Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Seymour Duncan SPB3 Quarter Pound P Bass Pickup
BACK IN STOCK

Seymour Duncan SPB3 Quarter Pound P Bass Pickup

Still using stock pickups? Achieve a fatter, fuller, and punchier sound and enjoy greater sustain with Seymour Duncan's SPB3 Quarter Pound P Bass pickups.

Overall User Ratings (based on 66 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(66)
Submitted August 2, 2004 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Less than expected."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'll never buy other pickups.
Sound
I baught this pickup along with the mathcing jazz pickup for my fender deluxe, unfortunately, they sound almost exactly the same as the factory pickups. im sure theyre great for anyone with a cheap squier or foreign made fender, but if you have american fender electronics in your bass, dont bother with these.
Features
Came with covers and screws, but no supporting spogne or whatever, so i had to peel them off my old pickups. They should be included.
Quality
Made very well.
Value
Should be a little cheaper (based on my experience with their similiarity to my old pickups).
Manufacturer Support
I'm sure theyre great, never ahd to deal with them.
The Wow Factor
Definately wanted it a lot, ever sicne I picked up my first bass (where these would have improved it), however on my current bass, it only deeped the sound, which is a plus, but maybe not so much for the money.
Musical Style:
pop punk, classic rock
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 5, 2012 by Dr Wizardface in nowhere, HI
"Crumby squirer pickups to seymour duncans"
I have a second hand squier p-bass I bought for 70 quid.the pickups it came with were pretty rubbish , so after a couple of years I decided to change them.I read a lot of reviews and looked at a lot of difrent pickucks , and found it all a bit arbitrary reading about another persons interpretation of sound. , and wouldnt rely on any ones opinion who used words like "awsome" anyway. If your search for some sound clips thats helpfull.these pickups cost me 60 quid , neary as much as the bass itself.Im very happy with them , the quelity of the sound is far superior , they seem to add the missing layers of tone and theres no hum or buzz , basically making the guitar not sound crap.chords sound nice , turning up the treble for a twangy funk stlye sounds nice too. they sound like a bass of a record. I had read they were a lot loader and suited to rock so was worried they might have a distorted effect wich i would find undesirable but they didnt.they dont come with springs , just some wierd little plastic tubes wich I can find no use for.they are much better than the made in china squier pickups , just much cleaner and professional sounding with a chunkyer build quility.I would advise them to anybody wanting to vastly improve a squier .I think there good. I think pyramids and space travel are "awsome" these are just pickups.hope that helps some one.
Musical Background:
kazoo virtuoso
Musical Style:
reggae , funk , jazz , hungarian harpsicord medlys , abstract mouse chase soundtracks , the music of my deranged mind.
14 of 15 people (93%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted June 24, 2020 by Ben F in Airway Heights, WA
"BAD. @$$."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I ordered this along with a Duncan Quarter Pound J-Bass bridge pickup (see my review of that one for a fuller picture) to replace the crappy stock pickups in my old Alvarez "Villain" bass, and the difference is night and day. This pickup has more of everything! More output, more punch, more lows, more highs, and especially more of just the right midrange. Like the bridge pickup, it really does cut through my guitar tracks without overpowering the mix. It's awesome even by itself, but with the J pickup, it gets that killer semi-scooped sound you hear on so many records. In a word: "BEEFY". HIGHLY recommended.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 14, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"worth every penny"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
These pickups completely changed the sound a my p-bass copy (fullerton). Man these things do every thing as advertised.
Features
very cool and beefy looking
Ease of Use
This was my first time soldering (only burned myself twice) ,actually they were easy to install, did it in about an hour.
Quality
these go to eleven!!!!
Value
I would recommend these to anyone who is tired of the sound from there p style bass. Mine sounds awsome since the install.
The Wow Factor
If you are using stock pickups you don't know what you are missing.
Musical Background:
player
Musical Style:
metal
10 of 11 people (91%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 14, 2005 by a customer from comcast.net
"Very high quality pickups."
I don't need to change pickups in my precision ever again (in all likelyhood).
Sound
This pickup has a full and fat sound. My fender precision standard improved greatly from it. It has become an integral part of my "rhythm bass" sound (I'm looking to switch over to a quarter pound jazz and musicman replacement for my Fernandes Tremor, my "lead bass").
Quality
Seymour Duncan... need I say moire? THe man is known for making great pickups.
Value
Worth ever penny.
The Wow Factor
Very good pickup. Again, it's part of my sound. The sounds is good for most of what I do. I play some free form jazz that my fernandes is better suited to, but that's due to bass type, not the pickups.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Alternaive, Jazz, Metal, and Rock
15 of 17 people (88%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 10, 2013 by jerrod k in wooster, OH
"quarter pounder"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
good pickups to up grade lower end bass
Sound
defently added to my low end and mid range. it seriously improves the sound of a lower end bass. my sx sounded ok before now it sounds awsome.
Features
quarter inch poles for more range and output
Ease of Use
easy
Quality
so far hoding up great
Value
its worth it
Manufacturer Support
less than desireable
The Wow Factor
great punch
Musical Background:
been jammng around almost 15 years
Musical Style:
whatever catches my fancey
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 17, 2003 by a customer from koyote.com
"Getting a great sound from a inexpensive bass guitar."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I would have purchased sooner if I would have known how good the sound would be.
Sound
Great Sound. I put the P Bass and Jazz Bass pick ups on my Ibanez. I own a 1963 Fender Jazz Bass I purchased new in 1963 and my Ibanez with the Seymours sounds as good as my vintage jazz.
Features
One thing I had to do, is file the Jazz pick up cover a little to fit.
Quality
Solid
Value
For Sure!
Manufacturer Support
N/A
The Wow Factor
N/A
Musical Style:
Rock, Jazz, Blues, Christian, Bass
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 29, 2009 by a customer from gmail.com
"Great pups!!"
Among other basses, I own a Yamaha RBX460 that has been heavily modified. Part of the modifications done is replacing the stock PJ pickups. Yamaha pickups have come a long way since the time that I bought this bass, but they stunk back then. Anyway, I replaced the Yamaha PJ set with a Basslines Quarter Pound P and Quarter Pound J Bridge. I love the set. The installation was tricky, but I think only because I had never installed pickups before this. I love the P bass tone this pickup provides. I also like that it is noise cancelling. The Quarter Pound J at the bridge is NOT hum cancelling though, so when I play this bass in the studio, it is my go to bass for P-bass tone. I recently converted the bass to fretless, so I can't wait to record with it again!
Musical Background:
Session Studio and Live Performance Bassist
Musical Style:
Anything and Everything
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted July 31, 2019 by scott cooper in croydon, PA
"Two pair"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I own Two basses that I have replaced the stock PU with QP basslines. My Fender Pbass has never sounded better, and I bought a set for my Samick 5 string. Phat tone is what you get good for any style of music you play. Wish they had kept the Basslines logo I think it's much cooler than the Seamore dunkin.
Musical Background:
pro musician
Musical Style:
Rock, Jazz, folk, Broadway show tunes
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted October 9, 2006 by a customer from verizon.net
"ok pickup"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I'm not the guy you should be listening to if your looking to buy this pickup cause I didn't do it justice with good gear, i'm running it through crappy hartke gear.
Sound
I guess it improved my tone a little in my bass. I should notice a huuuuge difference though considering that its a SQUIER, thats right a SQUIER p-bass!! When I max out the highs, it sounds way too peircing and the lows are a bit muddy. I guess I need new gear (SVT-3Pro combined with an eden 410 cab, no better match!) when I get the money :(
Features
eh...
Ease of Use
not that hard to put in, just need some sautering skills :)
Quality
didn't blow up yet...
Value
the tone gain wasnt worth the money :(
Manufacturer Support
didn't need it yet...
The Wow Factor
don't really care for it.
Musical Background:
musician
Musical Style:
Punk/Ska/Reggae
4 of 10 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to