Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Sennheiser HD 280 Pro Headphones

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro Headphones

High output, high isolation! Great for drummers or studio producers, these comfortable closed-back circumaural phones offer linear response down to 8 Hz.

Overall User Ratings (based on 192 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(192)
Submitted March 28, 2014 by Greg W in Bassett, VA
"GREAT HEADPHONES!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
If you want a set of studio headphones that does not add any additional bass sound to what you are listening to then these are it. I wanted a good set of quality headphones for my amp that would allow me to hear the true sound my amp was producing without all the additional bass tone that other headphones give you. This helps me to hear my settings the way they should sound if I were to ever play in a live setting. Great headphones.
Musical Background:
Play a wide range of music but do it mostly for my personal enjoyment.
Musical Style:
Anything but Hip-Hop.
20 of 20 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 2, 2017 by Steve S in El Paso, TX
"Hell of a Suprise"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was expecting good headphones when I bought this. I got GREAT headphones. They're super comfortable. They're versatile. They work great with my Tascam portastudio, my computer, and my cellphone. They're well built. I've dropped them twice already and they're still good as new. Plus if something breaks, pretty much all the parts are replaceable. But I don't think you'll need to for a long long time because they're sturdy. They're awesome for recording/studio work or just listening pleasure. Lastly, they sound great and flat. The flat sound took me a little to get used to. But now I hear all of the instruments. There are songs I've heard a 100 times before, and just now I'm hearing all of the minor details in the songs like panning, layering, subtle double tracking. Things I've never heard or noticed before in a song. It does all of this while isolating background noise really well. They're not noise cancelling, but they're awesome either way. I read a lot of reviews before buying them. There are a lot of good reviews for a good reason. So if you're on the fence about buying these or some other headphones, save yourself sometime and just buy these. You'll be glad you did.
Musical Background:
Recording Artist, Guitarist, Singer, Songwriter
Musical Style:
Alternative/Hard Rock
13 of 13 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 3, 2019 by Archie McLeod in Roanoke Rapids, NC
""Beats the neck out of Beats""
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was looking for a new set of cans for mixing and the last really good sets I've had for a lot of years was a Rd Titanium 60 series from the 90's. (Yep, they lasted that long). I had more recently tried a Beats set which were alright but artificially bassy. On a whim, I purchased the Sennheisers and man, the fidelity. These sound like something that cost far more expensive than the 99.95 I paid for them. They are the bomb. Getting ready to buy two more pair!
Musical Background:
I am aperformer/producer and studio owner. I've been involved with music for over 40 years
Musical Style:
All types of music
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 11, 2010 by a customer from smartrocks.net
"Great Headphones!!"
Permanently.
Sound
I play drums - electronic and live - these headphones reproduce the live experience as well as headphones can - they have range and crisp detail that never fails to delight me. I recommend them to anyone.
Features
The 1/4 inch plug unscrews to reveal a 1/8 inch plug for your iPod etc. - not looking for anything else.
Ease of Use
Nothing to it - more power is better - these headphones can take it if your ears can.
Quality
Beautiful headphones - tight fit, low noise leakage.
Value
Well worth the money - you'll love these headphones if sound is your issue.
Manufacturer Support
Never talked to 'em.
The Wow Factor
It really works well.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock
31 of 32 people (97%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 19, 2013 by john d in las vegas, NV
"Better than "Beats""
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These in my opinion are ultimately better than "Beats by Dre" The sound is great. I basically do all my mixing and music arranging through these headphones and i've had them now for almost 5 years and they are as strong as the day that i got them. ive never had them blow out or break, theyre perfect and they're very lightweight. I always tell people about these and try to encourage different people i know to not spend 200-300 on headphones, when the quality of these in my opinion are better and more durable. i stand by these headphones. and if they were to ever go out on me for whatever reason..i would definitely buy them again without hesitation.
Musical Background:
producer, songwriter and arranger
Musical Style:
R and B , hip hop, alternative jazz, and various....
22 of 23 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 20, 2015 by James S in East Point, GA
"Excellent! - I gave my primary pair to a friend/client of mine and I'm buying 2 more pairs right now"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought these things because I was mixing a track on $8000 mastering monitors and a friend came in and said, "here try these". So I compared them to the speakers and 8 hours into a mix (with a lot of ear fatigue) I said, "wow they sound the same!"... LOL... They don't... BUT - they do sound really good. I would never mix in headphones (as my only source) but for recording purposed for myself and whatever artist I'm working with - I LOVE these things. Very comfortable. They do bleed but you can crank them up and it will be nowhere as loud to people around you as whats in your ears. I gave
Musical Background:
Professional recording and mixing engineer. Been engineering for 8 years.
Musical Style:
Hip Hop, Rock, Gospel, R&b
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 15, 2008 by a customer from elmore.rr.com
"Awesome Phones"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Sound
Well, I just bought these a few days ago and ill just say WOW!! After using consumer grade phones for a while these are definately an upgrade. Remember these take a few days to Break In...at 1st I was a little disappointed but after a few days of playing different types of music at about half volume and sometimes at 75% these phones have really began to sound freakin awesome. I mean really good...I gave them a 9 on sound because im sure there is something out there that sonds better but for me whooaaaa....I couldnt imagine it...Great job Sennheiser!!!
Features
What can I say its headphones...lol
Ease of Use
plug it in and go....
Quality
No problems I can see but I don't intend on abusing them so they seem fine for my use...
Value
In this price range I dont think you could do better except maybe some Grado's but I needed closed back not open...
Manufacturer Support
Havent had to use them
Musical Background:
Hobbyist singer
Musical Style:
Blues, Country, Alt. Rock
26 of 28 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 24, 2020 by timothy barth in severna park, MD
"Best in it's class !"
If you have an electronic drum kit , these are a must have. These are the best $100 headphones on the market. I have a Roland TD-17KVX and tried over a dozen pairs in the hundred dollar range and these are the best. Clean unadulterated sound and crystal clear at high volume. These are not just for e drum kits. Listening to music is a pleasure. I have listened to songs thousands of times and when I heard them with these , I heard things I never heard before. I plugged them into my computer and watched videos , on some of them , you could actually hear the director giving instructions in the background ! Without these you would never hear it. Get them . You will not be disappointed .
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 4, 2015 by Brad W in Slidell, LA
"Sennheiser HD-280 Pro Headphones"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These headphones sound great especially for the cost, I own 2 pairs now, and will be getting 2 more in the near future. Sound great with with my Roland TD-25KV drums patch through with a Tascam DP-32 mixer connected to a ART HeadAMP6 Pro 6-Channel Headphone Amplifier connected to an Avid Eleven Rack and Protools on a laptop and the head set sounds great the are comfortable and fit snug around the ears my only con is I personally do not like coiled springy wires.
Musical Background:
Playing w/ music about 25yrs, play guitar, bass, drums learning to mix and record all for fun
Musical Style:
Punk, Thrash, Metal, Rock, Reggae, Ska
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 24, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"bumpn all day long"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
ive had these same hp for 3 years and that still sound the same no theay sound better
Sound
for 99 you wont get better hps.these are it trust me ive been doing misic for 12 years and tryed them all
Features
plug them in to your head amp and listen
Ease of Use
come on...
Quality
top noch
Value
the name says it all
Manufacturer Support
didnt need them
The Wow Factor
yep
Musical Background:
music maker
Musical Style:
hard rap
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 21, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"A Fantastic Addition To Your Studio"
I will keep and eventually replace these with the same product when they fail. I've heard that there are some sony 1700 that are just as good but cost twice as much but these are not lacking in any way.
Sound
I'm a producer with a studio. Of all things, accurate monitoring is my primary need. These headphones are phenominal. I can do that which has typically been considered impossible....mix in headphones. Now my monitors are for doublechecking my mix, not for mixing.
Features
The way they cancel outside noise is just fantastic. Bass volume, depth and intensity (250k punch) are surprisingly alive.
Quality
If you remember the old fat guitar never fail chords that headphones had in the old days, you'll know that they could have done better at the jack than the modern flexifail type but the chord does feature a coiled section for extention.
Value
$99.00, a drop in the bucket compared to most studio equipment. Before you spend $300 - $600 on budget monitors, hold your money and get these. They are better, trust me.
The Wow Factor
The do look good too.
Musical Background:
Recording Engineer, Producer, Writer
Musical Style:
Hip Hop, R&B, Jazz
27 of 30 people (90%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 20, 2019 by a customer from gmail.com in Virginia Beach, VA
"Great for Modeling Amps"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have these to use with my Headrush Pedalboard. These have been fantastic headphones. Noise isolating, very flat response. I can set my rigs up using these and hook my HR to the FRFR 108 or feed FOH and it sounds like it should. That is all I care about. Very sturdy and a long cord. With all of these style of headphones, after a while, they become sweaty but those are the breaks. Highly recommended
Musical Background:
Professional guitarist
Musical Style:
rock, country, blues, etc.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 4, 2009 by a customer from gmail.com
Sennheiser HD 280 Pro Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I couldn't imagine a better set of headphones. If they were stolen, I'd replace them with another pair.
Sound
The sound is amazing. It is incredibly accurate, and the SPL is incredible. When I use it with IK Multimedia's Ampeg SVX, I can practically feel the cab pushing air.
Features
They have all the features that you'd expect in a set of headphones.
Ease of Use
Not too hard, you put it over your ears, and.... voila.
Quality
They feel very solid, and aren't made in China. They are made in Ireland, and every part is replaceable. They are also very comfortable, to the extent that you forget that they are there.
Value
For the price that I paid, 79.91, it utterly destroys the competition. There are simply no headphones that are as good as these for as cheap a price.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't had to contact them for any reason, but that's fine by me. The less I need to deal with a company after I buy a product from them, the better.
The Wow Factor
While these cans have amazing sound, I would never take these on the metro, bus, etc. Not because they aren't durable enough, nor because I am afraid of being mugged, but because they are huge, and look absurd on one's head. But I bought these to use for monitoring and for listening to my DAW, so it's no big deal.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 29, 2008 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Just get them..."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm done... they are great, buy them! haha
Sound
For $100 bucks you are not going to get a better sound pair of closed back cans. I've been using these for years for recordings (great isolation!) and mixing (very true un-colored sound).
Features
Screw on 1/4" adapter... coiled cable... well, that could be a pro or a con, I personally like it, but you may need an extension cable.
Ease of Use
It doesn't even matter (in regard to feel) if you put them on backwards, so when recording you can put them on which ever way makes the cord out of the way, good for when your playing an instrument with these on.
Quality
I've been pretty rough, they still work fine.
Value
Not the best headphones you can buy, but the best for less than $150 or so, by far!
Manufacturer Support
Never used them, so I guess that is the best I could ask for.
The Wow Factor
I am going to buy 3 more pair of these soon.
Musical Background:
Producer, musician, audiophile
Musical Style:
If I could list it here would it be 'my' style?
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 19, 2020 by a customer from comcast.net
"Good Product"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Excellent sound and comfort. Only problem is the plastic coating over the top head rest foam breaks into pieces and falls off. Does not affect the quality of the unit but it is a bit annoying to get little pieces of black plastic stuck on your head or falling on the floor. Of course, once it's gone - no problem! Still a great piece of equipment.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 6, 2019 by Todd M in Lowell, AR
"Built to last"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
First off these are built notary grade. Very well constructed! The earcups seal out outside noise. Others have reviewed that these are very baddy. Well I’m playing my bass through these and I find it to be a good full sound without being boomy or artificial sounding. I love these!!!!
Musical Background:
Professional session bassist
Musical Style:
Personally-jazz. At the studio-anything!
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 11, 2014 by Tim C in Staten Island, NY
"Sounds Great, Very comfortable for long periods."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These headphones are great. They have a great fit and very clean sound. I have no problem using them for long periods at a time and they have a decent sturdy build. They do not feel like cheap hardware.
Musical Background:
Getting back in the game after a long time
Musical Style:
Hip Hop, DNB
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 19, 2008 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Better than I thought"
I think i will have this for years and I will get complements
Sound
detailed and lots of added bass
Features
you an replace the ear peices if needed.
Ease of Use
just plug in and go.
Quality
built very well. Diffinately pro headphones.
Value
Worth every penny.
Manufacturer Support
have not had to call for support. had it for a month no problems so far.
The Wow Factor
The look is very nice.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 30, 2003 by a customer from rnetinc.net
Sennheiser HD 280 Pro Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Comfortable, great sound, cord is pretty long for most studio applications. Would be good for live sound with it's thick foam to keep the sound out.
Sound
Very clean, crisp sound. I've heard things that were not there before...it brings everything to the forfront to be heard.
Features
It's headphones...how many options could you want!
Quality
Put together pretty well. You can replace everything too which is pretty nice if anything does break.
Value
For the money I'm not sure you can beat it. It's got plenty of full sound without being muddy in the low end.
Manufacturer Support
Can't say, never used them.
Musical Style:
rock, acoustic, folk
6 of 7 people (86%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 13, 2009 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Nice headphones"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
They sound honest. And thats what i was looking for. Good for recording, they isolate sound very well. I check my mixes on them too, i usually mix with genelecs as my mains, but this one time i literally mixed one of the songs i was working on with these due to an emergency situation where nothing else was available to me. And the mix translated very well, though i would rather not do that again lol.
Features
Headphones...
Quality
I see some people complaining about the quality of the build. But i personally cant relate to what theyre saying. I've had two pairs of these for almost two years, and they have been abused
Value
They are worth the money, i didn't see something else in this price range with the same benefits.
The Wow Factor
They look good and solid.
Musical Background:
Active Musician/Producer
Musical Style:
Many genres
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 28, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"great headphones they are very comfortable"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i would replace them with the same pair they are very comfortable
Sound
i bought the HD 280s for my wife so she could watch tv at night while i sleep. I tried the headphones on myself and really liked the comfort as well as the sound,what can you say they are sennheiser,i think that says enough.I'm thinking of getting a pair for my drum room!
Features
NO
Quality
nice design very comfortable
Value
the price was great
Manufacturer Support
great staff,i recieved my product within a week i will comtinue to use z sound
The Wow Factor
practical adition
Musical Background:
working drummer live and studio
Musical Style:
texas country
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 20, 2019 by a customer from gmail.com
"Perfect for guitar!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
These just arrived and i almost couldn't put my guitar down. These paired with my line 6 helix are paramount. I had no idea what I was missing. I needed some decent monitor headphones to practice and record on and I took a chance based on reviews. I didn't want to spend an arm and a leg. These are LEGIT
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 26, 2005 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Work great, Style not so great"
The best I've ever used for sound and durability, the worst for looks.
Sound
There are better sounding headphones for audiophiles, but these are the best sounding DJ headphones I've used. The treble stands out because it's bright, not just loud. The bass is heavy. I spin Drum and Bass + Hip Hop
Features
A coiled cord makes it short while being able to strech far, but can get tangled up in itself. Big ear cups with good isolation from outside noise.
Quality
I'm someone who breaks a lot of headphones. I often play outdoors in a windy desert with little protection, and I get pretty into it when I'm on stage. Usually, no headphones last more than 6 months. These lasted a year and 3 months. 2 months after I had them, 1/4 glass of rum & coke spilled directly into an ear cup. To this day, that ear cup sounds as good as the other. The leather around ear padding started peeling off the foam at 11 months, and the headband snapped at 15. The wire stayed intact. As durable as these are, they are still very light.
Value
There is nothing that even compares at this price. You'd have to pay at least another $50.
Manufacturer Support
Never used it.
The Wow Factor
These do not look sexy. Their strength is in function, not form.
Musical Background:
DJ
Musical Style:
Drum and Bass
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 13, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Put 'em on!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
All in all, good for listening to music, but not making any real EQ adjustments with.
Sound
High quality sound, but not quite accurate in the midrange. It has the dished out mids that a lot of people seem to like.
Features
No features to talk about.
Ease of Use
Put them on your head. Done.
Quality
These things are built quite tough, although my first pair (which I rarely used) stopped working in one earpiece for no reason. See support area for resolution.
Value
Great phones for the money.
Manufacturer Support
When one earpiece stopped working for no apparent reason, I contacted support via e-mail. They told me to send the phones to them and they would fix them under warranty. A couple weeks later I received a box back from them with a brand NEW pair of headphones. I noticed the cord was beefier and think they sent the new ones because the older ones were flawed.
The Wow Factor
I got them!
Musical Background:
Part-time recording pro.
Musical Style:
Many styles...
12 of 15 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 19, 2014 by Nick F in Latrobe, PA
"Best sub $200 headphones you can buy."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great sound quality on these headphones. They are lightweight, and very comfortable making them easy to wear for long periods of time. The cord, ear-cups, drivers, and hinges are all replaceable so if you break something just order a new part and replace it instead of buying a whole new set of cans.
Musical Background:
Sound engineer for Live sound and recording
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 31, 2011 by a customer from mymail.bcc.edu
"Excellent pro/home studio choice."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The best under $250, might buy another pair just in case they 'update' it like they did with my beloved PX-100 (v1.0s).
Sound
Great, seems to warm up after initial couple hours of use. Detailed, more so than other headphones in this price range. Not quite as detailed /balanced as AKG271mk2s (slightly more bass).
Features
Compact, durable.. Folds closed to a smaller size which is nice. When on your head this is a very big headphone though, it cannot be worn under hoodies (for example).
Ease of Use
Yes duh put it on. Easy to collapse, and 1/4" adapter screws on, making it more reliable and easier to keep track of.
Quality
Very durable, feels luxurious. Pads actually fit my ears and head without pinching. It is heavy, but no problem really wearing it for extended sessions. Prior set in the studio lasted 3+ years including travel, hopefully this one will too.
Value
Really amazing set given the price. Unless you want to go to Walmart and get the standard $99 set of Sony cans which, IMHO offer nothing in terms of sound and built quality by comparison. If you factor in sales/open box deals for this set it's a no brainier.
Manufacturer Support
Unknown, not dealt with. Zzounds was great though.
The Wow Factor
No particularly sexy. It's pretty ugly when worn actually, but who cares? It has great sound and good isolation. Of course, there's also a picture of the Nine Inch Nails frontman wearing hat appears to be HD280s to hammer out a recording, and I'd call The Fragile pretty damn sexy from the standpoint of sound design, which is really what these cans are for.
Musical Background:
Audio/Video Engineer
Musical Style:
Electronic, Acoustic
5 of 7 people (71%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 18, 2006 by a customer from netscape.net
"THESE ARE TRUE CRITICAL LISTENING HEADPHONES FOR RECORDING_COMPARABLE TO GOOD STUDIO MONITORS."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
these are undoubtedly one of the best earphones for recording. they reproduce a true flat sound which track studio monitors quite accurately. the only thing I can see is the bass reproduction in these phones is "slightly"ess than you'll hear when comparing them to speakers. the highs and middle are right on.
Quality
very well built,they have held up (the earcups leather) better than my sonys.
Value
these are worth 5 times than what they cost. other earphones exaggerate the highs and lows - these are terrific for true critical listening. I tried the Beyer's- they're good sounding but exaggerate the sound,along with the Sony headphones.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 27, 2007 by a customer from comcast.net
"I think we all know this is the best headphone for the money."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
This is what the used for musicians tracking in the studio I went to school at. Not for mixing, but defiantely the best SPL and clarity for the money.
Features
Meh, they're headphones, I don't need them to do much.
Ease of Use
Plug in, put on head, if you can't do that you shouldn't be on the internet.
Quality
I've had this set for 2 years, no problems.
Value
Best SPL for the money.
Manufacturer Support
NA
Musical Background:
musician, producer, engineer
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal, Rap
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 9, 2017 by Greggory Samuels in Lawrenceville, GA
"Excellent Product"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
The Sennheiser HD 280 pro is the best headphone I have ever had. The list includes but not limited to Beats, Pioneer 1500, Akai
Musical Background:
Have been playing music for over 15 years. Portable DJ
Musical Style:
Most genre reggae, hip hop, afrobeat, spanish, Trap. R&B, Christian
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 29, 2012 by James Pittman in La Habra, CA
"These headphones are pretty bad ass!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I actually didn't get top of the line ones but these headphones had some pretty good reviews, so I went ahead and got them. I have used this brand before and was very pleased with these kind of headphones. When I got them and tried them out they were pretty good. I only use them for listening to dvd's or tv shows when I want true surround sound in my ears lol. They really get the job done and I think they would also be great for recording as well.
Musical Background:
Active musician for 15 years
Musical Style:
jazz/blues/rock
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 12, 2012 by Martyn C in Guildford, NA
"An excellent pair of headphones for tracking and mixing."
I picked these up about a month ago and I have to say I'm extremely satisfied. I use them primarily for creating dance music, as well as sound FX design & orchestral music for videogames. They are versatile, capable and durable with a very high quality, detailed and unbiased character.
Sound
I would specifically describe the sound as clear. A quick check of the frequency chart included in the manual suggests slight dips in the mid bass and at about 3 - 5 Khz, and listening confirms this. The dips themselves are very subtle but do go some way to defining the listening characteristics of the HD280 Pros, which slightly accentuate the deep lows and high mids. Mixes that sound suitably clear and spaced on these will translate well onto most systems, although I prefer to do the bulk of the early mixing on my monitors, as tracks created from scratch through these headphones tend to sound overly 'scooped', probably due to the aforementioned presence in the high mids. Overall, the level of detail is exceptional, and the presented sound is very easy to use effectively once you grow used to it.
Features
The HD280 Pros come with an excellent reference manual, a screw-on 3.5mm to 6.3mm adaptor, and have a folding / rotating can design which allows you to fit them into small spaces whist travelling.
Ease of Use
Obviously there isn't a great deal of ways you can make a set of headphones difficult to use. I suppose the folding cans could annoy you briefly if you aren't very skilled at putting things on your head.
Quality
The HD280 Pros are clearly very well built. As they are new, I have yet to be unlucky enough to test their durability, but from my impressions I'm pretty confident that they'll stand up to most of the idiots that come into contact with them. I could definitely see them lasting 3 to 5 years without developing any faults, even with the odd drop or spill added in for pessimistic measure.
Value
For under 100 pound in the UK, these represent fantastic quality. The Sony cans around the same price sound a little silkier, but are no better or worse sounding and certainly don't seem as solidly constructed.
Manufacturer Support
Have not had to contact Sennheiser.
The Wow Factor
There is nothing about any headphones that makes them stand out from the crowd really, but great sound, excellent build quality and good value for money are a significant combination.
Musical Background:
Producer / Composer
Musical Style:
EDM, Orchestral Filmscore, Sound Design
3 of 5 people (60%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 10, 2005 by a customer from gmail.com
"You'd be hard-pressed to find a better headphone around this price range."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
A great overall headphone.
Sound
Very good sound reproduction for accurate headphone monitoring, a tad bit thin on the low end though (the blue tack mod fixes some of this).
Features
The coiled cord can definitely get in the way sometimes.
Quality
I've owned these cans for a year and a half, stepped on them a couple times, and they have never broke or had any problems.
Value
In my opinion, these are the best headphones for the price range.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to call support.
The Wow Factor
Aesthetically, these headphones are pretty large, and youll probably look funny wearing them in public (if you care about that). They are durable and well constructed.
Musical Background:
Active Musician, Recording Enginner
Musical Style:
Alternative, Rock
3 of 6 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 22, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"grate stuff"
Sound
sounds grate for the price.
Features
I wold like to have the headset and cable were detachable. I spend my time in a power chair. My head set got raped up in my rear wheels it wold be nice if that could happen.
Musical Background:
recording engineer
Musical Style:
"Big Band & classical Music"
2 of 4 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 23, 2014 by Vanessa P in Here, there, everywhere, AZ
"Not good for mixing"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought these to give me the ability to do mixing with a closed back set of phones. I currently have an older AKG set of phones with a semi-open back. While they have great frequency response, there is some noise-bleed. The Sennheiser phones have consistently great reviews, so that's what I went with. On first listening, I discovered they have an almost 'muddy', mid-centric response. Forthunately, the phones came with an insert listing the frequency curve and I discovered that my ears were correct. These phones have a good, flat response in the low-to-upper mid range, but right at 2k the response just nose dives. About 7k it begins to come back up and then around 12k to 20k it spikes well above the rest of the range. For that reason, mine will be going back. My older AKG phones have much more consistent, even response across the frequency range than the Sennheiser phones. That is not to say the Sennheiser phones are bad, they just are not optimized for engineering/producing. They would probably work best as monitor phones for vocalists in the bass, tenor and upper soprano ranges. If you're looking for phones for mixing and production, I would strongly recommend against these.
Musical Background:
Pianist, multi-instrumentalist, home studio recording;
Musical Style:
Jazz, Blues, Rock, New Age
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 16, 2015 by Justin Heneghan in Chicago, IL
"Good Headphones"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Good headphones, they react a little fizzy the the headphone jack on my micro terror in high gain at times. Other that I don't have any complaints.
Musical Background:
Guitar on and off through out my life. I jam at home and with friends for now, aspiring to start performing.
Musical Style:
Rock, blues, funk, jazz, metal
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 30, 2005 by a customer from assinine.org
"I wish they'd fix the build quality. I'd buy some more. But how would I know? I already wasted about $200 on broken equipment"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Potentially great product. Great sound & comfort. Great isolation. Unfortunately the two I purchased had crappy head mount plastic that was broken within a day of use.
Sound
These sound great, and the external noise dampening is often very useful.
Features
normal features, although the ability to invert the earpiece bit me. After a session the drummer was complaining he was only getting one side. So (I replaced his cans and moved on) after the session I inspected them. On earpiece had the wires ripped apart. what had happened is when the drummer picked them up one side had inverted, then instead of un-inverting them, he twisted them back inplace, which ripped the wires out. So this headphone is too complex for your average drummer ;) . So now I've got a dead pair.
Quality
Sound quality and comfort is really nice for the price, but the build quality of the plastic is pathetic. I've had two pairs and both have had the little plastic pieces on the arch break. I'm using one pair with hair ties holding the plastic together. It will probably break soon because this leaves the little wires sticking out. My other pair is dead by drummer twisting when he should have un-inverted the earpiece.
Value
value is great if you luck out and don't get a broken one.
Manufacturer Support
unknown. I really should send them both back for replacements but I just don't have time. My AKG 240 cans are all still working and I've had them much longer.
Musical Background:
Recording Engineer
Musical Style:
All
2 of 6 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 22, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Great 'phones...until you use them more than once."
Sound
The sound is decent, when the headphones actually WORK. I'm on my second pair of the 280's, and there seems to be a chronic problem with the wires either shorting out or something. I was in radio using these 'phones for years, and treated them like a baby; yet, they still would end up shorting out, a piercing sound would appear every so often; otherwise, I like the lack of mid-range. High end/low end is what I like, and this set delivers...when they're working.
Features
Again, I treated these phones with overprotective/fanatical care, and they still broke. The headband...the plastic on there broke twice. These are NOT sturdy headphones. I used them Mon-Fri, for no more than 3.5 hours at a time, and they just don't hold up. I never even listened in just one ear/folded them over...not ONCE. I just don't get it.
Quality
It's too bad...these could be GREAT headphones. But, they just do NOT hold up. I bought them, returned the first pair after 2 months (after the headband broke the 1st time), then the second pair's headband started cracking about 3 weeks after I started using the 2nd pair. That's the thing...even if you "baby" these phones, good luck keeping them in working order for very long. I can't argue with the sound quality, which is always top notch with Sennheiser...my beef is with the extremely poor construction...all this from a cheapskate wanted the best and who wouldn't let anyone...ANYONE...else use my 'phones, let alone even look at them. I'm no engineer, I shouldn't have to think about how to replace the cord...or the headband...or the plastic on the outside of the headband...etc. etc. etc.
Value
I'd buy a pair of Sony's or Shure 'phones before this model again. I love Sennheiser, and have always been partial to their products, but lately, they don't hold up.
Manufacturer Support
I'm glad the store where I bought the 1st pair was willing to let me return them. Then I moved away, and now I'm stuck with a pair of headphones with a short of some sort or something in them, a broken headband, and no way to replace them. I wish I could use them with my iPod, the sound is so good...but I'm better off with the stock earbuds instead of putting up with these fragile phones.
The Wow Factor
Unless you use these phones once or twice a month, forget it. The sound quality is not worth the sacrifice of poor/weak construction. You'd be wise to spend your hard earned money elsewhere on a more sturdy pair of Sennheiser's or better.
Musical Background:
Program Director in Radio
Musical Style:
Rock/Pop
4 of 10 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 10, 2006 by a customer from gmail.com
"Excellent phones for Pro Studio use!"
Too bad there isn't a 9.5 vote. I expect to have these headphones for many years to come until they totally fall apart on me. It's the only reason I really went looking for new ones.
Sound
Excellent and I tested over 20 different pairs in it's price range and it was hands down the best sounding headphones. I'm an avid AKG fan and buying these was not an easy choice. I wanted something different with plenty of BASS and great highs -- these delivered the goods. The other reviews mention Sony -- but quite frankly I found these to totally crush any Sony phone in it's price range.
Features
Awesome isolation. If you have a loud noisy computer like I do and you're trying to compose something, these headphones will transport you to a total quiet and relaxing atmosphere. This is new to me and quite frankly, I don't know how I ever lived without it.
Ease of Use
Can't get any easier to deal with.
Quality
It looks sturdy but so far so good. I haven't dropped them yet though and according to the other reviews I'm a little taken back. I've owned AKG phones in the past and I'm hoping these will out last them.
Value
Excellent value in my opinion. I bought these for $99.00 and would have definitely paid $150.00 for them.
Manufacturer Support
Warranty is 2 years. Not too shab.
The Wow Factor
For headphones I really don't care what they look like but I must say, these phones aren't the sexiest but who cares.. They sound awesome and are really comfortable.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Symphonic / Choral / New Age / Rock
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 6, 2011 by a customer from bellsouth.net
"Go for the Audio Technica ATH-M50's instead."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I sent these back and opted for the Audio Technica ATH-M50 which cost a little more, but the reviews are outstanding. Haven't gotten them yet, but I can't wait. I will be using them for home recording.
Sound
These headphones lack on the bottom end. Might be what you are looking for to record. I did some research and concluded that the Audio Technica ATH-M50 is superior for about $30 more.
Features
Very comfortable. Great isolation.
Quality
Seems to be like most others made of plastic.
Value
The price is reasonable.
Manufacturer Support
haven't had to use support, but Sennheiser is a reputable company for sure.
Musical Background:
Amateur - 40+ years
Musical Style:
Contemporary Christian
1 of 5 people (20%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 27, 2005 by a customer from VERIZON.NET
"I HAVE A HOME STUDIO. I USE THESE HEADPHONES FOR EVERYTHING. CRISP CLEAN SOUND IS WHAT YOU GET FROM THIS HEADSET. FULL RANGE SOU"
Sound
THE SOUND IN THIS PRODUCT IS ONE OF THE BEST OUT THERE.
Features
ALMOST EVERYTHING ON THIS HEADSET IS REPLACEABLE.
Value
THIS WA THE FIRST PLACE THAT I SEEN IT FOR $200. I PAID $90 FOR THE HEADSET, SO I BOUGHT THREE.
Musical Background:
HOBBYIST
Musical Style:
INSTRUMENTALS, RAP, R&B, ROCK, JAZZ, HOUSE
4 of 13 people (31%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 22, 2007 by a customer from hotmail.com
"Solid build, solid sound, great value"
Sound
Very nice clear sound - it does have that closed headphone feel, but once I got used to it and its slight bassiness I started to notice all these details in the music I wasn't hearing through my speakers. Awesome isolation from outside noise - great for studio or just home use. They'll play good through your ipod or whatever thanks to the 64 ohm resistance.
Features
Nice little gold screw on 1/4" jack, which is pretty standard with most decent cans. A bag would have been nice though!
Ease of Use
yup
Quality
Solid. Those Irish know their stuff, and while these are pretty chunky looking, they are also really chunky feeling - they won't break in a hurry.
Value
Get these cheap online and you won't regret it!
The Wow Factor
Let's face it - not cool at all. A small price to pay, as you probably shouln't be trying to pick up with headphones on anyway!
Musical Background:
Playing and home recording
Musical Style:
Funk/Groove/Jazz
5 of 16 people (31%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 2, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"The only reason I would not purchase another set would be if they are not longer available."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is a pair of headphones that I will use as long as they are serviceable, which I expect to be for a very long time due to their construction and materials.
Sound
The other set I had hurt my ears after wearing them for just a few minutes. My new Sennheiser headphones are extremely comfortable even after a long session. The sound is fantastic and they will now be the only phones at my studio.
Features
No accessories.
Ease of Use
Just plug 'em in and sit back and listen!!!!
Quality
The pads are extremely comfortable and the size ensures the noise cancelling I've experienced.
Value
You can't beat the price for the quality.
Manufacturer Support
The product is so good, I haven't needed support.
The Wow Factor
It's practical, excellent performance and comfortable. What else can you ask of a pair of headphones?
Musical Background:
Recording
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 25, 2003 by a customer from johnbracken.com
"Awful sound quality."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
Weak low end, fake midrange, paint peeling highs... just awful sound quality. The people who are raving about these headphones should try the Sonys.
Quality
They are well made, but sound awful.
Value
Spend a little more and buy the Sony 700's if you want true sounding headphones!
Manufacturer Support
Who cares!
The Wow Factor
I received a pair from the factory. I tried them out against a pair of Sony 700's. Hands down, the Sony 700's sounded better across the board! Several band/crew members tried them out too. Nobody liked the sound of the HD-280's.
2 of 23 people (9%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 7, 2011
"Very good product. Not as great as the OLDER version. Great sleek new design. Padded Headset."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I will keep these. I only use them to watch/listen to the TV when I need the sound down/off. They work well for that purpose. The background noise does not bother me from that close range.
Sound
I have an older set of Sennheiser Headphones and they are absolutely awesome. I even wore them when I went outside to garden. But these are not as good, the sound is great, but background interference noise is bothersome and sometimes they fade out. I can't wear these outside to garden, noisy interference. I kept my old Sennheisers for back up and if I should purchase another pair, I'd look for the old ones.
Features
No accessories
Ease of Use
Very simple to use
Quality
looks sleek and well made. Trimmed down from older model I have, headphone fits much better and are padded. I like that feature. The unit is smaller and looks better.
Value
For higher end products, this is not way out of range in pricing.
Manufacturer Support
NA
The Wow Factor
NA
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 2, 2010
"for 100$ headphones, these and the sony mdr7506 are in a class of their own, though they both excel at different areas (i will c"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
if you want awesome isolation at under 100$ for tracking only, these are the headphones for you! if you want to mix, casually listen, as well as track nearly as good, then the sony mdr7506's are a better choice. i would highly recommend both depending on the application , but overall sony's are a little better.
Sound
not as good as other 100$ headphones. maybe because they try to be too accurate like studio monitors, or maybe the position of the speakers in relation to your ears is a bit off.. but inside isolated headphones it creates a boxy, less pleasant sound than others. the sony mdr 7506 blow it away in this category imo
Features
great isolation, comes with everything you need as far as headphones are concerned. the hd280's have the edge in this department, as the sony mdr7506 has more sound bleeding and slightly less isolation
Ease of Use
the cord isn't as manageable as others , and it can be a little hard to get a comfortable fit on bigger heads.. sony mdr7506 are better in this department
Quality
good, but the sony mdr-7506 are better. the sony's are like shure microphones, they won't break even if you try to break them.
Value
you cannot get better isolation headphones for under 100$ period. too bad they lack in casual listening/mixing departments a bit.
Manufacturer Support
never used their support, but sony's professional audio department is awesome
The Wow Factor
i wouldn't mind having a pair of these when i need to record stuff where headphone bleed might be an issue.. but i already have the sony 7506's which are good enough 95% of the time and i can't justify spending another 100 bux on these.. but if someone wants to give me a pair for free i'll take them :D
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 18, 2009
"Great headphones top notch!!!"
Great headphones!!!!!!!!
Sound
Awesome clarity very comfortable.
Features
You can hear and feel the quality.
Value
Great value
The Wow Factor
Great design the mercedes of headphones
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 6, 2009
Sennheiser HD 280 Pro Customer Review
They were not good enough to warrant buying anther pair. I;m going for something else.
Quality
I break a lot of headphones - these were no exception. But read thru reviews and other users have had the plastic in the headband break off. Thats what happend to mine. Frustrating because otherwise good phones. COmpared to other phones they lasted pretty well as my experience is that they all have too much cheap breakable plastinc in them.
1 of 4 people (25%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 7, 2008
"Buy them recommend without hesitation"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I won't need any other cans this is it!
Sound
Unbelievable, the best sounding cans I have used.
Features
These fold up into a compact size unlike my HD 520
Ease of Use
screw on 1/4" adapter, comfortable and light weight
Quality
Seem rugged and well made
Value
For the price I would buy again without a doubt
Manufacturer Support
not used
The Wow Factor
They look great feel great and the sound is out of this world!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist, former musician
Musical Style:
Country, rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 20, 2007
"I love em'"
100% satisfied
Sound
Great set of headphones for recording vocals or whatever!!! NO BLEED!! at a nice comfortable level.
Features
swivels and everything. Very nice build
Ease of Use
A Caveman can do it!!!
Quality
I returned a pair of $199 headphones for these in exchange and I am super happy that I did. Great headphones get as many as you need.
Value
BEST VALUE POSSIBLE!!!
Manufacturer Support
won't need em!!
The Wow Factor
They just look like professional headphones!!! And they are!
Musical Background:
Hip-Hop producer-engineer
Musical Style:
HIP-HOP
4 of 6 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 2, 2007
"This is to offset the jackass with the toilet plunger review."
The best.
Sound
Slightly bassy, but still superb for $100 cans.
Features
Screw on jack is aces. Would have been nice to have a bag.
Ease of Use
They're headphones. Is anything easier to use?
Quality
Adjusters cracked on my first pair. They've since been redesigned to be tougher. No probs with my second set.
Value
The best $100 cans on the market, period.
Manufacturer Support
No idea about service. Never needed it.
The Wow Factor
See above.
3 of 6 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us