Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Schaller S-Lock Strap Locks
ONLY 3 LEFT

Schaller S-Lock Strap Locks

Don't risk dropping your guitar when rocking a little too hard -- strap on your axe with confidence with these sturdy strap locks from Schaller.

Overall User Ratings (based on 57 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(57)
Submitted December 18, 2018 by Ron B
"18 years old and still holding up."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bout a set of these in 2001 for my 1984 Les Paul Custom. It’s been gigged, practiced on and everything in between and the strap locks have not failed once.They are just now getting a bit weak and have a lot of wear but the only way my guitar is ever going to hit the ground is if the buttons finally wear out. I’m glad to see that these are still available and will be getting a new set eventually.
Musical Background:
Playing various stringed instruments for over 40 years
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 1, 2020 by Chuck Short in Reno, NV
"A vast improvement over the old design."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The new S locks fix everything that was suspect with the old design. I was always concerned the old hex nut was going to work itself off and drop my guitars, The thumb wheel design and the ability to add security with a micro screw is genius. The self tapping screws and Allen wrench fitted buttons feels much more secure as well. I’m super impressed, and I’m going to change all the old ones I have for the new ones. The old ones are good, the new ones are PERFECT. Super easy to install, especially onto the strap.
Musical Background:
Professional
Musical Style:
Surf, Metal.
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 30, 2019 by Mike P in SAN ANTONIO, TX
"Best Strap Lock on the market!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The S-Lock version of the Schaller's are BY FAR the best most secure strap system I've seen/used. Unlike the strap locks from days of yore, these have multiple locking points that make them super easy to install, lock and forget. No more lose retaining lock wheels. The S-locks now have a hex bolt that keeps the lock wheel secure.
Musical Background:
Bass player 20 + years.
Musical Style:
Punk, Country, R-N-R.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 27, 2020 by ALLAN B in Tempe, AZ
"Built like a tank!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These are great locks and feel like they will last forever. 2 minor things to be aware of:1. They only have one size screw (long). 2. They do not come with tools. You'll need a set of hex keys to screw them in and lock the collars.
Musical Background:
Playing over 40 years and still gigging
Musical Style:
Rock, Prog, CCM
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 6, 2005 by a customer from nicholassolutions.com
"Just get em"
Nothing more to say, really. These things rule. If I lost em, I'd buy em again, even if the price was higher. Just go out and buy em.
Features
I love these strap locks -- I'd never buy another brand. They are really intelligently designed. First, they 'lock' in just like most strap locks, but even if the lock mechanism broke, your guitar would still not fall on the floor, because the thing holding it up is the 'cup' or 'cradle' that the strap pegs sit in. And that brings me to my next point -- when you attach the strap, you do it by just putting the peg in the cradle, and the weight of the guitar causes it to sink down in the cup and engage the lock. With other brands, such as dunlop straploks, actually putting the strap on is much more tedious (though admittedly doable). But the main thing is, the whole weight of the guitar is resting on these stupid ball bearings in the lock mechanism, and after a while the springs wear out, and your guitar keeps falling out of the lock. I used to have the dunlops, and luckly my guitar never fell without me catching it, but that really was just luck. If you're thinking of getting those, get these instead -- it's worth the extra 3 bucks. By the way, one of the negative reviews below is definitely about the Dunlops, and NOT Schaller Straplocks (Schallers don't have the little balls he's describing). I have a feeling the other negative review is also about the Dunlops also...if you droped your guitar using these it's your own fault (with the dunlops I could definitely see that happening).
Quality
These things are top notch. The gold plating on mine has not rusted or worn off at all, and I've had these for a while. They look nice, and they'll withstand the test of abuse and time.
Value
These are a really good deal, especially when you consider it's the only thing keeping your guitar from falling on the floor.
Manufacturer Support
You won't need support. That's what makes these babies great.
The Wow Factor
These things are a major turn on. Seriously, though, it's really sweet to be able to switch one strap between guitars quickly and easily, and know that it's gonna stay put.
Musical Background:
Active Musician / Engineer
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues, Metal
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 5, 2016 by Tom Cooper in Pomeroy, WA
"Very secure"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Never worry about a drop again. I have some disability that makes it difficult both hold and play a guitar. Over the years a few strap malfunctions have caused a drop. These locks are easy to use and install. They cannot come off till released. Easy to operate but nearly impossible to release accidentally. Very nice on newer acoustic/electric guitars with an endpin jack....these are famous for ejecting the strap at odd moments. Cheap insurance.
Musical Background:
Some gigs, 30+ years.
Musical Style:
Any, all
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 1, 2015 by Bill A in Bogota, NJ
"Essential accessory"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These are superb. I've been using them on all of my straps and axes for many years, and have never had a problem. If you're having a problem with these, it's because you don't know what you're doing, and you are installing them improperly. You don't need thread lock, but you do need to be savvy. The first thing you need to do is alter the strap ends to fit the extra large threads. Once you've properly enlarged those (and if your strap won't take enlarging the holes, stop buying cheap straps), you need to make the nut really tight, using a proper wrench or pliers. The way to tell if you've properly widened the holes is when the strap hole lays perfectly flat against the back of the straplock. If it doesn't do that, then you haven't done it properly. They need to be the same size as the threads: no bigger, and no smaller. Use a sharp razor blade. Not one fo those thin shaving blades, but one made for cutting cardboard and scoring. I prefer FatMax blades, available at your local hardware store. Once you've got that nice and tight, Bob's your Uncle, and they won't come off. As far as the rating: clearly, these don't make any sound, and the only feature that matters is that they work all the time. The wow factor is that you'll never drop your axe, unless you've not paid proper attention to the fastening procedure. Again, don't blame the product because you didn't know how to properly attach them to you strap. These are the best.
Musical Background:
Professional Musician/Composer and Producer
Musical Style:
Progressive rock, jazz, classical
8 of 10 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 16, 2007 by a customer from sbcglobal.net
"Perfect Protection."
I will be puting these on all of my future guitars, so long as I am buying more guitars.
Features
I droped two guitars before I got these, and have never droped another. The first guitar I droped with no strap locks at all, and the second was with Dunlop Strap Locks, which are terible. Don't ever get the Dunlop strap locks unless you plan on taking out insurence on your guitar.
Ease of Use
These things are so easy to use, you will think they read your mind before making them, so they would know how to make them just perfect.
Quality
All things concidered, this product isn't that hard to do wrong, which makes me wonder how Dunlop got it wrong.
Value
I think after you compare the price of repairing a broken guitar to the price of a set of these you will see the value.
The Wow Factor
They look awesome on my guitars. They come in all of the same colors as the hardware on my other guitars, (I own Black, Gold, and Chrome/Nickel hardware guitars,) and you can not realy ask for more than that.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal
8 of 10 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 13, 2005 by a customer from triad.rr.com
"avoid "stap comes off your guitar during concert" heart failure"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i have schaller strap locks on every instrument and every strap i own, and always will.
Features
these locks have one useful feature - they work.
Value
how much is it worth to avoid dumping an 810 taylor on the floor during a concert because the strap slipped off. taylor 810 -$3,000 schaller strap locks - $14.95. do the math
The Wow Factor
schaller strap locks look professional. in addition, they make a cool sound when you lock the strap on the guitar!
Musical Background:
lead guitar of the band "White Light"
Musical Style:
acoustic americana
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 12, 2013 by Dave Fingers in Boca Raton, FL
"Schaller Gold Strap Lock "
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These are prettier than Dunlops but I won't trust them on my $3K Black Les Paul Custom or my American Strats due to the ease of the nut falling off which happened to me twice.I originally bought these for my '88 Les Paul Custom I just bought because they looked better than the Dunlops. After 1st gig the nut came off and got lost so I bought another set. I now lost that one in the house. Switching back to Dunlops. I own 17 lefty guitars. Use LockTite if you plan on getting these. I am switching back to Dunlops, not as pretty but there is no nut to come off and I can't afford to drop one of my axes
Musical Background:
I have been playing 40 years, play in a band, in a duo and as a solo.
Musical Style:
I play mostly Classic Rock, Southern Rock, Hard driving rock with the band.
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 15, 2019 by ROGER B in Mountain City, TN
"Schaller S-Lock Strap Locks"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm impressed. These strap locks haven't come lose, they look great, and appear to be extremely heavy duty. I'm using them with a 3.25" wide heavy leather padded strap.
Sound
Not applicable.
Features
A 3MM allen wrench and a phillips screwdriver.
Ease of Use
Not applicable.
Quality
Extremely heavy duty.
Value
Yes, definately.
Manufacturer Support
Didn't need to.
The Wow Factor
A "10". A small product to protect several big investments.
Musical Background:
Been playing electric & acoustic guitar about 2 years, only at home so far.
Musical Style:
Heavy metal & southern rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 28, 2016 by Tim B in Westminster , CO
"Gibson les paul beware "
These are great and they are the best. Super easy install and reliable not to mention if installed right the guitar rests in the cup even if it was to fail your guitar wouldn't hit the floor. My only complaint is Gibson has started using larger screws and buttons on the lower side. The screw in the guitar won't work with these and the screw with the strap locks won't work with the guitar. So if your buying these for a Gibson plan on some work to install them.
Musical Background:
Vocalist and guitar among others.
Musical Style:
Anything
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 28, 2016 by Tim B in Westminster , CO
"Gibson les paul beware "
These are great and they are the best. Super easy install and reliable not to mention if installed right the guitar rests in the cup even if it was to fail your guitar wouldn't hit the floor. My only complaint is Gibson has started using larger screws and buttons on the lower side. The screw in the guitar won't work with these and the screw with the strap locks won't work with the guitar. So if your buying these for a Gibson plan on some work to install them.
Musical Background:
Vocalist and guitar among others.
Musical Style:
Anything
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 23, 2017 by Jefferson Adkins in Oak Hill, WV
"Boom goes the stratocaster."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My stat has hit the floor 3 different times using these locks. DO NOT USE GROVER/FENDER/SCHALLER STRAP LOCKS! They're all the same lock in different packaging. They do not hold. It ain't like I'm spinning my Axe around my back either. They suck. Use ANYTHING ELSE!
of 3 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 15, 2003
Schaller S-Lock Strap Locks Customer Review
this product holds a fender american deluxe fat strat, a les paul standard, and a custom shop les paul 57 black beauty. it has never failed, and i wouldnt trust anything else, period.
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to