Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Seymour Duncan SH8 Invader Humbucker Pickup

Seymour Duncan SH8 Invader Humbucker Pickup

Combining ceramic magnets and hot coils, this pickup delivers a bright, powerful tone. It also cancels out hums and unwanted noise.

Overall User Ratings (based on 69 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(69)
Submitted December 14, 2020 by a customer from gmail.com
"My "Go-to" live pickup"
This review has been selected by our experts as particularly helpful.
I have had three guitars with this pickup. One Jackson, and two BC Rich Warlocks that I upgraded at the bridge.This pickup is very aggressive, and as a player of thrash metal it's my go-to. Very expressive, with great mids and chunky lows with loads of sustain. It sounds as wild as it looks, this thing really cuts through live. This will end up being an upgrade on my current Dean.
Sound
This pickup is ideal for my style. Very aggressive and articulate. Although I love this pickup for my style, it may be a one-trick pony. May want to try other pickups if a more colorful pallet is desired, as the words "glassy" and "warm" don't initially come to mind.
Features
As with all Seymour Duncan pickups this pickup is made with the best possible materials. Very satisfied
Ease of Use
This pickup does precisely what it is designed to do. If a warmer tone is desired, serious use of the tone knobs and switches, and amp channel settings are crucial. This is no subdued pickup. Screamer.
Quality
This product, like all other Seymour Duncan's I have used, is very well made, and holds up to a lot of torture. Only complaints are that is it is susceptible to picking up outside frequencies, and you hear every ding and bang through the guitar in these pickups. Not recommended for Studio use.
Value
For the reliability, taylored sound, pricing, materials used, and easy to find reference materials and support availability, I rate this product excellent. Would recommend highly for live performance and practice.
Manufacturer Support
Never had to deal with them before, but they're customer relations seem good. They have a lot of reference for their products online. It seems they try to be as available as possible to their customers. I like that.
The Wow Factor
This pickup has an exciting sound. For me, the Aesthetics, performance, and the quality are everything I need and look for in a live equipment piece. I love Seymour Duncan
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 4, 2006 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Invader's Superb Tones!"
This pickup is the best for metal... esp if u like those kind of middy distortion... all notes are clear and really stand out... get this one if u want something naturally aggressive tones, better than emgs...really
Sound
I just replace my BC Rich's BSDM pickups (from my Bich Archtop) today with an Invader on the bridge and a duncan distortion on the neck...and i was totally blown away. The Invader drive my amp like crazy, the sustain is infinity! Its the best metal pickup ever! Seymour duncan is one best pickup company ever...
Features
perfect!
Ease of Use
so far so good, no probs at all... looks aggressive, strong...
Quality
Seymour duncan makes the best pickups out there
Value
worth the money!
Manufacturer Support
they are nice, I've emailed them asking many things...thye respond really fast!
The Wow Factor
Yeah! I want it, now i have it!
Musical Background:
Guitarist
Musical Style:
Thrash Metal, Heavy Metal, Jazz, Fusion
16 of 17 people (94%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 30, 2012 by Shaun D in Chicago, IL
"This pickup invades"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I installed this pickup in my new schecter C-1 SLS passive guitar and it sounds awesome. I was looking for a pickup with more output without going to active. Its got a good amount of low end and also a decent amount of mids so you can get a thick, yet crunchy and defined tone from it. I play through my pod hd on the engl fireball patch at it sounds brutal. It's probably not as versatile as the JB or the duncan distortion, but if you play hard rock or metal you defiantly want to check this bad boy out. The cleans aren't that great, but if you roll the volume back its useable (I use my neck pickup, the seymour duncan jazz, for cleans anyways so its not a big deal) All in all, I'm satisfied with my purchase.
Musical Background:
I have been playing guitar for 12 years. I play in a band
Musical Style:
Metal
4 of 5 people (80%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted April 3, 2018 by Randy W in Charlotte , NC
"Beast"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
As beefy as it looks. If you want thick, crunchy sustain, this is your pickup. Powerful, yet articulate. Love it.
Musical Background:
Have been playing off and on 40 years. Have owned a couple high end Jacksons and Les Paul's, currently playing a Schecter.
Musical Style:
Metal, progressive metal, and rock.
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 28, 2009 by a customer from gmail.com
"SH-8 Invader Madness"
I originally bought these things so my sound would better reflect Synyster Gates of A7X. Well, afther DOING THAT, this thing has still held up as great for stuff like Firewind, Dimmu Borgir, Children Of Bodom... Basically is metal is your thing, these beasts will NOT let you down
Sound
This thing is so heavy as far as tone, but the high notes ring with clarity. I also hear people complaining that it doesn't have good clean tones...well, you either have to switch to the middle position, or just turn down your volume knob a little. Even if it's distorted, if the volume is like at 1 on your guitar, it'll still be pretty clear
Features
the black oxide caps apparently give it loads of power, plus they just make the thing look sexy as hell
Ease of Use
So clear yet so crunchy... this thing will make your sound absolutely mind-boggling
Value
for the power it gives you, this thing is relatively cheap
Manufacturer Support
never dealt with them over these pickups, but i also have blackouts, and when i had a problem with those, i called them and they resolved the problem in under ten minutes (most of that time was waiting)
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Melodic Death/Power Metal
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted August 19, 2007 by a customer from comcast.net
"Make your fingers SCREAM with an Invader!!!!"
Only Pick up worth putting on, it screams!
Sound
I love the sound the bridge pickup gives me, I put an Invader on 7 of my Gibsons. Blows original pick ups away. Not shabby guitars either, Les Paul custom, Custom shop Explorer, Limited V, Firebird, M3, SG Supreme, SG standard. I play heavy Classic rock, sustain for days, Tones of Neal Schon and Gary Moore, nuff said!
Value
Worth the price and then some, should come stock on ALL gibsons!
Musical Background:
Hobbyist, 40 years of being in bands
Musical Style:
Classic Hair Metal
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 12, 2012 by Joshua D in Meridian, NY
"AMAZING HUMBUCKER"
My girlfriend bought this.for me...yeah I know lucky guy right! Anyways I put this inbthe bridge and it is just amazing! The sound is so unique and bright but at the sametime so raw and dirty...its really awesome! IF YOU WANT TO SOUND LIKE A METAL GOD....SPEND $80 AND ORDER THIS NOW.
Musical Background:
hobby
Musical Style:
Classic rock,metal,thrash,punk,death metal,palm muting,power chords
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 1, 2008 by a customer from gmail.com
"Seymour Invasion!!"
Just get if u played punks,metals,hardcore...its a MUST
Sound
Big fat bassy sounding..good sustain too. Used in my EpiphoneSG in the bridge, he kick the neck p/u away!!Now im lookin for a little less power p/u for neck Lawrence L500 perhaps or even dimebucker?.Somehow, its get messy when i played with boss ml2 and Mg100 and Jazz Chorus. Cant really hear the note, loosing clarity over power?
Features
I tot its alnico at 1st, whu care, sound great. I dont know if its me or what, a fren put invader in his Basswood tele like Yamaha, compared to my setup, its kinda flat. Wonder if it doesnt fits the basswood? By the way, the invader clean sound, its sparkle and great..the best clean sound ever!
Ease of Use
its a pickup..the wiring diagram, im a electronic man, no prob at all..useful
Quality
As long as its hidden beneath the string, i guess they'll survive long enuf
Value
EXPENSIVE just like all Seymour Duncan, Dimarzios and EMGs..but worth the money, still wondering how does mighty mite motherbucker sound, use to be my 1st choice when it come to price.
Manufacturer Support
never try
The Wow Factor
The look itself make me bought one.Tempting!!Very good upgrade for my epiphone
Musical Background:
Semi profesional musician
Musical Style:
Hardcore, Punk, Metal, Reggea, Rock, Blues
of 2 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 22, 2007 by a customer from yahoo.com
"Powerful tone. Will rock your world !"
Sound
AMAZING ! I have one of these that came stock in my Tom Delonge Stratocaster. It sounds good playing pretty much any song whether clean or distorted. Sounds great for playing Blink-182 or similar bands. Just make sure you put good strings, Ernie ball would be the best.
Features
Looks great, Sounds great, And for only 75 dollars, WHY NOT have one ?
Ease of Use
Just plug in and jam out, It couldn't be easier.
Quality
Well my TD strat was made in 2001. It still sounds like it did the day I bought it. Still looks top notch, no rust, no scratches. It will last forever it seems.
Value
ONLY $75, I'm surprised it doesn't cost more.
Musical Background:
Ameture guitarist
Musical Style:
Rock, Alternative, Punk, Pop/Punk, Ska, Indie.
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 15, 2008 by a customer from hotmail.com
"mind blowing power and perfect doom tone."
i dont see myself replacing it any time soon. I'm actually probably going to buy another one for my second guitar.
Sound
The sounds is intense. its so deep and so booming. I play a downtempo doomy style punk and this is perfect for the drone partsbut its still sharp enough that the thrashed out parts dont mud together. I've had it in a few guitars now, and the only advice i have is the heavier the guitar the better the sound will be.
Features
it comes with the basic hardware for mounting which is good because its a little more heavey duty that the normal mounting hardware. And you can order plaes for it from duncan so it could be any color you wanted, thats a neat feature.
Ease of Use
I am a tone junky everything is natural i string amp heads together for my tone. so i dont know how easy it is for everyone else to dial in the corrrect tone. i sat for a solid hour just tinkering between amps to hit it just right.
Quality
The invader is solid as can be. it feels like a brick. looks incredible and is probably going to last me a life time. i've actually killed 3 guitars since i bought it. so its holing up pretty well.
Value
Its so worth the value.
Manufacturer Support
i havent needed to consult them on anything yet
The Wow Factor
it looks mean and it give my guitars he perfect tone.
Musical Background:
active musician recording engineer
Musical Style:
Downtempo, hardcore, doom, trash
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 5, 2006
"Wow! I don't have an original Les paul but who needs one with this pickup"
Get it, If you don't you'll be sorry.
Sound
The sound is awesome, you can hear the whole range of sounds really defined.
Value
It can turn an average guitar into a Gibson slayer.
The Wow Factor
I got the bridge,I'm getting the neck position next
2 of 3 people (67%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 17, 2005
"dirty pickup"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
best ever. i love it and im tired of writing this review, just buy the pick up its worth every penny. if not buy, the gibson dirty fingers pickup. that is real nasty as well, but it cost a little more. but worth everything
Sound
i love this thing. i know that tom delonge used it, so i decided to try it out, and it has brought me nothing but pleasure. I threw in some no name guitar, and now it is one hell of a machine. Its nice and deep sounding, and has lots of crunch and force.
Features
it doesnt have to best tone but it does get the job done if you want to rock out
Quality
it is my guitar for my dirty work. i dont use it to play clean stuff with though. i use my start for that. but it takes care of the dirty work better than anyone.
Value
whats not to like about this pickup. its one of the best on the market in my opinion and i have played a few guitars, and this is one of the dirtiest ones ever.
Manufacturer Support
havent had any problems, so yea the support has been great
The Wow Factor
ive wanted this ever since i saw. seeing those huge coils on top made me go to my happy place. knowing how dirty i could get with this pick up. that is sexual too
5 of 6 people (83%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted February 11, 2005
"mean sounding pickup"
it's not a bad pickup at all. it's dark and it's agressive.
Sound
i have this in the bridge position of my strat. this sounds really good for any of my distortion needs, especially metal. nice for playing leads and doing harmonics. it doesn't sound bad on clean either. it can sound mean or modest, depending on what you are trying to play.
Features
it's a pickup..
Quality
hmm.. just keep the magnets away and don't smash on it with a hammer or something.. should be okay :P
Value
$70 bux. to sound this good i will pay that price anytime..
Manufacturer Support
never dealt with them
The Wow Factor
this is a mean sounding pickup.
2 of 5 people (40%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted December 12, 2004
"do they come in a set of 2?"
hoping to get new guitar for christmas or somethin. they got bdsm pickups, hoping these better. again, do they come in a set of 2?
Sound
Ive never heard it but it sounds good.
Features
im looking for that certain black/death/heavy metal tone
Quality
Looks good
Value
i dunno if i can spend 80 bucks on pickups
Manufacturer Support
does anyone know if these come in a set of 2??
The Wow Factor
nice and black. white colored pickups dont look that great.
Musical Background:
playin for one year and still suck
Musical Style:
metal=black, death, speed, blade, heavy, etc. hard rock, stuff like pink floyd also
1 of 15 people (7%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 17, 2004
"Great metal pickup..........."
Only probs with it is it wont sustain long.too much power.
Sound
This pickup is loud and bass heavy.great for nu-metal,deathmetal tones.It has a great lead guitar sound because it has too much bass and mids. it crunches like no other pickup.
Features
its a high output humbucker.
Quality
its great
Manufacturer Support
n/a
The Wow Factor
its worth it.
of 5 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to
💬
Chat With Us