put in your ear"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The sound is good but, you have to find the correct foam tip that fits your ear. The 3 " or so coming from the earpiece is stiff and does not curve around your ear easily. You will have to train the cable to curve back behind your ear. I don't know how long that will take. If they designed the packaging so this part was shipped curved in the box!! I don't understand the no return policy. The removable in ear tips that can be replaced are cheap. Just throw them away and put in a new set of tips.
Musical Background:
Pro Singer
Musical Style:
Southern Rock, Country, New York Crouners
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 15, 2013 by david bening in toledo, OH
"sounded great for a week"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
not good waiting to see who I sent the bad ear buds back to and weather or not I am going to get a new pair or partial pieces.
Musical Background:
I play drums and have for about 25 years
Musical Style:
I use them for Yamaha electronic set, and computer, for recording and playback. Thought if I spent a little more they would las
of 3 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 29, 2013 by Royce S in Rockledge, FL
"Shure was disappointing"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
overall sound is subpar. Very thin sound with no bass. Distortion at elevated volumes. The noise reduction claim is bogus as I tried every bud size provided and zero sound isolation. Bought $5 ear buds at Walgreens that blow these away. I would return them but I can't due to "health issues" of having been inserted in my ears. Perhaps I got a dud pair, but I'm still stuck with them without recourse. Fair warning: I would highly recommend anything other than these despite the Shure branding (which is the main reason I purchased these over the Westone UM1). I sure won't buy anything Shure in the future.
Musical Background:
20+ yr. Pro Drummer
Musical Style:
Alternative Rock
3 of 13 people (23%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 13, 2016 by Tim G in Murfreesboro, TN
"Don't buy! Horrible!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These are horrible for the price, not enough bass to go with the highs, unless stuck and sealed deep in your ear which is impossible because none of the ear sleeves fit good, no matter which one you use and if that isn't it, the cable will pull them out eventually.
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to