Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Shure GLX-D16 Digital Pedal-Style Guitar Wireless System
BACK IN STOCK

Shure GLX-D16 Digital Pedal-Style Guitar Wireless System

A footstomp-able pedal with integrated strobe and meter tuners designed especially for guitarists makes this wireless system perfect for roaming the stage.

Overall User Ratings (based on 17 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(17)
Submitted February 20, 2019 by Brad R in Idaho Falls, ID
"Best Digital Wireless System Out There"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I've been actively gigging with this wireless system for a couple years now. When I first bought it, I demoed this system alongside a couple Line 6 systems since at the time that seemed to be the only game in town for a digital system.
Sound
Sound is great. I can't tell the difference between using the wireless and going with a cord. Another thing I was worried about is latency as it is a true ones and zeroes digital signal. As long as I'm in line of sight of the receiver on my pedal board, I have no latency. It does start to get slightly noticeable when I purposely have tried to push it to see how far I can go. If I introduce a wall or a crowd between myself and the receiver, a couple milliseconds of latency are present, but that's to be expected. But I can walk all over a 30 foot stage with no problem whatsoever.
Features
I was pretty apprehensive going with the 2.4ghz digital over a traditional uhf/vhf analog wireless system since I know that the 2.4ghz band can get pretty crowded, especially in room full of cell phones, routers, etc.The Shure GLX system has built in active channel monitoring with seamless channel switching in the event of interference, and if it's been working, I sure would have no way of telling without busting out a spectrum analyzer. All I know is that regardless of the room, I've had a solid signal with no signs of interference over 2+ years. Plus having a built in strobe tuner (which is extremely accurate) is a huge plus since that frees up space on my pedalboard.Battery life is superb. I can get 8-12 hours out of a single charge. I keep a backup charged battery with me, but if for some reason I need to buy myself some time, I can get a solid 1.5 hours of playing time with about 15 minutes of charge which is about the time of a set break.
Ease of Use
Set it and forget it. Zero learning curve. If for some reason you do want to change the active channel on the system (for example if you have other band members with similar systems), a single paragraph in the manual will get you going.
Quality
The thing is built like a tank, which is another reason I went with the Shure over a Line 6 system. The receiver's metal housing has the antennas inside it so there's no way of accidentally stepping on one and breaking it and the whole unit feels like a brick. The receiver is very solidly built with a sturdy switch and clip and no way to really damage it. The replaceable cord is also very high quality and I have yet to see any reason to even think about ordering a backup.The only very minor negative thing I can say about the unit is that the usb wall charger that it ships with is pretty meh. Mine started to not deliver a full charge after about 6 months of use. But you can use any micro-usb wall charger with the unit and I have plenty of those so it wasn't a big deal for me at all.
Value
It might be a little more expensive compared to similar digital wireless units, but the build quality and solid performance more than justify it.
Manufacturer Support
I've had no problems with this unit, but I've had to contact Shure about other products I own and they've always been great.
The Wow Factor
Overall would definitely recommend or buy again. Fantastic wireless system that I'm confident I'll be able to get many more years out of.
Musical Background:
20-year guitarist and drummer
Musical Style:
Rock, classic rock, blues, jazz, metal
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 5, 2015 by a customer from gmail.com
"Reliable wireless system, crystal clear sound"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The best thing about this wireless system is that the receiver is also a tuner when the signal is muted. The transmitter comes with its own special rechargeable battery that charges really fast and gives you many hours of playing time. No more AA's that go dead after a few hours! The sound is crystal clear and you have to get pretty far away from the receiver before you start hearing latency. I've had zero interference issues so far. I would definitely recommend this product. It's worth the price!
Musical Background:
Played drums and guitar for 15 years
Musical Style:
country, rock, blues, funk, metal
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 8, 2021 by a customer from netzero.net
"TOP!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Love this thing!!! Worth every penny!!! It is total quality, the pedal is heavy duty metal!!! This is very easy to use and set up....you don't lose any sound with it...the battery lasts forever too...the tuner is perfect and is lit up nicely so you can see it even when you're wasted....
Musical Style:
Metal
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 8, 2015 by Dan Martino in Phila, PA
"The Best Wireless Period"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have played more expensive wireless but NONE function better than this Shure wireless. The all metal construction is a real plus for a touring musician like myself. The sound quality is good as any top quality instrument cables on the market. Shure states the battery can go 16 hours before a recharge. They are being modest I had it running for over 24 hours and it still functioned flawlessly. It charges quickly when plugged into the wall outlet. This is the wireless to buy ! Setting it up was easy right out of the box.
Musical Background:
I am a professional touring musician. Ive been playing bass over 25 years.
Musical Style:
Rock , Jazz, anything with a groove.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 21, 2015 by Eric P in Waukesha, WI
"Shure GLX-D16"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Excellent product that works exactly as advertised. replacing a defective line 6 wireless that was returned to zZounds. They were very helpful and very quick to help me out on a Sunday. I have also had positive experiences with Shure support. Product is very well made.
Sound
Tone is very, very close to corded guitar. Sound quality is very clean yet processing sounds correct for corded instrument.
Features
Playing and not having to worry about frequency changes is great. Woud like to have had the battery charging dock as part of the package deal. It is a little inconvenient to charge the unit at the transmitter as I have a tendency to leave the transmitter attached to my guitar strap. This is not convenient if you buy a spare battery. There is no way to charge one battery while using the other in the transmitter.
Ease of Use
Very easy to get great sounds with this. Also very easy to use with other products. But I would recommend using the power supply that comes with the unit if possible. learning curve is practically zero.
Quality
Made very well, but battery docking connector is a little weak. Recommend mounting dock, cable and adapter on pedal board if possible to avoid breakage later.
Value
Great value for $ spent, well worth purchase price.
Manufacturer Support
Shure is very easy to work with. I have dealt with them in the past.
The Wow Factor
For me, I hate tripping on guitar cords. So even though it makes me far more mobile, I would buy it just to eliminate some of the trip factor on stage.
Musical Background:
Playing guitar for well over 30 years, Semi - pro.
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, Blues, Dance, Funk, etc....
8 of 9 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 24, 2018 by Greg Revuelta in Alhambra, CA
"Surprisingly really good!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Decided to take a chance into the wireless word. By band plays about 150 shows per year and needed a reliable system that can play small places to Wedding to big corporate gigs. So far this thing has held up really nicely. Only once did we get come crossover signal from an a/v company’s wireless system. The battery life is crazy good. You can go a couple weeks without having to recharge. The only thing is that I wish they had added a guitar input in the receiver to bypass the wireless in case of an emergency. Other than that this thing is great!
Musical Background:
35 years
Musical Style:
Rock, r&b, hip-hop, 90s, 80s
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 24, 2017 by Allan M in Claremore, OK
"Great piece of equipment"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been using this Shure GLX-D16 since New Years Eve 2016, and I cannot say enough good things about it. I have never had any problems with it at all. My primary rig is a 67 ES-335 with a 94 Blues Deville and a AD-80 delay. Running clean tone with a touch of delay and reverb. The signal from the unit is true to the guitar and as clean as it can be. I bought an extra battery when I purchased the unit and I think that I really didn't need it. The battery in this thing lasts forever. I don't think you can go wrong by buying this wireless system. I guess that is why it get such good reviews in the professional magazines.
Musical Background:
Guitar player - Working Musician
Musical Style:
Rockabilly guitar player and vocalist.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 23, 2014 by Jeremy Baros in Victoria, TX
"Definitely worth every penny!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I needed an upgrade from my line 6 g50 because it barely fit on my pedalboard after i bought the hd500x and after some research i ended up getting this little guy and holy smokes it is AWESOME! Responds just fine and is ready for gigs right out of the box. Plus that built in tuner is just too convenient!
Sound
i tested wired and then with this and even my picky ear could make out no discernible difference between the tones
Features
The LINKFREQ thing they talk about it really nifty, i had no dropouts or anything at my last gig no matter how much i was running around. I also had someone crash into my guitar during a song and was able to hop up there and retune in a jiffy with the muted tuner feature.
Ease of Use
Plug it in, turn on the unit then the transmitter, have fun! Read the instruction manual if you really want to know all the loads of extra features.
Quality
It's all completely metal both the receiver and transmitter, and so i have no fear that it will keep going for a good looong time, plus the micro usb is excellent for charging the transmitter, since that type of plug works with nearly all the smartphones nowadays. Lastly, there were absolutely no issues with it running at the same time with the line 6 g50, i gave that one to my other guitarist and we didn''t cross signal paths at all.
Value
It is defeintely worth every bit spent, I wouldve gladly paid more for it.
Manufacturer Support
I've never needed to contact them before but my vocalist swears by their microphones!
The Wow Factor
The simplicity and the wireless freedom and it looks really nifty!
Musical Background:
11 years of guitar and have a band called Enchiridion started earlier this year and gig regularly
Musical Style:
progressive metal, hardcore, djent
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 19, 2016 by Grant G in Sanford, NC
"Best System Ever"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After about 3 months of researching and shopping around, I decided to give this wireless system a try. It takes absolutely no time to charge and is ready to roll in just minutes. I was able to charge the battery pack in my car on the way to last weeks gig and performed for well over 2.5 hours with the device on the day it arrived to my home. You cannot go wrong with this setup, it takes up no more room than a standard pedal on your board and is built to last. My wireless systems in the past have always been made of cheap plastic and never held up, so you can imagine how much of an upgrade this system was for me.
Musical Background:
12 yrs guitar/vocal
Musical Style:
Alt Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 27, 2019 by Thomas C in Pomeroy, WA
"very tough"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
a great wireless unit. built to survive gigging on the go. the receiver has even survived being played with by young children. sound quality is very true to life. batteries last all day and charge fast. only downside is that the dock charger does not come with it so you have to plug the transmitters in rather than switching the battery. if you are thinking wireless this is a good place to start.
Musical Background:
many decades of gigging, weddings, fairs
Musical Style:
rock, country,jazz,gospel.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 9, 2015 by Draevyn R
"Love it - Reliable"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Used it on a couple of gigs already. No problems at all. Very worthy and doesn't kill my sound. No Fades or dead spots. Would buy again. Only wish they had this in a "rack version" with front Antennas
Musical Background:
Guitar/Vocals. Live gigs
Musical Style:
Rock, Classic Rock... New Rock... Metal... yeah anything BUT RAP OR COUNTRY!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 22, 2015 by Mike Leuer in Austin, TX
"Bought as backup, now primary wireless unit."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Excellent product. Love the integrated strobe tuner, but the rechargeable transmitter is fantastic. I can get enough charge for an hour set in about 10 minutes. I highly recommend this wireless unit.
Musical Background:
Semi-pro player, playing for 20+ years
Musical Style:
TX country, southern rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 20, 2017 by Richard Clark in Bluffs, IL
"Awesome! Expected nothing less from Shure."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great device. Used weekly. All metal construction and love the strobe tuner and recharging capability. Have no problems over the last 6 months.
Musical Background:
Playing 30 years. Anything with frets. Touring musician.
Musical Style:
Rock, Country, Metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 8, 2017 by Loren E in Indianapolis, IN
"Great pedal and built like a tank!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I've had this pedal for over two years. At first, I was wondering if I didn't go overboard on the cost. However, after lots of gigging, it has NEVER failed me. Its a critical part of my pedalboard.
Musical Background:
Gigging acoustic and electric guitarist and singer
Musical Style:
Rock, Pop, Christian, Metal
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 23, 2014 by Gary C in Dixon, MO
"Home run"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I purchased this a month ago and have had no trouble its everything they say it is very easy to set up and no loss of sound I have purchased many things through zsounds and have never been disappointed this is built like a tank sure hit a home run.
Musical Background:
ive been playing guitar for over 20 years professionally
Musical Style:
Christian, rock, blues
5 of 7 people (71%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 25, 2017 by Bill Howard in Saco, ME
"Shure GLXD16"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
After years of using cheap wireless units I finally bit the bullet and bought the expensive GLXD16 and after only a dozen gigs the button to go to tuner mode no longer works! An over priced piece of crap in my opinion; seriously, only a couple of months old and this function no longer works! Never again fall for a Shure product!
Musical Background:
I play for a living; guitar.
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, and easy listening.
of 3 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 9, 2016 by Jeff S
"Shure. Glx-D16 wireless guitar system"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I play rock. It sucked the tone and gain right out of my amp. Would be good for blues or jazz where you're not using as much gain.
Musical Background:
I play guitar and vocals. Playing for 32 yrs. Play professionally.
Musical Style:
Hard Rock
of 4 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to