Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Seymour Duncan SHR1 Hot Rails Humbucker Pickup
BACK IN STOCK

Seymour Duncan SHR1 Hot Rails Humbucker Pickup

This single coil pickup offers extremely high output tone and noise cancelling effects without having to alter your guitar in any way.

Overall User Ratings (based on 60 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(60)
Submitted July 30, 2016 by Darrin Ros in Jonesboro, AR
"House Cat with Lion's Teeth"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Put the Hot Rails in the Sea Foam Green Strat I got from you guys. Guitar goes from sparkle clean tone to Rip your balls off just for being in the room in 2 seconds. Sustains like my Les Paul. If your stratocaster is playing possum, install one of these hot rails and it will show it's teeth. Makes my Marshall smile.
Musical Background:
Playing for 40 years
Musical Style:
Guitar intensive rock and blues
7 of 7 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 27, 2010 by a customer from gmail.com
"Very worthwhile Strat upgrade"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Love it.
Sound
I replaced the Tex-Mex bridge single-coil in my lefty 60th Anniversary mexican strat with this guy. I also had the volume pot replaced with a 500k potentiometer, in lieu of the 250k pot that comes standard on strats. This is important, as the new humbucker won't sound right otherwise. Really great sound, and the volume bump that people have complained about is relative to what other pickups you have in the guitar, so with me it was hardly noticeable as the Tex Mex pickups are pretty darn hot themselves. Great sound, no hum, sounds really rich and full. Thick as a Les Paul? No. A strat with a Hot Rails sounds different than a Les Paul, as it should. Different animal. I
Features
Mine's white, and blends well with the other pickups on the strat. It also features awesome sound...
Ease of Use
No fuss, no muss; once I got it back from the tech after having it installed, it sounded awesome straight away. It's made me play my strat a lot more now, prompting me to order a Wilkinson VS100 to replace the crap-tastic stock bridge on standard Fenders.
Quality
I think Seymour Duncan is a great company, and I expect years and years of faithful service from this pickup...
Value
These still sell for what they did over twenty years ago when they came out on the market, which shows remarkable value...
Manufacturer Support
Ambivalent about this one, as I've never had the occasion to reach them for anything...
The Wow Factor
This took a great-sounding guitar to a whole new level. Great tone, great sustain, great harmonics, dead-silent.
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
rock
11 of 12 people (92%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 29, 2011 by a customer from aol.com
Seymour Duncan Hot Rails Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
Nice warm neck humbucker bridge sound. Just what I was looking for. I was playing a lot of clean type music when I purchased my Strat, but got into more aggressive music as time went by. This pickup is a prefect drop in replacement to get you start to sound more agressive. I did the bridge pickup already. This purchase was for the neck position.
Features
Comes with all you need, well execpt you need to have soder, and know how to replace this or have a Tech do it for you.
Ease of Use
Its a pickup. Once its installed you are set.
Quality
Perfect! well made.
Value
Sure beats buying a new guitar for a good humbucker sound!
Manufacturer Support
Love all their products
The Wow Factor
Looks fantastic in the Strat!
Musical Background:
Active musician
Musical Style:
Rokc, Hard Rock, Alt
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 13, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
Seymour Duncan Hot Rails Customer Review
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
I am very haPpy with the hot rails pick up east to install and zzounds was easy to order from and was a great experience
Features
Great pick up now I just have to replace the rest of the stock pick ups
The Wow Factor
Great pick up
Musical Background:
Hobbyist
Musical Style:
Hard rock. Metal
1 of 3 people (33%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

by a customer from cs.com
"I love it, i love it, i love it!"
As of now, i won't play through any other pickup, i like this one so much! I don't think it will wear out (any time soon), but if it does, i guss that means i'll have to get another one. If someone stole this, i would definately buy the same thing again!
Sound
It's got a nice, full tone, but if you roll back the bass, you can get a good shredding, vai-esque tone. The sound is great! It's exactly what i needed to shred like crazy, but still be able to play twangy stuff w/ my strat. I use a lot of gain and compression when i play, and w/ my single coils, i gt nasty feedback. With this pickup, its just like a humbucker, only hotter than the rest of the 'buckers i own. just run it through a PODxt (line6), and straight into my computer for recording, and straight into a marshall stack when i play live. It sounds wonderful in both scenarios. I reccomend it to anyone who is fed up w/ single coils not being 'saturated' enough.
Features
There are really no accesories or features of this pickup, except for the fact that this pickup kicks @$$!
Quality
Well, it fit perfectly in the opening already in my pickguard. I would've just gotten a regular humbucker, but imad my own pickguard out of diamond-plated aluminum, and i didn't want 2 screw it up. I have owned for about 6 months now, and when go 'on the road', i don't use anything bu the guiar with this pickup in it. I love it! It seems as though it will last a really long time (if not forever!).
Value
Definately worth the money!
Manufacturer Support
I haven't had to deal w/ the company yet, but i guess that's a good thing
The Wow Factor
I really like he way it looks. I have the traditonal white pickup covers on my other two single coils, but i decided to go with the black one, to give it a custom look, and it looks great!
Musical Style:
Rock
9 of 9 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 5, 2011 by a customer from aol.com
"Change! I needed to change the sound of my strat for more agressive music. This pickup was a nice drop in replacement that tota"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
THis pickup should last me forever. I would replace it in an instant if stolen. Have to get one to replace my neck pickup now!
Sound
This pickup will make your Stratocaster sound like a Les Paul.
Features
Very well made, should last forever.
Ease of Use
Sound is amazing. I like the sound of this pickup playing clean or dirty.
Quality
Very well made, should last forever.
Value
I would pay twice this price for such a nice upgrade.
Manufacturer Support
n/a
The Wow Factor
Looks great too!
Musical Background:
Active
Musical Style:
Rock, Hard Rock, Alt
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 3, 2011 by a customer from gmail.com
"this the best i stand by it 100%"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Sound
this is the best hum buckler i have i wouldn't have bought anything else if i would have found this one first the sound is insane!!!
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock, "Alternative
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 30, 2010
"Worth every penny and more."
I'll be using this for as long as I have my strat, no doubt.
Sound
This thing is really just great. I wired it into a MIM strat and made the sound of the guitar 5 times better. I play through a marshall JCM TSL half stack and this pickup just shines right through it. It's sooooo warm and there is no buzz to speak of. Harmonics are great, and the things got so much more crunch than my stock fender pickups. It's got all the crunch and sustain that you'd ever want and is versatile beyond belief. Everything from metal to smooth blues sounds great with this thing.
Features
The only feature was really the way the wires were set up and color coded, it made it that much easier to install especially seeing as I haven't done any wiring in quite some time.
Ease of Use
It takes some level adjustment to find the sweet spot, but you get that from any pickup. I wired this in in the bridge with a SC in the middle position, so when I use them both together it's like I'm playing a different guitar. This thing will sound however you want it to.
Quality
Only the best.
Value
I paid about 90 bucks for this thing at my local music shop and it was worth every penny. For what it did to my strat I'd be willing to pay over100.
Manufacturer Support
Haven't used it.
The Wow Factor
I mean, it's a pickup. It's not exactly sexy. I have this in the tail, a MIM stock in the mid, and a JB Jr in the neck. The three of them together make it look like I got my stat from the junk yard because they don't match, but who the hell cares? It sounds great.
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 4, 2008
"Great tone with screaming harmonics"
Great pickup for all styles. if your thinking about it just buy it.
Sound
This thing gives you a thick punchy sound that will blow your mind. Before I bought it I had an argument between this and a dimarzio track 2 pickup but I bought this one, Really happy too.
Ease of Use
You can get some really nice harmonics out of this.
Quality
It will last forever. There was a previous post on a different website that this pickup was getting caught with thier strings. So I read and found out he put it in the neck position, Bad Idea, This is a bridge pickup. You can probably find a way to put it in the neck position but it will sound like crap. put it in the bridge!
Value
Great value, technically it's a humbucker, so ill pay anything to get a humbucker in my strat without digging into it.
Musical Background:
gigger
Musical Style:
rock, classic rock, old school metal
4 of 7 people (57%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 29, 2006
"buy this if you are tryin harmonics, you get them anywhere anytime without even pinching it."
for quite a whil till the guitar breaks, haha
Sound
it really is great, especially if you dig harmonics.
Features
well it is just the pickup and some schematics
Ease of Use
easily easily goes right into to strat, and easy to install.flip it to the bridge and it is truly insane you can get every harmonic you'd possibly want, i mean i jus bought my baby, a les paul and got EMG 81's and 85's in it cause i'm a wylde fan, but i gan't get nearly the same pinches as i could ever get on the LP.
Quality
as long as you install it properly, you shouldn't ever have a problem
Value
i'd buy it again, as many times as it was stolen
Manufacturer Support
ii've had this pickup in my strat for well over a year and it has never acted up at all. EVER
The Wow Factor
it effin rocks, cause i loooovve the artifical harmonic and i had no idea what i was buyin at the time but i sure got lucky, cause
14 of 17 people (82%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 26, 2006
"BUY BUY BUY IT"
AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Sound
Great, adds a nice crunch to my strat. On Distortion, playing metal sounds so much better.
Features
Just the pickup, which is amazing
Ease of Use
Very easy to use, just flip the switch to the bridge and BANG you've got a amazing sound.
Quality
I've had it for months and still sounds AMAZING.
Value
You are getting a bargain.
Manufacturer Support
I've havent needed any yet because thats how good it is.
The Wow Factor
I love metal, and I own a Strat, this helps me achieve the sound I want.
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us