Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Shure Beta 87A Supercardioid Condenser Microphone

Shure Beta 87A Supercardioid Condenser Microphone

Step up from the SM-58 or Beta 58 and sound as good onstage as you do in-studio, with the time-tested Shure Beta 87A handheld condenser microphone on vocals.

Overall User Ratings (based on 85 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(85)
Submitted October 7, 2013 by Steven H in Manheim, PA
"Good vocalist? This is your next mic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the best microphone I've ever had for use in a live sound. If the singer is a screamer, get the plain old workhorse Shure 58. BUT, if your vocalist(s) has a great voice this is definitely the one to get.
Sound
The Shure Beta 87A excels in the ranges that other mics quit and that is the upper end and the lower end. Clear sound throughout the vocal range, even if someone crowds it a bit. This is a hot mic, by the way. You won't have to dial up the gain on long cable runs.
Features
Rugged. Road worthy.
Ease of Use
Plug it in and let the singer smile. This mic was recommend by another musician friend who has 30+ years of giging out. It's the only one she will use and she sings like Adele.
Quality
Very well made.
Value
Over the years, went through the range of mics, from entry level onward. Got stuck on EV's 767 series for a long time and still have some of those and EV 468's. For vocals the Shure Beta 87A is the winner. So if you have a good singer, get them this microphone.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to contact Shure ever.
The Wow Factor
Unless your a keen observer, you'll never see the difference, but you'll hear it.
Musical Background:
40+ years of playing out several times a month.
Musical Style:
rock, country, blues, standards and live sound.
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2018 by Michael M in Del Rio, TX
"Clean & crisp"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This mic runs circles around the SM58, the Beta 57a and others in that class. I really liked the way my voice sounded for years with the Beta 57a, I liked it far more than the sm58 & the EV's they use at my church, but the moment I plugged this mic in... Wow, what a difference. It cuts through the mix great, smooths out my vocal incredibly, just a great mic!
Musical Background:
Worship Leader
Musical Style:
All kinds
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 5, 2009 by a customer from yahoo.com
"better beta"
i dare you to find a better mic for the price, you can try but it's a waste of time!
Sound
have a beta58, and it's been a hoss for 5 years, great mic...having said that 87a is the shizzle. stomps on my 58a, and that is a big suprise. sound quality is fantastic compares to studio condensers. have jbl mains and monitors and alesis board, off the chain
Features
no accessories but who cares, i've got all that
Ease of Use
plug and play, requires phantom power but most current mixers provide that in their xlr channels
Quality
it's a shure! passed the drop test, i expect to use it for quite a while
Value
are u kidding me, if i lost it tommorow i'd spring for another belive me 250 is just fine
Manufacturer Support
10 for support, because i have never had a shure mic of any kind go wrong have 58's, and a beta 58 for over five years
The Wow Factor
great look better sound, it is sexxxxxxxyyyyyy, i got that fo show
Musical Background:
5 years active musician
Musical Style:
metal/hip hop
22 of 24 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 23, 2008 by a customer from earthlink.net
"stop wondering what microphone to buy. This Is The One!!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Like i said i just purchased this microphone and put a lot of thought into it before purcasing this great microphone.money is a hard thing to come by and there are many other things I could have or maybe should have usrd the money for. but I am really glad I didnt do that.I plan to use this mic for a long time
Sound
well I just purchased this mic.I picked this mic based on harmony central user reviews.I play in a duo. guitar and drums. I have been using the sm58. when I bought this I wasnt sure if I had done the right thing.afterall the sm58 sounds great.during rehearsal, while singing. my drummers wife (who doesnt know anything about music equipment,but knows what sounds good to her ears)she has heard us play many times.for the first time ever she came back from the kitchen and said wow what did you do to your voice.its so clear and crisp. I can understand every word you are singing.she did not even know I had my new microphone.!!! I now know I did the right thing by buying this mic. and that was just singing thru the monitors. cant wait to sing thru my carvin speakers. I know it will be sweeeet!!!
Features
no on off switch but that doesnt matter to me
Ease of Use
plug it in and sing
Quality
nice looking ,havent had it long enough to see how road worthy, but I wont be throwing it in the air or let anyone borrow it. so if something does happen to it I am sure it will be my own fault
Value
as the old saying goes you get what you pay for I payed for an exellent microphone. and I got the best
Manufacturer Support
give it a ten simply because I am confident I wont need it
The Wow Factor
it looks great . other musicians who see us play and see that I have this microphone will be sad because they dont have one.
Musical Background:
active musician,song writer
Musical Style:
acoustic rock,folk,country,obscure,originals
9 of 10 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 20, 2004 by a customer from hotmail.com
"The Shure Beta 87A - Can't Be Beat!"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I don't plan on having to buy any other vocal mics ever. It's just for my voice and I expect this mic to outlast me!
Sound
Let me put it this way: I've been using the legendary SM58 for the past 3 years and the Beta 87A completely eliminates that "Gee! I feel like I'm singing in a box!" feeling. It sounds so natural and so complete and so clear. Amazing! Also, this mic has been yelled into, sung "sweetly" into, and screamed into. No distortion - only chrystal clear, beautiful, natural sound... This is the sound of a condenser mic in a rugged, live performance package. I love it!
Features
I don't know what anyone would expect this mic to come with... I'd have been happy with just the mic, but it did come with a Shure bumper sticker, a carrying case, the user's guide, a cable tie, and some other stuff to... This mic is the "most useful feature" though! Completely amazing mic! I'm in love...
Quality
Top-notch. Let me put it this way: This mic survives the famous Shure drop test and will stand up to just as much abuse as any other Shure product will - even though it's a condenser.
Value
I'd buy it all over again if I needed to. Well worth my money - well worth yours...
The Wow Factor
I bought it, didn't I?
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Chrsitian Rock
36 of 40 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 4, 2004 by a customer from aol.com
Shure Beta 87A Mic Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
I have never owned a better feeling, better sounding microphone than the Sure Beta 87A. This signal is clearer and truer than any I have ever owned.
Musical Style:
Classic Rock
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 7, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"A Super Mic"
I will never use another mic unless I finally have to replace this one with another 87
Sound
Sounds sweet and natural, but cuts through the mix. The more I use it, the more I like it. I always bring it to gigs, and during soundcheck I often hear "Make my mike sound like his" You could spend an extra 3 or 4 hundred for (perhaps) a very slight improvement, but why?
Features
Looks good, sounds good.
Ease of Use
Plug it in, use it. Needs phantom power but almost every board has it.
Quality
Had it for nearly 4 years. Has performed perfectly with no problems.
Value
I got mine on Ebay. A demo model, so I got a super sweet deal. But even at $250 you can't beat it.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to deal with company.
The Wow Factor
Really professional looking mic
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Oldies Country
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 11, 2010 by a customer from gmail.com
"Best Mic! Top Nashville Recording Artist Kris Allen Claims!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
IF something ever happened to my mic I would buy another one just like it and I do tell everyone about this mic. YOU CAN NOT GO WRONG! I have bought way more expensive mic's but none were even close!
Sound
I have 8 World Top 10 hit Indie songs and this is my mic of choice! I use it almost daily and it gets the job done flawlessly any where any time! I have used almost every mic made and this is my number one pick! I use this mic along with my Monster Cable Studio Pro 1000 cables. I sing through a Focusrite voice green 3 mic preamp for a 100% AWESOME sound! Come to any of my shows and see and hear for yourself why I love the Shure Beta 87a mic! We are Kris Allen & Southern Thunder, Nashville, TN. Thank's, Kris Allen
Manufacturer Support
This mic is bullet proof!
Musical Background:
MY WHOLE LIFE!
Musical Style:
Southern Rock/ Country
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 23, 2004 by a customer from stny.rr.com
"Worship leader"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
I've owned this mic for a few months now......it has very clear crisp sound...absolutely no popping or handling noise. I use it for live performance while sitting and playing the guitar....works well even if you are not close to it....add a little reverb or delay and the mic sounds even better.
Quality
Rugged build mic...
Value
Well worth the money spent
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to use support
Musical Style:
Christian/Worship
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

by a customer from bellsouth.net
"WOW,YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH THIS MIC!!!!!!!!"
Sound
This mic has the best sound. It cuts right through the mix and the clarity, depth ,warmth and you name it is exceptional! I also have a Shure Sm-58 and I could't believe the difference. The Beta 87a blows it away! Here is somthing else to think about if are looking into buying high qality microhones such as this one and all other equipment too is cables. Cables are too often overlooked and your microphone is only as good as the cables connected to them. This is fact! This mic hooked to a cheap $5 cable is not going to do justice. This goes for everthing else as well. In my on opinion,Monster Cable Tops them all. You will pay more,but you get what you pay for. We get comments everywhere we perform about how clear and how good the sound system sounds. Everything We have is wired with Monster Cables and we use all of shure Beta series microhones. There is no way you can go wrong !! We Also use Beta 98's, Beta 52 and 91, KSM 32'S,Beta57 for Drums And of cource Beta 87 for vocals. Stay with the Beta series For the studio quality sound.
Musical Style:
Country
9 of 11 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 3, 2005 by a customer from gmail.com
"As expected."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If it got stolen, I probably will replace it, or may try the Beta 87C.
Sound
Very clean for live vocal (even though lack in details in comparison to the Studio Projects C1 -- not a live mic).
Musical Background:
Amateur song writer & singer.
Musical Style:
Vocal, light rock.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 30, 2014 by Mark R in Nampa, ID
"Amazing clarity!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was looking for a new vocal mic; while 58's are great and I've owned a bunch of them, maybe there was something better. Based on the reviews I decided to try a Beta 87A. The difference was immediately apparent - the clarity of the 87A is simply amazing! I made the mistake of letting our band's other vocalist try it and she liked it so much she didn't want to go back to her regular mic. So I bought a second one, it has made a huge difference in our sound. By comparison our old mics sounded like they were wrapped in a towel, but the 87A's are crystal clear.
Musical Background:
Bassist, have been playing nearly 40 years. Play festivals, demo basses at NAMM.
Musical Style:
Rock, country
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 23, 2008
"Yes Yes Yes"
You can not compare a dynamic mic to a condenser. A condenser will always sound better. The Beta 87a in my opinion is one of the best mics you can buy
Sound
There is a phantastic clear sound coming out of your speakers when you use the 87a. This mic provides a full, rich vocal sound. This is how it should be.
Features
This mic has one good feature - A GREAT SOUND
Ease of Use
As any condenser, you need phantom power.
Quality
Do not have mine too long, but reviews state that this is better than any other stage condenser in terms of quality. Sounds believable to me.
Value
Its expensive OK , but it also sounds expensive
Manufacturer Support
Do not know
The Wow Factor
I want it,- I've got it because I wanted it
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 9, 2007
"superb mic"
if i owned it.... id have to buy more just because they are that good... id buy one for grandma... no spit.. shes a cajun singer lol
Sound
used this mic after using some nasty ev mics... ive used sm58s and like others i found that they couldnt touch the 87a... the beta 87a is superb. rich smooth and powerful... i never clipped the board after the 87
Ease of Use
makes live vocal eq-ing very easy
The Wow Factor
i completely want to do this mic!!!!
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 10, 2004
"The singing guitarist's take"
Sound
I was using an SM57 before and its not even close. People could not understand a word I sang before and now its crystal clear. It does not over condense to the point of picking up miscelaneous sounds or raise the noise floor. I use it for live and even to record with.
Features
Its a mic. You sing through it.
Quality
There are better recording mics out there, but for live performance this is the best in my opinion. And I use it for recording too in the basement. I have a true condenser mic for recording but it raises the noise floor, and this mic does not.
Value
Was bought for me by the wife.
Manufacturer Support
never needed it. Thats the best support of all.
10 of 12 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to