Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Shure Beta 57A Supercardioid Dynamic Microphone

Shure Beta 57A Supercardioid Dynamic Microphone

Delivering even greater detail than its SM sibling, the Beta 57A is a supercardioid dynamic mic tailored for live vocals, guitar amps, snare drums, and more.

Overall User Ratings (based on 45 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(45)
Submitted December 24, 2004 by a customer from hotmail.com
"An Instrument Mic Like No Other"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
This CAN NOT be beat as an instrument mic. There are much better vocal mics (like the Shure Beta 87A - which I also own), but as an instrument mic, this is simply the best. I am so pleased with this microphone! If anything were ever to happen to it, I would definitely buy another. I love this mic, everyone I know who's heard it loves it, and I know that you would too. This microphone WILL NOT disappoint.
Sound
This is where the Shure Beta 57A shines. It sounds so clear. It is a pretty big step up from the older SM57 and since it is a supercardioid design, it has much more rejection to ambience and outside noise. I use this mic primarily to mic my amplifier and it is amazing. I get completely different sounds depending on where I place the mic. It's really a lot of fun. Very clear, real sound.
Features
Not many... But this microphone is the major feature and since I'm so happy with it, I give it a 10!
Quality
It's a Shure. Not only does this thing weigh a ton and feel like a tank, but it's also survived the famed Shure Drop Test. You can't go wrong with this product in quality. I really expect it to outlive me.
Value
I would easily, gladly pay twice what I did. I think that Shure's list price is actually quite a fair price. You're buying a product that has been time-tested - one that you know won't let you down. This mic was well worth my money and would be well worth yours, too!
Manufacturer Support
I have dealt with Shure. I was asking quite a few questions before I decided to get the mics that I did, because I didn't want to make an uninformed decision. And Shure support was right there to help me every time. I'm very satisfied not only with the product, but also with the manufacturer. Shure rocks!
The Wow Factor
I bought it, my second guitarist is already saving up, and my drummer plans on using it to mic his snare. So, yeah. It has it's appeal!
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Christian Rock
15 of 15 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 7, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Shure 57 Beta"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I would purchase the mic again.
Sound
This is the classic Shure 57...used primarily for instrument work, though I do use it for vocals when needed. The sound quality is superb.
Features
I bought a package that included a boom mike and 20' chord...highly recommended if you are building up your stock of equipment.
Ease of Use
I use the mic with my Fender Acoustasonic amp, which has an imput for a separate mic. Plug and play.
Quality
This is a tough mic, able to stand up to performance and transport abuse.
Value
Good mic...good price.
Manufacturer Support
I purchased the mic online and needed it quickly. I ordered 2 day shipping, but it did not arrive on time. ZZ refunded the cost of extra shipping charges.
The Wow Factor
Well worth the cost.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Swing/Bluegrass
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

by a customer from yahoo.com
"If you want a great sounding roadworthy mic, this is it."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
I have tried many different mics over the years and I always thought this one had the best sound, but I really found out when my band performed a stripped down acoustic show. This mic shined over the others. Great mic bottom line.
Features
It has a great frequency range. It's a solid performer.
Musical Style:
rock/folk
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 13, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Awesome"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This mic is awesome. I wasn't sure if upgrading to this from the original SM57 would be worth it, but after playing this weekend, I couldn't believe the clarity and warmth this mic provided. I'm glad I bought this mic, and it will be replacing the original 57 used for my guitar cab.
Sound
Just used this at a show over the weekend and it sounded amazing. Way better than the SM57's I've used in the past because it captured the warmth of my amp. It is also very clear.
Quality
This thing is solid. It could probably hammer nails.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Alternative
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 29, 2014 by Bruce M in West Hartford, CT
"Great Mic Worthless Cord"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Beta57A is not as good as I expected for picking up acoustic instruments (guitar, mandolin...) it is Fantastic for mic-ing a cabinet and for vocals. The budget cable that came with the package fell apart within 15 min of use and is too cheap to bother soldering. The mic was not as good as I expected in some ways but better in others.
Musical Background:
I have been playing guitar for 54 years, mandolin and many other instuments for years professionally
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Roots, original...
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 27, 2010 by a customer from bellsouth.net
"Zzounds has excellent service"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
Excellent microphone with sound system
Features
included microphone stand and cord
Manufacturer Support
Have never needed service
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Bluegrass
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 9, 2010
"Great Shalding from hum noise"
Very virsatlie ,clear sounding,Shalding from hum noise... beta57a is real stable gear! I also recomend AE6100 Audiotechnica.
Sound
Great sound! I used SM57 , sennheiser e945 and MD421, AE6100. But beta57A is clearer and brighter sound.beta57A works good sound with cheap preamps. But I feel thinner than other mics very slightly.
Features
I always using cable tie. No problem.
Quality
I like blue rubber ring. I dropped two or three times . but never broken. I wonder beta57A sealding for hum noise.I worried about SM57 with hum noise problem . But replace beta57a from SM57 , hum noise was removed.
Value
very virsatile.
Manufacturer Support
I never used.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist ,TV engineer
Musical Style:
Techno , Japanese oridinal style
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 13, 2006
"A perfect Female vocal mic & the Best Indstrument mic...period"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I plan to use this mic on everything, including lead vocals. it works so well.
Sound
Beautiful Natural Soundind dynamic microphone. It captures pretty much anything with the upmost detail and clarity focus. It sounds stunning on female vocals, and shows 'No' sibilance unlike so many condensors. The Beta 57A is much better sounding than the standard SM57 and SM58, which can get fairly harsh sounding with a nasal quality. The Beta version is smooth, warm and has a better top end. The midrange is very flat and works very well on most singers. I record in the studio with the Beta 57A all the time, and use it over my Rode or Neumann depending on the singers voice.
Features
no switches makes this mike even more solid and rubust, less problems to deal with. It is a very simple yet powerful microphone.
Ease of Use
Plug n Play, and hit record.
Quality
Built like a tank, and feels very tight and compact.
Value
I got my Beta 57A for the price of a SM, so for me its pure value for money. It compared very well with my Nuemann TLM 103 and Rode K2, although not as toppy sounding.
Manufacturer Support
Never used it.
The Wow Factor
It looks like a Industry Standard mic, it has a very professional neutral look with the nice blue rubber ring. Its looks better than the Beta 58 ball, and IMO it sounds better too.
Musical Background:
12 years, Songwiter, Vocal Production, Mix Engineer
Musical Style:
R&B, POP, DANCE, WORLD MUSIC
5 of 5 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 12, 2005
"Bulletprof and Fantastic sound"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
It will out live me. Is that good or what?
Sound
There is a nice Windscreen. Comes in Handy.
Features
You Could almost Hammer Nails with the Beta 57
Quality
I have three they are fantasic. My Nruman and AKG 414 TL is not going on gigs. But this Beta 57can go anywhere.
Value
Can't beat it.
Manufacturer Support
Never needed Shure support in over 30 years of owning their mics.
The Wow Factor
very cool looking better then the 58 ball.
Musical Background:
pro
Musical Style:
Jazz/Blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to