Rate and Review this Product Product Page and Buying Options
Seymour Duncan SH4 JB Humbucker Pickup
ONLY 2 LEFT

Seymour Duncan SH4 JB Humbucker Pickup

Access a wide variety of tones from super sweet to gritty and raw with this humbucker pickup. It offers the perfect amount of sustain and distortion.

Overall User Ratings (based on 62 ratings)
Overall:
Sound:
Features:
Ease of Use:
Quality:
Value:
Manufacturer Support:
The Wow Factor:
Overall:
(62)
Submitted June 2, 2011 by a customer from yahoo.com
"I am not sure why anyone would use anything else."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I have been using them for almost 10 years now and I don't even look for anything else.
Sound
There are a lot of pickups out there and let's be honest, sound is objective. However, it is tough to argue the perfect ammount of breakup and gain this pickup has is top notch.
Features
You can get it in multiple colors, and I like that they make a 'trem version' in the TB-4. Some pickups don't have the trem or Fender spacing option.
Ease of Use
Well...it works just like any pickup - it just sounds better when doing it.
Quality
Duncan always has grade A products.
Value
For what you get, the price is more than fair.
Manufacturer Support
I haven't had to deal with their tech support, but I did sign up on the website and I get a happy birthday email every year, so that has to count for something right?
The Wow Factor
I put them in every guitar I own - I even pulled a Burstbucker III out of my Les Paul, so that says a lot.
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Rock
6 of 6 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted September 22, 2015 by Michael R in Manitowoc, WI
"Adjustable pickup for any style"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I am a huge Pearly gates fan. This pick up is the next best thing. With fully adjustable pole pieces you can really fine tune your tone that you would like. It is a bit more subtle than the PG, and a little less bright, but it has a little more throaty growl to it. Cleans up very well with a roll of the volume knob. A little less "gainy" then the PG so if you're looking for a more vintage sound this works well, while still giving you enough gas for full on hard rock tones as well.
Musical Background:
Performing musician for 25+ years. Guitar
Musical Style:
hard rock, classic rock, blues, pop
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 3, 2012 by a customer from live.com
"Doesn't Get Any Better!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Great all around pickup! Harmonics just oooze from this Humbucker!
Sound
The JB Has got to be the best Humbucker pickup! I have them in my mohagony body guitars and in my alder wood guitars. They sound great in both! Just put one in a Amer. Fender HSS and it sounds sweet. Any thing from light cleans to Hard Rock to Metal!!!
Value
For the $ you can't go wrong.
Musical Background:
Hobby
Musical Style:
Rock, Metal
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted November 20, 2015 by Mel S in Sacramento, CA
"Fantastic!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I just received my Seymour Duncan JB Humbucker for the bridge p/u on my Epi Sheraton II. I have some experience with this pickup - that's why I bought it. Fantastic tones. It cleans up nicely with the volume rolled off. Open it up with a bit of overdrive and it's lead tone nirvana. zZounds is just great. I've bought quite a few things the last few months. Every purchase has been handled professionally. Also, it doesn't hurt that I'm about a hundred miles from the Nevada Warehouse. Fedex hub is also in my city. Add that up and I get free next day shipping. At most it takes two days. zZounds have treated me very well. I'm a customer for life.
Musical Background:
Guitar player for over 35 years. I've had periods where I was gigging regularly, I'm just an obsessed with tone hobbyist now.
Musical Style:
I''m not much for classifications of music. I'd say either good or 'meh'. Use an accordion - go to jail. (except David Hidalgo)
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 30, 2014 by Mark W in Indianapolis, IN
"The one, the only"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
This is the pickup that lanched a 100 others. Still like it better them most all others and I've tried a lot. Yes it's got the grit, but it can clean up nice as well. I'll rate support high, but I've never had a need to contact them.
Musical Background:
27 years in various bands.
Musical Style:
Blues/rock/metal
3 of 3 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 27, 2017 by Jay Gurley in Panama City Beach , FL
"Outstanding!"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I bought an ESP some time ago that was loaded with a JB/59 set. I was hooked for life! I recently bought a new Jackson Soloist and immediately installed a JB and a Pearly Gates. It sounds absolutely amazing! I'm now gonna purchase another JB for my Jackson Adrian Smith signature model, and I'll be installing one in a Jackson Kelly I'm getting in a few weeks.
Sound
Exactly the right output and tone for my sound.
Features
I love that it can be wired to give nice Stratty tones with a 5 way switch.
Ease of Use
Installs in minutes.
Quality
Great looking pup. Well made.
Value
Phenomenal price for such quality.
Manufacturer Support
Never had any issues.
The Wow Factor
Lots of WOW in the sound and looks of this pickup. It's a must for all my guitars. I'm a convert from EMG and I would never go back.
Musical Background:
30+ years as a working musician.
Musical Style:
Rock
Did you find this review helpful?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted May 10, 2011 by a customer from hotmail.com
"great pickup."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
very satisfied.
Sound
Very nice tone and nice hot output.
Features
n/a
Ease of Use
drop it in, solder it up... good to go.
Quality
Its a Seymore Duncan, 'nuff said.
Value
worth every penny.
Manufacturer Support
n/a
The Wow Factor
n/a
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
alternative rock
1 of 1 people (100%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 3, 2005 by a customer from hotmail.com
"The ultimate Stratocaster bridge pickup..........."
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
I put this pickup in my 95 American (of course) Stratocaster a week after I bought the guitar when it was new......never been disappointed with it, I wish I could say the same for all my other gear! I stress that I use this in my strats only, I prefer a Seymour Duncan distortion in my Les Pauls....but then again, that's a whole different beast!
Sound
Sounds great in the bridge position of a Strat type guitar. Hard rock/metal easily done with true tone. I've tried 'em all, this is the best for your Strat..........
Features
Does everything I ask it to....Country, rock, blues, metal....all from a stratocaster!
Quality
Stick with Seymour Duncan pickups, nothing else compares, I own at least ten, never had a problem with any of them.
Value
Can't beat 'em for the price.........
Manufacturer Support
Never needed their help, their website says it all..........
The Wow Factor
I wouldn't use anything else in a Strat.....bridge position, I leave the stock pickups in the middle/neck. Sexy combination
Musical Background:
Active Musician
Musical Style:
Blues influenced rock, Hard rock, metal
3 of 4 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 1, 2018 by vernon wells in hatfield, AR
"Love it"
Verified Customer zZounds has verified that this reviewer made a purchase from us.
Now I know why this is one of the most popular pups made!! It sounds great!! Through my peavy 6505+ head I am able to get every thing from ac/dc too megadeth sounding overdrive with ease! Pinch harmonics are wonderful.
Musical Background:
a long time 6/7 string electric
Musical Style:
metal, hard rock
1 of 2 people (50%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted March 23, 2009 by a customer from hotmail.com
"nice, nice"
I like it, and I go to keep it for many years, I thinking about buy anothers
Sound
have a lot bass, you need change the EQ for get a nice clean sound, distortion is good, not spectacular
Features
didn't come with the frame
Ease of Use
you need play for a while to get the "right" sound, I wanted a good pickup, strong but clear, and this do the job
Quality
nice finish, looks like a tank
Value
it's cheap!
Manufacturer Support
N/A
The Wow Factor
My washburn looks like a soloist!
Musical Background:
active musician
Musical Style:
heavy metal
of 1 people (0%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!

Submitted January 4, 2004
"Defenetly a hot pickup"
Sound
awesome for any style
Features
pretty standard Pickup....its a good upgrade pickup if you are looking to up the value and sound of your guitar. It goes really well in a Fender Fat Strat
Quality
doesnt wear out or anything
Value
its perfect for the price...i would pay $20 more for this pick up and not feel ripped off or anything
Musical Style:
Rock/Punk.....im in a Cover band who plays alot of Smaller Band covers like Thursday and bands like that
6 of 8 people (75%) people found this review helpful. Did you?
Thanks for your opinion!
{# @var spinnerColorClass string #}
Please wait.
Shipping to