Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Seymour Duncan SA3SC Woody SC Acoustic Guitar Pickup

Seymour Duncan SA3SC Woody SC Acoustic Guitar Pickup

This pickup offers a clear, bright tone minus the feedback. Included is a 14 ft. cable and a cloth drawstring storage bag.

Overall User Ratings (based on 58 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(58)
Submitted October 16, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Great Acoustic Pickup!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This will serve my needs for years to come.
Sound
Great sound. Turns my acoustics to acoustic/electric with deeper sounds.
Features
Nice long cable and attractive wood finish
Ease of Use
Very easy to install and connect
Quality
Very good workmanship.
Value
Reasonably priced and very affordable.
Manufacturer Support
Seymour-Duncan has a good reputation. I have used their pickups and they have never disappointed me.
The Wow Factor
Very attractive maple finish contained in a attractive cloth carrying bag.
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Rock and Country
13 of 13 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 11, 2010 by a customer from hotmail.com
"works for acoustic bass as well!!!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
i'm using this in a rather unusual way...on my acoustic bass! after searching forever for a similar product made specifically for acoustic bass and not finding any, i decided to try the woody. i was very pleasantly surprised to find it worked great! the e sting was weaker than the rest, but raising the pup under it helped the volume balance. you get a clean, 'quiet' acoustic sound. this will not make your bass sound like an electric but keeps that wonderful acoustic tone. though i'm very happy with the way this pickup performs on my acoustic bass....WHY aren't you pickup manufacturers making pups specifically for acoustic bass????
Sound
very clear, no noise, great acoustic tone
Features
no 'features' to speak of, stick it in your soundhole, plug it into your amp, and go!
Ease of Use
couldn't be simpler
Quality
very nicely made, pretty, and MADE IN THE USA!!!
Value
inexpensive, great quality
Manufacturer Support
don't know, no need to contact
The Wow Factor
other than it being encased in pretty, light colored wood which matches my guitar, not a lot of sex appeal
Musical Background:
hobbyist
Musical Style:
rock, alt
24 of 25 people (96%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 9, 2015 by Larry L in Norman, OK
"SD SA3SC Woody Pickup"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I was looking for a pickup to use with my Guild 12-string, which did not have electronics. I wanted something inexpensive that did not require mutilation to my guitar. I was attracted to the Woody because of price and the high reviews. What a surprise. This pickup produces a huge sound with clarity, no feedback, and very quiet. I highly recommend. Looks great as well.
Musical Background:
Playing acoustic guitar since 1964, mainly 12 strings.
Musical Style:
Christian and folk
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 30, 2014 by RAY M in KOKOMO, IN
"Acoustic Guitar Pickups"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This was the first Seymour Duncan that I have purchased.I have purchased other acoustic pickups in the past and wasn't totally satisfied with the results.Now,I question myself as to why I didn't purchase Seymour Duncan from the very beginning.There is none better on the market today for giving you that clear non distorted acoustic sound.Seymour Duncan is number in acoustic pickups.
Musical Background:
Have been playing guitar for 52 years...at home and small venues,church.
Musical Style:
Christian,country,and soft rock.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 16, 2008 by a customer from hotmail.co.uk
"Hassle free,good quality tone"
Probably upgade to the deluxe version
Sound
For a pop in,Iwas very suprised at the tone.I thought I'd have to butcher another guitar to amplify,but no,its really good!The sponge allows you to control whether you accent the bass or the treble,just by the angle you choose to install it.no drilling,no equaliser.Makes an acoustic sound like an acoustic. Pleasantly suprised!
Features
No batteries.Full sound
Ease of Use
no installation required
Quality
seems robust and hardy
Value
great value
The Wow Factor
Looks good,sounds good
Musical Background:
active singer/songwriter
Musical Style:
acoustic
16 of 18 people (89%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 13, 2014 by Vic S in Meriden, CT
"Excellent option to buying a electric acoustic"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Was curious on how my acoustic would sound amplified . Sort of a test if I'd ever decide to buy an electric acoustic. The sound is so good ,clear and pristine I won't be buying another guitar just yet, this more than does the job for what I need. I'm not IMO a real guitarists (I have no band and don't gig or anything) as I'm still very early in my learning. So take that into consideration .i will say I honestly have put off , possibly indefinitely getting the acoustic electric. it sounds that great.
Musical Background:
Noodling around , lessons for 1.5 yrs plus
Musical Style:
Rock ,blues , scales/riffs and chord practice .all types ....never used manufacturer support but assumed 5 stars
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 29, 2012 by Richard B in Mena, AR
"Astounding for the Price!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
There are a lot of fancier, more expensive acoustic pickups and systems out there, but for the money, this is tough to beat. You'd have to be a little obsessive-compulsive about your tone to find fault with this thing. Run through my Tech 21 Trademark 30, I can dial up very realistic acoustic tone, and best of all, I can pop it out and reinstall it on any of my 6 acoustic guitars. Unless you lie awake at night writhing and sweating about your acoustic tone, you don't really need all the expensive stuff. This and a capable regular amp that you can also use with your electric guitar will get the job done to satisfying standards. You don't actually need a dedicated acoustic amp and the Mission Control Computer from NASA sitting in the soundhole of your guitar. Get one.
Musical Background:
Guitarist for 44 years, also play some piano, sax, and banjo.
Musical Style:
Country, classic rock, southern rock, blues, Texas blues.
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 16, 2010 by a customer from gmail.com
"this thing is awsome !!"
ill keep it till it breaks. than write another review
Sound
the sound was clear and very vibrant. it was still able to hold note even though its not built in.
Features
i feel that the quality of the material is great and it has a sleek design.
Ease of Use
just slip it on plug it in and play. if it sounds bad to you. buy a better guitar..
Quality
strong, durable, flawless finish.
Musical Background:
active
Musical Style:
classical
13 of 16 people (81%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 13, 2015 by Ron W in Manchester, NH
"Seymour Duncan SA3SC Woody Pickup is great"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This acoustic guitar pickup is great. It is easy to mount and dismount. It has a clear crisp sound. I would recommend to all of my friends.
Musical Background:
Have been playing guitar and Bass for 50 years
Musical Style:
Rock, Blues
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 26, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"Value"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This thing is great for the price.
Sound
They weren't kidding about the louder B string. I first ran it direct to PA and it sounded like an electric guitar during rehearsal. The guitar is nothing special, but after running it first through my M-Audio DMP3 preamp, it sounds great for my purposes.
Features
It's simple and easy to setup and the bag it comes with is handy.
Ease of Use
Pops right into a standard sized soundhole with ease, but strumming takes getting used to with the pickup and the cable in the way sometimes.
Quality
The wood pickup is nice, but I'm just waiting for the day that I have to repair the cable that's attached to it.
Value
The price alone makes this a good pickup if you need one in a pinch.
The Wow Factor
More like I need it.
Musical Background:
Some
Musical Style:
Rock Country Comedy
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 10, 2012 by Dan B in Delavan, WI
"Well liked"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Easy to use pickup. It fits easily (push in one end, squeeze against foam to fit in other end). I like that it can be positioned with varying distance to the strings for different sounds. The cord is long and flexible and none of our players have complained about it. We're a small church, no fancy attention to audio details. This pickup fits our needs perfectly.
Musical Background:
A/V guru at local church 6+ years. Drummer for past 4 years.
Musical Style:
Christian worship. Melodic Rock.
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 31, 2013 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Great product"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Works great! My daughter loves it
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 2, 2012 by Grant Campbell in Fort Lauderdale, FL
"Seymour Duncan Woody acoustic guitar pickup"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Love thiis little pickup. I wish it had volume/tone controls, but for the price I can adjust my amp. Great sound, good looking.
Musical Background:
I've been playing for over 50 years, if it has strings I'll at least get a tune out of it
Musical Style:
I like everything but rock & rap. A table saw accident curtailed my conventional playing, so I switched to steel & dobro.
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 11, 2011 by a customer from ellsouth.net
"great pick up but for steel strings only"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I gave it to my son who has a acoustic guitar with steel strings. I bought a peavey microphone with stand and that works good with my nylon string guitar. I have to turn up my gain and volume on my orange tube amp to make it work. The amp effects seem to work this way too. I can use it for voice and I could also use the mike to pickup my amp and run it thru a pa system too.
Sound
very nice pick up
Features
the installation was very easy
Ease of Use
works great with steel strings but will not pick up nylon strings as the product says but unfortunately the on line description misses this fact
Quality
well made
Value
the price was right, I bought it used. And the product works well with steel string guitars.
Manufacturer Support
not applicable
The Wow Factor
won't work with my nylon string guitar.
Musical Background:
10+ years woodwinds mostly
Musical Style:
smooth jazz
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 15, 2006 by a customer from lycos.com
"Very good buy!"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
Sound
Clean and hum free, voluminous
Ease of Use
Very user friendly, including the built-in cable, which actualy can cause a bit of a problem, since it is only 6 meters long
Quality
Very solid
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
alternative
13 of 20 people (65%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to