Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Softube Console 1 MKII Control Surface

Softube Console 1 MKII Control Surface

The Console 1 MKII gives you hands-on control of your Universal Audio and Softube plug-ins -- like the included Solid State Logic SL 4000 E channel strip!

Overall User Ratings (based on 7 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(7)
Submitted February 4, 2019 by Michael M in Cherry Hill, NJ
"Best mixing experience I’ve had"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I’ve spent thousand on waves plugins, I currently subscribe to the everything bundle by Slate, but they have nothing on C1. I got more done, faster and had a better experience on C1 than ever mixing before. It doesn’t do everything, you’ll still need reverbs, etc. . You’ll still need to draw automation, but it gets you very far, very fast. I ordered a stand that will put it at a better viewing angle as you can’t see the LEDs when laying flat on the desk. This is one area I think they could have improved on.. they could have added a little drop down leg like you see on some iPad stands. The plugin sounds great! SSL 4K for anything rock, metal, etc.. The British console sounds different and worked great on a less heavy song I’m mixing. Aside from a specialty plugin here and there from other manufacturers, I’m going all console 1 for my channel strip needs.
Musical Background:
Drums, synth, guitar, live sound engineer, studio engineer
Musical Style:
Rock / metal / electronic
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 7, 2017 by steven b in anchorage, AK
"cool idea but not for me"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
this is a really cool way to control the softube plug ins. very tight integration with the included console plug in and that plug in sounds great. my problem is that the writing on the unit itself is difficult to read and it was difficult for me to use because i had to keep straining to see which knobs do what. the people at softube are very responsive to emails and seem like really cool people. i decided this wasn't for me so i returned it to zZounds for a full refund. that was a hasslefree process and they gave me a full refund.
Musical Background:
i have been a professional musician for 27 years
Musical Style:
ambient indie rock loops stuff & solo singer songwriter acoustic. also play old timey and blue grass music
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 25, 2018 by Phil A in Las Vegas, NV
"I love my Console 1"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I waited til I was done making my payments to write this review. This hardware/software comp has done wonders for my mixing. It has taught me a lot about mixing honestly. Once you learn the knobs you really just use your hands and ears, only looking up once and while as a reference. I just need zZounds to start carrying softube plugins and i'll be set. Speaking on that. I did buy a Focusrite scarlet 212 from here and it comes with $150 worth of softube plugins so that alone is worth it. BTW I make underground style sample based rap music mostly and this thing is nasty on drums, vocals, bass, samples.. Glues your tracks together and makes them bump. If that's what your going for.
Musical Background:
Beats, Raps, Recording over 15 years.
Musical Style:
Rap Is Fun
2 of 2 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 14, 2018 by G P
"GET ONE NOW!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Using this unit I can now setup about 80% or more of my mixes WITHOUT touching the mouse! A huge improvement in workflow, not mention hand strain. Of course, Softube makes excellent sounding plugins as does Universal Audio, and they both work perfectly within Console 1. The fact that you can load different EQs and Compressors from within your Softube and UAD collection is amazing. And that's in addition to the SSL 4000 E which comes FREE with the product. To rest the unit I have revisited some mixes I had finished recently and re-mixed them using the Console 1 SSL 4000 E exclusively. Not only was I able to get things done much faster but I had far more control to parameters due to both the interface control and the plugin features. Amazing, really. Works perfectly with Cubase 9.5 PRO getting track names automatically from the DAW, as well as allowing additional controls such as panning, sends (up to 3), etc... I now use this on ALL my mixes and my workflow has benefited from it hugely. As I have stated, I can get most everything done just with the included SSL or additional UAD and Softube plugins. If I need something extra I use the mouse as I used to, only for those specific plugins/tracks. It is a GREAT mixing tool and the fact that you can use BOTH hands to adjust different parameters at once makes your adjustments more precise and faster at the same time. If you do your own mixing this is a must have tool.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 9, 2019 by Maurice A in Houston, TX
"THIS IS THE ONE!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I freaking love this console!! the ability to have the music at my fingertips and make the sounds truly mine, is something so superb. Best Part if I mess up, it doesn't affect the whole mix just the plugin that's on the channel strip. A little undo or delete and bam I'm back in business.The Only downside is that it's pricey and the additional add-ons cost an arm-and-leg. I haven't had the luxury to upgrade from the included channel strip but besides that this is a damn good product.
Musical Background:
Music engineer and producer
Musical Style:
Hip-Hop/Rap, Reggaeton
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 12, 2018 by G P
"A MUST FOR MIXING"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been mixing in the box for a few years now for a variety of reason, chiefly being able to work on multiple projects without worrying about recall, etc... However, the mouse "thing" was getting old and even tiresome. I needed something with knobs! Enter Console 1 MK2! It surpassed my expectations by a long mile! It integrates with Cubase perfectly and I can now get most of my mix (about 80%) using only Console 1 with Softube and UAD plugins, WITHOUT touching the mouse! For tracks requiring other plugins and/or other reasons I can then use the mouse as usual. But this has made my mixing so much faster, more precise and much more comfortable! Being able to turn knobs with both hands while actually listening is what I missed about my old SSL console. Now I can have that back with so much more! Really a super useful tool and an amazing product all around.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 2, 2018 by Todd Z in Kalamazoo, MI
"Great idea, poor execution."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I tried Console i MKII using Studio One V,3 and V.4. The hardware is fine, although I had issues with it interfering with USB communications. The software sounds fine, but not spectacular. The controller does not update the plug-in to tracks selected via mouse. The plug-in does not read / learn names of tracks, you have to enter manually. The track number buttons on controller pertain only to the instances of the plug-in, not to the track number in the DAW. In other words if your first instance of the plug-in is on Track 17, you have to push 'track 1' on the controller, not 'track 17'. That is why the tell you to put the plug-in on every channel, so the numbers line up. The encoders are pretty stiff, although that makes them precise. Over all, great idea, well made hardware, but software (as of August 2018) not up to speed yet.
Musical Background:
Recording Engineer
Musical Style:
Mostly rock, but anything that comes in.
2 of 4 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to