Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Sennheiser e609S Silver Guitar Microphone

Sennheiser e609S Silver Guitar Microphone

Mic up loud guitar cabinets with the high-SPL-handling Sennheiser e609S. Its supercardioid pattern yields isolated, focused sound on stage or in the studio.

Overall User Ratings (based on 18 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(18)
Submitted February 20, 2012 by Michael Gordon in Boston, MA
"Great Bang For Your Buck!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This microphone is awesome! Compared to the Sm57 it beats it hands down. The design eliminates the use for a microphone stand, which is good cause I have a small stage, and the less clutter I have, the better. I was on the fence about getting this microphone or a SM57 or an Audix i5. I am glad I went with this, I will be purchasing another one soon!
Sound
I am a live sound engineer, and recently added this to my microphone rig. This product can handle a wide array of musical styles. I have used this for Blues, Rock, Punk, Surf Rock and everything else you can imagine. I think the sound quality of this is much better than an SM57. High gain before feedback is awesome too!
Features
The Most useful feature of this mic is that it eliminates the need for a stand on stage. If you are tight on space, than this mic is for you. Hang it through the handle of an amp, and place a small piece of tape on your XLR cord, and you are good to go. The components of the mic seem to feel a little cheap. It is extremely light compared to an sm57. That does not mean that this wont hold up. Just make sure you don't have people throwing it around, and what not.
Ease of Use
Very easy to get good guitar sounds out of this mic. The response is right where you need it, and it is tailor made for guitar sounds.
Quality
The product seems to feel lighter than I expected, but I baby my mics, so that's just me.
Value
Yes!
Manufacturer Support
Never had to deal with the company as of yet.
Musical Background:
Live Sound Engineer...
8 of 8 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 26, 2010 by Dylan
"Great mic, mediocre accessories."
Written by one of our gear experts!
I'm a junkie for gear so I'm always looking for something new and different. This mic will probably be used on everything I record until it stops working. In which case, I'll probably buy another or try out the 906. It's always a good idea to keep a stable of mics at the ready. Definitely recommend giving this one a shot.
Sound
Great presence, very punchy, aggressive. I like it a heck of a lot more than a 57. Haven't used it live yet but it's great for recording dry tracks. Tends to pick up 10 and 12 inch speakers better than 15s. Get a windscreen and try it on vocals with an extra room mic for that Albini-esque sound...
Features
The mic seems tough enough. It's really compact, I might try using it to mic up some drums. The bag is okay, the clip is useless. It doesn't fit the stem of the mic at all, barely fits over the XLR jack on the cable. I'm just using it draped over the cab instead.
Ease of Use
It's a mic, point it at the thing you want to pick up, pretty easy. All depends on your ear and experience in the studio I guess.
Quality
Probably not bomb proof like a 57 but I don't think I'll be taking this one on the road with me. I could see it surviving a few rough nights at The Mutiny, maybe.
Value
Same price as a 57 but smaller, lighter and less noisy.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't had to deal with the manufacturer yet. Probably won't need to unless I do something stupid to it.
The Wow Factor
Not as sleek looking or feature rich as the e906 but I don't really need selectable filters on a dynamic mic, that's what EQ is for.
Musical Background:
Active Musician, DIY Engineer
Musical Style:
Punk, Alt-Country, Rock
4 of 4 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 10, 2019 by Kevin K in Lansing, IL
"Great mic for amps."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Just got this today, had to try it out , recorded a bass track with the mic hanging in front of my bass amp and I could not be more impressed with the sound it captured. Same goes for my guitar , this mic captures exactly what you produce , with crystal clear sound reproduction, this mic is well worth the money , and sounds as good as a much more expensive one.
Musical Background:
I’ve been playing guitar , bass, drums , and some keyboards for over 25 years.
Musical Style:
Indie rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 3, 2013 by Nate S
"Sennheiser e609S Silver Guitar Mic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is OK. No too much different that an SM57 but you can hear a little mid hump....not too noticeable unless you're really paying attention. The benefit of this si tat if you have a tight stage or limited to working space, you can hang this from the handle to the speaker and it will save the space that gets taken up by a boom stand.
Musical Background:
20 years
Musical Style:
blues, indie, rock, electronic, hip hop
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 13, 2005 by a customer from gmail.com
"Great for Metalcore/Hardcore, or any touring band."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
My band tours the midwest and i bring these with everywhere, we use all Sennheiser on guitars and bass, Audix on drums, and Shure Beta 58A's for vocals. This mic has held up the best so far.
Sound
Very crisp and punchy. Highly Reccomend for Metalcore/Hardcore bands looking to really bring out the awesome power of the Peavey 5150 or Mesa Triple Rectifier.
Features
No real features, I like the carrying pouch compared to Shure's.
Quality
Very solid and tough, nice powdercoat finish so scratching isn't much of an issue.
Value
Basically the same price as SM-57, but sounds alot better.
Manufacturer Support
Sennheiser = Good People.
The Wow Factor
The overall look of the microphone makes you think it's a refreshing, unique piece of equipment, and it is.
Musical Background:
Activie Musician
Musical Style:
Metal/Hardcore
7 of 8 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 30, 2004 by a customer from aol.com
"it works in a mix"
i am always looking for new sounds to get(as everyone else is) and it worked pretty well i am sure i can get it sounding really good with the right gear to back it up with, at the budget home studio level this is good enough to experiment with.
Sound
the mic is great for getting right up on the cab the olny problem i have is that it made everything come out harsh and bright. this worked out by adding a room mic and mixing this one lower in the mix to pick up some more highs. sounded nice in a full mix.
Features
came with a mic clip, pouch, and manual on everything about it. really nice.
Quality
everything is very solid and nice. i really liked that about this. it seems a little more solid than my sm-57.
Value
very good price for what can be done
Manufacturer Support
havent tried
The Wow Factor
its a mic......
Musical Style:
alternative,metal,ska
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 7, 2016 by Travis M in Sevierville, TN
"Expensive, Maybe"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is an e609s, the only noticeable difference to the e906 is the lack of a filter switch. I'm recording guitar tracks with it. I don't see the need to go into the isolation box to switch a filter button when the digital world allows applying filters in the mixing process. The upper frequencies are a bit brighter than my chinese sm57 copycat.
Musical Background:
Played since the 1980's.
Musical Style:
Rock, southern rock, country, metal, hair bands :D
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 15, 2007
"Good mic, but not the only one you need."
Sound
The e609 works really well in some situations and really badly in others. It's definitely not as versatile or reliable (sound-wise) as the venerable SM-57. It lacks the bottom end of most electric guitar mics and it sounds quite shrill at times. Recording-wise it works occasionally, usually for clean guitar parts where more clarity is needed. From my experience, where this mic shines is in live situations, particularly at clubs and other less than perfect acoustic spaces. The mic fits into the mix nicely and doesn't get into the boom range.
Features
Slick guitar amp mic. The front is clearly labeled and it's designed so it can be draped over the front of the cabinet if need be. These are both handy features for live situations. Other than that it's pretty much just a mic.
Value
There are better values out there for sure, but I'm glad I have this mic in my collection. It's a mic worth having.
6 of 9 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 12, 2004
"Badass guitar Amp mic."
Sound
Get it as close as possible for a punchy tight sound. Block off the rear of it if you really want a dry sound. Its Super cardoid so it'll pick up a fair amount of signal from the back.
Musical Style:
Metal
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us